DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 23 - 25, 27, 29, 31 - 33, and 36 - 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grinsted (US 7,377,412) in view of Dallas (US 2005/0205267).
Regarding claim 21, Grinsted discloses an elongated body tensioner configured to pull an elongated body (member 15) along in a direction of movement comprising: a first track (5a) comprising a plurality of first contact pads (pads 25 attached to arm 23a), arranged in a row in the direction of movement; a second track (5b) comprising a plurality of second contact pads (pads 25 attached to arm 23b), arranged in a row in the direction of movement; wherein the first and second track are mutually arranged such that the elongated body (15) can be squeezed in between one or more pairs of one first contact pad (25) and one second contact pad (25); wherein, in a pair, one of the first and the second contact pad is a receiving contact pad configured to receive the elongated body which is, on the receiving contact pad, positioned next to each other in a direction transverse to the direction of movement; wherein, in a pair, the one, and/or another of the first (25) and the second contact pad (25) is an accommodating contact pad configured to accommodate a possible difference in diameter of the elongated body (accommodating contact pads can accommodate elongated bodies having different diameters using the pivotable arms 23a, 23b; see axes 29a, 29b), wherein the possible difference in diameter of the elongated body is accommodated by providing the accommodating contact pad (25) on the elongated body respective track (5a, 5b) such that the accommodating contact pad can be tilted (pivoted) around an axis (29a, 29b) parallel to the direction of movement and/or such that the accommodating contact pad can be tilted in the transverse direction, to adjust to a difference in diameter of the elongated body, and wherein the accommodating contact pad comprises a base plate (unlabeled plate between pads 25 and arm 23a or 23b), a cushion (25) arranged on a first side of the base plate, a mounting element (lateral wings 9) configured to be mounted on the first (5a) or second (5b) track, and a flexible element (arms 23a, 23b and pivot points about which the arms 23a, 23b rotate; see axes 29a, 29b) via which the mounting element is tiltably attached to a second side of the base plate, opposite to the first side; wherein at least one actuator (guide bar 33) tilts the accommodating contact pad around the axis (29a, 29b) parallel to the direction of movement (Figs. 1 - 5; col. 4, line 47 - col. 5, line 41). Grinsted fails to disclose at least two elongated bodies; and the accommodating contact pad is configured to a possible difference in diameter of the at least two elongated bodies to avoid reducing contact force between the at least two elongated bodies and the first and second contact pad of each pair of contact pads. Dallas teaches at least two elongated bodies (17, 18, 21, 22); and the accommodating contact pad (62, 62a, 62b, 62c, 62d) is configured to accommodate a possible difference in diameter of the at least two elongated bodies to avoid reducing contact force between the at least two elongated bodies and the first and second contact pad of each pair of contact pads (Figs. 4, 5, 5a, 7, and 7a; paragraphs 0015, 0016, 0032, 0033, 0035, 0036, 0039 - 0041, 0044, and 0045) to allow elongated bodies having different diameters to be installed or removed simultaneously, thereby reducing both the time required to install and/or remove a plurality of elongated bodies and the cost of the installation and/or removal operation(s). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the first and second contact pads as disclosed by Grinsted with the at least two elongated bodies and contact pads configured to accommodate elongated bodies having different diameters as taught by Dallas to allow elongated bodies having different diameters to be installed or removed simultaneously, thereby reducing both the time required to install and/or remove a plurality of elongated bodies and the cost of the installation and/or removal operation(s). Examiner takes the position that using contact pads configured to accommodate elongated bodies having different diameters as taught by Dallas would allow different types of elongated objects (i.e. pipes, cables, umbilicals) to be installed simultaneously, thereby allowing multiple operations to be performed at the same time.
Regarding claim 23, Grinsted further discloses the flexible element comprises a pinned hinge (unlabeled element about which the arms 23a, 23b rotate about the respective axes 29a, 29b) (Figs. 4 and 5).
