DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendment filed 10/31/2025 in which Claims 27-34, 36-51 are pending and Claim 35 is cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/31/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues, on page 9, that Zhang fails to disclose the first and second controller circuits, in a first mode of operation, are configured to communicate with each other independently of the host system. Examiner disagrees and points to Figure 1 that illustrates the processor 110 [host system] as separate from the fingerprint recognition apparatus 130. In Figure 6, the fingerprint recognition apparatus 130 houses the enabling unit 503 [first controller circuit] and the determining unit 502 [second controller circuit]. Examiner further points to Zhang’s teaching that it should be noted that the electronic device described in embodiments of the present disclosure may be represented in a form of a functional unit. The term “unit” used herein should be understood with a broadest meaning, and objects configured to realize functions of each “unit” may be, for example, an integrated circuit ASIC, a single circuit, a processor (a common processor or a specialized processor or a chipset) configured to execute one or more software programs or firmware programs and memory, a combinational logic circuit and/or other suitable components for realizing above functions (see ¶ 0079). Therefore, each of the enabling unit 503 [first controller circuit] and determining unit 502 [second controller circuit] have their own processors distinct from the processor 110 of Figure 1 reading on the first and second controller circuits communicating with each other independently of the host system.
Applicant argues, on page 10, with respect to Claims 27 and 50, that Zhang’s Figure 6 does not disclose that the enabling unit 503 and the determining unit 502 are separate controller circuits and are able to communicate with each other independently of a host system. Examiner contends that the claim as recited does not require separate controller circuits. Figure 1 that illustrates the processor 110 [host system] as separate from the fingerprint recognition apparatus 130. In Figure 6, the fingerprint recognition apparatus 130 houses the enabling unit 503 [first controller circuit] and the determining unit 502 [second controller circuit]. Examiner does not construe that the first and second controller circuits are separate, only that their communication is separate from the host system as required by the recited claim language.
Applicant argues, on page 11, with respect to Claims 27 and 50, that Zhang says only that “the device may include a non-transitory computer-readable medium including computer executable instructions stored thereon, and an instruction execution system which is configured by the instructions to implement at least one of an acquiring unit 501, a determining unit 502 and an enabling unit 503. Examiner disagrees and points to Zhang’s teaching that The processor 110 is further configured to perform a matching between the fingerprint data collected and pre-stored fingerprint template data, and to perform a preset operation when the collected fingerprint data matches with the pre-stored fingerprint template data (see ¶ 0031). Examiner construes that the processor 110 functions separately from the enabling and determining units as it receives data determined by these units comprised within the fingerprint recognition apparatus and that the computer executable instructions are executed by “processors” native to each component within the fingerprint recognition apparatus, not executed by the processor 110.
Applicant argues, on page 11, with respect to Claims 27 and 50, that Zhang does not disclose that the functional elements of the enabling unit and the determining unit can communicate with each other independently of a host system, or even that these functional elements are separate from the host system at all. Examiner disagrees and points to Figure 1 that illustrates the processor 110 [host system] as separate from the fingerprint recognition apparatus 130. In Figure 6, the fingerprint recognition apparatus 130 houses the enabling unit 503 [first controller circuit] and the determining unit 502 [second controller circuit]. Zhang teaches that the fingerprint recognition apparatus 130 is configured to collect fingerprint data and send the fingerprint data to the processor 110. The processor 110 is further configured to perform a matching between the fingerprint data collected and pre-stored fingerprint template data, and to perform a preset operation when the collected fingerprint data matches with the pre-stored fingerprint template data (see ¶ 0031). Examiner further points to Zhang’s teaching that it should be noted that the electronic device described in embodiments of the present disclosure may be represented in a form of a functional unit. The term “unit” used herein should be understood with a broadest meaning, and objects configured to realize functions of each “unit” may be, for example, an integrated circuit ASIC, a single circuit, a processor (a common processor or a specialized processor or a chipset) configured to execute one or more software programs or firmware programs and memory, a combinational logic circuit and/or other suitable components for realizing above functions (see ¶ 0079). Therefore, each of the enabling unit 503 [first controller circuit] and determining unit 502 [second controller circuit] have their own processors distinct from the processor 110 of Figure 1 reading on the first and second controller circuits communicating with each other independently of the host system.
