DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 4, 5, 7, 14-17 and 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 14-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hou et al. (US20210305683; hereinafter Hou) in view of Xiao et al. (US20220285858; hereinafter Xiao).
Regarding independent claim 1, Hou (figs. 5-6B) discloses “An antenna, in particular for a mobile communication base station, comprising first radiators (444) for a first frequency range and a frame (430), wherein the frame defines at least one window for receiving at least one insert (400 inserted into 430) and the first radiators are mounted to the frame such that the first radiators lie at least partially directly above the window in a direction perpendicular to the frame (fig. 6B 444 shares aperture for 132), wherein the antenna comprises a main radome (602), the main radome having a first section enclosing the frame and the first radiators on the top side of the first radiators (fig. 6f)”.
Hou does not disclose “wherein the main radome has a second section extending between the window and the first radiators on the bottom side of the first radiators, wherein a portion of the second section is spaced apart from the windows in the direction perpendicular to the frame forming a receptacle for the insert, the receptacle being accessible via the window, wherein the main radome defines an interior volume that is fully sealed with respect to the environment”.
However, Xiao teaches “wherein the main radome (50e) has a second section (L-shaped section) extending between the window (area of 40e) and the first radiators on the bottom side of the first radiators (radiators 11a), wherein a portion of the second section is spaced apart from the windows in the direction perpendicular to the frame forming a receptacle for the insert (the L-shape creates a receptacle for area 40e), the receptacle being accessible via the window, wherein the main radome defines an interior volume that is fully sealed with respect to the environment (50e is fully sealed)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Xiao and make Hou’s antenna wherein the main radome has a second section extending between the window and the first radiators on the bottom side of the first radiators, wherein a portion of the second section is spaced apart from the windows in the direction perpendicular to the frame forming a receptacle for the insert, the receptacle being accessible via the window, wherein the main radome defines an interior volume that is fully sealed with respect to the environment, in order to create an area within the radome to dispose the frame onto the base station.
Regarding claim 2, Hou (figs. 5-6B) discloses “The antenna according to claim 1, characterized in that the first radiators have a center of gravity lying directly above the window in a direction perpendicular to the frame, that the first radiators have a center of the radiating structures of the first radiators lying directly above the window in a direction perpendicular to the frame, that the first radiators lie directly above the window in a direction perpendicular to the frame with at least 50%, preferably 70%, more preferably 80% of their area, and/or that the first radiators lie fully directly above the window in a direction perpendicular to the frame (fig. 6B shared aperture)”.
Regarding claim 4, Hou (figs. 5-6B) discloses “The antenna according to claim 1, characterized in that the frame comprises two parallel stringers (see 430 not labeled but comprises the two stringers) extending in a longitudinal direction (L), wherein the at least one window is located between the stringers, in particular wherein the first radiators are attached to the stringers (¶[0056]; In particular, FIGS. 6A-6B illustrate 8 columns of radiating elements 132 within the AAS 400; and each of these columns includes 12 radiating elements 132, which are arranged into groups of 3 radiating elements 132 per quarter length feed board 200c. First and second feed boards 442a, 442b of the passive base station antenna 440 are also provided, which extend closely adjacent (and are preferably planar with) the feed boards 200c associated with the first and eighth columns of radiating elements 132 within the AAS 400. The first and second feed boards 442a, 442b are each illustrated as including three (3) cross-dipole radiating elements 444, which are configured to operate in a frequency band that is lower than the frequency band associated with the AAS 400, such as, for example, all or part of the 617-960 MHz frequency band. As shown, the radiating elements 444 may include slant −45°/+45° dipole radiators 446a, 446b and slanted/tilted feed stalks 448, which extend at acute angles relative to the front-facing surfaces of the feed boards 200c (and underlying reflector 406). The use of slanted feed stalks 448 allows for higher integration by supporting the radiators 446a, 446b at least partially over the first three and last three columns of the radiating elements 132 within the AAS 400)”.
Regarding claim 5, Hou (figs. 5-6B) discloses “The antenna according to claim 4, characterized in that the frame comprises at least two bridges connecting the stringers in a transverse direction (T) of the frame, wherein the at least one window is surrounded by the stringers and adjacent to one of the at least two bridges (see ¶[0056] above)”.
Regarding claim 7, Hou (figs. 5-6B) discloses “The antenna according to claim 1, characterized in that the support structure comprises a feeding structure for the first radiators, in particular wherein the feeding structure is connected to dipoles of the first radiators outside of the center of the dipoles of the radiators (figs. 6A-6B and ¶[0056])”.