Regarding claim 24, Grinsted discloses all of the claim limitation(s) except the at least two elongated bodies are received next to each other in the transverse direction by providing the receiving contact pad with, for each elongated body, at least one elongated recess extending in the direction of movement. Dallas further discloses the at least two elongated bodies (17, 18, 21, 22) are received next to each other in the transverse direction by providing the receiving contact element with, for each elongated body, at least one elongated recess (unlabeled recesses) extending in the direction of movement (Figs. 4, 5, 5a, 7, and 7a). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the first and second contact pads as disclosed by Grinsted with the receiving contact pads and at least one recess as taught by Dallas to allow elongated bodies having different diameters to be installed or removed simultaneously, thereby reducing both the time required to install and/or remove a plurality of elongated bodies and the cost of the installation and/or removal operation(s). Examiner takes the position that using contact pads configured to accommodate elongated bodies having different diameters as taught by Dallas would allow different types of elongated objects (i.e. pipes, cables, umbilicals) to be installed simultaneously, thereby allowing multiple operations to be performed at the same time.
Regarding claim 25, Grinsted further discloses that when squeezed in between the one or more pairs of one first and one second contact pads (25), the elongated body (15) extends in the direction of movement (Figs. 1 - 3; col. 4, line 47 - col. 5, line 41).
Regarding claim 27, Grinsted further discloses a plurality of receiving contact pads (25) which are all mounted on the same track (5a) (Figs. 1 - 5).
Regarding claim 29, Grinsted further discloses a plurality of accommodating contact pads (25) which are all mounted on the same track (5b) (Figs. 1 - 5).
Regarding claim 31, Grinsted further discloses in a single pair from the one or more pairs, one of the first (25) and the second (25) contact pad is the receiving contact pad and the other of the first (25) and second (25) contact pad is the accommodating contact pad; and, wherein this is the case for each of the pairs in the one or more pairs (Figs. 2 - 5).
Regarding claim 32, Grinsted further discloses in a single pair from the one or more pairs, one of the first (25) and the second (25) contact pad is both the receiving contact pad and the accommodating contact pad (Figs. 2 - 5).
Regarding claim 33, Grinsted further discloses the first (5a) and/or the second (5b) track are caterpillar tracks configured to displace the first (25) and/or second (25) contact pads in the direction of movement, and, by looping back on themselves, are further configured to displace the first and/or second contact pads in a direction opposite to the direction of movement (Figs. 1 - 3; col. 4, lines 47 - 56).
Regarding claim 36, Grinsted in view of Dallas discloses one or more elongated body tensioners according to claim 21 (see rejection of claim 21 above). Grinsted fails to disclose storage configured to have the at least two elongated bodies stored therein; wherein each elongated body tensioner is configured to pull on one end of the at least two elongated bodies to remove part of the at least two elongated bodies from storage; a means configured to bundle the part of the at least two elongated bodies removed from storage positioned in an assembly, downstream of the elongated body tensioner; and a chute, configured to guide the elongated body assembly overboard. Dallas teaches a tensioning system for laying an elongated body assembly of at least two elongated bodies, comprising: storage (reels 19, 20, 23, 24) configured to have the at least two elongated bodies stored therein; wherein each elongated body tensioner is configured to pull on one end of the at least two elongated bodies to remove part of the at least two elongated bodies from storage; means (stuffing box 16) configured to bundle the part of the at least two elongated bodies removed from storage positioned in an assembly, downstream of the elongated body tensioner; and a chute (coil tubing guide framework 28 is functionally equivalent to a chute), configured to guide the elongated body assembly overboard (Figs. 1, 2, 4, 5, 5a, 7, and 7a; paragraphs 0015, 0016, 0032, 0033, 0035, 0036, 0039 - 0041, 0044, and 0045). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the apparatus as disclosed above with the at least two elongated bodies, the storage, the bundling means, and the chute as taught by Dallas to allow elongated bodies having different diameters to be installed or removed simultaneously, thereby reducing both the time required to install and/or remove a plurality of elongated bodies and the cost of the installation and/or removal operation(s). Examiner takes the position that using contact pads configured to accommodate elongated bodies having different diameters as taught by Dallas would allow different types of elongated objects (i.e. pipes, cables, umbilicals) to be installed simultaneously, thereby allowing multiple operations to be performed at the same time.
Regarding claim 37, Grinsted further discloses an elongated body laying vessel with a tensioning system (col. 1, lines 26 - 45).