Applicant argues, on page 11, with respect to Claims 27 and 50, that Zhang’s Figure 6 is a functional representation of Zhang’s system and that the functionality of the determining unit 502 and enabling unit 503 from Zhang’s Figure 6 is carried out by the processor 110 and is thus not by separate controller circuits. Examiner disagrees and points to Figure 1 that illustrates the processor 110 [host system] as separate from the fingerprint recognition apparatus 130. In Figure 6, the fingerprint recognition apparatus 130 houses the enabling unit 503 [first controller circuit] and the determining unit 502 [second controller circuit]. Zhang teaches that the fingerprint recognition apparatus 130 is configured to collect fingerprint data and send the fingerprint data to the processor 110. The processor 110 is further configured to perform a matching between the fingerprint data collected and pre-stored fingerprint template data, and to perform a preset operation when the collected fingerprint data matches with the pre-stored fingerprint template data (see ¶ 0031). Examiner further points to Zhang’s teaching that it should be noted that the electronic device described in embodiments of the present disclosure may be represented in a form of a functional unit. The term “unit” used herein should be understood with a broadest meaning, and objects configured to realize functions of each “unit” may be, for example, an integrated circuit ASIC, a single circuit, a processor (a common processor or a specialized processor or a chipset) configured to execute one or more software programs or firmware programs and memory, a combinational logic circuit and/or other suitable components for realizing above functions (see ¶ 0079). Therefore, each of the enabling unit 503 [first controller circuit] and determining unit 502 [second controller circuit] have their own processors distinct from the processor 110 of Figure 1 reading on the first and second controller circuits communicating with each other independently of the host system.
Applicant further argues, on page 12, with respect to Claims 27 and 50, that Zhang’s determining unit 502 and enabling unit 503 are not distinct controller circuits and does not disclose that they can, in a first mode, communicate with each other independently of Zhang’s processor 110 and that they are functional elements implemented in Zhang’s processor 110. Examiner disagrees and points to Figure 1 that illustrates the processor 110 [host system] as separate from the fingerprint recognition apparatus 130. In Figure 6, the fingerprint recognition apparatus 130 houses the enabling unit 503 [first controller circuit] and the determining unit 502 [second controller circuit]. Zhang teaches that the fingerprint recognition apparatus 130 is configured to collect fingerprint data and send the fingerprint data to the processor 110. The processor 110 is further configured to perform a matching between the fingerprint data collected and pre-stored fingerprint template data, and to perform a preset operation when the collected fingerprint data matches with the pre-stored fingerprint template data (see ¶ 0031). Examiner further points to Zhang’s teaching that it should be noted that the electronic device described in embodiments of the present disclosure may be represented in a form of a functional unit. The term “unit” used herein should be understood with a broadest meaning, and objects configured to realize functions of each “unit” may be, for example, an integrated circuit ASIC, a single circuit, a processor (a common processor or a specialized processor or a chipset) configured to execute one or more software programs or firmware programs and memory, a combinational logic circuit and/or other suitable components for realizing above functions (see ¶ 0079). Therefore, each of the enabling unit 503 [first controller circuit] and determining unit 502 [second controller circuit] have their own processors distinct from the processor 110 of Figure 1 reading on the first and second controller circuits communicating with each other independently of the host system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 27, 28, 36-37, 40-49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication 2018/0314875 to Zhang.
