Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the waterproof rubber ring, on which the power connection and debugging member is mounted by extrusion; and the waterproof rubber ring is configured for sealing and waterproofing must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
Furthermore an accessory fool-proofing structure located at the lateral side of the main frame, and the accessory fool-proofing structure is configured to constrain the mounting of an external power taking device must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
Furthermore a waterproof rubber ring, on which the power connection and debugging member is mounted by extrusion; and the waterproof rubber ring is configured for sealing and waterproofing.
No new matter should be entered.
Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du CN 210489081 (translation provided) in view of Cao CN -212782570 (translation provided).
Regarding claim 1, Du teaches a waterproof (see claim 5) double-sided liquid crystal screen electronic shelf label, comprising: a main frame (fig. 1 main frame 1), a double-sided screen (first display screen 2, second display screen 3, , and a fixing member (hanging member 10); wherein the double-sided screen is fixed in the main frame (see fig. 2 shows screens 2-3 suspended in frame 1)); the fixing member is configured to fix and mount the electronic shelf label (fixing member 10 is a mount); and the double-sided screen is configured to display information on both sides of the double-sided screen (it is not explicitly clear what structure this limitation requires but the reference shows two opposing screens 2 and 3 both facing opposite and outward thus this limitation appears to me met).
Du does not teach a power connection and debugging member, and the power connection and debugging member and the fixing member are located at a lateral side of the main frame; the power connection and debugging member is configured to supply power to the double-sided screen and debug the double-sided screen. However Cao teaches a similar double sided display with a power connection (5V power supply page 4 1st paragraph) and debugging member (fig. 3 RS232 port 5), and the power connection and debugging member and the fixing member are located at a lateral side of the main frame (fig. 3 shell 1); the power connection and debugging member is configured to supply power to the double-sided screen and debug the double-sided screen (see page 4 paragraph 1) to provide compactness and allow for easy access to debug interface (see page 4 paragraphs 1-3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Du in view of Cao to provide a compact and double sided display that has easy access to debug.
Regarding claims 2-4, Du in view of Cao teach the waterproof double-sided liquid crystal screen electronic shelf label according to claim 1, but do not explicitly teach wherein the main frame comprises an external housing which comprises a mounting hole, and a lateral side of each screen of the double-sided screen is provided with a mounting hole; and through the mounting hole at the lateral side of the screen and the mounting hole of the external housing, each screen of the double-sided screen is fixed in the main frame by screws; the main frame comprises an external housing which comprises a buckle, and a lateral side of each screen of the double-sided screen is provided with a buckle; and each screen of the double-sided screen is fixed in the main frame through the buckle at the lateral side of the screen and the buckle of the external housing; wherein the main frame comprises an external housing, to which each screen of the double-sided screen is fixed by adhesive dispensing. However each of these would be considered a matter of design choice as use of an external housing which comprises a mounting hole, and a lateral side of each screen of the double-sided screen is provided with a mounting hole; and through the mounting hole at the lateral side of the screen and the mounting hole of the external housing, each screen of the double-sided screen is fixed in the main frame by screw allows for quick disassembly at low cost. The main frame comprises an external housing which comprises a buckle, and a lateral side of each screen of the double-sided screen is provided with a buckle; and each screen of the double-sided screen is fixed in the main frame through the buckle at the lateral side of the screen and the buckle of the external housing would allow for display removal without the use of tools at additional cost and wherein the main frame comprises an external housing, to which each screen of the double-sided screen is fixed by adhesive dispensing would provide the best impact resistance at the cost of being hard to dissemble. These are all considered matters of obvious design choice as they are different forms of mounting the panel with specific tradeoffs.
Regarding claim 8, Du in view of Cao already teaches the waterproof double-sided liquid crystal screen electronic shelf label according to claim 1. Therefore since a waterproof display is already disclose the use of a waterproof rubber ring, on which the power connection and debugging member is mounted by extrusion; and the waterproof rubber ring is configured for sealing and waterproofing would be considered obvious as rubber is a known seam/seal material used in waterproofing.
Regarding claim 9, Du teaches the waterproof double-sided liquid crystal screen electronic shelf label according to claim 1, wherein the double-sided screen comprises two screens (first display screen 2 and second display screen 3), which are closely attached to a middle frame (part of main frame 1) of a product.
Regarding claim 10, Du in view of Cao teaches the waterproof double-sided liquid crystal screen electronic shelf label according to claim 1 however does not teach wherein there are two sets of the power connection and debugging members and the fixing members, wherein one set of the power connection and debugging member and the fixing member are located at one lateral side of the double-sided screen, the other set of the power connection and debugging member and the fixing member are located at an adjacent lateral side of the double-sided screen, so that the two sets of the power connection and debugging members and the fixing members are mounted in both horizontal and vertical directions.