Regarding claim 38, Grinsted in view of Dallas discloses the at least two elongated bodies laying vessel of claim 37. Grinsted fails to disclose the steps of storing, in a storage, the at least two elongated bodies; retrieving part of all of the at least two elongated bodies from storage by pulling, using an elongated body tensioner, on one end of the at least two elongated bodies; bundling the part of the at least two elongated bodies removed from storage in an assembly, downstream of the elongated body tensioner; and guiding, using a chute, the elongated body assembly overboard. Dallas teaches a method for laying an elongated body assembly of at least two elongated bodies (17, 18, 21, 22), the method comprising the steps of: storing, in a storage (19, 20, 23, 24), the at least two elongated bodies (17, 18, 21, 22); retrieving part of all of the at least two elongated bodies from storage by pulling, using an elongated body tensioner (37), on one end of the at least two elongated bodies; bundling (using stuffing box 16) the part of the at least two elongated bodies removed from storage in an assembly, downstream of the elongated body tensioner; and guiding, using a chute (coil tubing guide framework 28 is functionally equivalent to a chute), the elongated body assembly towards a wellhead (Figs. 1, 2, 4, 5, 5a, 7, and 7a; paragraphs 0015, 0016, 0032, 0033, 0035, 0036, 0039 - 0041, 0044, and 0045). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the method as disclosed above with the steps of storing, retrieving, bundling, and guiding as taught by Dallas to allow elongated bodies having different diameters to be installed or removed simultaneously, thereby reducing both the time required to install and/or remove a plurality of elongated bodies and the cost of the installation and/or removal operation(s). Examiner takes the position that using contact pads configured to accommodate elongated bodies having different diameters as taught by Dallas would allow different types of elongated objects (i.e. pipes, cables, umbilicals) to be installed simultaneously, thereby allowing multiple operations to be performed at the same time.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grinsted in view of Dallas as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Vehmeijer et al. (US 2018/0156360). Grinsted in view of Dallas discloses all of the claim limitation(s) except providing the accommodating contact pad with a contact surface manufactured of a resilient material. Grinsted is silent regarding the material(s) of which the contact pads are composed. Vehmeijer teaches the possible difference in diameter of the at least two elongated bodies (18) is accommodated by providing the accommodating contact pad (101) with a contact surface (105) manufactured of a resilient material (polyurethane) (Figs. 11 and 12; paragraph 0070) to allow the gripping members to conform to the circumferential surface of the elongate product. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the contact elements as disclosed above with the contact pads as taught by Vehmeijer to allow the tensioner pads to conform to the circumferential surface of the elongate product. Additionally, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have made the accommodating contact pads of a resilient material as taught by Vehmeijer, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Claims 26, 28, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grinsted in view of Dallas as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Stockstill (US 2005/0036842).
Regarding claim 26, Grinsted in view of Dallas discloses all of the claim limitation(s) except the direction of movement is substantially horizontal and wherein the first track is an upper track and the second track is a lower track. Stockstill teaches a tensioner (34) wherein the direction of movement is substantially horizontal and wherein the first track (top unlabeled track of tensioner 34) is an upper track and the second track (bottom unlabeled track of tensioner 34) is a lower track (Figs. 1 - 3; abstract; paragraph 0096). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the elongated body tensioner as disclosed above with the horizontally oriented tensioner having an upper track and lower track, wherein the direction of movement is substantially horizontal, as taught by Stockstill to improve the ease with which the elongated bodies are transported to an installation site by reducing the size of the segments of which the elongated bodies are composed thus making it easier to store the elongated body segments on the deck of a floating vessel.
Regarding claim 28, Grinsted further discloses all receiving contact elements (pads 25 on track 5b) are mounted on the lower track (5b) (Figs. 1 - 5). Examiner notes that the tensioner as disclosed by Grinsted is capable of being used in a horizontal position rotated 90 degrees from the orientation shown in Fig. 1 and when the tensioner is extending in a horizontal direction rotated 90 degrees from the orientation shown in Fig. 1 the track will be on the lower side facing upward and, therefore, the apparatus as disclosed by Grinsted reads on the claim limitation(s).
Regarding claim 30, Grinsted further discloses all accommodating contact elements (pads 25 on track 5a) are mounted on the upper track (5a) (Figs. 1 - 5). Examiner notes that the tensioner as disclosed by Grinsted is capable of being used in a horizontal position rotated 90 degrees from the orientation shown in Fig. 1 and when the tensioner is extending in a horizontal direction rotated 90 degrees from the orientation shown in Fig. 1 the track will be on the upper side facing downward and, therefore, the apparatus as disclosed by Grinsted reads on the claim limitation(s).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 21 - 33 and 36 - 38 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
/SEAN D ANDRISH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
SA
8/27/2026