Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s)#1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim #1-5, 7-9 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHAI (U.S. Pub. No, 2023/0422605), hereinafter referred to as "Zhai" and in view of MOU (U.S. Pub. No, 2020/0067007), hereinafter referred to as "Mou".
Zhai shows, with respect to claim #1 and 22, organic light emitting device comprising an anode (fig. #1, item 2) (paragraph 0060, 0062, 0103), a cathode (fig. #1, item 9) and a light emitting structure layer disposed between the anode and the cathode (paragraph 0060, 0070), wherein, the light emitting structure layer comprises at least a first emitting layer (fig. #1, item 6) (paragraph 0020), the first emitting layer comprises a first P-type host material (paragraph 0045), a first N-type host material and a first doping material (paragraph 0045), the mass ratio of the first P-type host material to the first N-type host material is 3:7 to 7:3 (paragraph 0206, 0211, 0228), the mass of the first doping (phosphorescent, fluorescent) (paragraph 0003, 0017) material is 1% to 5% of the mass of the first host material (paragraph 0223, 0226), and the mass of the first host material is the sum of the masses of the first P-type host material and the first N-type host material (paragraph 0206, 0209-0211, 0226-0228).
Zhai substantially shows the claimed invention as shown in the rejection of claim #1 and 22 above
Zhai fails to show, with respect to claim #1 and 22, wherein, the light emitting structure layer further comprises a first electron block layer disposed between the anode and the first emitting layer, and the first P-type host material and the first electron block layer satisfy: (&HOMO(EBL1)-|HOMO(RH-P1)<0.3eV, 0.1<uh(RH-P1)/uh (EBL1)<100: wherein, HOMO(EBL1) is a HOMO energy level of the first electron block layer, HOMO(RH-P1) is a HOMO energy level of the first P-type host material. µh(RH-P1) is a hole mobility of the first P-type host material, and µh(EBL1) is a hole mobility of the first electron block layer.
Mou teaches, with respect to claim #1 and 22, wherein, the light emitting structure layer further comprises a first electron block layer (fig. #1, item 320b) disposed between the anode (fig. #1, item 200) and the first emitting layer (fig. #1, item 310), and the first P-type host material (fig. #1, item 330) (paragraph 0051-0052) and the first electron block layer (fig. #1, item 320b) satisfy: (&HOMO(EBL1)-|HOMO(RH-P1)<0.3eV, 0.1<uh(RH-P1)/uh (EBL1)<100 (paragraph 0086): wherein, HOMO(EBL1) is a HOMO energy level of the first electron block layer, HOMO(RH-P1) is a HOMO energy level of the first P-type host material. µh(RH-P1) is a hole mobility of the first P-type host material, and µh(EBL1) is a hole mobility of the first electron block layer (paragraph 0084-0086).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, with respect to claim #1 and 22, to modified the invention of Zhai as modified by the invention of Mou, which teaches, wherein, the light emitting structure layer further comprises a first electron block layer disposed between the anode and the first emitting layer, and the first P-type host material and the first electron block layer satisfy: (&HOMO(EBL1)-|HOMO(RH-P1)<0.3eV, 0.1<uh(RH-P1)/uh (EBL1)<100: wherein, HOMO(EBL1) is a HOMO energy level of the first electron block layer, HOMO(RH-P1) is a HOMO energy level of the first P-type host material. µh(RH-P1) is a hole mobility of the first P-type host material, and µh(EBL1) is a hole mobility of the first electron block layer, to incorporate a structural condition that would allow a working voltage, at the higher second voltage range, hole can enter the electron transport layer after crossing the hole block layer to be recombined with the electron in the electron transport layer to allow admission of light, as taught by Mou.