As to Claim 27, Zhang teaches an electronic assembly for detecting a user's fingerprints (electronic device 100 includes a…fingerprint recognition apparatus, see ¶ 0023), comprising: a touch-sensitive surface configured to register user touch (electronic device 100 includes…a touch display screen 120 [touch-sensitive surface], see ¶ 0023); a fingerprint sensor for detecting user's fingerprints on at least a part of the touch-sensitive surface (the fingerprint recognition apparatus 130 [fingerprint sensor] is coupled to the touch display screen 120, and a fingerprint recognition region of the fingerprint recognition apparatus 130 includes the entire touch display screen 120 [touch-sensitive surface], see ¶ 0023);
a first controller circuit configured to activate the fingerprint sensor and receive fingerprint information from the fingerprint sensor (the enabling unit 503 [first controller circuit] is configured to enable a fingerprint function of the fingerprint recognition apparatus in the target region, see ¶ 0073);
a second controller circuit configured to detect a position and/or movement of a user's finger on or above the touch-sensitive surface, in response to signals from the touch-sensitive surface (determining unit 502 [second controller circuit] is further configured to determine a target region corresponding to the vertical projection point on the touch display screen, see ¶ 0072; the enabling unit 503 [first controller circuit] is configured to enable a fingerprint function of the fingerprint recognition apparatus in the target region, see ¶ 0073);
a host system connected to the first and second controller circuits, the host system comprising circuitry for processing information received from the first and second controller circuits (processor 110 [host system] is coupled to the…fingerprint recognition apparatus 130 via a bus, see ¶ 0024; fingerprint recognition control device…is applied to an electronic device including a touch display screen and a fingerprint recognition apparatus…the device may include a non-transitory computer-readable medium including computer executable instructions stored thereon, an instruction execution system which is configured by the instructions to implement at least one of an acquiring unit 501, a determining unit 502 [second controller circuit] and an enabling unit 503 [first controller circuit], see ¶ 0069. Examiner construes the processor to be connected to the fingerprint recognition apparatus that is operable through a fingerprint recognition control device), wherein the first controller circuit is further configured to receive information from the second controller circuit related to the current position and/or movement of the user's finger on or above the touch-sensitive surface and activate a portion of the fingerprint sensor on which to perform fingerprint reading (determining unit 502 [second controller circuit] is further configured to determine a target region corresponding to the vertical projection point [current position and/or movement of user’s finger] on the touch display screen, see ¶ 0072; the enabling unit 503 [first controller circuit] is configured to enable a fingerprint function of the fingerprint recognition apparatus in the target region, [first controller circuit receive information from the second controller circuit] see ¶ 0073).
wherein the first and second controller circuits in a first mode of operation are configured to communicate with each other independently of the host system (the fingerprint recognition apparatus 130 is configured to collect fingerprint data and send the fingerprint data to the processor 110. The processor 110 is further configured to perform a matching between the fingerprint data collected and pre-stored fingerprint template data, and to perform a preset operation when the collected fingerprint data matches with the pre-stored fingerprint template data, see ¶ 0031; Figure 1 that illustrates the processor 110 [host system] as separate from the fingerprint recognition apparatus 130. In Figure 6, the fingerprint recognition apparatus 130 houses the enabling unit 503 [first controller circuit] and the determining unit 502 [second controller circuit]).
As to Claim 28, Zhang depending on Claim 27, Zhang teaches wherein the first controller circuit is further configured to instruct the fingerprint sensor to perform a fingerprint reading at the portion of the fingerprint sensor corresponding to the position of the user's finger on the touch-sensitive surface received from the second controller circuit (determining unit 502 [second controller circuit] is further configured to determine a target region corresponding to the vertical projection point [current position and/or movement of user’s finger] on the touch display screen, see ¶ 0072; the enabling unit 503 [first controller circuit] is configured to enable a fingerprint function of the fingerprint recognition apparatus in the target region [perform a fingerprint reading at the portion of the fingerprint sensor corresponding to the position of the user’s finger on the touch-sensitive surface], see ¶ 0073).
