DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21 - 33 and 36 - 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In line 16 of claim 21, it is unclear whether “the contact pad” refers to one of the plurality of first contact pads or to one of the plurality of second contact pads. Examiner has interpreted “the contact pad” as “the first and second contact pads of each pair of contact pads”, as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21 - 25, 27, 29, 31 - 33, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dallas (US 2005/0205267) in view of Vehmeijer et al. (US 2018/0156360).
Regarding claim 21, Dallas discloses an elongated body tensioner (gripper chain drive system 37) configured to pull at least two elongated bodies (17, 18, 21, 22) along in a direction of movement comprising: a first track (first gripper chain 42) comprising a plurality of first contact elements (coil tubing gripping blocks 62, 62a, 62b, 62c, 62d), arranged in a row in the direction of movement; a second track (second gripper chain 42) comprising a plurality of second contact pads (62, 62a, 62b, 62c, 62d), arranged in a row in the direction of movement; wherein the first and second track are mutually arranged such that the at least two elongated bodies (17, 18, 21, 22) can be squeezed in between one or more pairs of one first contact elements (62) and one second contact elements (62); wherein, in a pair, one of the first and the second contact element is a receiving contact element (lower block 62; Fig. 5) configured to receive the at least two elongated bodies which are, on the receiving contact element, positioned next to each other in a direction transverse to the direction of movement; wherein, in a pair, the one, and/or another of the first and the second contact elements (upper block 62; Fig. 5) is an accommodating contact pad configured to accommodate a possible difference in diameter (For example, as shown in Figs. 5 and 5a the contact elements 62/62a that are configured to accommodate the elongated body 17 can also accommodate elongated bodies of smaller diameters than the diameter of elongated body 17.) in of the at least two elongated bodies to avoid reducing contact force between the at least two elongated bodies and the contact elements, wherein the possible difference in diameter of the at least two elongated bodies is accommodated by the accommodating contact element (Figs. 4, 5, 5a, 7, and 7a; paragraphs 0015, 0016, 0032, 0033, 0035, 0036, 0039 - 0041, 0044, and 0045). Dallas fails to disclose a plurality of first contact pads, a plurality of second contact pads; providing the accommodating contact element on the at least two elongated bodies respective track such that the accommodating contact pad can be tilted around an axis parallel to the direction of movement and/or such that the accommodating pad can be tilted in the transverse direction, to adjust to a difference in diameter of the at least two elongated bodies, and wherein the accommodating contact pad comprises a base plate, a cushion arranged on a first side of the base plate, a mounting element configured to be mounted on the first or second track, and a flexible element via which the mounting element is tiltably attached to a second side of the base plate, opposite to the first side. Vehmeijer teaches a plurality of first contact pads (pad assemblies 101), a plurality of second contact pads (101); providing the accommodating contact pad (101) on the at least two bodies respective track (35) such that the accommodating contact pad (101) can be tilted around an axis parallel to the direction of movement and/or such that the accommodating contact pad can be tilted in the transverse direction, to adjust to a difference in diameter of the elongated body (elongate product 18), and wherein the accommodating contact pad comprises a base plate (carrier member 104), a cushion (resilient body associated with gripping members 105; paragraphs 0069 and 0070) arranged on a first side of the base plate, a mounting element (adapter plate 138, not shown) configured to be mounted on the first or second track, and a flexible element (resilient body 140) via which the mounting element is tiltably attached to a second side of the base plate (Paragraph 0196 of Vehmeijer teaches resilient body 140 allows for some tilting of the carrier member 104.), opposite to the first side (Figs. 9 and 11 - 16; paragraphs 0037, 0069, 0070, 0149, 0172 - 0174, 0191, 0196, and 0197) to allow the gripping members to conform to the circumferential surface of the elongate product and to allow some tilting of the contact pads to provide for smooth feeding of the elongate product between the contact pads of opposed tracks. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the contact elements as disclosed above with the contact pads as taught by Vehmeijer to allow the tensioner pads to conform to the circumferential surface of the elongate product and to allow some tilting of the contact pads to provide for smooth feeding of the elongate product between the contact pads of opposed tracks.
Regarding claim 22, Dallas further discloses the possible difference in diameter of the at least two elongated bodies is accommodated by providing contact elements (62, 62a, 62b, 62c, 62d) with contact surfaces having different diameters (Figs. 5 and 5a). Additionally, the pairs of contact pads also accommodate elongated bodies of smaller diameters than the diameters of the elongated bodies as shown in Figs. 5 and 5a. Dallas fails to disclose a possible difference in diameter of the at least two elongated bodies is accommodated by providing the accommodating contact pad with a contact surface manufactured of a resilient material. Vehmeijer teaches the possible difference in diameter of the at least two elongated bodies (18) is accommodated by providing the accommodating contact pad (101) with a contact surface (105) manufactured of a resilient material (polyurethane) (Figs. 11 and 12; paragraph 0070) to allow the gripping members to conform to the circumferential surface of the elongate product. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the contact elements as disclosed above with the contact pads as taught by Vehmeijer to allow the tensioner pads to conform to the circumferential surface of the elongate product.
