DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1 (line 10, line 12, line 13 and line 15) “central axis” should recite –center axis--.
For the purpose of examining the application, it is assumed that appropriate correction has been made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunt (EP 0 317 564) in view of Tanimichi (“Research on helical surface structure realized by additive manufacturing”. Master’s Thesis of 2008.).
As to claim 1, Hunt discloses a connector connecting a first member and a second member, comprising:
at least one spiral part 14a in a shape where a thickness is added to a spiral surface formed by a spiral trajectory in which a line, connecting a first point located adjacent a center axis passing through a first position on the first member side and a second position on the second member side and a second point located at a position away from the center axis, rotates around the center axis with the first point as a center while the first point moves in a direction along the center axis,
wherein the first member is connected to the connector only at a first connection line extending from a first end of the center axis to a point at an outer periphery of the at least one spiral part, or only at a first connection point A located on the first end of the center axis (a first drive shaft is disposed within drive shaft input A on the center axis; Figure 2 reprinted below with annotations), and the second member is connected to the connector only at a second connection line extending from a second end of the center axis to a point at the outer periphery of the at least one spiral part, or only at a second connection point B located on the second end of the center axis (a second drive shaft is disposed within drive shaft output B on the center axis; Figure 2); and
wherein the connector is integrally molded as a whole (Figure 2; C8 L12-18; C8 L56-C9 L8).
[AltContent: textbox (B)][AltContent: textbox (AS)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Hunt discloses a connector wherein the first point of the spiral surface is located offset from the center axis; instead of on the center axis.
Tanimichi teaches a spiral part in a shape where a thickness is added to a spiral surface formed by a spiral trajectory in which a line, connecting a first point located on a center axis passing through a first position on a first side and a second position on a second side and a second point located at a position away from the center axis, rotates around the center axis with the first point as a center while the first point moves in a direction along the center axis, wherein the connector is integrally molded as a whole; the central shaft portion defined by the spiral part extending from the center axis providing for greater bending and compressive rigidity of the spiral part (Figure 2-4; Chapters 2,4,5). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connector disclosed by Hunt wherein the spiral parts extend from the center axis to define a central shaft portion, as taught by Tanimichi, in order to provide for greater bending and compressive rigidity of the connector.
As to claim 2, Hunt discloses a connector wherein the connector includes a plurality of spiral parts 14a (Figure 2).
As to claim 3, Hunt discloses a connector wherein the spiral part 14a is formed so that a pitch in a direction along the center axis is constant (Figure 2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 24, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to claim 1, Attorney argues that:
Hunt fails to disclose a connector wherein the first member is connected to the connector only at a first connection line extending from a first end of the center axis to a point at an outer periphery of the at least one spiral part, or only at a first connection point located on the first end of the center axis, and the second member is connected to the connector only at a second connection line extending from a second end of the center axis to a point at the outer periphery of the at least one spiral part, or only at a second connection point located on the second end of the center axis.
Examiner disagrees. As to claim 1, Hunt discloses a connector wherein the first member is connected to the connector only at a first connection line extending from a first end of the center axis to a point at an outer periphery of the at least one spiral part, or only at a first connection point A located on the first end of the center axis (a first drive shaft is disposed within drive shaft input A on the center axis; Figure 2 reprinted above with annotations), and the second member is connected to the connector only at a second connection line extending from a second end of the center axis to a point at the outer periphery of the at least one spiral part, or only at a second connection point B located on the second end of the center axis (a second drive shaft is disposed within drive shaft output B on the center axis; Figure 2).
As to claim 1, Attorney further argues that Tanimichi fails to teach or suggest modifying the connector disclosed by Hunt wherein the spiral parts extend from the center axis to define a central shaft portion.
Examiner disagrees. As to claim 1, Tanimichi teaches a spiral part in a shape where a thickness is added to a spiral surface formed by a spiral trajectory in which a line, connecting a first point located on a center axis passing through a first position on a first side and a second position on a second side and a second point located at a position away from the center axis, rotates around the center axis with the first point as a center while the first point moves in a direction along the center axis, wherein the connector is integrally molded as a whole; the central shaft portion defined by the spiral part extending from the center axis providing for greater bending and compressive rigidity of the spiral part (Figure 2-4; Chapters 2,4,5). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connector disclosed by Hunt wherein the spiral parts extend from the center axis to define a central shaft portion, as taught by Tanimichi, in order to provide for greater bending and compressive rigidity of the connector.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
05/04/26 /MICHAEL P FERGUSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619