Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Amendments submitted on 4/8/26 include amendments to the claims. Claims 24-43 are pending. Claim 24 has been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/8/26 have been fully considered and are found to be persuasive. However, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Chae et al. (US20200325616).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 24-27, 30-32, 35, 40-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (JP2022080559A) in view of Ko et al. (US20190345661) and Chae et al. (US20200325616).
Regarding claim 24, 26-27, 40, Tanaka teaches a laundry treating apparatus (see abstract) comprising: a cabinet (see outer housing of washing machine 1) comprising a top cover 10 having a laundry inlet (see page 4 of the translation, figure 1); a tub 50 located in the cabinet, the tub 50 being capable of storing water therein, the tub 50 having a tub inlet facing the laundry inlet (see pages 5-6 of the translation, figures 1, 6); a first detergent storage 20/21, the first detergent storage 20/21 being capable of storing a first detergent therein; the first detergent storage 20/21 including a top surface exposed to the outside of the cabinet (see figure 2, where the cover 12 is opened), the top surface being configured to be openable and closeable (via hinged plate disposed on the top cover, as shown in figures 2-3) (see page 4 of the translation, figures 1-3); a second detergent storage 30 located in the cabinet, the second detergent storage 30 being capable of storing a second detergent therein, the second detergent storage 30 being in communication with the tub 50 (see figures 1, 4, 6, pages 3-4 of the translation); the top cover 10 includes a door 11 configured to open and close the laundry inlet; and a rear portion Rt, Rh located at the rear of the door 11, the rear portion Rt, Rh defining a cover space (see space below Rt, Rh), wherein the first detergent storage 20/21 is located on the rear portion (at Rt, see figure 2), and wherein the second detergent storage 30 is located in the cover space (see figures 1-2, 4, page 3 of the translation, the second storage is disposed in the space below Rt, Rh); a detergent pipe (see piping between 20 and 30 as shown in figure 6) connecting the first detergent storage 20/21 to the second detergent storage 30, the detergent pipe being configured to guide the first detergent to the second detergent storage 30; and a water supply pipe (see piping between 13 and 30 as shown in figure 6) configured to connect a water supply source 13 to the second detergent storage 30 to guide water supplied from the water supply source 13 to the second detergent storage 30, a water supply valve 33 configured to connect the water supply source 13 to the water supply pipe (see figure 6, page 3 of the translation) (reads on claim 40); wherein the second detergent storage 30 is configured such that the first detergent and the second detergent are capable of being mixed with water inside the second detergent storage 30 and discharged to the tub inlet (see figure 6, pages 3-4 of the translation). Tanaka does not explicitly teach a detergent pump. Ko et al. teaches a laundry treatment apparatus (see abstract) and that a detergent pump 12 may be located in the cabinet 100 below the storage body 11 and being connected to the first storage 11 to allow the first detergent to flow, a detergent pipe 12b connecting the detergent pump 12 to a second detergent storage 30, the detergent pipe 12b being configured to guide the first detergent to the second detergent storage 30, the second detergent storage 30 and the detergent pump 12 being located inside the top cover 101c and aligned along a width direction X of the cabinet 100 (see figures 2-3, paragraphs [0056]-[0057]) (reads on claim 27), wherein the control module 110 may be connected to the detergent pump 12 to control operation of the detergent pump 12 (see paragraphs [0064], [0070], [0088]). Since both Tanaka and Ko et al. teach laundry treatment apparatuses it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention that a detergent pump may be disposed in the cover space (reads on claim 26), aligned in a width direction with the second storage and below the first storage in the system by Tanaka so as to pump a desired amount of detergent out from the storage body, as shown to be known and conventional by Ko et al. Hence, in the modified system by Tanaka including a detergent pump, it is readily apparent that the detergent pump would be downstream of the first storage and upstream of the second storage such that the detergent pipe would connect the detergent pump to the second detergent storage 30, the detergent pipe being configured to guide the first detergent to the second detergent storage 30. Tanaka does not teach that at least a portion of the first detergent storage protrudes to an outside of the cabinet such that a space in which the first detergent is stored is located outside the cabinet. Chae et al. teaches a laundry treating apparatus (see abstract) and a first detergent storage 100 configured to store a first detergent therein, whereby at least a portion of the first detergent storage 100 protrudes to an outside of the cabinet 10 such that a space in which the first detergent is stored is located outside the cabinet 10, allowing for stable detergent supply as well as easy assembly and disassembly (see figures 1-3, paragraphs [0027], [0048], [0054], [0084], [0136]). Since both Tanaka and Chae et al. teach laundry treating appliances with detergent storage devices it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention that at least a portion of the first detergent storage in the modified system of Tanaka may be configured to protrude to an outside of the cabinet 10 such that a space in which the first detergent is stored is located outside the cabinet 10, so as to allow for stable detergent supply as well as easy assembly and disassembly, as shown to be known and conventional by Chae et al.
