Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nukui et al (WO 2021199497 cited as US 20220145021) in view of Tachibana et al (US 20180305846).
Nukui is directed to glass direct roving and long glass fiber reinforced thermoplastic resin pellet. Nukui teaches a binder for purpose of improvement of adhesiveness between glass fiber and resin. The binder is equated with a surface treatment agent.
Nukui teaches the binder is a silane coupling agent [0037]-[0039]. Nukui teaches the attachment rate of the silane coupling agent with respect to the total amount of glass direct roving is in the range of 0.010 to 0.200% by mass wherein the attachment rate is determined is determined by extraction twice by methanol [0039]-[0040]. 0.01 to 0.20% is within the claimed range. Nukui teaches the loss on ignition rate is in the range of 0.03 to 0.90% (ABST), [0010].
Nukui is silent with regard to the void number and the bulk dissipation factor of the glass yarns. Nukui does not measure the properties as claimed in claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6.
As Nukui teaches the same materials and structure as claimed, it is reasonable to presume that the properties are inherent to Nukui. When the reference discloses all the limitations of a claim except a property or function, and the examiner cannot determine whether or not the reference inherently possesses properties which anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention the examiner has basis for shifting the burden of proof to applicant as in In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP § 2112- 2112.02
Nukui differs and does not teach the glass rovings are woven.
Tachibana is directed to a glass cloth, prepreg and printed wiring board. The glass cloth comprises a warp yarn and weft yarn woven together of glass filaments. Tachibana teaches the woven glass cloth provides for improved drillability for the circuit board due to the SiO2 composition [0011]. Tachibana teaches silane coupling agent having an unsaturated double bond group (ABST).
As to claims 1-6, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to weave the glass yarns into a woven fabric motivated to produce a prepreg for a circuit board with improved drillability.
As to claims 7, 8, 23 and 24, Nukui teaches the glass composition has SiO2 in amounts of 52-56% or high modulus with SiO2 in range of 60-70% [0025] and therefore Nukui differs and does not teach the claimed range of 95-100% (claim 7, 23); 99-100% (claim 8, 24).
Tachibana is directed to a glass cloth, prepreg and printed wiring board. The glass cloth comprises a warp yarn and weft yarn woven together of glass filaments with the SiO2 in the composition thereof of 98 to 100% by mass and the glass yarn is treated with a silane coupling agent having a unsaturated double bond group (ABST).
Tachibana teaches blending the SiO2 in the glass composition to almost 100% in attempt to reduce permittivity and dielectric tangent [0009]. When the SiO2 is increased to almost 100%, hole drillability by a mechanical drill used for low permittivity substrate may be remarkable deteriorated [0009]. In order to solve this problem, a glass cloth comprising a warp yarn and a weft yarn woven together, the warp yarn and the weft yarn each being a glass yarn comprising multiple glass filaments, wherein
one of the warp yarn and the weft yarn is a glass yarn comprising glass filaments each having an amount of SiO2 in a composition thereof of 98 to 100% by mass [0038], the other of the warp yarn and the weft yarn is a glass yarn comprising glass filaments each having an amount of SiO2 in a composition thereof of 45 to 60% by mass and an amount of B2O3 in a composition thereof of 15 to 30% by mass [0037]-[0039].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to employ a high silica glass composition motivated to improve the drillability of the printed circuit board.
As to claims 9, 10, 25 and 26, Nukui teaches a binder, equated with surface treatment agent, of a silane compound such as those listed in [0038]. Examples of the silane coupling agent include aminosilanes (such as γ-aminopropyltriethoxysilane, N-β-(aminoethyl)-γ-aminopropyltrimethoxysilane, N-β-(aminoethyl)-N′-β-(aminoethyl)-γ-aminopropyltrimethoxysilane, and γ-anilinopropyltrimethoxysilane), chlorosilanes (such as γ-chloropropyltrimethoxysilane), epoxysilanes (such as γ-glycidoxypropyltrimethoxysilane, β-(3,4-epoxycyclohexyl)ethyltrimethoxysilane), mercaptosilanes (such as γ-mercaptotrimethoxysilane), vinylsilanes (such as vinyltrimethoxysilane and N-β-(N-vinylbenzylaminoethyl)-γ-aminopropyltrimethoxysilane), acrylsilanes (such as γ methacryloxypropyltrimethoxysilane), cationic silanes (such as N-(vinylbenzyl)-2-aminoethyl-3-aminopropyltrimethoxysilane hydrochloride and N-phenyl-3-aminopropyltrimethoxysilane hydrochloride), and methacrylsilanes (such as 3-methacryloxypropylmethyldimethoxysilane, 3-methacryloxypropyltrimethoxysilane, 3-methacryloxypropylmethyldiethoxysilane, and 3-methacryloxypropyltriethoxysilane). As the silane coupling agent, these compounds can be used singly or in combination of two or more [0038].
