DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 lines 5 and 7 recite “the boom,” which has unclear antecedent basis. A “plurality of booms” is set forth before these recitations. To which of the plurality of booms does “the boom” have reference?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2019142621 A (hereinafter “Zushi”; i.e. embodiment 2 which is the same as the first embodiment, except the sensor 44 is changed per figures 19-20).
Regarding claim 1 Zushi discloses a work machine comprising:
a plurality of booms (141/142/143) that are extended and retracted by motive power from an actuator (3);
a first pin (454a) that is moved by a first spring (455a) to connect [a] boom (e.g. 141) and the actuator (3) to each other and is moved by motive power from a motor (41) to release a connection of the boom (e.g. 141) and the actuator (3);
a second pin (144a) that is moved by a second spring (463) to connect adjacent booms of the booms (141/142/143) and is moved by motive power from the motor (41) to release a connection of the adjacent booms; and
a first detection device (502A) and a second detection device (501A) that detect positions of the first pin (454a) and the second pin (144a) on the basis of a rotation of a rotary member (432) that is rotated by motive power from the motor (41).
Regarding claim 2 Zushi discloses the above work machine, and further discloses wherein the first detection device (502A) and the second detection device (501A) detect the positions of the first pin (454a) and the second pin (144a) by different detection methods (i.e. by physically separate mechanisms, 52a2 and 50c2).
Regarding claim 3 Zushi discloses the above work machine, and further discloses a support (i.e. unshown supporting member for 502A/501A, necessarily present or the detectors would fall; see fig. 19A) that supports the first detection device (502A) and the second detection device (501A), wherein the first detection device (502A) includes a first detection unit (53A) fixed around (near) the rotary member (432) via the support (unshown supporting member for 502A/501A), and the second detection device (501A) includes a second detection unit (51A) fixed around the rotary member (432) via the support (supporting member for 502A/501A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zushi.
Regarding claim 4 Zushi teaches the above machine, but fails to teach the support as outlined in claim 4. The unshown (but necessarily present) support of Zushi deviates from the support of claim 4 in that it is not known if there are two plate portions, or which direction these plate portions face. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the housing of any convenient shape, including that claimed, with a reasonable expectation of success. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination in order to properly secure the detection devices.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Such references show various forms of apparatus which comprise at least one similar feature to the present application.
/NATHANIEL L ADAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 3654