DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention group I (claims 1-5) in the reply filed on 12/04/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 6-9 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
In chemical patent abstracts for compounds or compositions, the general nature of the compound or composition should be given as well as its use, e.g., “The compounds are of the class of alkyl benzene sulfonyl ureas, useful as oral anti-diabetics.” Exemplification of a species could be illustrative of members of the class. For processes, the type of reaction, reagents and process conditions should be stated, generally illustrated by a single example unless variations are necessary.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it does not include the claimed features (e.g., glycolic acid and lactic acid). A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 19511193 to Ecolab GmbH and Co. OHG (“Ecolab”, and note the attached translation).
Regarding claim 1, Ecolab teaches an aqueous composition (page 3, lines 2-9, page 3, line 65 – page 4, line 5, page 4, lines 3-5 and 35, page 4, line 60 – page 5, line 5, page 9, lines 25-60, tables 1 and 2, composition 5, translation, abstract) useful for the cleaning and/or stain removal of plastic and fabric surfaces of the interior parts of vehicles comprising glycolic acid and lactic acid (table 2, translation, page 6, para beginning “A concentrate for the preparation”, page 7, para beginning “In the following”, page 10, claim 10). It is noted that the recited vehicles are not positively claimed and are not interpreted to be required features of the claimed composition.
Ecolab does not explicitly teach composition wherein each of the glycolic acid and lactic acid are in amounts comprised between 01% and 5% in weight. Ecolab discloses amounts of 10% (table 2). However, Ecolab discloses that the disclosed amounts are a concentrate form (translation, page 7, para beginning “In the following”). Further, Ecolab discloses carboxylic acids generically at 0.2% to 5% in aqueous form (translation, page 3, para beginning “The aqueous cleaning liquids”, page 10, claim 5), and glycolic acid and lactic acid are carboxylic acids.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the Ecolab solution wherein, with the addition of the water, each of the glycolic acid and lactic acid are in amounts comprised between 01% and 5% in weight, with a reasonable expectation of success, in view of the disclosure to add water and that the listed amounts are in concentrate form, and the concentration of carboxylic acids in aqueous form. Further, overlapping, approaching and similar ranges are prima facie obvious (MPEP 2144.05). Furthermore, the present specification does not appear to demonstrate the criticality of the recited range.
Regarding claim 2, Ecolab does not explicitly teach the composition having a pH lower than 3, but discloses a composition range of 3 to 12 (translation, page 5, para beginning “To adjust the pH”). It is noted that overlapping, approaching and similar ranges are prima facie obvious (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 3, Ecolab discloses a composition further comprising non-ionic surfactants, cationic surfactants, emulsifiers, sequestering agents, dyes and perfumes (table 2, composition 5, translation, page 3, para beginning “For use in the cleaning liquids”, page 4, para beginning “The cleaning liquid can be used”, page 5, para beginning “Although the cleaning liquid”).
Regarding claim 4, the Ecolab composition appears to be fully capable of being used in a manner wherein the vehicles are selected between cars, motor vehicles, lorries, buses, road trains, railway carriages and other public or private means of locomotion on rails. It is noted that the recited vehicles are not positively claimed and are not interpreted to be required features of the claimed composition.
Regarding claim 5, the Ecolab composition appears to be fully capable of being used in a manner wherein the stain is inorganic. It is noted that the recited stain is not positively claimed and is not interpreted to be a required feature of the claimed composition.
Conclusion
/ERIC W GOLIGHTLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714