DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “40” has been used to designate both “connector and coating in figure 2”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 29-32, 40-41, 44-46, and 53-54 are as best understood and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hughes (US 7591693).
As per claim 29: Hughes discloses an electrical connector (as shown in fig. 7) for a vacuum environment, the connector comprising: a male connection part 1 configured to be connected to a first power interface 7; a female connection part 11 for receiving the male connection part 1 and configured to be connected to a second power interface 17 (as shown in fig. 8); a first conductive shield 37 (wherein an internal conductive layer 37 layered close to the inner wall of insulated housing 33. Internal conductive layer 37 preferably extends from near both ends of insulated housing 33 to facilitate optimal current flow. Positioned within internal conductive layer 37 is internal insulative layer 39, which provides insulative protection to conductive layer 37) enclosing the male connection part 1 and the female connection part 11, the first conductive shield 37 is electrically connected to at least one of the male connection part 1 and the female connection part 11 (as shown in fig. 8); and an isolating part 33 enclosing the first conductive shield 37.
As per claims 30-32, 40-41, 45-46, 53-54: Hughes discloses the electrical connector, wherein a second conductive shield 35 (partially enclosed) enclosing the isolating part 33 (see fig. 8); and a first end cap (not label, see fig. 7, a partial of external insulated housing 23 is covering the power interface) at least partly enclosing the first power interface 7, and a second end cap (not label, see fig. 8, a partial of semi-conductive shield 35 is covering the power interface) at least partly enclosing the second power interface 17; and wherein the first end cap and the second end cap together with the second conductive shield 35 form an electrically closed enclosure of the male connection part 1, the female connection part, the first conductive shield 37 and the isolating part 33 (see figs. 7-8, wherein the male connection part engaged/connected/inserted to the female connection part); and wherein configured to operate at a voltage exceeding 0.5 kV, or a voltage in the order of 1 kV or more; and to operate at a current exceeding 10 A, or current in the order of 40A or more (see Col. 1, lines 30-39; wherein it enters a transmission substation to be converted up to extremely high voltages for long-distance transmission, typically in the range of 150 kV to 750 kV. Then power is transmitted over high-voltage transmission lines and is later converted down to distribution voltages (within 2 kV to 10 kV) that will allow the power to be distributed over short distances more economically. The power is then reduced from the distribution voltage, typically around 7,200 volts, and delivered over a distribution bus line to the 240 volts necessary for ordinary residential or commercial electrical service).
As per claim 44: Hughes discloses a method for providing an electrical connector (as shown in fig. 7) for a vacuum environment, the method comprising: providing a first power interface 7 and a male connection part 1 connected to the first power interface 7; providing a second power interface 17 and a female connection part 11 connected to the second power interface 17; enclosing one of the male connection part 1 or the female connection part 11 with a first conductive shield 37; enclosing the first conductive shield 37 with an isolating part 33; and connecting the male connection part 1 to the female connection part 11, wherein the first conductive shield 37 is in electric communication with the first power interface 7 and with the second power interface 17 (see figs. 7-8, once the male connector portion engaged/inserted into the female connector portion).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 36-38; 50-52 are as best understood and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hughes (US 7591693).
As per claims 36-39, 50-52: Hughes discloses the electrical connector, and the 1st conductive shield 37, the isolation part 33. However, Hughes silents to mention wherein the first conductive shield is a metallic tubular shield; and the isolating part is a tubular polymer element; and the polymer comprising a flexible material, such as a rubber material; and the isolating part comprising a fluoropolymer elastomer selected from the group of copolymers of terpolymers of tetrafluoroethylene (TFE), hexafluoropropylene (HFP), vinylidene fluoride (VDF or VF2), vinylidene fluoride (VDF), hexafluoropropylene (HFP), and perfluoromethylvinylether (PMVE).
On the other hand, Hughes mentioned that wherein the middle section of insulated housing 33, typically referred to as semi-conductive shield 35, is positioned between the first end and second end. The middle section is preferably comprised of a semi-conductive material that provides a dead front safety shield. However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would know that having the first conductive shield is a metallic tubular shield; and the isolating part is a tubular polymer element; and the polymer comprising a flexible material, such as a rubber material; and the isolating part comprising a fluoropolymer elastomer selected from the group of copolymers of terpolymers of tetrafluoroethylene (TFE), hexafluoropropylene (HFP), vinylidene fluoride (VDF or VF2), vinylidene fluoride (VDF), hexafluoropropylene (HFP), and perfluoromethylvinylether (PMVE) can only deal with preferred material, because such modification still would not change the function of the electrical connector after all but to further enhance a stable, reliable with durable, toughness and excellent in insulation but still with lightweight and low cost to produced. Since, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the electrical connector of Hughes by having the first conductive shield is a metallic tubular shield; and the isolating part is a tubular polymer element; and the polymer comprising a flexible material, such as a rubber material; and the isolating part comprising a fluoropolymer elastomer selected from the group of copolymers of terpolymers of tetrafluoroethylene (TFE), hexafluoropropylene (HFP), vinylidene fluoride (VDF or VF2), vinylidene fluoride (VDF), hexafluoropropylene (HFP), and perfluoromethylvinylether (PMVE) as taught by the instant invention to further enhance a stable, reliable with durable, toughness and excellent in insulation but still with lightweight and low cost to produced.
Claim(s) 42 as best understood and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hughes (US 7591693) in view of Damen et al. (US 9112300).
As per claim 42: Hughes discloses the electrical connector. However, Hughes does not explicitly mention wherein the system is a lithographic system.
Damen et al. discloses an electrical connector with lithographic system (as shown in figs. 2A-B) in order to further provide a stable and reliable structure in a high voltage electrical used within a very low pressure environment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the electrical connector of Hughes by having the system is a lithographic system as taught by Damen et al. to further provide a stable and reliable structure in a high voltage electrical used within a very low pressure environment.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 33-35, 43, 47-49, and 55-56 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Conclusion
/T.H.N/Examiner, Art Unit 2831 /ABDULLAH A RIYAMI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831