Of the above mentioned silane coupling agents, Nukui teaches vinylsilanes (such as vinyltrimethoxysilane and N-β-(N-vinylbenzylaminoethyl)-γ-aminopropyltrimethoxysilane), acrylsilanes (such as γ methacryloxypropyltrimethoxysilane), and 3-methacryloxypropyltrimethoxysilane. The disclosed silanes meet formula (1) as noted in Applicant’s specification [0079] which describes the silanes as vinyltrimethoxysilane, 3-methacryloxypropyltrimethoxysilane, acryloxypropyltrimethoxysilane, 3-acryloxypropyltrimethoxysilane, 5-hexenyltrimethoxysilane, or mixtures thereof can be used. 3-methacryloxypropyltrimethoxysilane has an X with an organic functional group have unsaturated double bond groups, a Y with an alkoxy group, and R is a methyl group.
As to claims 11 and 27, Nukui teaches a methacryloxypropyltrimethoxysilane which has a methacryloxy group and does not contain an amino group.
As to claims 12 and 28, Nukui teaches the ignition loss can be 0.03 to 0.90% which encompasses 0.10%.
As to claims 13 and 29, Nukui teaches silane treatment agents that do not contain amino or nitrogen and therefore would inherently be less than 0.004% by mass or less.
As to claims 14, 15, 30 and 31, Nukui differs and does not measure the bulk dissipation fabric of the glass cloth. Bulk dissipation factor is related to the glass composition and as Nukui in view of Tachibana teach the claimed glass composition, e.g. of claims 7 and 8, it is reasonable to presume that the property is inherent to Nukui in view of Tachibana. When the reference discloses all the limitations of a claim except a property or function, and the examiner cannot determine whether or not the reference inherently possesses properties which anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention the examiner has basis for shifting the burden of proof to applicant as in In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP § 2112- 2112.02
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to produce a glass cloth with a bulk dissipation factor as claimed motivated to improve the dielectric properties of the glass cloth.
As to claims 16 and 32, Nukui differs and does not teach a prepreg with a matrix resin.
Tachibana teaches a glass cloth for a prepreg and printed wiring board (Title). The prepreg has a matrix resin that impregnates the glass cloth [0034].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to produce a prepreg from the glass cloth motivated to produce a printed wiring board.
As to claims 17-20 and 33-36, Nukui differs and does not teach a printed circuit board substrate, nor an integrated circuit of electronic device.
Tachibana teaches a silane couple agent treated glass substrate that is woven for use in a printed circuit board. Tachibana teaches the silane treated glass filaments with high SiO2 composition provide for improved drillability. Tachibana teaches the printed wiring board is used in electronic fields [0268] and would inherently include a integrate circuit as a printed wiring board includes wiring and circuits.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to produce a printed circuit board from the glass cloth motivated to produce a printed circuit board with improved drillability.
As to claims 21 and 22, Nukui differs and does not measure the void reduction rate nor the bulk dissipation factor. As Nukui in view of Tachibana teach the same materials and structure as claimed, it is reasonable to presume that the properties are inherent to the combination.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-36 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 5-9, 12, 18, 19, 24, 29-31 of copending Application No. 18277696 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant application and the copending application are directed glass fiber woven fabrics with a silane treatment agent, wherein the silane treatment agent has the structure of X(R)3-nSiYn, wherein X is an organic functional group having one or more radical-reactive unsaturated double bond groups, each Y is independently an alkoxy group, n is an integer from 1 to 3 and each R is independently selected from methyl, ethyl and phenyl group and contains a (meth)acryloxy group and not an amino group. As the instant application and the copending application claim the same materials and structure as claimed and therefore the properties as claimed would reasonable inherent to the copending application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hirose et al (US 12495492)
Nosetani et al (JP 62259811)
/JENNIFER A STEELE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789