DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7-9, and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kurata et al. (United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2012/0104423 A1, hereinafter “Kurata”).
In reference to claim 1, Kurata discloses a device which meets the claim. Fig. 15 of Kurata discloses a light-emitting apparatus which comprises a first light-emitting device (device under 13b) and a second light-emitting device (device under 13g). The first light-emitting device (device under 13b) includes a first electrode (2), a second electrode (8), and a first light-emitting layer (6b) positioned between the first electrode (2) and the second electrode (8). A first layer (4) is positioned between the first electrode (2) and the first light-emitting layer (6b). A second layer (5) is positioned between the first layer (4) and the first light-emitting layer (6b). The second light-emitting device (device under 13g) includes a third electrode (2), a fourth electrode (8), and a second light-emitting layer (6g) positioned between the third electrode (2) and the fourth electrode (8). A third layer (4) is positioned between the third electrode (2) and the second light-emitting layer (6g). A fourth layer (5) is positioned between the third layer (4) and the second light-emitting layer (6g). A fifth layer (3) is positioned between the third electrode (2) and the second light-emitting layer (6g). The first light-emitting layer (6b) comprises a first light-emitting substance and the second light-emitting layer (6g) comprises a second light-emitting substance. An emission peak wavelength (blue) of the first light-emitting substance (6b) is shorter than an emission peak wavelength (green) of the second light-emitting substance (6g). The first layer (4) and the third layer (4) comprise the same material (p. 8, paragraph 104). The second layer (5) and the fourth layer (5) comprise the same material (p. 8, paragraph 104). Kurata refers to the first (4) and third (4) layers as hole injection layers (p. 5, paragraph 61). Kurata refers to the second (5) and fourth (5) layers as hole transport layers (p. 5, paragraph 61). Fig. 6 and 11 of Kurata disclose (p. 9, paragraph 129) that an ordinary refractive index (1.8 or 2.2) of the first layer/hole injection layer (4) is higher than an ordinary refractive index (1.5 or 1.9) of the second layer/hole transport layer (5) at the emission peak wavelength of the first light-emitting substance (6b). Fig. 6 and 11 of Kurata disclose (p. 9, paragraph 129) that an ordinary refractive index (1.8 or 2.2) of the third layer/hole injection layer (4) is higher than an ordinary refractive index (1.5 or 1.9) of the fourth layer/hole transport layer (5) at the emission peak wavelength of the second light-emitting substance (6g). The fifth layer (3) is positioned between the third electrode (2) and the third layer (4).
With regard to claim 2, the fifth layer (3) is positioned between the third electrode (2) and the third layer (4).
In reference to claim 3, the fifth layer (3) and the third layer (4) are in contact with each other. The third layer (4) and the fourth layer (5) are in contact with each other.
With regard to claim 7, fig. 6 and 11 disclose that the fifth layer/transparent conductive layer (3) has an ordinary refractive index of 1.9 which is lower than the ordinary refractive index of 2.2 of the third layer/hole injection layer (4) at the emission peak wavelength of the second light emitting substance (6g).
In reference to claim 8, fig. 6 and 11 disclose that the fifth layer/transparent conductive layer (3) has an ordinary refractive index of 1.9 which is lower than the ordinary refractive index of 2.2 of the third layer/ hole injection layer (4) at the emission peak wavelength of the second light emitting substance (6g) by 0.3 which meets the limitation, “by 0.15 or more.”
With regard to claim 9, fig. 6 and 11 disclose that the fifth layer/transparent conductive layer (3) has an ordinary refractive index of 1.9 which is equal to the ordinary refractive index of 1.9 for the fourth layer/hole transport layer (5) at the emission peak wavelength of the second light emitting substance (6g).
With regard to claim 11, fig. 6 and 11 disclose that the fifth layer/transparent conductive layer (3) has an ordinary refractive index of 1.9 which is greater than the ordinary refractive index of 1.5 for the fourth layer/hole transport layer (5) at the emission peak wavelength of the second light emitting substance (6g).
