DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the Amendment dated 23 April 2026. Claims 1, 3, 4, 15 and 20 are amended. Claims 2 and 16 have been cancelled. No claims have been added. Claims 1, 3-15 and 17-20 remain pending and have been considered below.
Claims Interpreted as Invoking 35 U.S.C. 112(f)/Sixth Paragraph
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “system configured to store”, “system configured to execute”, “management module executable to add” in claims 1-6, 8, 11-14 and 20.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 9-11, 13-15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiani (US 2017/0147774 A1) in view of Choi et al. (US 2020/0301720 A1).
As for independent claim 1, Kiani teaches a device comprising:
a memory system configured to store available applications [(e.g. see Kiani paragraphs 0018, 0053) ”native software on the monitoring device … The steps of a method or algorithm described in connection with the embodiments disclosed herein can be embodied directly in hardware, in a software module executed by a processor, or in a combination of the two. A software module can reside in RAM memory, flash memory, ROM memory, EPROM memory, EEPROM memory, registers, hard disk, a removable disk, a CD-ROM, a DVD, or any other form of storage medium known in the art”].
a computing system configured to execute the available applications stored in the memory system, wherein each of the available applications corresponds to a function performed via the medical device [(e.g. see Kiani paragraphs 0016, 0048, 0053 and Fig. 3 numerals 303, 305, 307, 309) ” The steps of a method or algorithm described in connection with the embodiments disclosed herein can be embodied directly in hardware, in a software module executed by a processor, or in a combination of the two … the native software operates the backend and low level operational and processing features of a monitoring device … displays the software native to the patient care device … FIG. 3 illustrates an embodiment of a pulse oximeter 301. The pulse oximeter 301 includes a display screen 302 which displays various parameters 303 and 307 along with parameter trends 305 and 309”].
an applications management module executable by the computing system to add an additional application to the available applications stored in the memory system, wherein subsequent execution of the additional application by the computing system causes the medical device to perform the function corresponding thereto [(e.g. see Kiani paragraphs 0016, 0023) ”The decision to use or purchase third party software can be implemented in a home screen on the patient care device. The home screen can provide the user with the option of which preinstalled software the care giver wishes to use as well as the associated pricing. In an embodiment, the patient care device can link to a virtual store (such as the virtual store shown in FIG. 4) accessible via a network 15, such as the Internet or a private hospital network that will allow the care giver to purchase and download desired software onto the device … The third party proprietary software can also simply be an add-on to the existing device software. In an embodiment, the third party software is simply front end software, used to configure the display and possibly calculate higher level measurements, whereas the native software operates the backend and low level operational and processing features of a monitoring device”].
a display device configured to display the available applications stored in the memory system that are available for execution [(e.g. see Kiani paragraphs 0022, 0048 and Fig. 3) ”a care giver can choose to run a third party proprietary software application on the monitoring device. In this way, each different care provider can use the same hardware device to pick and choose which software to run. In an embodiment, the application is run on only a portion of the screen so that the rest of the screen is unobstructed and displays the software native to the patient care device. Alternatively a second, third, fourth, etc. application can also be displayed and run simultaneously. In this way, a care provider can use the hardware device and processing developed by one company, but can choose the display and information configuration of another company based on the care giver's preferences … proprietary parameters can be included using third party proprietary software as described above”].
Kiani does not specifically teach wherein the applications management module is further executable to remove a removable application from the available applications stored in the memory system when a user account associated with the removable application becomes reassociated with another type of medical device. However, in the same field of invention or solving similar problems, Choi teaches:
wherein the applications management module is further executable to remove a removable application from the available applications stored in the memory system when a user account associated with the removable application becomes reassociated with another type of medical device [(e.g. see Choi paragraphs 0062, 0098, 0194) ” The server 108 may directly control a logoff operation of the first electronic device 102. That is, when the network connection between the first electronic device 102 and the second electronic device 101 is terminated, the second electronic device 101 may transmit a request for logoff of the first electronic device 102 from the device account of the second electronic device 101 to the server 108, and the server 108 may transmit a command to the first electronic device 102 in response to the request so that the first electronic device 102 logs off the device account of the second electronic device 101 … The account manager 312 may control to perform login to … the first electronic device 102 based on an account requested from the server 108 and/or the second electronic device 101. The account manager 312 may control to perform login to and/or logoff from an application installed in the first electronic device 102 by interworking with the application manager 314 and/or the device manager 316, or may control to change the configuration of the first electronic device 102. The application manager 314 may perform overall control related to at least one application in the first electronic device 102. The application manager 314 may control to … to remove at least one application from the first electronic device 102 … The electronic device, according to various embodiments, may be one of various types of electronic devices. The electronic devices may include … a portable medical device”].