Zhai shows, with respect to claim #2, a device wherein, the first P-type host material and the first N-type host material satisfy: 0.1≤µe(RH-N1)/µh(RH-P1)≤1000 (paragraph 0063, 0064); wherein, µe(RH-N1) (HAT-CN, 10-4-10-5) is the electron mobility of the first N-type host material (paragraph 0064), and µh(RH-P1) (NPB, 10-3-10-4) is the hole mobility of the first P-type host material (paragraph 0067, 0068).
Zhai shows, with respect to claim #3, a device wherein, the first P-type host material and the first N-type host material satisfy: 0.4eV{|HOMO(RH-N1)-HOMO(RH-P1)<1.0eV 0.3eV≤LUMO(RH-N1)-LUMO(RH-PI)≤0.7eV; wherein, HOMO(RH-N1) is the HOMO energy level of the first N-type host material, HOMO(RH-P1) is the HOMO energy level of the first P-type host material, LUMO(RH-N1) is the LUMO energy level of the first N-type host material, and LUMO(RH-P1) is the LUMO energy level of the first P-type host material (paragraph 0099-0101).
Zhai, with respect to claim #3, discloses the claimed invention except for explicitly stating that “N-type host material satisfy: 0.4eV{|HOMO(RH-N1)-HOMO(RH-P1)<1.0 eV 0.3eV≤LUMO(RH-N1)-LUMO(RH-PI)≤0.7eV; wherein, HOMO(RH-N1) is the HOMO energy level of the first N-type host material”. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to balance the examples of material as shown by Zhai to obtain the combinations that would balance the equation to allow, “N-type host material satisfy: 0.4eV{|HOMO(RH-N1)-HOMO(RH-P1)<1.0eV 0.3eV≤LUMO(RH-N1)-LUMO(RH-PI)≤0.7eV; wherein, HOMO(RH-N1) is the HOMO energy level of the first N-type host material”, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re A11er, 105 USPQ 233.
Zhai shows, with respect to claim #4, a device wherein, the first P-type host material and the first doping material satisfy: 0.2eV≤|HOMO(RH-P1)|-|HOMO(RD1)}0.5eV; 0.2eV≤T1(RH-P1)-T1(RD1)<0.5eV; wherein, HOMO(RH-P1) is the HOMO energy level of the first P-type host material HOMO(RD1) is the HOMO energy level of the first doping material, T1(RH-P1) is the lowest triplet energy level of the first P-type host material, and T1(RD1) is the lowest triplet energy level of the first doping material. (paragraph 0099-0101).
Zhai, with respect to claim #4, discloses the claimed invention except for explicitly stating that 0.2eV≤|HOMO(RH-P1)|-|HOMO(RD1)}0.5eV; 0.2eV≤T1(RH-P1)-T1(RD1)<0.5eV; wherein, HOMO(RH-P1) is the HOMO energy level of the first P-type host material HOMO(RD1) is the HOMO energy level of the first doping material, T1(RH-P1) is the lowest triplet energy level of the first P-type host material, and T1(RD1) is the lowest triplet energy level of the first doping material. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to balance the examples of material as shown by Zhai to obtain the combinations that would balance the equation to allow, “0.2eV≤|HOMO(RH-P1)|-|HOMO(RD1)}0.5eV; 0.2eV≤T1(RH-P1)-T1(RD1)<0.5eV; wherein, HOMO(RH-P1) is the HOMO energy level of the first P-type host material HOMO(RD1) is the HOMO energy level of the first doping material, T1(RH-P1) is the lowest triplet energy level of the first P-type host material, and T1(RD1) is the lowest triplet energy level of the first doping material”, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re A11er, 105 USPQ 233.
Zhai shows, with respect to claim #5, a device wherein, the first N-type host material and the first doping material satisfy: 0.2eV≤|LUMO(RD1)-|LUMO(RH-N1)|≤0.5eV; 0.2eV{T1(RH-N1)-T1(RD1)≤0.5eV; wherein, LUMO(RH-N1) is the LUMO energy level of the first N-type host material, LUMO(RD1) is the LUMO energy level of the first doping material, T1(RH-N1) is the lowest triplet energy level of the first N-type host material, and T1(RD1) is the lowest triplet energy level of the first doping material (paragraph 0099-0102).
