DETAILED ACTION
The Amendment filed April 22, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-11 are pending. Claims 1-11 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flora (Vegan Dark Hot Chocolate, Flora & Vino, July 19, 2019, made of record by applicant) in view of Mitchell (Couverture Hot Chocolate, Broadsheet, July 13, 2017, Retrieved from Internet URL: https://www.broadsheet.com.au/sydney/food-and-drink/article/five-try-hot-chococlate-2017).
Regarding claim 1, Flora discloses a chocolate drink composition comprising dark chocolate and vegetal milk (page 13 under Recipe).
While Flora teaches dark chocolate, Flora fails to specifically teach that the chocolate is couverture chocolate.
Mitchell discloses a chocolate drink composition comprising couverture chocolate and milk. Mitchell teaches that couverture chocolate has a higher ratio of cocoa butter that gives the chocolate a glossy sheen with a mellow flavor and perfectly balanced sweetness (page 2, para 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the dark chocolate of Flora be couverture chocolate as taught by Mitchell as Mitchell teaches that using couverture chocolate in a hot chocolate drink is well known in the art and provides the hot chocolate with a creamier texture due to the cocoa butter and balanced sweetness. This is simply substitution of one known chocolate for another to yield the predictable result of provide a hot chocolate having a higher cocoa butter content that provides a richer, creamier taste.
Flora teaches that the dark chocolate is present in an amount of 3-4 TBSP and the vegetal milk is present in an amount of 1 cup, or 16 TBSP. The recipe also includes 1 TBSP cacao powder with the additional ingredients recited as optional. Therefore, the total amount of ingredients in the vegan dark hot chocolate is 20-21 TBSP.
Flora, therefore, teaches that the total amount of chocolate is present in an amount of 24% by weight (4 TBSP dark chocolate + 1 TBSP cacao powder out of a total 21 TBSP), while the instant claim requires an amount of at least 33% by weight.
Flora teaches that the vegetal milk is present in an amount of 76% by weight (16 TBSP out of a total 21 TBSP), thus falling within the claimed range of at least 50% by weight.
With respect to the exact amount of couverture chocolate, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to increase the amount over what is taught by Flora depending on the desired taste of the composition. Increasing the amount of chocolate will give the composition a richer, more chocolate taste.
As stated in MPEP 2144.05: Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
Further, From In re Levin, 84 USPQ 232 p. 234
This court has taken the position that new recipes or formulas for cooking food which involve the addition or elimination of common ingredients, or for treating them
in
ways which differ from the former practice, do not amount to invention merely because it is not disclosed that,
in
the constantly developing art of preparing food, no one else ever did the particular thing upon which the applicant asserts his right to a patent.
In
all such cases, there is nothing patentable unless the applicant by a proper showing further establishes a coaction or cooperative relationship between the selected ingredients which produces a new, unexpected, and useful function.
In
re
Benjamin D. White, 17 C.C.P.A. (Patents) 956, 39 F.2d 974, 5 USPQ 267 ;
In
re
Mason et al., 33 C.C.P.A. (Patents) 1144, 156 F.2d 189, 70 USPQ 221.
In the instant case, there is no new or unexpected function arising from the combination of couverture chocolate and vegetal milk in the claimed amounts as they both continue to function predictably, as expected.
With respect to the composition having a viscosity measure at 70 C between 150 and 500 mPa.s, the prior art fails to specifically teach such viscosity, however, the exact viscosity is dependent on the specific amount and type of ingredients. One of ordinary skill in the art can vary the amount and type of ingredients to achieve a desired viscosity through routine experimentation. It is well understood in the art, that using a high amount of vegetal milk will reduce the viscosity of the composition, while using a higher amount of chocolate will increase the viscosity. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to determine the optimum viscosity through routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 2, Flora teaches that the chocolate has a cocoa content of 70% or higher (page 13 under recipe).
Mitchell teaches that the couverture chocolate has a cocoa content of 55.4% (page 3), thus falling within the claimed range of at least 40%.
Regarding claim 3, Flora teaches that the vegetal milk is almond milk (page 13 under Recipe), which is a milk obtained from oleaginous fruits.
Regarding claim 6, as stated above, Flora teaches that the dark chocolate is present in an amount of 3-4 TBSP and the vegetal milk is present in an amount of 1 cup, or 16 TBSP. The recipe also includes 1 TBSP cacao powder with the additional ingredients recited as optional. Therefore, the total amount of ingredients in the vegan dark hot chocolate is 20-21 TBSP.