Therefore, considering the teachings of Kiani and Choi, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add wherein the applications management module is further executable to remove a removable application from the available applications stored in the memory system when a user account associated with the removable application becomes reassociated with another type of medical device, as taught by Choi, to the teachings of Kiani because it readily and efficiently configures a shared device into a preset environment based on a user’s account (e.g. see Choi paragraph 0195).
As for dependent claim 6, Kiani and Choi teach the device as described in claim 1 and Kiani further teaches:
wherein one of the available applications is configured to generate a notification for a user, and wherein the applications management module is configured to display a notification indication on the display device indicating when the notification is generated by the one of the available applications [(e.g. see Kiani paragraphs 0014, 0032) ”displaying information about the data on a visual or other display, producing alerts or warnings on the device … allow third party proprietary software to operate on any medical monitoring device. This allows a medical professional to pick and choose a monitoring device based on core functionality without compromising on desired third party proprietary parameters or display and alarm settings”].
As for dependent claim 9, Kiani and Choi teach the device as described in claim 6 and Kiani further teaches:
wherein the notification is an alarm [(e.g. see Kiani paragraph 0038) ”generates alarms, otherwise known as faults, failures, or alerts, in response to physiological parameters exceeding certain safe thresholds”].
As for dependent claim 10, Kiani and Choi teach the device as described in claim 1 and Kiani further teaches:
wherein the medical device is a monitoring device configured to measure physiological data from the patient [(e.g. see Kiani paragraph 0015) ”a patient monitor 10 connected to a sensor 5 for receiving signals indicative of a physiological condition of a patient. The monitor can include a processor running software configured to process and/or analyze the signal to determine the physiological condition of the patient”].
As for dependent claim 11, Kiani and Choi teach the device as described in claim 1 and Kiani further teaches:
wherein the applications management module is configured to download the additional application to the memory system of the medical device via a pool of applications stored in a remote database separate from the medical device [(e.g. see Kiani paragraph 0023) ”the patient care device can link to a virtual store (such as the virtual store shown in FIG. 4) accessible via a network 15, such as the Internet or a private hospital network that will allow the care giver to purchase and download desired software onto the device”].
As for dependent claim 13, Kiani and Choi teach the device as described in claim 1 and Kiani further teaches:
wherein the applications management module is further configured to measure a usage of the additional application [(e.g. see Kiani paragraph 0023) ”a hospital may purchase the hardware separate from the software. In an embodiment, the software can be purchased on a per use or per patient basis. In this way, a hospital will not be charged significant upfront costs for various different software packages that are desired by individual care givers. The decision to use or purchase third party software can be implemented in a home screen on the patient care device”].
As for dependent claim 14, Kiani and Choi teach the device as described in claim 13 and Kiani further teaches:
wherein the applications management module is configured to communicate the usage measured for the additional application to the remote database [(e.g. see Kiani paragraph 0023) ”a hospital may purchase the hardware separate from the software. In an embodiment, the software can be purchased on a per use or per patient basis. In this way, a hospital will not be charged significant upfront costs for various different software packages that are desired by individual care givers. The decision to use or purchase third party software can be implemented in a home screen on the patient care device … the patient care device can link to a virtual store (such as the virtual store shown in FIG. 4) accessible via a network 15, such as the Internet or a private hospital network that will allow the care giver to purchase and download desired software onto the device”].
As for independent claim 15, Kiani and Choi teach a method. Claim 15 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 1. Therefore, it is rejected with the same rational as claim 1. Due to the conditional nature of this claim limitation present within a method claim, this limitation carries no patentable weight while giving the claim its broadest reasonable interpretation, as the claimed invention can be practiced without the first condition occurring (e.g. “when…”). The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met. See MPEP 2111.04(II) – Contingent Limitations.