Zhai, with respect to claim #5, discloses the claimed invention except for explicitly stating that .2eV≤|LUMO(RD1)-|LUMO(RH-N1)|≤0.5eV; 0.2eV{T1(RH-N1)-T1(RD1)≤0.5eV; wherein, LUMO(RH-N1) is the LUMO energy level of the first N-type host material, LUMO(RD1) is the LUMO energy level of the first doping material, T1(RH-N1) is the lowest triplet energy level of the first N-type host material. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to balance the examples of material as shown by Zhai to obtain the combinations that would balance the equation to allow, “.2eV≤|LUMO(RD1)-|LUMO(RH-N1)|≤0.5eV; 0.2eV{T1(RH-N1)-T1(RD1)≤0.5eV; wherein, LUMO(RH-N1) is the LUMO energy level of the first N-type host material, LUMO(RD1) is the LUMO energy level of the first doping material, T1(RH-N1) is the lowest triplet energy level of the first N-type host material”, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re A11er, 105 USPQ 233.
Zhai shows, with respect to claim #7, a device , wherein, the first doping material and the first electron block layer (fig. #1, item 7) satisfy: 0.1eV≤T1(EBL1)-T1(RD1)≤ 5eV; wherein, T1(EBL1) is the lowest triplet energy level of the first electron block layer, and T1(RD1) is a lowest triplet energy level of the first doping material (paragraph 0099-0102).
Zhai, with respect to claim #7, discloses the claimed invention except for explicitly stating that 0.1eV≤T1(EBL1)-T1(RD1)≤ 5eV. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to balance the examples of material as shown by Zhai to obtain the combinations that would balance the equation to allow, “0.1eV≤T1(EBL1)-T1(RD1)≤ 5eV”, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re A11er, 105 USPQ 233.
Zhai shows, with respect to claim #8, a device , wherein the light emitting structure layer further comprises a first hole injection layer (fig. #1, item 3) disposed between the anode (fig. #1, item 2) and the first electron block layer (fig. #1, item 7), and the first hole injection layer (fig. #1, item 3) and the first electron block layer satisfy: 0≤|HOMO(EBL1)|-HOMO(HIL1)≤0.3eV; 0.1≤µh (HIL1)/µh (EBL1)≤100; wherein, HOMO(HIL1) is the HOMO energy level of the first hole injection layer, and µh(HIL1) is the hole mobility of the first hole injection layer` (paragraph 0099-0103).
Zhai, with respect to claim #8, discloses the claimed invention except for explicitly stating that 0≤|HOMO(EBL1)|-HOMO(HIL1)≤0.3eV; 0.1≤µh (HIL1)/µh (EBL1)≤100. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to balance the examples of material as shown by Zhai to obtain the combinations that would balance the equation to allow, “0≤|HOMO(EBL1)|-HOMO(HIL1)≤0.3eV; 0.1≤µh (HIL1)/µh (EBL1)≤100”, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re A11er, 105 USPQ 233.
Zhai shows, with respect to claim #9, a device , wherein, the first hole injection layer comprises a hole host material and a hole doping material, and the mass of the hole doping material is 1.5% to 4.5% of the mass of the hole host material (paragraph 0206).
//
Claim #10-15, 18-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHAI (U.S. Pub. No, 2023/0422605), hereinafter referred to as "Zhai" as modified by MOU (U.S. Pub. No, 2020/0067007), hereinafter referred to as "Mou" as shown in the rejection of claim #1 above and in further view of KWON et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0320211), hereinafter referred to as "Kwon".
Zhai shows, with respect to claim #10, an emitting device wherein the mass ratio of the second P-type host material to the second N-type host material is 3:7 to 7:3 (paragraph 0206, 0211, 0228), the mass of the second doping material is 1% to 5% of the mass of the second host material (paragraph 0052, 0223, 0226), and the mass of the second host material is the sum of the masses of the second P-type host material and the second N-type host material (paragraph 0206, 0209-0211, 0226-0228).
