DETAILED ACTION
Claims 71-85 are pending. 1-70 are canceled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/10/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 71-74 and 84-85 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dhanda et al. (US 20220312284, Dhanda hereinafter).
As to claim 71: Dhanda discloses a method, performed by a wireless device, for performing measurements for reestablishing connection with a wireless communication network (see at least paragraph [0046], re-establish an RRC connection with a neighbor cell), the method comprising:
detecting a measurement triggering condition with regard to a Radio Link Problem, RLP, with respect to a serving cell belonging to a first frequency (see at least paragraph [0050]-[0069] and Figs.6-7, UE may detect a trigger to take neighbor cell measurements while the UE is in an RRC connected state with a serving cell (e.g., the base station 102a of FIG. 1), based at least in part on a threshold applied to a channel condition metric (interpreted as Radio Link Problem) measured for the serving cell.);
in response to a detected the measurement triggering condition, determining a second frequency of a second cell on which to perform measurements, wherein the second frequency is different from the first frequency (see at least paragraphs [0048] and [0055], the UE 104 may perform cell selection with the neighbor cell measurements taken in the connected state. Perform measurements on neighbor cell where the receiver is re-tuned to a different frequency than the frequency used (interpreted as determining a second frequency of a second cell since neighbor cell is in different frequency than serving cell.); and
performing measurements on the second frequency attempting for network connection re-establishment on the second cell (see at least paragraph [0048]-[0069] and Figs.6-7, the UE may take neighbor cell measurements in response to detecting the trigger where frequency is different than serving cell. After taking the neighbor cell measurements before radio link failure is detected at 508 may enable the UE to quickly re-establish a connection with one of the neighbor cells).
As to claim 72: Dhanda discloses the method of claim 71. Dhanda further discloses wherein detecting a RLP comprises receiving signals from the serving cell with a Narrowband Reference Signal Received Quality, NRSRQ, below a first predetermined threshold (see at least paragraphs [0052]-[0060], the UE 104 may detect that a receive level value (Srexlev) associated with the serving cell 102a is less than or equal to a threshold where received reference signals (such as an NRSRP and/or NRSRQ).).
As to claim 73: Dhanda discloses the method of claim 72 Dhanda further discloses wherein detecting a RLP comprises receiving signals from the serving cell with a NRSRQ below the first predetermined threshold for a predetermined duration (see at least paragraphs [0052]-[0060], the UE 104 may detect that a receive level value (Srexlev) associated with the serving cell 102a is less than or equal to a threshold (e.g., a value for SIntraSearchP) where received reference signals (such as an NRSRP and/or NRSRQ).).
As to claim 74: Dhanda discloses the method of claim 71 Dhanda further discloses wherein determining a second frequency on which to perform measurements is based on a measurement configuration identifying the second frequency received from the serving cell (see at least paragraphs [0048] and [0055], the UE 104 may perform cell selection with the neighbor cell measurements taken in the connected state. Perform measurements on neighbor cell where the receiver is re-tuned to a different frequency than the frequency used (interpreted as determining a second frequency of a second cell since neighbor cell is in different frequency than serving cell.).
As to claim 84: Dhanda discloses a wireless device, operative in a wireless communication network, comprising: communication circuitry (see at least paragraphs [0076]-[0096] and Figs. 9-10, communication circuitry);
processing circuitry (see at least paragraphs [0076]-[0096] and Figs. 9-10, processor) operatively connected to the communication circuitry and configured to:
detect a measurement triggering condition with regard to a Radio Link Problem, RLP, with respect to a serving cell belonging to a first frequency (see at least paragraph [0050]-[0069] and Figs.6-7, UE may detect a trigger to take neighbor cell measurements while the UE is in an RRC connected state with a serving cell (e.g., the base station 102a of FIG. 1), based at least in part on a threshold applied to a channel condition metric (interpreted as Radio Link Problem) measured for the serving cell.);
in response to a detected the measurement triggering condition, determine a second frequency of a second cell on which to perform measurements, wherein the second frequency is different from the first frequency (see at least paragraphs [0048] and [0055], the UE 104 may perform cell selection with the neighbor cell measurements taken in the connected state. Perform measurements on neighbor cell where the receiver is re-tuned to a different frequency than the frequency used (interpreted as determining a second frequency of a second cell since neighbor cell is in different frequency than serving cell.); and
perform measurements on the second frequency attempting for network connection re-establishment on the second cell (see at least paragraph [0048]-[0069] and Figs.6-7, the UE may take neighbor cell measurements in response to detecting the trigger where frequency is different than serving cell. After taking the neighbor cell measurements before radio link failure is detected at 508 may enable the UE to quickly re-establish a connection with one of the neighbor cells).
As to claim 85: Dhanda discloses a method, performed by a first base station operative in a wireless communication network and serving a wireless device in a first cell belonging to a first frequency, for enabling the wireless device to perform measurements for reestablishing connection with the wireless communication network (see at least paragraph [0046] and Fig. 6, re-establish an RRC connection with a neighbor cell), the method comprising:
transmitting a measurement configuration to the wireless device (see at least paragraph [0050] and Fig. 6, where the serving cell may configure conditions for detecting the trigger to take neighbor cell measurements at the UE), the measurement configuration identifying a second frequency on which the wireless device may perform measurements, wherein the second frequency is different from the first frequency (see at least paragraphs [0048] and [0055], the UE 104 may perform cell selection with the neighbor cell measurements taken in the connected state. Perform measurements on neighbor cell where the receiver is re-tuned to a different frequency than the frequency used (interpreted as determining a second frequency of a second cell since neighbor cell is in different frequency than serving cell.); and
transmitting reference signals on the first frequency, whereby the wireless device can detect a Radio Link Problem with respect to a first cell (see at least paragraph [0050]-[0069] and Figs.6-7, UE may detect a trigger to take neighbor cell measurements while the UE is in an RRC connected state with a serving cell (e.g., the base station 102a of FIG. 1), based at least in part on a threshold applied to a channel condition metric (interpreted as Radio Link Problem) measured for the serving cell which was received from serving cell.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 75-83 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
LEI, Zhenzhu (US 20240056929) discloses Neighbor Cell Measurement Triggering Method And Apparatus, And Computer Readable Storage Medium.
LIN, Yi-Ting (US 20240056931) discloses Cell Measurement Method And User Equipment.
Dudda et al. (US 20160285679) discloses Mobility Robustness in a Cellular Network.
Tarimala et al. (US 10856353) discloses Radio link failure based measurement reporting in narrowband internet of things.
/K. J./
Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/RICKY Q NGO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2464