Flora, therefore, teaches that the total amount of chocolate is present in an amount of 24% by weight (4 TBSP dark chocolate + 1 TBSP cacao powder out of a total 21 TBSP), while the instant claim requires an amount of 33-45% by weight.
Flora teaches that the vegetal milk is present in an amount of 76% by weight (16 TBSP out of a total 21 TBSP), while the instant claim requires an amount of 50-70% by weight.
With respect to the exact amount of couverture chocolate, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to increase the amount over what is taught by Flora depending on the desired taste of the composition. Increasing the amount of chocolate will give the composition a richer, more chocolate taste.
With respect to the exact amount of vegetal milk, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to decrease the amount over what is taught by Flora depending on the desired taste and consistency of the hot chocolate. Decreasing the amount will give the hot chocolate a more chocolate taste and would have been obvious to do if desired.
As stated in MPEP 2144.05: Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
Regarding claim 7, Mitchel teaches that the couverture chocolate has a higher ratio of cocoa butter (page 2, para 1), and therefore the chocolate drink of Flora in view of Mitchell further comprises cocoa butter.
Regarding claim 8, Flora further teaches that the vegan dark hot chocolate can include coconut sugar, which is a sweetening agent, and cinnamon, which is a flavoring agent (page 13 under Recipe).
Regarding claim 9, Flora teaches that the chocolate drink composition is free of milk and/or milk derivatives of animal origin as Flora teaches a vegan couverture hot chocolate comprising almond milk.
Regarding claim 10, with respect to the composition having a viscosity measure at 25 C between 1500 and 3000 mPa.s, the prior art fails to specifically teach such viscosity, however, the exact viscosity is dependent on the specific amount and type of ingredients. One of ordinary skill in the art can vary the amount and type of ingredients to achieve a desired viscosity through routine experimentation. It is well understood in the art, that using a high amount of vegetal milk will reduce the viscosity of the composition, while using a higher amount of chocolate will increase the viscosity. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to determine the optimum viscosity through routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 11, Flora teaches a process for preparing a chocolate drink composition comprising the steps consisting of mixing dark chocolate and vegetal milk, heating the mixture and whisking, which corresponds to applicant’s homogenizing, the mixture.
With respect to the exact temperature for heating, Flora teaches heating until the milk is warm and steaming. It would have been obvious to heat to a temperature of at least 75C in order to ensure the ingredients are sufficiently warm enough to combine and homogenize together. Again, as stated in MPEP 2144.05: Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical.
While Flora teaches dark chocolate, Flora fails to specifically teach that the chocolate is couverture chocolate.
Mitchell discloses a chocolate drink composition comprising couverture chocolate and milk. Mitchell teaches that couverture chocolate has a higher ratio of cocoa butter that gives the chocolate a glossy sheen with a mellow flavor and perfectly balanced sweetness (page 2, para 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the dark chocolate of Flora be couverture chocolate as taught by Mitchell as Mitchell teaches that using couverture chocolate in a hot chocolate drink is well known in the art and provides the hot chocolate with a creamier texture due to the cocoa butter and balanced sweetness. This is simply substitution of one known chocolate for another to yield the predictable result of provide a hot chocolate having a higher cocoa butter content that provides a richer, creamier taste.
Flora teaches that the dark chocolate is present in an amount of 3-4 TBSP and the vegetal milk is present in an amount of 1 cup, or 16 TBSP. The recipe also includes 1 TBSP cacao powder with the additional ingredients recited as optional. Therefore, the total amount of ingredients in the vegan dark hot chocolate is 20-21 TBSP.
Flora, therefore, teaches that the total amount of chocolate is present in an amount of 24% by weight (4 TBSP dark chocolate + 1 TBSP cacao powder out of a total 21 TBSP), while the instant claim requires an amount of at least 33% by weight.
Flora teaches that the vegetal milk is present in an amount of 76% by weight (16 TBSP out of a total 21 TBSP), thus falling within the claimed range of at least 50% by weight.
With respect to the exact amount of couverture chocolate, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to increase the amount over what is taught by Flora depending on the desired taste of the composition. Increasing the amount of chocolate will give the composition a richer, more chocolate taste.
As stated in MPEP 2144.05: Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
Further, From In re Levin, 84 USPQ 232 p. 234
This court has taken the position that new recipes or formulas for cooking food which involve the addition or elimination of common ingredients, or for treating them
in
ways which differ from the former practice, do not amount to invention merely because it is not disclosed that,
in
the constantly developing art of preparing food, no one else ever did the particular thing upon which the applicant asserts his right to a patent.