Zhai as modified by Mou, substantially shows the claimed invention as shown in the rejection of claim #1 above.
Zhai as modified by Mou, fails to show, with respect to claim #10, wherein, the light emitting structure layer further comprises a charge generation layer and a second emitting layer, the first emitting layer is disposed between the anode and the charge generation layer, and the second emitting layer is disposed between the charge generation layer and the cathode; the second emitting layer comprises a second P-type host material, a second N-type host material and a second doping material.
Kwon teaches, with respect to claim #10, wherein, the light emitting structure layer (fig. #4) further comprises a charge generation layer (paragraph 0262) and a second emitting layer (Below; fig. #Ex1, item EL2) (paragraph 0132, 0201), the first emitting layer (Below; fig. #Ex1, item EL1) is disposed between the anode (Below; fig. #Ex1, item AD) and the charge generation layer (paragraph 0126), and the second emitting layer (Below; fig. #Ex1, item EL2) (paragraph 0263) is disposed between the charge generation layer and the cathode (paragraph 0198) (fig #1, item 400 & Below, fig. #Ex1, item CD); the second emitting layer comprises a second P-type host material (paragraph 0047-0049, 0050, 0056), a second N-type host material and a second doping material (paragraph 0050,0052, 0054-0056, 0266).
[AltContent: textbox (Second Transfer; FT)][AltContent: textbox (2nd Emitting Layer; EL2)][AltContent: textbox (Second Transfer; FT2)][AltContent: textbox (Cathode; CD)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (Charge Generation layer; CGL)][AltContent: textbox (1st Emitting Layer; EL1)][AltContent: textbox (First Transfer; FT1)][AltContent: textbox (Anode; AD)][AltContent: textbox (Ex1)]
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, with respect to claim #10, to modified the invention of Zhai as modified by Mou, with the modification of the invention of Kwon, which teaches, wherein, the light emitting structure layer further comprises a charge generation layer and a second emitting layer, the first emitting layer is disposed between the anode and the charge generation layer, and the second emitting layer is disposed between the charge generation layer and the cathode; the second emitting layer comprises a second P-type host material, a second N-type host material and a second doping material , to incorporate a structural condition that would improve the extraction efficiency of light and the luminous efficiency of the device, as taught by Kwon.
Zhai shows, with respect to claim #11, a device wherein, the first P-type host material and the first N-type host material satisfy: 0.1≤µe(RH-N2)/uh(RH-P2)≤1000 (paragraph 0063, 0064); wherein, µe(RH-N2) (HAT-CN, 10-4-10-5) is the electron mobility of the first N-type host material (paragraph 0064), and µh(RH-P2) (NPB, 10-3-10-4) is the hole mobility of the first P-type host material (paragraph 0067, 0068).
Zhai shows, with respect to claim #12, a device wherein, the first P-type host material and the first N-type host material satisfy: 0.4eV{|HOMO(RH-N1)-HOMO(RH-P1)<1.0eV 0.3eV≤LUMO(RH-N1)-LUMO(RH-PI)≤0.7eV; wherein, HOMO(RH-N1) is a HOMO energy level of the first N-type host material, HOMO(RH-P1) is a HOMO energy level of the first P-type host material, LUMO(RH-N1) is a LUMO energy level of the first N-type host material, and LUMO(RH-P1) is a LUMO energy level of the first P-type host material (paragraph 0099-0101).
