DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, claims 1-7 in the reply filed on 02/09/20226 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Eastin [US 20180153206].
Claim 1: Eastin teaches a method for seed treater data acquisition, commercialization and use (invention relating to control use of seed treatment, packaging, shipping, and formulation of metabolic inputs and etc.) [0012, 0060] which includes providing a seed treater (applicator) with one or more seed treatment inputs (e.g. liability) [abstract] having one or more known properties (e.g. feedstock characteristics [0023] or equations) [0082], one or more seed treater operations (selection criteria or lability) [0082, 0022] and one ore more environmental inputs or measurable properties from an environment of the seed treater (environment conditions) [0064]; treating seed in the seed treater with one or more seed treatment inputs [0068; 0082]; controlling at least one of the one or more seed treater operations based on one or more programmed seed treatment parameter and one or more known properties of the seed treatment and the measurable properties of the one or more environmental inputs (using a feedback controller to monitor feedstock properties and adjust based upon monitored values and set point values such as calibration, dimensional, operational or combination of values thereof) [0146-0150]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use more than one inputs for each category since Eastin teaches you could select a combination of criteria or values [0037; 0082].
Claim 2: Eastin teaches adjusting the one or more seed treater operations based on inspection of the properties (monitoring properties) [0146].
Claim 3: Eastin teaches storing the one or more known properties for the seed treatment inputs and one more measurable properties for the environmental inputs (stored in database) [0146; 0166]; processing the database and controlling the operations based upon the one or more known properties of the one or more seed treatment inputs and environmental inputs (for example, using database and selecting selection criteria for operations based upon desired values) [0149-0150, 0152-0160, and 0166-0174].
Claim 5: Eastin teaches adjusting a rate of operation of at least one of the more seed treater operations based upon known properties of the seed treatment inputs and environment inputs (converging on an adjustment parameter, calibration parameter, dimensional parameter, operational parameter or combination thereof as well as feedstock properties) [0146].
Claim(s) 4 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eastin as applied to claims 4 and 7 above, and further in view of David [US 20180352720].
Teaching of the prior art is aforementioned, wherein Eastin teaches monitoring to collect data [0146] but does not appear to teach specifically using at least one sensor to monitor. David is provided.
Claim 4: David teaches the system is automated by receiving information from various sensors such as pressure, flow and weight sensors [0143]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use sensors to monitor and collect data since David teaches these are well known and operable devices to collect data in the seed treatment field.
Claim 7: Eastin teaches using monitored data to adjust the rate of operation [0146] and David teaches data is collected from sensor for operation (receive information from sensors to operate) [0143].
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eastin as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Stacey [US 20200302556].
Teaching of the prior art is aforementioned where Eastin teaches converging data from monitored values and calculated values using optimization models to produce adjustment values [0146], but does not explicitly teach using machine learning or artificial intelligence (AI). Stacey is provided.
Claim 6: Stacey teaches that seed treatment recommendation can be provided from a variety of different data [abstract] and that machine learning or AI can be used to provide further analysis for treatment [0016; 0047; 0070]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use machine learning or AI to collect more data in order to make further adjustments and predictions for seed treatment since Stacey teaches it is already known and more accurate by using such data for agricultural industries.
Conclusion
/MANDY C LOUIE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718