As for dependent claim 18, Kiani and Choi teach the method as described in claim 15; further, claim 18 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 6. Therefore, it is rejected with the same rational as claim 6.
Claims 3-5, 12, 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiani (US 2017/0147774 A1) in view of Choi et al. (US 2020/0301720 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Melika et al. (US 2014/0236846 A1).
As for dependent claim 3, Kiani and Choi teach the device as described in claim 1, but do not specifically teach wherein the removable application was previously added as the additional application, and wherein the applications management module automatically removes the removable application after a predefined period after the removable application was added to the available applications in the memory system. However, in the same field of invention or solving similar problems, Melika teaches:
wherein the removable application was previously added as the additional application, and wherein the applications management module automatically removes the removable application after a predefined period after the removable application was added to the available applications in the memory system [(e.g. see Melika paragraphs 0029, 0054, 0055, 0056) ”The app manager 510 can also track and aggregate statistics relating to apps such as the … date/time each app is downloaded … the app download control module 515 can initiate automatic removal of previously downloaded applications from the client device or can disable the previously downloaded applications in response to the subscription status being invalid … the app license verification module 520 can also determine and provide other licensing information such as a license validity period associated with duration of the access right or license expiration date … can be used for a limited period of time”].
Therefore, considering the teachings of Kiani, Choi and Melika, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add wherein the removable application was previously added as the additional application, and wherein the applications management module automatically removes the removable application after a predefined period after the removable application was added to the available applications in the memory system, as taught by Melika, to the teachings of Kiani and Choi because it improves the monetization of applications in a market (e.g. see Melika paragraph 0014).
As for dependent claim 4, Kiani and Choi teach the device as described in claim 1, but do not specifically teach the following limitation. However, Melika teaches:
wherein the applications management module is configured such that the additional application is non-executable after a period of time [(e.g. see Melika paragraphs 0029, 0055, 0056) ”the app download control module 515 can initiate automatic removal of previously downloaded applications from the client device or can disable the previously downloaded applications in response to the subscription status being invalid … the app license verification module 520 can also determine and provide other licensing information such as a license validity period associated with duration of the access right or license expiration date … can be used for a limited period of time”].
The motivation to combine is the same as that used for claim 3.
As for dependent claim 5, Kiani, Choi and Melika teach the device as described in claim 4, but Kiani and Choi do not specifically teach the following limitation. However, Melika teaches:
wherein the applications management module is configured such that the predefined period is adjustable [(e.g. see Melika paragraph 0025) ”the disclosed platform for providing subscription service can provide one or more subscription plans that customers can choose from and enroll. Each subscription plan can be characterized by features such as price (e.g., per subscription period which can be month, six months, year, etc.)”].
The motivation to combine is the same as that used for claim 3.
As for dependent claim 12, Kiani and Choi teach the device as described in claim 11, but do not specifically teach the following limitation. However, Melika teaches:
wherein the applications management module is configured such that the available applications stored in the memory system are executable without access to the remote database [(e.g. see Melika paragraph 0032) ”if the app is launched while the mobile device 110 is offline, the app can manage itself as instructed until the app can contact the server 210 to refresh the license status of the app (e.g., the app can launch with only features x, y and z enabled or the app can remains operational”].
The motivation to combine is the same as that used for claim 3.
As for dependent claim 17, Kiani and Choi teach the method as described in claim 15; further, claim 17 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 4. Therefore, it is rejected with the same rational as claim 4.
As for dependent claim 19, Kiani and Choi teach the method as described in claim 15; further, claim 19 discloses substantially the same limitations as claims 11 and 12. Therefore, it is rejected with the same rational as claims 11 and 12.