Zhai discloses the claimed invention except for explicitly stating that “N-type host material satisfy: 0.4eV{|HOMO(RH-N2)-HOMO(RH-P2)<1.0eV 0.3eV≤LUMO(RH-N2)-LUMO(RH-P2)≤0.7eV; wherein, HOMO(RH-N2) is the HOMO energy level of the first N-type host material”. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to balance the examples of material as shown by Zhai to obtain the combinations that would balance the equation to allow, “N-type host material satisfy: 0.4eV{|HOMO(RH-N2)-HOMO(RH-P2)<1.0eV 0.3eV≤LUMO(RH-N2)-LUMO(RH-P2)≤0.7eV; wherein, HOMO(RH-N1) is the HOMO energy level of the first N-type host material”, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re A11er, 105 USPQ 233.
Zhai shows, with respect to claim #13, a device wherein, the first P-type host material and the first doping material satisfy: 0.2eV≤|HOMO(RH-P2)|-|HOMO(RD2)}0.5eV; 0.2eV≤T1(RH-P2)-T1(RD2)<0.5eV; wherein, HOMO(RH-P2) is a HOMO energy level of the first P-type host material HOMO(RD2) is a HOMO energy level of the second doping material, LUMO(RH-N2) is a LUMO energy level of the second N-type host material, and LUMO(RD2) is a LUMO energy level of the second doping material (paragraph 0099-0101).
Zhai discloses the claimed invention except for explicitly stating that 0.2eV≤|HOMO(RH-P2)|-|HOMO(RD2)}0.5eV; 0.2eV≤T1(RH-P2)-T1(RD2)<0.5eV; wherein, HOMO(RH-P3) is a HOMO energy level of the first P-type host material HOMO(RD2) is a HOMO energy level of the first doping material, LUMO(RH-N2) is a LUMO energy level of the second N-type host material, and LUMO(RD2) is a LUMO energy level. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to balance the examples of material as shown by Zhai to obtain the combinations that would balance the equation to allow, “0.2eV≤|HOMO(RH-P2)|-|HOMO(RD2)}0.5eV; 0.2eV≤T1(RH-P2)-T1(RD2)<0.5eV; wherein, HOMO(RH-P2) is the HOMO energy level of the second P-type host material HOMO(RD1) is a HOMO energy level of the second doping material, LUMO(RH-N2) is a LUMO energy level of the second N-type host material, and LUMO(RD2) is a LUMO energy level”, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re A11er, 105 USPQ 233.
Zhai shows, with respect to claim #14, a light emitting device wherein, the first P-type host material and the second P-type host material satisfy: 1≤µh(RH-P2)/µh(RH-P1)≤100; wherein, µh(RH-P1) is a hole mobility of the first P-type host material, and µh(RH-P2) is the hole mobility of the second P-type host material (paragraph 0099-0101).
Zhai discloses the claimed invention except for explicitly stating that 1≤µh(RH-P2)/µh(RH-P1)≤100; wherein, µh(RH-P1) is a hole mobility of the first P-type host material, and µh(RH-P2) is a hole mobility of the second P-type host material. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to balance the examples of material as shown by Zhai to obtain the combinations that would balance the equation to allow, 1≤µh(RH-P2)/µh(RH-P1)≤100; wherein, µh(RH-P1) is a hole mobility of the first P-type host material, and µh(RH-P2) is a hole mobility of the second P-type host material”, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re A11er, 105 USPQ 233.
Zhai shows, with respect to claim #15, a light emitting device wherein, the first N-type host material and the second N-type host material satisfy: 1≤µe(RH-N1)/µe(RH-N2)≤100; wherein, µe(RH-N1) is an electron mobility of the first N-type host material, and µe(RH-N2) is the electron mobility of the second N-type host material (paragraph 0099-0101).
Zhai discloses the claimed invention except for explicitly stating that 1≤ue(RH-N1)/ue(RH-N2)≤100; wherein, µe(RH-N1) is the electron mobility of the first N-type host material, and µe(RH-N2) is an electron mobility of the second N-type host material. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to balance the examples of material as shown by Zhai to obtain the combinations that would balance the equation to allow, “1≤ue(RH-N1)/ue(RH-N2)≤100; wherein, µe(RH-N1) is the electron mobility of the first N-type host material, and µe(RH-N2) is the electron mobility of the second N-type host material”, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re A11er, 105 USPQ 233.