In reference to claim 12, fig. 6 and 11 disclose that the fifth layer/transparent conductive layer (3) has an ordinary refractive index of 1.9 which is greater than the ordinary refractive index of 1.5 for the fourth layer/hole transport layer (5) at the emission peak wavelength of the second light emitting substance (6g) by 0.4 which meets the limitation, “by 0.15 or more.”
With regard to claim 13, fig. 6 and 11 disclose that the fifth layer/transparent conductive layer (3) has an ordinary refractive index of 1.9 which is lower than the ordinary refractive index of 2.2 of the first layer/hole injection layer (4) at the emission peak wavelength of the second light emitting substance (6g).
In reference to claim 14, Kurata discloses a device which meets the claim. Fig. 15 of Kurata discloses a light-emitting apparatus which comprises a first light-emitting device (device under 13b) and a second light-emitting device (device under 13g). The first light-emitting device (device under 13b) includes a first electrode (2), a second electrode (8), and a first light-emitting layer (6b) positioned between the first electrode (2) and the second electrode (8). A first layer (4) is positioned between the first electrode (2) and the first light-emitting layer (6b). A second layer (5) is positioned between the first layer (4) and the first light-emitting layer (6b). The second light-emitting device (device under 13g) includes a third electrode (2), a fourth electrode (8), and a second light-emitting layer (6g) positioned between the third electrode (2) and the fourth electrode (8). A third layer (4) is positioned between the third electrode (2) and the second light-emitting layer (6g). A fourth layer (5) is positioned between the third layer (4) and the second light-emitting layer (6g). A fifth layer (3) is positioned between the third electrode (2) and the second light-emitting layer (6g). The first light-emitting layer (6b) comprises a first light-emitting substance and the second light-emitting layer (6g) comprises a second light-emitting substance. An emission peak wavelength (blue) of the first light-emitting substance (6b) is shorter than an emission peak wavelength (green) of the second light-emitting substance (6g). Kurata refers to the first (4) and third (4) layers as hole injection layers (p. 5, paragraph 61). Kurata refers to the second (5) and fourth (5) layers as hole transport layers (p. 5, paragraph 61). Fig. 6 and 11 of Kurata disclose (p. 9, paragraph 129) that an ordinary refractive index (1.8 or 2.2) of the first layer/hole injection layer (4) is higher than an ordinary refractive index (1.5 or 1.9) of the second layer/hole transport layer (5) at the emission peak wavelength of the first light-emitting substance (6b). Fig. 6 and 11 of Kurata disclose (p. 9, paragraph 129) that an ordinary refractive index (1.8 or 2.2) of the first layer/hole injection layer (4) is higher than an ordinary refractive index (1.5 or 1.9) of the second layer/hole transport layer (5) at the emission peak wavelength of the first light-emitting substance (6b).