As to Claim 36, Zhang depending on Claim 27, Zhang teaches wherein the first and second controller circuits in a second mode of operation are configured to communicate with the host system (processor 110 [host system] is coupled to the…fingerprint recognition apparatus 130 via a bus, see ¶ 0024; fingerprint recognition control device…is applied to an electronic device including a touch display screen and a fingerprint recognition apparatus…the device may include a non-transitory computer-readable medium including computer executable instructions stored thereon, an instruction execution system which is configured by the instructions to implement at least one of an acquiring unit 501, a determining unit 502 [second controller circuit] and an enabling unit 503 [first controller circuit], see ¶ 0069. Examiner construes the processor to be connected to the fingerprint recognition apparatus that is operable through a fingerprint recognition control device), the host system in the second mode of operation being configured to transmit data associated with the position and/or movement of the user's finger over one or more interactive areas on the touch-sensitive surface to the processing circuit, the one or more interactive areas being associated with expected user input via touch (determining unit 502 [second controller circuit] is further configured to determine a target region corresponding to the vertical projection point [current position and/or movement of user’s finger] on the touch display screen, see ¶ 0072; the enabling unit 503 [first controller circuit] is configured to enable a fingerprint function of the fingerprint recognition apparatus in the target region, [first controller circuit receive information from the second controller circuit] see ¶ 0073).
As to Claim 37, Zhang depending on Claim 36, Zhang teaches wherein the position of one or more interactive areas on the touch-sensitive surface is dependent on the particular software application run by the host system (The one or more programs are stored in the memory and are configured to be executed by the processor [software application run by the host system]. The one or more programs include instructions for performing following acts: controlling the touch display screen to detect a vertical distance between a touch end and the touch display screen; controlling the touch display screen to determine a vertical projection point of the touch end on the touch display screen and send the vertical projection point to the processor when it is determined that the vertical distance is less than or equal to a preset distance threshold; determining a target region corresponding to the vertical projection point on the touch display screen by the processor [position of one or more interactive areas on the touch-sensitive surface]; and enabling a fingerprint recognition function of the fingerprint recognition apparatus in the target region by the processor, see ¶ 0064).
As to Claim 40, Zhang depending on Claim 27, Zhang teaches wherein the first controller circuit is in communication with a secure area of the host system and wherein the first controller circuit is configured to compare the fingerprint scanned by the fingerprint scanner with one or more reference user fingerprints in the secure area of the host system (the fingerprint recognition apparatus 130 is configured to collect fingerprint data and send the fingerprint data to the processor 110. The processor 110 is further configured to perform a matching between the fingerprint data collected and pre-stored fingerprint template data, and to perform a preset operation when the collected fingerprint data matches with the pre-stored fingerprint template data, see ¶ 0031).
As to Claim 41, Zhang depending on Claim 27, Zhang teaches wherein the host system is configured to be activated once the comparison between the fingerprint scanned by fingerprint scanner and one or more reference user fingerprints stored in the host system is positive (the fingerprint recognition apparatus 130 is configured to collect fingerprint data and send the fingerprint data to the processor 110. The processor 110 is further configured to perform a matching between the fingerprint data collected and pre-stored fingerprint template data [reference user fingerprints stored in the host system], and to perform a preset operation when the collected fingerprint data matches with the pre-stored fingerprint template data, see ¶ 0031).
As to Claim 42, Zhang depending on Claim 40, Zhang teaches wherein the one or more reference user fingerprints are stored in an internal memory of the secure area (the fingerprint recognition apparatus 130 is configured to collect fingerprint data and send the fingerprint data to the processor 110. The processor 110 is further configured to perform a matching between the fingerprint data collected and pre-stored fingerprint template data [reference user fingerprints stored in the host system], and to perform a preset operation when the collected fingerprint data matches with the pre-stored fingerprint template data, see ¶ 0031).
As to Claim 43, Zhang depending on Claim 27, Zhang teaches wherein the fingerprint sensor is located behind the touch-sensitive surface (the fingerprint sensor is the ultrasonic fingerprint sensor, the fingerprint recognition apparatus may be coupled to the touch display screen in following manner: a vacuum detecting cavity is set below the first region of the touch display screen, see ¶ 0038) and wherein the size of the fingerprint sensor is such that it covers at least a portion of the touch-sensitive surface (a fingerprint recognition region of the fingerprint recognition apparatus includes the entire touch display screen, see ¶ 0054).
As to Claim 44, Zhang depending on Claim 27, Zhang teaches wherein the fingerprint sensor is located behind the touch-sensitive surface (the fingerprint sensor is the ultrasonic fingerprint sensor, the fingerprint recognition apparatus may be coupled to the touch display screen in following manner: a vacuum detecting cavity is set below the first region of the touch display screen, see ¶ 0038) and wherein the size of the fingerprint sensor is such that it covers the entire touch-sensitive surface (a fingerprint recognition region of the fingerprint recognition apparatus includes the entire touch display screen, see ¶ 0054).
