DETAILED ACTION
In response to the amendment filed on 06/04/2026, all the amendments to the claims have been entered and the action follows:
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “units” in claims 1-10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim is indefinite because it is unclear and confusing whether the limitation “to synthesize each of the plurality of OCT images” refers to: a) generating a single image out of each of the OCT images, or b) generating multiple OCT images each with pixel values synthesized with each other. Please amend the claim for clarification. Similar reasons apply to claims 9 and 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 7, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Frisken et al. (US 2016/0345820).
Regarding claim 1, Frisken discloses:
a reception unit (see para [47], a processor) configured to receive a plurality of OCT images captured under different image-capturing conditions and represented by complex signals (see--- para [44] and [49], acquiring OCT images under varying polarization states; and see para [119], complex);
an image processing unit (see para [47], the processor) configured to perform digital refocusing by complex signal processing or digital aberration correction by the complex signal processing on each of the plurality of OCT images received by the reception unit (see para [49] and [62], enhancing each OCT image by digital refocusing or digital correction of aberrations); and
a synthesis unit (see para [47], the processor) configured to synthesize each of the plurality of OCT images on which the image processing unit has performed the digital refocusing by the complex signal processing or the digital aberration correction by the complex signal processing (see para [49] and [174], stitching the enhanced OCT images).
Regarding claim 5, Frisken further discloses: wherein each of the plurality of OCT images is captured by performing at least one of a change in a position of an objective lens, a change in a position of a specimen, or a change in an angle of the specimen with respect to an incident direction of a measuring beam to the objective lens (see para [166], moving a specimen, which reads on “a change in a position of a specimen”).
Regarding claim 7, Frisken further discloses: wherein the synthesis unit performs complex averaging or intensity and amplitude averaging based on the plurality of OCT images (see para [174], weighted averaging).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Frisken discloses everything claimed as applied above (see rejection of claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frisken in view of Liu et al. (“Aberration-diverse optical coherence tomography for suppression of multiple scattering and speckle”).
Regarding claim 2, Frisken discloses everything claimed as applied above (see rejection of claim 1), however, does not disclose: wherein each of the plurality of OCT images is captured using an optical system having a different aberration.
In a similar field of endeavor of OCT enhancement by combining OCT images of varying capture conditions, Liu discloses: wherein each of the plurality of OCT images is captured using an optical system having a different aberration (see section 2, OCT images are captured while varying astigmatism is induced with a rotating astigmatic angle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Frisken with Liu, and further induce varying astigmatism in the OCT images, as disclosed by Liu, for the purpose of improving ultra-deep volumetric imaging (see Liu section 6).
Regarding claim 3, Frisken and Liu further disclose: wherein each of the plurality of OCT images is captured at a different focal position or captured using an optical system having a different defocus aberration (see rejection of claim 2, varying astigmatism).
Regarding claim 4, Frisken and Liu further disclose: wherein each of the plurality of OCT images is captured at a different focal position obtained by any of: changing a distance with respect to a specimen for a measuring beam, the specimen in an incident direction to an objective lens, or the objective lens; utilizing an optical system configured to change refractive power; using an electrically controlled tunable lens; utilizing a spatial light modulator; and rotating an optical element having aberration (see rejection of claim 2, rotating astigmatic angle, which reads on “rotating an optical element having aberration”).
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frisken in view of South et al. (“Wavefront measurement using computational adaptive optics”).
Regarding claim 6, Frisken discloses everything claimed as applied above (see rejection of claim 1), however, do not disclose: wherein the image processing unit performs any of forward-model-based refocusing, digital adaptive optics, and interferometric synthetic aperture microscopy.
In a similar field of endeavor of OCT enhancement by combining OCT images of varying capture conditions, South discloses: wherein the image processing unit performs any of forward-model-based refocusing, digital adaptive optics, and interferometric synthetic aperture microscopy (see South section 3.A, interferometric synthetic aperture microscopy; and section 3.C, forward-model based refocusing).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Frisken with South, and performing forward-model-based refocusing or interferometric synthetic aperture microscopy, as disclosed by South, for the purpose of enhancing image quality (see South Abstract).
Regarding claim 8, Frisken further discloses: wherein the synthesis unit corrects a relative phase between the plurality of OCT images and then synthesizes each of the plurality of OCT images (see para [180], subtracting relative phase).
Response to Arguments
Arguments regarding 112(b)
Applicant's arguments filed 06/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The newly amended limitation “to synthesize each of the plurality of OCT images” of claim 1 still does not specify whether: i) a single image is generated out of each of the OCT images, or ii) each of the OCT images are synthesized in pixel values. The applicant merely states that the newly amended limitation overcomes the 112(b) rejection. Similar reasons apply to claims 9 and 10.
Arguments regarding the prior art rejection
Regarding claim 1, the applicant argues that Frisken does not disclose the subject matter of the claim, specifically because:
i) Frisken discloses stitching OCT images together rather than synthesizing each of the OCT images. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The Merriam-Webster dictionary provides the following definition:
to synthesize: as to combine or produce by synthesis
synthesis: the composition or combination of parts or elements so as to form a whole
The applicant acknowledges that Frisken indeed stitches multiple images. Said stitching is a way to combine multiple images to form a whole image, which fits the above definition of the limitation “synthesize”.
ii) Frisken does not disclose that the multiple images to be stitched together have gone through digital refocusing or digital aberration correction. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Frisken para [157] states that “digital refocusing can be applied directly to lateral points at the centre of the snapshot datasets, so as to avoid refocusing stitched datasets”, describing how such digital refocusing is applied to datasets prior to stitching them together.
Therefore, Frisken discloses applying enhancement (i.e., digital refocusing) to multiple OCT images that are to be stitched together (i.e., synthesized), which reads on the claimed limitation “to synthesize each of the plurality of OCT images on which the image processing unit has performed the digital refocusing by the complex signal processing or the digital aberration correction by the complex signal processing”. Similar reasons apply to claims 9 and 10.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SJ Park/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2675