DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/11/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of the Claims
In the amendment dated 4/11/2024, claims 1-10 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2, line 3, “…a hinge member hinge-connecting…” should be “…a hinge member hinge connecting…”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 5 recites: “a movement distance measuring part configured to measure a movement distance of the second end of the rotation shaft.”
Claim 6 recites: “a position fixing part configured to fix the position of the second end of the rotation shaft.”
With regards to the corresponding structure of the claimed “movement distance measuring part”, no corresponding structure is disclosed in the specification.
With regards to the corresponding structure of the claimed “position fixing part”, no corresponding structure is disclosed in the specification.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
Claims 5-6 contain subject matters “a movement distance measuring part configured to measure a movement distance of the second end of the rotation shaft”
“a position fixing part configured to fix the position of the second end of the rotation shaft”
which were not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The specification does not disclose the corresponding structures of the claimed “movement distance measuring part” and “position fixing part”. For examination purposes, the claimed “movement distance measuring part” and “position fixing part” can have any structure(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim limitations “a movement distance measuring part configured to measure a movement distance of the second end of the rotation shaft” and
“a position fixing part configured to fix the position of the second end of the rotation shaft” recited in claims 5-6
” invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed functions and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the functions. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the functions in the claims. Therefore, the claims are indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
For examination purposes, the claimed “movement distance measuring part” and “position fixing part” can have any structure(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Kano JP H07285717 A
Regarding claim 1, Kano discloses
An electrode fabric transfer device (strip material winding device, see para.001) comprising:
a plurality of running rollers (5c-d, see fig.1-3) configured to transfer an electrode fabric (1, see fig.1-3) along a transfer path (11, see fig.1-3); and
an adjusting roller (10, see fig.1-3) disposed between the plurality of running rollers (5c-d, see fig.1-3), wherein the adjusting roller (10, see fig.1-3) includes a rotation shaft (10a) having a first end (see first end of the rotation shaft in annotated fig.1 below ) disposed in a fixed position (see fig.1-3) and a second end (see second end of the rotation shaft in annotated fig.1 below ) positioned opposite to the first end (see first end of the rotation shaft in annotated fig.1 below), and wherein a position of the second end is moveable (See fig.1-3).
Annotated fig.1 of Kano
Regarding claim 2, Kano further discloses a support frame (12, see fig.1-3) supporting the first end of the rotation shaft (see first end of the rotation shaft in annotated fig.1 above); and a hinge member hinge (see annotated fig.1 above) -connecting the first end of the rotation shaft (see first end of the rotation shaft in annotated fig.1 above) and the support frame (12, see fig.1-3).
Regarding claim 4, Kano further discloses an area (10b, see fig.1-3) of the adjusting roller (10) configured to contact the electrode fabric (1) is adjusted based on the position of the second end of the rotation shaft (See second end of the rotation shaft in annotated fig.1 above).
Regarding claim 7, Kano further discloses the position of the second end of the rotation shaft (See second end of the rotation shaft in annotated fig.1 above) is configured to move based on a tensile force applied to a region of an uncoated portion (110) of the electrode fabric (See fig.1-4 and para.0014: “the base end of the lever 10a is attached to the servomotor 12 of the torque control type. Then, in a state where the lever 10a by the drive of the servo motor 12 is driven like a pendulum to adjust the vertical position of the roller 10b in the vertical direction, it can be increased or decreased adjust the size of the loop 11 by the position adjustment”).
Regarding claim 8, Kano further discloses the second end of the rotation shaft (See second end of the rotation shaft in annotated fig.1 above) is configured to move upward when the tensile force applied to a region of the uncoated portion (110) of the electrode fabric increases (See fig.1-4 and para.0014).
Regarding claim 9, Kano further discloses the transfer path (11) comprises at least one curved region (See fig.1-3), and the adjusting roller (10) is located in the at least one curved region (11, see fig.1-3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kano in view of IIDA (US 20180086582 A1)
Regarding claim 3, Kano discloses the claimed limitations as set forth, except a control lever, connected to the second end of the rotation shaft, and configured to manually adjust the position of the second end of the rotation shaft; and a seating frame located between the second end of the rotation shaft and the control lever and seated by the second end of the rotation shaft.
IIDA discloses a film supplying device in a horizontal package making and filling machine, comprising:
a control lever (68, see fig.3), connected to the second end of the rotation shaft (32, see fig.3), and configured to manually adjust the position of the second end of the rotation shaft (32, See fig.3); and
a seating frame (58, see fig.3) located between the second end of the rotation shaft (32) and the control lever (56, see fig.3).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the invention of Kano to incorporate the “control lever, connected to the second end of the rotation shaft, and configured to manually adjust the position of the second end of the rotation shaft; and a seating frame located between the second end of the rotation shaft and the control lever and seated by the second end of the rotation shaft” as taught by IIDA in order to provide operation lever provided on the eccentric holder is turned to eccentrically move the shaft to thereby separate the driven roll from the drive roll” to “increase the efficiency of an operation” (see para.005-007 of IIDA).
Claim 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kano in view of Honda (JP2019062710A)
Regarding claim 5, Kano discloses the claimed limitations as set forth, except a movement distance measuring part configured to measure a movement distance of the second end of the rotation shaft.
Honda discloses measurement method and adjustment method, comprising:
a movement distance measuring part configured to measure a movement distance of the second end of the rotation shaft (See claim 2: “The movement distance is measured by a displacement gauge, The displacement gauge is Fixed part,A contact portion axially displaceable with respect to the fixed portion and in contact with one end of the shaft”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the invention of Kano to incorporate the “movement distance measuring part configured to measure a movement distance of the second end of the rotation shaft” as taught by Honda. Doing so enables precise control and feedback of the electrode’s position during operation.
Claim 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kano in view of IIDA US 20180086582 A1
Regarding claim 6, Kano discloses the claimed limitations as set forth, except a position fixing part for configured to fixing the position of the second end of the rotation shaft.
IIDA discloses a film supplying device, comprising:
a position fixing part (70, see fig.3) for configured to fixing the position of the second end of the rotation shaft (34, see fig.3).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the invention of Kano to incorporate the “position fixing part for configured to fixing the position of the second end of the rotation shaft” as taught by IIDA. Doing so allows to “improve the production efficiency” (See para.0025 of IIDA).
Claim 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kano in view of Kwak US 20200206965 A1
Regarding claim 10, Kano further discloses the electrode fabric transfer device according to claim 1 (See rejection of claim 1 above); except an electrode notching device comprising: a cutting part configured to cutting the electrode fabric transferred from the transfer device along a set reference line using a laser.
Kwak discloses an apparatus for notching an electrode sheet for an electrode tab, comprising:
a cutting part (300, see fig.7) configured to cutting the electrode fabric (10, see fig.7) transferred from the transfer device along a set reference line using a laser (See para.0078).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the invention of Kano to incorporate “a cutting part configured to cutting the electrode fabric transferred from the transfer device along a set reference line using a laser” as taught by Kwak in order for “notching the non-coating portion to process the electrode tab” (See para.0020 of Kwak).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 9815652 B2 discloses a film treating apparatus which includes one or more rollers and a film treating method using the film treating apparatus.
/TIFFANY T TRAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761