In
all such cases, there is nothing patentable unless the applicant by a proper showing further establishes a coaction or cooperative relationship between the selected ingredients which produces a new, unexpected, and useful function.
In
re
Benjamin D. White, 17 C.C.P.A. (Patents) 956, 39 F.2d 974, 5 USPQ 267 ;
In
re
Mason et al., 33 C.C.P.A. (Patents) 1144, 156 F.2d 189, 70 USPQ 221.
In the instant case, there is no new or unexpected function arising from the combination of couverture chocolate and vegetal milk in the claimed amounts as they both continue to function predictably, as expected.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flora (Vegan Dark Hot Chocolate, Flora & Vino, July 19, 2019, made of record by applicant) and Mitchell (Couverture Hot Chocolate, Broadsheet, July 13, 2017, Retrieved from Internet URL: https://www.broadsheet.com.au/sydney/food-and-drink/article/five-try-hot-chococlate-2017) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Claudepierre (Vegan Hot Chocolate Recipe from Scratch, The Conscious Plant Kitchen, Jan. 27, 2021, made of record by applicant).
Regarding claim 4, Flora teaches the composition comprising vegetal milk as described above with respect to claim 1, wherein the milk is almond milk, but fails to further teach that the milk is obtained from cereals.
Claudepierre discloses a vegan hot chocolate recipe that can use oat milk (e.g. a milk obtained from cereal) as it is creamier and provides a smooth thick hot chocolate (page 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the vegetal milk of Flora comprise oat milk as taught by Claudepierre as it would predictably provide the hot chocolate of Flora with a creamier taste and a thicker consistency.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flora (Vegan Dark Hot Chocolate, Flora & Vino, July 19, 2019, made of record by applicant), Mitchell (Couverture Hot Chocolate, Broadsheet, July 13, 2017, Retrieved from Internet URL: https://www.broadsheet.com.au/sydney/food-and-drink/article/five-try-hot-chococlate-2017), and Claudepierre (Vegan Hot Chocolate Recipe from Scratch, The Conscious Plant Kitchen, Jan. 27, 2021, made of record by applicant) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of The Green Creator (How to Make Oat Milk, Sept. 9, 2017, Retrieved from Internet URL: https://thegreencreator.com/how-to-make-oat-milk/).
Regarding claim 5, as stated above with respect to claim 4, it would have been obvious to use oat milk in the hot chocolate of Flora.
The Green Creator further teaches that oat milk is made with 100 g oats and 750 g water (See Recipe, pages 9-10). Therefore, The Green Creator teaches that oat milk comprises 88% by weight of water (e.g. 750 g out of total 850 g), thus falling within the claimed range of at least 80% by weight, and 12% by weight oats (e.g. cereal) (100 g out of total 850 g), thus falling within the claimed range of at least 10% by weight.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use an oat milk as taught by The Green Creator as The Green Creator teaches that the oat milk is great for drinks and provides a suitable creaminess (pages 3-4).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment has overcome the claim objections and 112(b) rejection from the previous Office Action and therefore they have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 103 rejections have been fully considered but were not found persuasive.
Applicant states on pages 4-6 that the claimed viscosity is an essential parameter of the invention. Applicant goes on to state that viscosity is dependent not only on the specific amount and type of ingredients, but may differ due to specific steps of a manufacturing process. Applicant points to Example 5 in the specification to show that the claimed viscosity results from a specific combination of a minimum content of couverture chocolate, the use of vegetal milk, and a sufficient preparation temperature.
This is not found persuasive to overcome the 103 rejections applied above. The examiner agrees that the amount of type of ingredients will affect the viscosity, which can be routinely optimized to achieve a desired viscosity. Regarding example 5 in the specification, applicant states that the difference between Sample 1 and Sample 7 is the viscosity at 70 C, which shows that even when ingredients of two compositions are almost identical, they can have very different viscosity values. This is not found persuasive as the ingredients are not identical as Sample 1 has a higher amount of couverture chocolate than Sample 7. Additionally, Sample 2 is similar to Sample 1, but also shows a higher viscosity than either of Sample 1 or 7, which shows that higher amount of couverture chocolate results in a higher viscosity, which is to be expected. The samples do not specifically show that the processing conditions affect the viscosity as each sample has differing amounts of couverture chocolate and rice milk. Therefore, applicant’s arguments with respect to the processing conditions are not found persuasive and also are not commensurate in scope with the claims as the claims do not specify the processing conditions.