Zhai shows, with respect to claim #18, a light emitting device wherein, the first emitting layer and the second emitting layer satisfy: 10≤µe(EML1)/µh(EML1)<5000; 10≤µe(EML2)/µh(EML2)≤5000; 1{µh(EML2)/µh(EML1)≤100; 1≤µe(EML1)/µe(EML2)≤100; wherein, µe(EML1) is an electron mobility of the first emitting layer, µe(EML2) is an electron mobility of the second emitting layer, µh(EML1) is the hole mobility of the first emitting layer, and µh(EML2) is a hole mobility of the second emitting layer (paragraph 0099-0101).
Zhai discloses the claimed invention except for explicitly stating that 10≤µe(EML1)/µh(EML1)<5000; 10≤µe(EML2)/µh(EML2)≤5000; 1{µh(EML2)/µh(EML1)≤100; 1≤µe(EML1)/µe(EML2)≤100; wherein, µe(EML1) is the electron mobility of the first emitting layer, µe(EML2) is the electron mobility of the second emitting layer, µh(EML1) is a hole mobility of the first emitting layer, and µh(EML2) is the hole mobility of the second emitting layer. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to balance the examples of material as shown by Zhai to obtain the combinations that would balance the equation to allow, “10≤ µe(EML1)/µh(EML1) <5000; 10≤µe(EML2)/µh(EML2)≤5000; 1{µh(EML2)/µh(EML1)≤100; 1≤ µe(EML1)/µe(EML2) ≤100; wherein, µe(EML1) is an electron mobility of the first emitting layer, µe(EML2) is the electron mobility of the second emitting layer, µh(EML1) is a hole mobility of the first emitting layer, and µh(EML2) is a hole mobility of the second emitting layer”, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re A11er, 105 USPQ 233.
Zhai shows, with respect to claim #19, a light emitting device wherein, the first electron block layer (fig. #2, item 7) and the second electron block (fig. #2, item 8) layer satisfy; 1≤uh(EBL2)/µh(EBL1)≤100; wherein, µh(EBL1) is the hole mobility of the first electron block layer, and µh(EBL2) is the hole mobility of the second electron block layer (paragraph 0020, 0099-0101).
Zhai discloses the claimed invention except for explicitly stating that 1≤uh(EBL2)/µh(EBL1)≤100; wherein, µh(EBL1) is the hole mobility of the first electron block layer, and µh(EBL2) is a hole mobility of the second electron block layer. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to balance the examples of material as shown by Zhai to obtain the combinations that would balance the equation to allow, “1≤uh(EBL2)/µh(EBL1)≤100; wherein, µh(EBL1) is a hole mobility of the first electron block layer, and µh(EBL2) is the hole mobility of the second electron block layer”, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re A11er, 105 USPQ 233.
Zhai as modified by Mou, substantially shows the claimed invention as shown in the rejection of claim #10 above
Zhai as modified by Mou, fail to show, with respect to claim #19, wherein the light emitting device wherein, the light emitting structure layer further comprises a first electron block layer disposed between the anode and the first emitting layer and a second electron block layer disposed between the charge generation layer and the second emitting layer.
Kwon teaches, with respect to claim #19, wherein the light emitting device wherein, the light emitting structure layer further comprises a first electron block layer (Above; fig. #Ex1, item FT1) disposed between the anode (Above; fig. #Ex1, item AD) and the first emitting layer (fig. #Ex1, item EL1) and a second electron block layer (Above; fig. #Ex1, item FT2) disposed between the charge generation layer (Above; fig. #Ex1, item CGL) and the second emitting layer (Above; fig. #Ex1, item EL2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, with respect to claim #19, to modified the invention of Zhai as modified by Mou, with the invention of Kwon, which teaches, wherein, the light emitting structure layer further comprises a first electron block layer disposed between the anode and the first emitting layer and a second electron block layer disposed between the charge generation layer and the second emitting layer, to incorporate a structural condition that would improve the extraction efficiency of light and the luminous efficiency of the device, as taught by Kwon.