As to Claim 45, Zhang depending on Claim 27, Zhang teaches a memory, the memory being configured to store information related to the movement of the user's finger on or over the touch-sensitive surface and/or fingerprints registered by the fingerprint sensor.
As to Claim 46, Zhang depending on Claim 27, Zhang teaches wherein the touch-sensitive surface is a touchscreen (electronic device 100 includes…a touch display screen 120 [touch-sensitive surface], see ¶ 0023).
As to Claim 47, Zhang depending on Claim 27, Zhang teaches further comprising a display for displaying a Graphical User Interface aimed at user interaction with the electronic device (the processor 110 is configured to display a man-machine interface in the target region, in which the man-machine interface [graphical user interface] is configured to guide the user to input the fingerprint in the target region, see ¶ 0030), wherein the display is located behind the touch-sensitive surface of the electronic assembly and the fingerprint sensor of the electronic device (the fingerprint sensor is the ultrasonic fingerprint sensor, the fingerprint recognition apparatus may be coupled to the touch display screen in following manner: a vacuum detecting cavity is set below the first region of the touch display screen, see ¶ 0038).
As to Claim 48, Zhang depending on Claim 47, Zhang teaches wherein the electronic apparatus is a communication apparatus (the electronic device 100 includes a processor 110, a touch display screen 120 and a fingerprint recognition apparatus 130, see ¶ 0023; The electronic device may include a mobile phone, see ¶ 0082).
As to Claim 49, Zhang depending on Claim 48, Zhang teaches where the communication apparatus is any one of a wireless communication apparatus for a cellular communication system, a tablet computer, a laptop computer, and a touch-screen terminal (the electronic device 100 includes a processor 110, a touch display screen 120 and a fingerprint recognition apparatus 130, see ¶ 0023; The electronic device may include a mobile phone, see ¶ 0082).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 29-34, 38, 39, 50, 51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2018/0314875 to Zhang in view of U.S. Patent 9,946,861 to Yoon et al (“Yoon”).
As to Claim 29, Zhang depending on Claim 27, Zhang teaches a processing circuit in one of the first controller circuit and the second controller circuit (processor 110 [host system] is coupled to the…fingerprint recognition apparatus 130 via a bus, see ¶ 0024; fingerprint recognition control device…is applied to an electronic device including a touch display screen and a fingerprint recognition apparatus…the device may include a non-transitory computer-readable medium including computer executable instructions stored thereon, an instruction execution system which is configured by the instructions to implement at least one of an acquiring unit 501, a determining unit 502 [second controller circuit] and an enabling unit 503 [first controller circuit], see ¶ 0069).
Zhang does not expressly disclose wherein the processing circuit is configured to compute data related to the movement of the user's finger on or above the touch-sensitive surface from signals received from the touch-sensitive surface, the processing circuit being further configured to compare the data related to the movement of the user's finger with a movement threshold value.
Yoon teaches wherein the processing circuit is configured to compute data related to the movement of the user's finger on or above the touch-sensitive surface from signals received from the touch-sensitive surface, the processing circuit being further configured to compare the data related to the movement of the user's finger with a movement threshold value (the electronic device 101 detects a drag (e.g., touch and move while maintaining the touch) speed of the input means (e.g. a finger) [compute data related to movement of the user’s finger] contacting the display 150. When the detected drag speed is slower than a designated speed [movement threshold], the electronic device 101 sets a fingerprint detecting area 331…and acquires a fingerprint of the input means, see Col. 13, lines 36-42).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zhang with Yoon to teach wherein the processing circuit is configured to compute data related to the movement of the user's finger on or above the touch-sensitive surface from signals received from the touch-sensitive surface, the processing circuit being further configured to compare the data related to the movement of the user's finger with a movement threshold value. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to detect a dragging gesture when a contact is maintained with the display (see Col. 8, lines 54-55).