Further, criticality as not been shown for the claimed amounts of ingredients as Sample 7, which has ingredients in the claimed range, results in a viscosity that is outside the claimed range. As stated above, the prior art clearly renders obvious a beverage comprising couverture chocolate and vegetal milk. Determining the optimum amount of each is merely routine experimentation. Mitchell teaches that couverture chocolate has a higher ratio of cocoa butter. Therefore, using a higher amount would expectedly give a beverage a higher viscosity due to the higher amount of cocoa butter, which is futher evidenced by Example 5 in the instant specification.
As stated in MPEP 2144.05: Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
Further, From In re Levin, 84 USPQ 232 p. 234
This court has taken the position that new recipes or formulas for cooking food which involve the addition or elimination of common ingredients, or for treating them
in
ways which differ from the former practice, do not amount to invention merely because it is not disclosed that,
in
the constantly developing art of preparing food, no one else ever did the particular thing upon which the applicant asserts his right to a patent.
In
all such cases, there is nothing patentable unless the applicant by a proper showing further establishes a coaction or cooperative relationship between the selected ingredients which produces a new, unexpected, and useful function.
In
re
Benjamin D. White, 17 C.C.P.A. (Patents) 956, 39 F.2d 974, 5 USPQ 267 ;
In
re
Mason et al., 33 C.C.P.A. (Patents) 1144, 156 F.2d 189, 70 USPQ 221.
For the reasons stated above, there is no new or unexpected function arising from the combination of couverture chocolate and vegetal milk in the claimed amounts as they both continue to function predictably, as expected.
Applicant’s arguments on page 7 are not found persuasive for the same reasons as stated above.
Applicant further argues on pages 8-9 that secondary reference Mitchell uses couverture chocolate specifically in the form of a ganache and fails to teach the use of vegetal milk.
This is not found persuasive as Mitchell is not being relied upon to teach the use of vegetal milk and the amount of chocolate combined with vegetal milk. Primary reference Flora discloses a chocolate drink composition comprising dark chocolate and vegetal milk (page 13 under Recipe). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the dark chocolate of Flora be couverture chocolate as taught by Mitchell as Mitchell teaches that using couverture chocolate in a hot chocolate drink is well known in the art and provides the hot chocolate with a creamier texture due to the cocoa butter and balanced sweetness. This is simply substitution of one known type of chocolate for another to yield the predictable result of provide a hot chocolate having a higher cocoa butter content that provides a richer, creamier taste. Therefore, the examiner is relying upon the use of couverture chocolate in a drink composition in Mitchell, and not the entire disclosure and amounts of ingredients in Mitchell.
Applicant’s arguments on pages 9-12 with respect to claim 11 are not found persuasive for the same reasons as stated above. Additionally, applicant states that Flora fails to disclose a controlled or reproducible industrial process. This is not found persuasive as the claims only require “mixing, heating to a at least 75 and homogenizing”. These step do not have to be an industrial process as the claimed steps can be performed at home. Further the claimed steps are broad and provide no specifics that would necessarily result in an unexpected product.
As stated above, Flora teaches a process for preparing a chocolate drink composition comprising the steps consisting of mixing dark chocolate and vegetal milk, heating the mixture and whisking, which corresponds to applicant’s homogenizing, the mixture.
With respect to the exact temperature for heating, Flora teaches heating until the milk is warm and steaming. It would have been obvious to heat to a temperature of at least 75C in order to ensure the ingredients are sufficiently warm enough to combine and homogenize together. Again, as stated in MPEP 2144.05: Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical.
As stated above, applicant states that the processing temperature results in the claimed viscosity, however, claim 11 does not require a viscosity. Further, this is not found persuasive as the ingredients in Example 5 are not identical as Sample 1 has a higher amount of couverture chocolate than Sample 7. Additionally, Sample 2 is similar to Sample 1, but also shows a higher viscosity than either of Sample 1 or 7, which shows that a higher amount of couverture chocolate results in a higher viscosity, which is to be expected. The samples do not specifically show that the processing conditions affect the viscosity as each sample has differing amounts of couverture chocolate and rice milk. Therefore, applicant’s arguments with respect to the processing conditions are not found persuasive and also are not commensurate in scope with the claim 11 as the claim does not specify a viscosity measurement.
Applicant further states that the heating temperature of at least 75C is a critical parameter, as below 75 and above 100 C results in undesirable conditions. This is not found persuasive as criticality has not been demonstrated and reflected in the claims as claim 11 recites at least 75 C, which includes 100 C and above 100 C. Therefore, applicant’s arguments are again not commensurate in scope with the claims.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Mitchell on page 12 are not found persuasive as Mitchell is not being relied upon to teach the processing conditions.
For the reasons stated above, the 103 rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEPHANIE A KOHLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1791