DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1, 4, 10, 12-13, 17-23, and 35-42 in the reply filed on 08/07/2026 is acknowledged. Because Applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 24-25, 28-31, and 33-34 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/07/2026.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 4, 10, 12-13, 17-25, 28-31, and 33-42 are currently pending.
Claims 24-25, 28-31, and 33-34 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 2-3, 5-9, 11, 14-16, 26-27, and 32 are cancelled.
Claims 1, 4, 10, 12-13, 17-23, and 35-42 have been considered on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
An IDS was received on 04/15/2024 and 08/07/2026. All references have been considered; however, due to the voluminous number of references in the IDS they have been only briefly considered. It is noted that the cloaking of a relevant reference by inclusion in a long list of citations may not comply with the Applicant' s duty of disclosure. Penn Yan Boats, Inc. v. Sea Lark Boats, Inc., 359 F. Supp. 948 (S.D. Fla. 1972). Therefore, the applicant is encouraged to present a concise statement as to the relevance of any particular documents known to be material for patentability as defined by 37 C.F.R. § 1.56.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 10, 12-13, 17, 19-23, and 35-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gao et al (WO2021076656A1).
Regarding claim 1, Gao teaches an engineered composition comprising a catalytically inactive, RNA-binding, Cas polypeptide (dCas) ([0011]). Gao teaches a trans-splicing donor construct comprising a guide sequence, an intron comprising a splice acceptor, a donor RNA, (See Claim 1 of Gao) and a polyA tail ([0085]/[0145]). Gao teaches that the guide is capable of forming a complex with the dCas and directing sequence specific binding of the complex to a mRNA through teaching that the “dead” Cas retains functionality but lacs nuclease activity ([0052]).
Regarding claim 4, Gao teaches that the composition contains a guide which specifically binds to an intron-exon boundary that is 5’ relative to a mutant exon of a gene of interest and the donor RNA comprises an exon od the target precursor mRNA and a heterologous sequence to be spliced into the target mRNA ([0004]/[0025]/[0075]).
Regarding claim 10, Gao teaches that the replacement exon contains one more mutations relative to the target exon and/or corrects one or more mutations present in the target exon ([0108]).
Regarding claim 12, Gao teaches that the trans-splicing donor construct is fused to the 3’ end of the guide sequence (See Fig. 5, and [0034]).
Regarding claim 13, Gao teaches that the dCas polypeptide is a Cas13d ([0017]/claim 23).
Regarding claim 17, Gao teaches fusing the pre-trans-splicing molecule with the gRNA of Cas13 to improve the specificity and efficiency of the spliceosome-mediated RNA trans-splicing process ([0145]).
Regarding claim 19, Gao teaches a polynucleotide encoding one or more of the components of the composition of claim 1 ([0058]).
Regarding claim 20, Gao teaches a vector system comprising one or more vectors encoding one or more components of the composition of claim 1 ([0058]).
Regarding claim 21, Gao teaches a cell or population of cells comprising the composition of claim 1 ([0014]).
Regarding claim 22, Gao teaches that the compositions of their invention may be combined with a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier ([0125]).
Regarding claim 23, Gao teaches the composition of claim 1 ([0011]/[0085]/[0145]/[0052]).
Regarding claim 35, Gao teaches a cell or population of cells comprising the polynucleotide of claim 19 ([0058] and [0014]).
Regarding claim 36, Gao teaches that the compositions of their invention may be combined with a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier to form a pharmaceutically acceptable formulation ([0125]).
Regarding claim 37, Gao teaches the polynucleotide of claim 19 ([0058]).
Regarding claim 38, Gao teaches a cell population comprising the vector system of claim 20 ([0058]/[0092]).
Regarding claim 39, Gao teaches that the compositions of their invention may be combined with a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier to form a pharmaceutically acceptable formulation ([0125]).
Regarding claim 40, Gao teaches the vector system of claim 20 ([0058].
Regarding claim 41, Gao teaches the cell or population of cells as in claim 21 ([0014]).
Regarding claim 42, Gao teaches the pharmaceutical formulation of claim 22 ([0125]).
Thus, Gao anticipates the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al (WO2021076656A1), as applied to claims 1, 4, 10, 12-13, 17, 19-23, and 35-42 above, and in view of Cheng et al (WO2020069331A1).
With regards to claim 18, the limitations of the independent claim are taught above.
Gao does not explicitly teach that the one or more domains fused to or otherwise capable of associating with the Cas polypeptide to improve recruitment of spliceosome or efficiency of target search and hybridization by the guide sequence are RBFOX1 and/or RBM38 as required by claim 18.
However, Cheng teaches a similar embodiment to that of Gao in that Cheng provides compositions which are able to induce exon inclusion/exclusion events by employing a catalytically inactive programmable nuclease such as dCas (abstract).
Regarding claim 18, Cheng teaches that an artificial RNA-guided splicing factor comprising an RNA splicing factor which can be RBFOX1 and RBM38 linked to a dCas (pg. 2, para 1-2). Cheng states that the versatile artificial RNA-guided splicing factor is used to induce exon inclusion/exclusion events at precise locations within a target gene or another genomic locus of interest (pg. 1, para 3).
One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious at the effective filling date of the instant invention to combine the dCas system containing a domain capable of associating to the dCas polypeptide improving recruitment of spliceosome and efficiency of target search and hybridization taught by Gao with the dCas system containing splicing factors RBFOX1 and/or RBM38 taught by Cheng to arrive at the instant invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination because Cheng states that the versatile artificial RNA-guided splicing factor is used to induce exon inclusion/exclusion events at precise locations within a target gene or another genomic locus of interest (pg. 1, para 3). One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when combining Gao with Cheng because both provide dCas systems for the editing of target exons and teach the necessary information to do so.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective time of filing of the invention, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Examiner Contact Information
CONSTANTINA E. STAVROU
Examiner
Art Unit 1632
/TITILAYO MOLOYE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1632