In reference to claim 15, Kurata discloses a device which meets the claim. Fig. 15 of Kurata discloses a light-emitting apparatus which comprises a first light-emitting device (device under 13b) and a second light-emitting device (device under 13g). The first light-emitting device (device under 13b) includes a first electrode (2), a second electrode (8), and a first light-emitting layer (6b) positioned between the first electrode (2) and the second electrode (8). A first layer (4) is positioned between the first electrode (2) and the first light-emitting layer (6b). A second layer (5) is positioned between the first layer (4) and the first light-emitting layer (6b). The second light-emitting device (device under 13g) includes a third electrode (2), a fourth electrode (8), and a second light-emitting layer (6g) positioned between the third electrode (2) and the fourth electrode (8). A third layer (4) is positioned between the third electrode (2) and the second light-emitting layer (6g). A fourth layer (5) is positioned between the third layer (4) and the second light-emitting layer (6g). A fifth layer (3) is positioned between the third electrode (2) and the second light-emitting layer (6g). The first light-emitting layer (6b) comprises a first light-emitting substance and the second light-emitting layer (6g) comprises a second light-emitting substance. An emission peak wavelength (blue) of the first light-emitting substance (6b) is shorter than an emission peak wavelength (green) of the second light-emitting substance (6g). Kurata refers to the first (4) and third (4) layers as hole injection layers (p. 5, paragraph 61). Kurata refers to the second (5) and fourth (5) layers as hole transport layers (p. 5, paragraph 61). Fig. 6 and 11 of Kurata disclose (p. 9, paragraph 129) that an ordinary refractive index (1.8 or 2.2) of the first layer/hole injection layer (4) is higher than an ordinary refractive index (1.5 or 1.9) of the second layer/hole transport layer (5) at the emission peak wavelength of the first light-emitting substance (6b). Fig. 6 and 11 of Kurata disclose (p. 9, paragraph 129) that an ordinary refractive index (1.8 or 2.2) of the third layer/hole injection layer (4) is higher than an ordinary refractive index (1.5 or 1.9) of the second layer/hole transport layer (5) at the emission peak wavelength of the second light-emitting substance (6g).
First Alternate Interpretation of Kurata (US 2012/0104423 A1)
Claims 1, 4, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kurata et al. (United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2012/0104423 A1, hereinafter “Kurata”).
In reference to claim 1, Kurata discloses a device which meets the claim. Fig. 15 of Kurata discloses a light-emitting apparatus which comprises a first light-emitting device (device under 13b) and a second light-emitting device (device under 13g). The first light-emitting device (device under 13b) includes a first electrode (2), a second electrode (8), and a first light-emitting layer (6b) positioned between the first electrode (2) and the second electrode (8). A first layer (3) is positioned between the first electrode (2) and the first light-emitting layer (6b). A second layer (5) is positioned between the first layer (3) and the first light-emitting layer (6b). The second light-emitting device (device under 13g) includes a third electrode (2), a fourth electrode (8), and a second light-emitting layer (6g) positioned between the third electrode (2) and the fourth electrode (8). A third layer (3) is positioned between the third electrode (2) and the second light-emitting layer (6g). A fourth layer (5) is positioned between the third layer (3) and the second light-emitting layer (6g). A fifth layer (4) is positioned between the third electrode (2) and the second light-emitting layer (6g). The first light-emitting layer (6b) comprises a first light-emitting substance and the second light-emitting layer (6g) comprises a second light-emitting substance. An emission peak wavelength (blue) of the first light-emitting substance (6b) is shorter than an emission peak wavelength (green) of the second light-emitting substance (6g). The first layer (3) and the third layer (3) comprise the same material (p. 8, paragraph 104). The second layer (5) and the fourth layer (5) comprise the same material (p. 8, paragraph 104). Kurata refers to the first (3) and third (3) layers as transparent conductive injection layers (p. 5, paragraph 61). Kurata refers to the second (5) and fourth (5) layers as hole transport layers (p. 5, paragraph 61). Fig. 6 and 11 of Kurata disclose (p. 9, paragraph 129) that an ordinary refractive index (1.9 or 2.3) of the first layer/transparent conductive layer (3) is higher than an ordinary refractive index (1.5 or 1.9) of the second layer/hole transport layer (5) at the emission peak wavelength of the first light-emitting substance (6b). Fig. 6 and 11 of Kurata disclose (p. 9, paragraph 129) that an ordinary refractive index (1.9 or 2.3) of the third layer/transparent conductive layer (3) is higher than an ordinary refractive index (1.5 or 1.9) of the fourth layer/hole transport layer (5) at the emission peak wavelength of the second light-emitting substance (6g). The fifth layer (4) is positioned between the third layer (3) and the fourth layer (5).
With regard to claim 4, the fifth layer (4) is positioned between the third layer (3) and the fourth layer (5).