As to Claim 30, Zhang and Yoon depending from Claim 29, Yoon teaches wherein the first controller circuit is configured to activate the fingerprint sensor at a position where the data related to the movement of the user's finger is equal to or below the movement threshold value (the electronic device 101 detects a drag (e.g., touch and move while maintaining the touch) speed of the input means (e.g. a finger) [compute data related to movement of the user’s finger] contacting the display 150. When the detected drag speed is slower than a designated speed [movement threshold], the electronic device 101 sets a fingerprint detecting area 331 [position of data related to movement of user’s finger]…and acquires a fingerprint of the input means, see Col. 13, lines 36-42).
As to Claim 31, Zhang and Yoon depending from Claim 29, Yoon teaches wherein the first controller circuit is further configured to instruct the fingerprint sensor to perform a fingerprint reading at the position on the touch-sensitive surface where the data related to the movement of the user's finger is equal to or below the movement threshold value (the electronic device 101 detects a drag (e.g., touch and move while maintaining the touch) speed of the input means (e.g. a finger) [compute data related to movement of the user’s finger] contacting the display 150. When the detected drag speed is slower than a designated speed [movement threshold], the electronic device 101 sets a fingerprint detecting area 331 [position of data related to movement of user’s finger]…and acquires a fingerprint of the input means, see Col. 13, lines 36-42).
As to Claim 32, Zhang and Yoon depending from Claim 29, Yoon teaches wherein the data related to the movement of the user's finger on or over the touch-sensitive surface calculated by the processing circuit is generated in the form of a movement vector (the electronic device 101 detects a drag (e.g., touch and move while maintaining the touch) speed of the input means (e.g. a finger) [drag direction] contacting the display 150, see Col. 13, lines 36-42. Examiner construes that the drag direction and drag speed are analogous to a movement vector).
As to Claim 33, Zhang and Yoon depending from Claim 29, Yoon teaches wherein the data related to the movement of the user's finger comprises one of speed, acceleration, deceleration or direction of movement of the user's finger on or above the touch-sensitive surface (the electronic device 101 detects a drag (e.g., touch and move while maintaining the touch) speed of the input means (e.g. a finger) contacting the display 150, see Col. 13, lines 36-42).
As to Claim 34, Zhang and Yoon depending from Claim 30, Yoon teaches wherein the movement threshold value comprises one of speed, acceleration, deceleration or direction of movement of the user's finger on or above the touch-sensitive surface (the electronic device 101 detects a drag (e.g., touch and move while maintaining the touch) speed of the input means (e.g. a finger) contacting the display 150, see Col. 13, lines 36-42).
As to Claim 38, Zhang depending from Claim 36, Zhang does not expressly disclose wherein the processing circuit is further configured to compare the data received from the host system with a movement threshold value and the position of one or more interactive areas on the touch sensitive surface and to instruct the first controller circuit to activate the fingerprint sensor when the movement of the user's finger is below the movement threshold value and the user's finger is within the one or more interactive areas. Yoon teaches wherein the processing circuit is further configured to compare the data received from the host system with a movement threshold value and the position of one or more interactive areas on the touch sensitive surface and to instruct the first controller circuit to activate the fingerprint sensor when the movement of the user's finger is below the movement threshold value and the user's finger is within the one or more interactive areas (the electronic device 101 detects a drag (e.g., touch and move while maintaining the touch) speed of the input means (e.g. a finger) [compute data related to movement of the user’s finger] contacting the display 150. When the detected drag speed is slower than a designated speed [movement threshold], the electronic device 101 sets a fingerprint detecting area 331 [position of data related to movement of user’s finger]…and acquires a fingerprint of the input means, see Col. 13, lines 36-42).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zhang with Yoon to teach wherein the processing circuit is further configured to compare the data received from the host system with a movement threshold value and the position of one or more interactive areas on the touch sensitive surface and to instruct the first controller circuit to activate the fingerprint sensor when the movement of the user's finger is below the movement threshold value and the user's finger is within the one or more interactive areas. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to detect a dragging gesture when a contact is maintained with the display (see Col. 8, lines 54-55).