Regarding claim 14, Hou (figs. 5-6F) discloses “The antenna according to claim 1, characterized in that the antenna comprises at least one insert (400), wherein the insert comprises a base (612) and second radiators (614) for a second frequency range mounted to the base, wherein the insert, in particular the base, is located in the at least one window of the frame (¶[0060]; Referring now to FIG. 6F, a base station antenna (BSA) 600 according to another embodiment of the invention is illustrated as including the components of the AAS 400 of FIG. 4 and components of an alternative embodiment of the passive base station antenna 440 of FIG. 5. In particular, FIG. 6F is a cross-sectional view of a BSA 600, which includes a two-piece radome-type enclosure 602 and an interior radome/cover 604 of a detachable and field replaceable AAS, such as the AAS 400 of FIG. 4. In some embodiments, the enclosure 602 may be configured as a watertight combination of: (i) the rear-facing protective AAS cover 414, and (ii) a radome of the passive base station antenna 440 of FIG. 5. In addition, the AAS is illustrated in more simplified form as including: a radio 606 within a chassis containing a multi-fin heatsink 608, a filter array 610 mounted adjacent a rear side of a reflector 612, and a multi-column array of radiators 614 thereon. And, as described hereinabove with respect to FIGS. 6A-6B, relatively low band radiating elements 616 with slanted feed stalks 618 may also be provided on respective feed boards (not shown), which are mounted to an underlying reflector 624 (that may be coplanar with the AAS reflector 612). As further shown by FIG. 6F, relatively mid-band radiating elements 620 with slanted feed stalks 622 may be provided in close proximity to the larger radiating elements 616 and slanted feed stalks 618. Thus, with respect to FIG. 6A, the feed boards 442a, 442b may be utilized to include relatively mid and low band radiating elements thereon)”.
Regarding claim 15, Hou (figs. 5-6F) discloses “The antenna according to claim 14, characterized in that the second radiators are located in the direction perpendicular to the frame between the first radiators and the window of the frame (see fig. 6F)”.
Regarding claim 16, Hou (figs. 5-6F) discloses “The antenna according to claim 14, characterized in that the insert comprises an auxiliary radome (604) enclosing the base and the second radiators on the top side of the second radiators”.
Regarding claim 17, Hou (figs. 5-6F) discloses “The antenna according to claim 14, characterized in that the insert comprises an electronic component (filter/radio in fig. 6F), in particular an amplifier and/or transceiver, connected to the second radiators (radio is a transceiver)”.
Regarding claim 19, Hou (figs. 5-6F) discloses “A mobile communication base station comprising an antenna according to claim 1,in particular wherein the base station comprises an amplifier or transceiver (filter/radio in 6F) for the first radiators separate from an antenna (¶[0053]; Moreover, as shown by FIG. 5, this AAS 400 may be utilized in combination with a larger “passive” base station antenna 440 to thereby yield a highly integrated multi-antenna base station 500 that supports RF communication over multiple frequency bands)(“passive in ¶[0053] implies a separate transceiver) the antenna comprising first radiators (444) for a first frequency range and a frame (430), wherein the frame defines at least one window for receiving at least one insert (400 inserted into 430) and the first radiators are mounted to the frame such that the first radiators lie at least partially directly above the window in a direction perpendicular to the frame (fig. 6B 444 shares aperture for 132), wherein the antenna comprises a main radome (602), the main radome having a first section enclosing the frame and the first radiators on the top side of the first radiators (fig. 6f)”.
Hou does not disclose “wherein the main radome has a second section extending between the window and the first radiators on the bottom side of the first radiators, wherein a portion of the second section is spaced apart from the windows in the direction perpendicular to the frame forming a receptacle for the insert, the receptacle being accessible via the window, wherein the main radome defines an interior volume that is fully sealed with respect to the environment”.
However, Xiao teaches “wherein the main radome (50e) has a second section (L-shaped section) extending between the window (area of 40e) and the first radiators on the bottom side of the first radiators (radiators 11a), wherein a portion of the second section is spaced apart from the windows in the direction perpendicular to the frame forming a receptacle for the insert (the L-shape creates a receptacle for area 40e), the receptacle being accessible via the window, wherein the main radome defines an interior volume that is fully sealed with respect to the environment (50e is fully sealed)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Xiao and make Hou’s antenna wherein the main radome has a second section extending between the window and the first radiators on the bottom side of the first radiators, wherein a portion of the second section is spaced apart from the windows in the direction perpendicular to the frame forming a receptacle for the insert, the receptacle being accessible via the window, wherein the main radome defines an interior volume that is fully sealed with respect to the environment, in order to create an area within the radome to dispose the frame onto the base station.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hou and Xiao in view of Michaelis et al. (US20190237874; hereinafter Michaelis).