As for independent claim 20, Kiani teaches a device comprising:
a memory system configured to store available applications [(e.g. see Kiani paragraphs 0018, 0053) ”native software on the monitoring device … The steps of a method or algorithm described in connection with the embodiments disclosed herein can be embodied directly in hardware, in a software module executed by a processor, or in a combination of the two. A software module can reside in RAM memory, flash memory, ROM memory, EPROM memory, EEPROM memory, registers, hard disk, a removable disk, a CD-ROM, a DVD, or any other form of storage medium known in the art”].
a computing system configured to execute the available applications stored in the memory system, wherein each of the available applications corresponds to a function performed via the medical device [(e.g. see Kiani paragraphs 0016, 0048, 0053 and Fig. 3 numerals 303, 305, 307, 309) ” The steps of a method or algorithm described in connection with the embodiments disclosed herein can be embodied directly in hardware, in a software module executed by a processor, or in a combination of the two … the native software operates the backend and low level operational and processing features of a monitoring device … displays the software native to the patient care device … FIG. 3 illustrates an embodiment of a pulse oximeter 301. The pulse oximeter 301 includes a display screen 302 which displays various parameters 303 and 307 along with parameter trends 305 and 309”].
an applications management module executable by the computing system to download an additional application from a remote database to the available applications stored in the memory system, wherein subsequent execution of the additional application by the computing system causes the medical device to perform the function corresponding thereto [(e.g. see Kiani paragraphs 0016, 0023) ”The decision to use or purchase third party software can be implemented in a home screen on the patient care device. The home screen can provide the user with the option of which preinstalled software the care giver wishes to use as well as the associated pricing. In an embodiment, the patient care device can link to a virtual store (such as the virtual store shown in FIG. 4) accessible via a network 15, such as the Internet or a private hospital network that will allow the care giver to purchase and download desired software onto the device … The third party proprietary software can also simply be an add-on to the existing device software. In an embodiment, the third party software is simply front end software, used to configure the display and possibly calculate higher level measurements, whereas the native software operates the backend and low level operational and processing features of a monitoring device”].
a display device configured to display the available applications stored in the memory system that are available for execution [(e.g. see Kiani paragraphs 0022, 0048 and Fig. 3) ”a care giver can choose to run a third party proprietary software application on the monitoring device. In this way, each different care provider can use the same hardware device to pick and choose which software to run. In an embodiment, the application is run on only a portion of the screen so that the rest of the screen is unobstructed and displays the software native to the patient care device. Alternatively a second, third, fourth, etc. application can also be displayed and run simultaneously. In this way, a care provider can use the hardware device and processing developed by one company, but can choose the display and information configuration of another company based on the care giver's preferences … proprietary parameters can be included using third party proprietary software as described above”].
wherein the applications management module is configured to display a notification indication on the display device indicating when the notification is generated by the one of the available applications [(e.g. see Kiani paragraphs 0014, 0032) ”displaying information about the data on a visual or other display, producing alerts or warnings on the device … allow third party proprietary software to operate on any medical monitoring device. This allows a medical professional to pick and choose a monitoring device based on core functionality without compromising on desired third party proprietary parameters or display and alarm settings”].
Kiani does not specifically teach wherein the applications management module is further executable to remove a removable application from the available applications stored in the memory system when a user account associated with the removable application becomes reassociated with another type of medical device. However, in the same field of invention or solving similar problems, Choi teaches:
wherein the applications management module is further executable to remove a removable application from the available applications stored in the memory system when a user account associated with the removable application becomes reassociated with another type of medical device [(e.g. see Choi paragraphs 0062, 0098, 0194) ” The server 108 may directly control a logoff operation of the first electronic device 102. That is, when the network connection between the first electronic device 102 and the second electronic device 101 is terminated, the second electronic device 101 may transmit a request for logoff of the first electronic device 102 from the device account of the second electronic device 101 to the server 108, and the server 108 may transmit a command to the first electronic device 102 in response to the request so that the first electronic device 102 logs off the device account of the second electronic device 101 … The account manager 312 may control to perform login to … the first electronic device 102 based on an account requested from the server 108 and/or the second electronic device 101. The account manager 312 may control to perform login to and/or logoff from an application installed in the first electronic device 102 by interworking with the application manager 314 and/or the device manager 316, or may control to change the configuration of the first electronic device 102. The application manager 314 may perform overall control related to at least one application in the first electronic device 102. The application manager 314 may control to … to remove at least one application from the first electronic device 102 … The electronic device, according to various embodiments, may be one of various types of electronic devices. The electronic devices may include … a portable medical device”].
Therefore, considering the teachings of Kiani and Choi, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add wherein the applications management module is further executable to remove a removable application from the available applications stored in the memory system when a user account associated with the removable application becomes reassociated with another type of medical device, as taught by Choi, to the teachings of Kiani because it readily and efficiently configures a shared device into a preset environment based on a user’s account (e.g. see Choi paragraph 0195).