Regarding claim 23, Dallas fails to disclose the flexible element comprises at least one of a hinge, formed by two plates and a flexible material arranged in between the two plates, a pinned hinge, and/or one or more springs. Vehmeijer teaches the flexible element comprises at least one of a hinge formed by two plates (138, 104) and a flexible material (140) arranged in between the two plates and/or one or more springs (helical springs) (Figs. 12 - 14; paragraphs 0071, 0191, 0196, and 0197) to allow the gripping members to conform to the circumferential surface of the elongate product and to allow some tilting of the contact pads to provide for smooth feeding of the elongate product between the contact pads of opposed tracks. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the apparatus as disclosed above with the flexible element as taught by Vehmeijer to allow the tensioner pads to conform to the circumferential surface of the elongate product and to allow some tilting of the contact pads to provide for smooth feeding of the elongate product between the contact pads of opposed tracks.
Regarding claim 24, Dallas further discloses the at least two elongated bodies (17, 18, 21, 22) are received next to each other in the transverse direction by providing the receiving contact element with, for each elongated body, at least one elongated recess (unlabeled recesses) extending in the direction of movement (Figs. 4, 5, 5a, 7, and 7a).
Regarding claim 25, Dallas further discloses when squeezed in between the one or more pairs of one first and one second contact elements (62), the at least two elongated bodies (17, 18, 21, 22) extend in the direction of movement (Figs. 2 - 5; paragraphs 0015, 0016, 0032, 0033, 0035, 0036, 0039 - 0041, 0044, and 0045).
Regarding claim 27, Dallas further discloses a plurality of receiving contact elements (receiving contact element comprising the lower block 62; Fig. 5) which are all mounted on the same track (one the gripper chains 42; Fig. 4) (Figs. 4 and 5).
Regarding claim 29, Dallas further discloses a plurality of accommodating contact elements (accommodating contact element comprising the upper block 62; Fig. 5) which are all mounted on the same track (one the gripper chains 42; Fig. 4) (Figs. 4 and 5).
Regarding claim 31, Dallas further discloses in a single pair from the one or more pairs, one of the first and the second contact elements (62, 62a, 62b, 62c, 62d) is the receiving contact pad and the other of the first and second contact elements (62, 62a, 62b, 62c, 62d) is the accommodating contact element, wherein this is the case for each of the pairs in the one or more pairs (Figs. 5, 5a, 6, and 6a).
Regarding claim 32, Dallas further discloses in a single pair from the one or more pairs, one of the first and the second contact elements (62) is both the receiving contact element and the accommodating contact element (Figs. 5, 6, and 7).
Regarding claim 33, Dallas further discloses the first and/or the second track (42) are caterpillar tracks configured to displace the first and/or second contact elements (62) in the direction of movement, and, by looping back on themselves, are further configured to displace the first and/or second contact elements (62) in a direction opposite to the direction of movement (Fig. 4; paragraph 0039).
Regarding claim 36, Dallas in view of Vehmeijer discloses one or more elongated body tensioners according to claim 21 (see rejection of claim 21 above). Dallas further discloses a tensioning system for laying an elongated body assembly of at least two elongated bodies, comprising: storage (reels 19, 20, 23, 24) configured to have the at least two elongated bodies stored therein; one or more elongated body tensioners according to claim 21, wherein each elongated body tensioner is configured to pull on one end of the at least two elongated bodies to remove part of the at least two elongated bodies from storage; means (stuffing box 16) configured to bundle the part of the at least two elongated bodies removed from storage positioned in an assembly, downstream of the elongated body tensioner; and a chute (coil tubing guide framework 28 is functionally equivalent to a chute), configured to guide the elongated body assembly overboard (Figs. 1, 2, 4, 5, 5a, 7, and 7a; paragraphs 0015, 0016, 0032, 0033, 0035, 0036, 0039 - 0041, 0044, and 0045).
Claim 26, 28, 30, 37, and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dallas in view of Vehmeijer et al. as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Stockstill (US 2005/0036842).
Regarding claim 26, Dallas in view of Vehmeijer discloses all of the claim limitation(s) except the direction of movement is substantially horizontal and wherein the first track is an upper track and the second track is a lower track. Stockstill teaches a tensioner (34) wherein the direction of movement is substantially horizontal and wherein the first track (top unlabeled track of tensioner 34) is an upper track and the second track (bottom unlabeled track of tensioner 34) is a lower track (Figs. 1 - 3; abstract; paragraph 0096). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the elongated body tensioner as disclosed above with the horizontally oriented tensioner having an upper track and lower track, wherein the direction of movement is substantially horizontal, as taught by Stockstill to improve the ease with which the elongated bodies are transported to an installation site by reducing the size of the segments of which the elongated bodies are composed thus making it easier to store the elongated body segments on the deck of a floating vessel.