However it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply two sets of the power connection and debugging members and the fixing members, wherein one set of the power connection and debugging member and the fixing member are located at one lateral side of the double-sided screen, the other set of the power connection and debugging member and the fixing member are located at an adjacent lateral side of the double-sided screen, so that the two sets of the power connection and debugging members and the fixing members are mounted in both horizontal and vertical directions to allow for vertical (portrait) and horizonal (landscape) orientation as this is common in displays.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du CN 210489081 (translation provided) in view of Cao CN -212782570 (translation provided) and further in view of Ye CN 209928845 (translation provided).
Regarding claim 5, Du and Cao teach the waterproof double-sided liquid crystal screen electronic shelf label according to claim 1, but do not teach wherein each screen of the double-sided screen comprises a lens and a display screen, and the lens is pressed on the display screen through foam glue stuck to a back side of the lens. Ye teaches each screen of the double-sided screen comprises a lens (fig. 1 first/second glass plate 31/39) and a display screen (double sided display 35), and the lens is pressed on the display screen through foam glue stuck (flexible adhesive layer 32/38) to a back side of the lens for providing bonding between the screen and lens (see claim 1) and provide environmental protection. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Du and Cao in view of Ye to provide further environmental protection.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du CN 210489081 (translation provided) in view of Cao CN -212782570 (translation provided) and further in view of Fan US 20917/0371093.
Regarding claim 6, Du and Cao teach the waterproof double-sided liquid crystal screen electronic shelf label according to claim 1, but do not teach wherein two screens of the double-sided screen are fixed in the main frame in a manner that a head of each one of the two screens corresponds to a tail of the other one of the two screens, to enhance heat dissipation. Fan teaches wherein two screens of the double-sided screen are fixed in the main frame in a manner that a head of each one of the two screens (first display model 12 second display module 13) corresponds to a tail of the other one of the two screens, to enhance heat dissipation offering reduced manufacturing cost while being thinner (see [0008]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Du in view of Fang to reduce thickness and costs.
Claim(s) 7, 12, and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du CN 210489081 (translation provided) in view of Cao CN -212782570 (translation provided) and further in view of Lin CN 109723354.
Regarding claim 7, Du and Cao teach the waterproof double-sided liquid crystal screen electronic shelf label according to claim 1, but do not teach an accessory fool-proofing structure located at the lateral side of the main frame, and the accessory fool-proofing structure is configured to constrain the mounting of an external power taking device. Li teaches an accessory fool-proofing structure (first and second connecting part 241 / 242) located at the lateral side of the main frame (door panel 200), and the accessory fool-proofing structure is configured to constrain the mounting of an external power taking device (see fig. 6) enabling improved stability of the display (see page 5 paragraph 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Du in view of Lin to enhance stability of the device.
Regarding claim 11, Du and Cao teach all the limitations of claim 11 except a power taking device and an electrifying guide rail; wherein the waterproof double-sided liquid crystal screen electronic shelf label is fixedly mounted with the power taking device, and the power taking device is mounted on the electrifying guide rail; and the power taking device is configured to supply power to the waterproof double-sided liquid crystal screen electronic shelf label through the electrifying guide rail.
Lin teaches a power taking device (electric connecting part 240) and an electrifying guide rail (slide rail power supply 300); wherein the waterproof double-sided liquid crystal screen electronic shelf label is fixedly mounted with the power taking device, and the power taking device is mounted on the electrifying guide rail; and the power taking device is configured to supply power to the waterproof double-sided liquid crystal screen electronic shelf label through the electrifying guide rail enabling improved stability of the display (see page 5 paragraph 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Du in view of Lin to enhance stability of the device.
Regarding claim 12, Lin teaches the power taking device comprises an electrifying device, a main frame (box that houses 241-243 see fig. 6) and a dismounting device (pulley 243), and the electrifying device and the dismounting device are mounted on the main frame; the electrifying device is configured to obtain power from the electrifying guide rail and supply power to the waterproof double-sided liquid crystal screen electronic shelf label; and the dismounting device is configured to enable the power taking device to be conveniently mounted on and dismounted from the electrifying guide rail (via connection part 240 and connecting portions 242/241).
Regarding claim 15, the references do not explicitly teach the power taking device further comprises a fixing via-hole, and the power taking device is fixedly mounted through the fixing via-hole and the fixing device of the waterproof double-sided liquid crystal screen electronic shelf label. However the addition of a fixing hole and securing the fixing device of the waterproof double-sided liquid crystal screen electronic shelf label is considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as the use of holes and form fixing holes is well understood and could easily be used to provide further secure attachment.
Regarding claim 16, Lin teaches the power taking device further comprises a fool-proofing member (connecting portions 241/242) , which is matched with an accessory fool-proofing structure (+ - terminals on 240) on the waterproof double-sided liquid crystal screen electronic shelf label to constrain the mounting of the power taking device.
Regarding 17, Lin teaches wherein the electrifying guide rail (300), through which the waterproof double-sided liquid crystal screen electronic shelf label is electrified but does not explicitly recite a copper bar. However copper is the most commonly used conductor as it is relatively inexpensive and highly conductive therefore the use of a copper bar is considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-14 and 18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/PHU VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871