Zhai shows, with respect to claim #20, a device, wherein, electron block layers, the emitting layers satisfy: HOMO(RH-N1)<HOMO(EBL 1)<HOMO(RH-P 1); HOMO(RH-N2)<HOMO(EBL2)<HOMO(RH-P2); wherein, HOMO(RH-N1) and HOMO(RH-N2) are the HOMO energy levels of the first N-type host material and the second N-type host material, respectively, HOMO(RH-P1) and HOMO(RH-P2) are the HOMO energy levels of the first P-type host material and the second P-type host material, respectively, and HOMO(EBL1) and HOMO(EBL2) are the HOMO energy levels of the first electron block layer and the second electron block layer, respectively (paragraph 0020, 0099-0102).
Zhai discloses the claimed invention except for explicitly stating that HOMO(RH-N1)<HOMO(EBL 1)<HOMO(RH-P 1); HOMO(RH-N2)<HOMO(EBL2)<HOMO(RH-P2); wherein, HOMO(RH-N1) and HOMO(RH-N2) are the HOMO energy levels of the first N-type host material and the second N-type host material, respectively, HOMO(RH-P1) and HOMO(RH-P2) are the HOMO energy levels of the first P-type host material and the second P-type host material, respectively, and HOMO(EBL1) and HOMO(EBL2) are the HOMO energy levels of the first electron block layer and the second electron block layer, respectively. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to balance the examples of material as shown by Zhai to obtain the combinations that would balance the equation to allow, “HOMO(RH-N1)<HOMO(EBL 1)<HOMO(RH-P 1); HOMO(RH-N2)<HOMO(EBL2)<HOMO(RH-P2); wherein, HOMO(RH-N1) and HOMO(RH-N2) are the HOMO energy levels of the first N-type host material and the second N-type host material, respectively, HOMO(RH-P1) and HOMO(RH-P2) are the HOMO energy levels of the first P-type host material and the second P-type host material, respectively, and HOMO(EBL1) and HOMO(EBL2) are the HOMO energy levels of the first electron block layer and the second electron block layer, respectively”, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re A11er, 105 USPQ 233.
Zhai as modified by Mou, substantially shows the claimed invention as shown in the rejection of claim #19 above.
Zhai as modified by Mou, fail to show, with respect to claim #20, a device, wherein, the first electron block layer, the first emitting layer, the second electron block layer, and the second emitting layer satisfy.
Kwon teaches, with respect to claim #20, a device, wherein, the first electron block layer (fig. #Ex1, item FT1), the first emitting layer (fig. #Ex1, item EL1), the second electron block layer (fig. #Ex1, item FT2), and the second emitting layer satisfy (fig. #Ex1, item EL2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, with respect to claim #20, to modified the invention of Zhai as modified by Mou, with the invention of Kwon, which teaches, wherein, the first electron block layer, the first emitting layer, the second electron block layer, and the second emitting layer satisfy, to incorporate a structural condition that would improve the extraction efficiency of light and the luminous efficiency of the device, as taught by Kwon.
Zhai shows, with respect to claim #21, a device, wherein, electron block layers, the emitting layers satisfy: T1(RD1)<T1(RH-P1)<T1(EBL1); T1(RD2)<T1(RH-P2)<T1(EBL2); T1(RD1)<T1(RH-N1)<T1(EBL1); T1(RD2)<T1(RH-N2)<T1(EBL2); wherein, T1(RH-N1) and T1(RH-N2) are the lowest triplet energy levels of the first N-type host material and the second N-type host material, respectively, T1(RH-P1) and T1(RH-P2) are the lowest triplet energy levels of the first P-type host material and the second P-type host material, respectively, T1(RD1) and T1 (RD2) are the lowest triplet energy levels of the first doping material and the second doping material, respectively, and T1(EBL1) and T1(EBL2) are the lowest triplet energy levels of the first electron block layer and the second electron block layer, respectively (paragraph 0020, 0099-0102).