In reference to claim 10, fig. 6 and 11 disclose that the fifth layer/hole injection layer (4) has an ordinary refractive index of 2.2 which is higher than the ordinary refractive index of 1.9 for the fourth layer/hole transport layer (5) at the emission peak wavelength of the second light emitting substance (6g). Fig. 6 and 11 also disclose that the fifth layer/hole injection layer (4) has an ordinary refractive index of 2.2 which is lower than the ordinary refractive index of 2.3 of the third layer/transparent conductive injection layer (3) at the emission peak wavelength of the second light emitting substance (6g).
Second Alternate Interpretation of Kurata (US 2012/0104423 A1)
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kurata et al. (United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2012/0104423 A1, hereinafter “Kurata”).
In reference to claim 1, Kurata discloses a device which meets the claim. Fig. 15 of Kurata discloses a light-emitting apparatus which comprises a first light-emitting device (device under 13b) and a second light-emitting device (device under 13g). The first light-emitting device (device under 13b) includes a first electrode (2), a second electrode (8), and a first light-emitting layer (6b) positioned between the first electrode (2) and the second electrode (8). A first layer (3) is positioned between the first electrode (2) and the first light-emitting layer (6b). A second layer (4) is positioned between the first layer (3) and the first light-emitting layer (6b). The second light-emitting device (device under 13g) includes a third electrode (2), a fourth electrode (8), and a second light-emitting layer (6g) positioned between the third electrode (2) and the fourth electrode (8). A third layer (3) is positioned between the third electrode (2) and the second light-emitting layer (6g). A fourth layer (4) is positioned between the third layer (3) and the second light-emitting layer (6g). A fifth layer (5) is positioned between the third electrode (2) and the second light-emitting layer (6g). The first light-emitting layer (6b) comprises a first light-emitting substance and the second light-emitting layer (6g) comprises a second light-emitting substance. An emission peak wavelength (blue) of the first light-emitting substance (6b) is shorter than an emission peak wavelength (green) of the second light-emitting substance (6g). The first layer (3) and the third layer (3) comprise the same material (p. 8, paragraph 104). The second layer (4) and the fourth layer (4) comprise the same material (p. 8, paragraph 104). Kurata refers to the first (3) and third (3) layers as transparent conductive injection layers (p. 5, paragraph 61). Kurata refers to the second (4) and fourth (4) layers as hole injection layers (p. 5, paragraph 61). Fig. 6 and 11 of Kurata disclose (p. 9, paragraph 129) that an ordinary refractive index (1.9 or 2.3) of the first layer/transparent conductive layer (3) is higher than an ordinary refractive index (1.8 or 2.2) of the second layer/hole injection layer (4) at the emission peak wavelength of the first light-emitting substance (6b). Fig. 6 and 11 of Kurata disclose (p. 9, paragraph 129) that an ordinary refractive index (1.9 or 2.3) of the third layer/transparent conductive layer (3) is higher than an ordinary refractive index (1.8 or 2.2) of the fourth layer/hole injection layer (4) at the emission peak wavelength of the second light-emitting substance (6g). The fifth layer (5) is positioned between the fourth layer (4) and the second light-emitting layer (6g).
With regard to claim 6, the fifth layer (5) is positioned between the fourth layer (4) and the second light-emitting layer (6g).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: in the examiner’s opinion, it would not be obvious to implement a light emitting apparatus which comprises first and second light emitting devices that each has a light emitting layer between first and second electrodes with a first layer between the first electrode and the light emitting layer and a second layer between the first layer and the light emitting layer with the second light emitting device having an additional layer between the first electrode and its light emitting layer such that the respective first and second layers of the first and second light emitting devices are made of the same materials, with the emission peak wavelength of the light emitting layer of the first light emitting device being shorter than the emission peak wavelength of the light emitting layer of the second light emitting device in combination with the specific refractive indices of the first and second layers as well as the exact contact relationships between the first, second, and additional layers as required by the applicant in claim 5.
Conclusion
/KEVIN QUINTO/Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/Britt Hanley/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893