As to Claim 39, Zhang and Yoon depending from Claim 38, Yoon teaches wherein the processing circuit is configured to instruct the first controller circuit to let the fingerprint scanner perform a fingerprint scan when the movement of the user's finger is below the movement threshold value and the position of the user's finger is within the one or more interactive areas and on the touch-sensitive surface (the electronic device 101 detects a drag (e.g., touch and move while maintaining the touch) speed of the input means (e.g. a finger) [compute data related to movement of the user’s finger] contacting the display 150. When the detected drag speed is slower than a designated speed [movement threshold], the electronic device 101 sets a fingerprint detecting area 331 [position of data related to movement of user’s finger]…and acquires a fingerprint of the input means, see Col. 13, lines 36-42).
As to Claim 50, Zhang teaches a method for detecting user's fingerprints on a touch-sensitive surface (the fingerprint recognition apparatus 130 [fingerprint sensor] is coupled to the touch display screen 120, and a fingerprint recognition region of the fingerprint recognition apparatus 130 includes the entire touch display screen 120 [touch-sensitive surface], see ¶ 0023), comprising: receiving information related to the current position and/or movement of the user's finger on or above the touch-sensitive surface in a second controller circuit (determining unit 502 [second controller circuit] is further configured to determine a target region corresponding to the vertical projection point on the touch display screen, see ¶ 0072; the enabling unit 503 [first controller circuit] is configured to enable a fingerprint function of the fingerprint recognition apparatus in the target region, see ¶ 0073);
activating a portion of a fingerprint sensor on which to perform fingerprint reading by a first controller circuit (the enabling unit 503 [first controller circuit] is configured to enable a fingerprint function of the fingerprint recognition apparatus in the target region, see ¶ 0073); and
wherein activation of the fingerprint sensor and fingerprint reading is done independently of a host system communicating with the first and second controller circuits (the fingerprint recognition apparatus 130 is configured to collect fingerprint data and send the fingerprint data to the processor 110. The processor 110 is further configured to perform a matching between the fingerprint data collected and pre-stored fingerprint template data, and to perform a preset operation when the collected fingerprint data matches with the pre-stored fingerprint template data, see ¶ 0031; Figure 1 that illustrates the processor 110 [host system] as separate from the fingerprint recognition apparatus 130. In Figure 6, the fingerprint recognition apparatus 130 houses the enabling unit 503 [first controller circuit] and the determining unit 502 [second controller circuit]).
Zhang does not expressly disclose performing fingerprint reading on the portion of the fingerprint sensor corresponding to the position of the user's finger and/or where the movement of the user's finger is below a movement threshold value on the touch-sensitive surface.
Yoon teaches performing fingerprint reading on the portion of the fingerprint sensor corresponding to the position of the user's finger and/or where the movement of the user's finger is below a movement threshold value on the touch-sensitive surface (the electronic device 101 detects a drag (e.g., touch and move while maintaining the touch) speed of the input means (e.g. a finger) [compute data related to movement of the user’s finger] contacting the display 150. When the detected drag speed is slower than a designated speed [movement threshold], the electronic device 101 sets a fingerprint detecting area 331 [position of data related to movement of user’s finger]…and acquires a fingerprint of the input means, see Col. 13, lines 36-42).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zhang with Yoon to teach performing fingerprint reading on the portion of the fingerprint sensor corresponding to the position of the user's finger and/or where the movement of the user's finger is below a movement threshold value on the touch-sensitive surface. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to detect a dragging gesture when a contact is maintained with the display (see Col. 8, lines 54-55).
As to Claim 51, Zhang and Yoon depending from Claim 50, Zhang teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising, stored thereupon, a program product comprising computer program code executable by processing circuitry of an electronic assembly, the program code being configured to cause the electronic assembly to carry out a method (the device may include a non-transitory computer-readable medium including computer executable instructions stored thereon, and an instruction execution system which is configured by the instructions to implement at least one of an acquiring unit 501, a determining unit 502 and an enabling unit 503, see ¶ 0069).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EBONI N GILES/Examiner, Art Unit 2622
/PATRICK N EDOUARD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2622