Zhai discloses the claimed invention except for explicitly stating that T1(RD1)<T1(RH-P1)<T1(EBL1); T1(RD2)<T1(RH-P2)<T1(EBL2); T1(RD1)<T1(RH-N1)<T1(EBL1); T1(RD2)<T1(RH-N2)<T1(EBL2); wherein, T1(RH-N1) and T1(RH-N2) are the lowest triplet energy levels of the first N-type host material and the second N-type host material, respectively, T1(RH-P1) and T1(RH-P2) are the lowest triplet energy levels of the first P-type host material and the second P-type host material, respectively, T1(RD1) and T1 (RD2) are the lowest triplet energy levels of the first doping material and the second doping material, respectively, and T1(EBL1) and T1(EBL2) are the lowest triplet energy levels of the first electron block layer and the second electron block layer, respectively. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to balance the examples of material as shown by Zhai to obtain the combinations that would balance the equation to allow, “T1(RD1)<T1(RH-P1)<T1(EBL1); T1(RD2)<T1(RH-P2)<T1(EBL2); T1(RD1)<T1(RH-N1)<T1(EBL1); T1(RD2)<T1(RH-N2)<T1(EBL2); wherein, T1(RH-N1) and T1(RH-N2) are the lowest triplet energy levels of the first N-type host material and the second N-type host material, respectively, T1(RH-P1) and T1(RH-P2) are the lowest triplet energy levels of the first P-type host material and the second P-type host material, respectively, T1(RD1) and T1 (RD2) are the lowest triplet energy levels of the first doping material and the second doping material, respectively, and T1(EBL1) and T1(EBL2) are the lowest triplet energy levels of the first electron block layer and the second electron block layer, respectively”, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re A11er, 105 USPQ 233.
Zhai as modified by Mou, substantially shows the claimed invention as shown in the rejection of claim #19 above.
Zhai as modified by Mou, fail to show, with respect to claim #21, a device, wherein, the first electron block layer, the first emitting layer, the second electron block layer, and the second emitting layer.
Kwon teaches, with respect to claim #21, a device, wherein, the first electron block layer (fig. #Ex1, item FT1), the first emitting layer (fig. #Ex1, item EL1), the second electron block layer (fig. #Ex1, item FT2), and the second emitting layer (fig. #Ex1, item EL2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, with respect to claim #21, to modified the invention of Zhai as modified by Mou, with the invention of Kwon, which teaches, wherein, the first electron block layer, the first emitting layer, the second electron block layer, and the second emitting layer, to incorporate a structural condition that would improve the extraction efficiency of light and the luminous efficiency of the device, as taught by Kwon.
EXAMINATION NOTE
The rejections above rely on the references for all the teachings expressed in the text of the references and/or one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably understood or implied from the texts of the references. To emphasize certain aspects of the prior art, only specific portions of the texts have been pointed out. Each reference as a whole should be reviewed in responding to the rejection, since other sections of the same reference and/or various combinations of the cited references may be relied on in future rejections in view of amendments.
Pertinent art
Pertinent art, not relied on in the present rejection, but considered to be related to the claimed filed invention, will be listed below.
1) SU et al., 2007/0092757; a phosphorescent dopant host material on N& P type material layers with volume percentages within acceptable ranges for light emitting diodes.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Andre’ Stevenson whose telephone number is (571) 272 1683 (Email Address, Andre.Stevenson@USPTO.GOV). The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday from 7:30 am to 4:30 pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Zandra Smith can be reached on 571-272 2429. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Andre’ Stevenson Sr./
Art Unit 2899
09/21/2026
/Brent A. Fairbanks/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899