DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 01/26/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: “5-amino-napthol-1” should be “5-amino-naphthol-1”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: “5-amino-napthol-1” should be “5-amino-naphthol-1” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 contains the limitation “few-layer graphene flakes”. It is not clear what the metes and bounds of the limitation “few-layer”. The term “few” in the claim is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “few” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is not clear how many graphene layers would need to be present to fall outside of the range “few-layer”.
Claims 2-10 are rejected as being dependent on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garg et al. (WO 2018/195108) in view of Li et al. (U.S. App. Pub. No. 2013/0001089).
Regarding claim 1, Garg et al. discloses a hybrid nanomaterial comprising 3D out-of-plane single to few-layer fuzzy graphene on a scaffold that may be a Si-nanowire. (Abstract). Garg et al. therefore discloses a substrate comprising a nanowire and graphene comprising single to few-layer graphene flakes disposed on the surface of the nanowire as claimed. As shown in Fig. 1B and 2D the graphene flakes have an out of plane topography and are free-standing on the nanowire surface. (see also Abstract and par. [0005]).
Garg et al. does not disclose a functional group associated with the graphene.
Li et al. teaches a method of making graphene sheets including immersing the graphene into a solution containing an acid, anionic surfactant, salt, oxidizing agent or a combination thereof. (Abstract). Li et al. further teaches functionalizing the surface of the graphene with an acid or conducting polymer can improve the conductivity thereof. (par. [0015]).
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art to functionalize the graphene material on the nanowire disclosed in Garg et al., as taught by Li et al.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to functionalize the graphene material of Garg et al. in order to impart different properties to the graphene material including improved conductivity. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to improve the conductivity of the graphene material to improve the ability of the graphene to be used as a sensor or electrode material.
Regarding claims 2-3, Li et al. teaches modifying the graphene with poly(3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene) polystyrene sulfonate (PEDOT:PSS) to improve the conductivity thereof. (par [0015]). PEDOT:PSS would have a three-dimensional topography.
Regarding claim 4, in view of the teachings of Li et al. regarding modifying graphene to improve the conductivity thereof, the graphene supported on the nanowire as taught in Garg et al. would form a “minielectrode” as claimed.
Regarding claim 10, Garg et al. discloses that the nanowire includes silicon. (Abstract).
Conclusion
/ALEXANDRE F FERRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788 03/20/2026