Regarding claim 3, Hou discloses the antenna structure of claim 1 as shown previously.
Hou does not disclose “characterized in that the distance in the direction perpendicular to the frame between the first radiators and a reflector of the antenna corresponds to a quarter of a wavelength of the average wavelength of the first frequency range”.
However, Michaelis teaches in ¶[0073]; Typically, the radiating elements of a base station antenna are spaced about one-quarter wavelength above an underlying reflector, where the wavelength is the wavelength corresponding to the center frequency of the RF signals that are transmitted/received via the radiating element.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Michaelis and make Hou’s antenna characterized in that the distance in the direction perpendicular to the frame between the first radiators and a reflector of the antenna corresponds to a quarter of a wavelength of the average wavelength of the first frequency range, in order to increase the operating characteristics of the antenna.
Claims 10-11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hou and Xiao in view of Hou et al. (US20210305684; hereinafter Hou’684).
Regarding claim 10, Hou discloses the antenna structure of claim 1 as shown previously.
Hou does not disclose “characterized in that the cantilever has a first section and a second section, wherein the first section extends from the frame predominantly, in particular entirely perpendicularly to the frame, and the second section extends from the first section predominantly, in particular entirely parallel to the frame”.
However, Hou’684 teaches “characterized in that the cantilever has a first section and a second section, wherein the first section extends from the frame predominantly, in particular entirely perpendicularly to the frame, and the second section extends from the first section predominantly, in particular entirely parallel to the frame (see cantilever in fig. 9F having two sections bent perpendicular to each other)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Hou’684 and make Hou’s antenna characterized in that the cantilever has a first section and a second section, wherein the first section extends from the frame predominantly, in particular entirely perpendicularly to the frame, and the second section extends from the first section predominantly, in particular entirely parallel to the frame, in order to position the radiator in the proper position.
Regarding claim 11, Hou discloses the antenna structure of claim 10 as shown previously.
Hou does not disclose “characterized in that the corresponding first radiator is attached to the second section, in particular wherein the corresponding first radiator is attached to the second section at the top side or the bottom side of the first radiator”.
However, Hou’684 teaches “characterized in that the corresponding first radiator is attached to the second section, in particular wherein the corresponding first radiator is attached to the second section at the top side or the bottom side of the first radiator (see cantilever in fig. 9F having two sections bent perpendicular to each other)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Hou’684 and make Hou’s antenna characterized in that the corresponding first radiator is attached to the second section, in particular wherein the corresponding first radiator is attached to the second section at the top side or the bottom side of the first radiator, in particular entirely parallel to the frame, in order to position the radiator in the proper position.
Regarding claim 18, Hou discloses the antenna structure of claim 1 as shown previously.
Hou does not disclose “characterized in that the distance (G) between the frame and the body of the inserts in the transverse direction (T) and/or the longitudinal direction (L) is smaller than 1/10, in particular smaller than 1/20 of the average wavelength of the first frequency range and/or that the frame and the body of the inserts have an overlap (O) in the radiation direction (R) of at least a quarter of the average wavelength of the first frequency range”.
However, Hou’684 teaches using a very small gap between frames and bodies in ¶[0376]; Referring to FIG. 9E, the outer perimeter of the reflector 1172 can be configured to couple with the reflector 170 (214) to be at a common ground reference. The coupling between the passive reflector 170 and reflector 1172 of the active antenna module 110 can be important to the performance of the passive antenna. In some embodiments, portions of the two reflectors 170 and 1172 can overlap, with a very small gap, front to back, in order to facilitate strong capacitive coupling between the two reflectors so that the two reflectors will be at a common ground reference.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Hou’684 and make Hou’s antenna characterized in that the distance (G) between the frame and the body of the inserts in the transverse direction (T) and/or the longitudinal direction (L) is smaller than 1/10, in particular smaller than 1/20 of the average wavelength of the first frequency range and/or that the frame and the body of the inserts have an overlap (O) in the radiation direction (R) of at least a quarter of the average wavelength of the first frequency range, in particular entirely parallel to the frame, in order to improve the operating characteristics of the antenna.
Conclusion
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/AUSTIN M BACK/Examiner, Art Unit 2845