Regarding claim 28, Dallas further discloses all receiving contact elements (receiving contact element comprising the lower block 62; Fig. 5) are mounted on the lower track (one of the gripper chains 42) (Figs. 4 and 5). Examiner notes that the tensioner as disclosed by Dallas is capable of being used in a horizontal position and when the tensioner is extending in a horizontal direction of the tracks will be on the lower side facing upward and, therefore, the apparatus as disclosed by Dallas reads on the claim limitation(s).
Regarding claim 30, Dallas further discloses all accommodating contact elements (receiving contact element comprising the lower block 62; Fig. 5) are mounted on the upper track (one of the gripper chains 42) (Figs. 4 and 5). Examiner notes that the tensioner as disclosed by Dallas is capable of being used in a horizontal position and when the tensioner is extending in a horizontal direction of the tracks will be on the upper side facing downward and, therefore, the apparatus as disclosed by Dallas reads on the claim limitation(s).
Regarding claim 37, Dallas in view of Vehmeijer discloses all of the claim limitation(s) except an elongated body laying vessel. Stockstill teaches an elongated body laying vessel (ship 10) (Fig. 1; paragraph 0088). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the apparatus as disclosed above with the elongated body laying vessel as taught by Stockstill to allow the tensioning system to be transported to an offshore location so that the tensioning system can be used to connect elongated bodies to subsea wellheads.
Regarding claim 38, Dallas in view of Vehmeijer and Stockstill disclose the at least two elongated bodies laying vessel of claim 37. Dallas discloses a method for laying an elongated body assembly of at least two elongated bodies (17, 18, 21, 22), the method comprising the steps of: storing, in a storage (19, 20, 23, 24), the at least two elongated bodies (17, 18, 21, 22); retrieving part of all of the at least two elongated bodies from storage by pulling, using an elongated body tensioner (37), on one end of the at least two elongated bodies; bundling (using stuffing box 16) the part of the at least two elongated bodies removed from storage in an assembly, downstream of the elongated body tensioner; and guiding, using a chute (coil tubing guide framework 28 is functionally equivalent to a chute), the elongated body assembly towards a wellhead (Figs. 1, 2, 4, 5, 5a, 7, and 7a; paragraphs 0015, 0016, 0032, 0033, 0035, 0036, 0039 - 0041, 0044, and 0045). Dallas fails to disclose laying the elongated body assembly from an elongated body laying vessel. Stockstill teaches laying the elongated body assembly (20) from an elongated body laying vessel (ship 10) (Fig. 1; paragraph 0088). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the apparatus as disclosed above with the elongated body laying vessel as taught by Stockstill to allow the tensioning system to be transported to an offshore location so that the tensioning system can be used to connect elongated bodies to subsea wellheads.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 17 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Dallas fails to disclose the accommodating contact pad is configured to accommodate a possible difference in diameter of the at least two elongated bodies. Applicant argues that the recesses as taught by Dallas are designed to accommodate mutually differently sized coil tubing strings. Examiner replies that although the recesses as taught by Dallas are designed to accommodate differently sized coiled tubing strings, the contact elements 62/62a as shown in Figs. 5 and 5a of Dallas are configured to accommodate elongated bodies of smaller diameters than the diameter of elongated bodies as shown in Figs. 5 and 5a. For example, as shown in Figs. 5 and 5a the contact elements 62/62a that are configured to accommodate the elongated body 17 can also accommodate elongated bodies of smaller diameters than the diameter of elongated body 17. Since the contact elements as taught by Dallas are capable of accommodating elongated bodies of different diameters, the apparatus as taught by Dallas reads on the aforementioned claim limitations.
Applicant argues that Vehmeijer fails to teach the claimed tiltable arrangement. Examiner replies that paragraph 0196 of Vehmeijer teaches resilient body 140 allows for some tilting of the carrier member 104.
Applicant argues that since the resilient body associated with the gripping members 105 as taught by Vehmeijer are secured to the carrier member with securing devices 121, the resilient body associated with gripping members 105 cannot allow for a possible difference in a change in diameter. Examiner replies that Dallas, not Vehmeijer, has been relied upon to teach an accommodating pad configured to accommodate a possible difference in diameter of the at least two elongated bodies. Examiner also notes that Vehmeijer teaches the interlocking structures (109, 113) of the gripping member mating surfaces enable each of the gripping members to be mounted in multiple discrete gripping positions to adapt the pad assembly (101) to a diameter of an elongated product (Figs. 12 - 15; paragraph 0166).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEAN D ANDRISH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
SA
3/13/2026