Kiani and Choi do not specifically teach wherein the management module is configured such that the available applications stored in the memory system are executable without access to the remote database or wherein the applications management module is configured such that the additional application is non-executable a predefined period after being downloaded. However, in the same field of invention or solving similar problems, Melika teaches:
wherein the management module is configured such that the available applications stored in the memory system are executable without access to the remote database [(e.g. see Melika paragraph 0032) ”if the app is launched while the mobile device 110 is offline, the app can manage itself as instructed until the app can contact the server 210 to refresh the license status of the app (e.g., the app can launch with only features x, y and z enabled or the app can remains operational”].
wherein the applications management module is configured such that the additional application is non-executable a predefined period after being downloaded [(e.g. see Melika paragraphs 0029, 0055, 0056) ”the app download control module 515 can initiate automatic removal of previously downloaded applications from the client device or can disable the previously downloaded applications in response to the subscription status being invalid … the app license verification module 520 can also determine and provide other licensing information such as a license validity period associated with duration of the access right or license expiration date … can be used for a limited period of time”].
Therefore, considering the teachings of Kiani, Choi and Melika, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add wherein the management module is configured such that the available applications stored in the memory system are executable without access to the remote database and wherein the applications management module is configured such that the additional application is non-executable a predefined period after being downloaded, as taught by Melika, to the teachings of Kiani and Choi because it improves the monetization of applications in a market (e.g. see Melika paragraph 0014).
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiani (US 2017/0147774 A1) in view of Choi et al. (US 2020/0301720 A1), as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Hyun et al. (US 2018/0356954 A1).
As for dependent claim 7, Kiani and Choi teach the device as described in claim 6, but do not specifically teach wherein the notification generated by the one of the available applications is one of a plurality of notifications, and wherein the notification indication includes a number of the plurality of notifications generated. However, in the same field of invention or solving similar problems, Hyun teaches:
wherein the notification generated by the one of the available applications is one of a plurality of notifications, and wherein the notification indication includes a number of the plurality of notifications generated [(e.g. see Hyun paragraphs 0023, 0136, 0137and Fig. 3A) ” a user interface managing notification information of an event that occurs … As illustrated in (a) of FIG. 3A, when an event occurs in at least one application included in the folder, the controller 180 can output an icon indicating occurrence of the event on a folder icon 310 in an overlapping manner … The badge icon 320 represents the number of events which have occurred in the folder. That is, when two events occur in a first application and one event occurs in a second application, the badge icon can represent 3 as the number of events”].
Therefore, considering the teachings of Kiani, Choi and Hyun, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add wherein the notification generated by the one of the available applications is one of a plurality of notifications, and wherein the notification indication includes a number of the plurality of notifications generated, as taught by Hyun, to the teachings of Kiani and Choi because it allows the user to quickly read notification information and avoids the user missing essential notification information (e.g. see Hyun paragraphs 0006, 0008).
As for dependent claim 8, Kiani and Choi teach the device as described in claim 6, but do not specifically teach the following limitation. However, Hyun teaches:
wherein the notification indication is selectable to display the notification generated by the one of the available applications, and wherein selecting the notification indication to display the notification causes the applications management module to discontinue displaying the notification indication [(e.g. see Hyun paragraphs 0142, 0143, 0152 and Fig. 3A) ”As illustrated in (b) of FIG. 3A, when the first touch input is applied, and when events have occurred in different applications, the controller 180 can output a list 330 including summary information of each application. Through this, the user can check the applications in which events have occurred … When the summary information is output, and when a second touch input following the first touch input is applied, the controller 180 can output a notification window 340 including detailed information of the event which has occurred in at least one application … Referring to (d) of FIG. 3A, when the event is set to the read state, the controller 180 can stop displaying the badge icon 320 indicating occurrence of the event”].
The motivation to combine is the same as that used for claim 7.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed 23 April 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that [“neither Kiani nor Melika teaches or suggests [the added limitation] as required by amended independent claims 1, 15, and 20.” (Page 8).].
The argument described above, in paragraph number 11, with respect to the newly added limitations to the independent claims has been considered, but is moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER J FIBBI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174