Regarding claim 25, Tanaka, Chae et al. and Ko et al. together teach the limitations of claim 24. Tanaka et al. teaches in figures 1-2, 4 that the first detergent storage 20/21 and the second detergent storage 30 are located rearwardly of the tub 50 (figures 1-2 show that the first detergent storage 20/21 is disposed rearwardly of the door 11 covering the tub inlet, and figure 4 shows that the second detergent storage 30 is disposed directly beneath the first detergent storage 20/21 and therefore also rearwardly of the tub). Hence, in the modified system by Tanaka including a detergent pump disposed between the first storage and second storage, it is readily apparent that the detergent pump would also be disposed rearwardly of the tub.
Regarding claim 30, Tanaka, Chae et al. and Ko et al. together teach the limitations of claim 27. Ko et al. teaches that the control module 110 may be connected to the detergent pump 12 to control operation of the detergent pump 12 (see paragraphs [0064], [0070], [0088], [0125], figures 1A, 2). Tanaka does not teach that the pump control module is located at the first side of the second storage along the width direction of the cabinet. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention that the pump control module may be positioned proximate to the detergent pump and in an orientation that would facilitate the connection with the detergent pump so as to optimize the communication between the detergent pump and the pump control module. Furthermore, it has been determined that the rearrangement of parts constitutes an obvious design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art absent persuasive evidence that a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claim 31, Tanaka, Chae et al. and Ko et al. together teach the limitations of claim 30. Ko et al. also teaches that the detergent pump 12 is arranged at a first side of the second detergent storage 30 along the width direction X of the cabinet 100 (see figures 2-3, paragraphs [0056]-[0057]); and that the control module 110 may be connected to the detergent pump 12 to control operation of the detergent pump 12 (see paragraphs [0064], [0070], [0088], [0125], figures 1A, 2). Tanaka does not teach that the detergent pump and the pump control module are arranged in a vertical direction of the cabinet. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention that the pump control module may be positioned proximate to the detergent pump and in an orientation and relative positioning that would facilitate the connection with the detergent pump so as to optimize the communication between the detergent pump and the pump control module. Furthermore, it has been determined that the rearrangement of parts constitutes an obvious design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art absent persuasive evidence that a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claim 32, Tanaka, Chae et al. and Ko et al. together teach the limitations of claim 27. Tanaka does not teach a plurality of detergent pumps. Ko et al. teaches that the detergent pump 12 may be provided in plurality, including pump 22, along the width direction X of the cabinet 100 (see figures 1A, 3, paragraphs [0064], [0075]). Since both Tanaka and Ko et al. teach laundry treating apparatuses it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention that a plurality of detergent pumps may be included in the system by Tanaka so as to provide the expected additional pumping capacity. Furthermore, it has been determined that the duplication of parts constitutes an obvious design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art absent persuasive evidence that a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 35, Tanaka, Chae et al. and Ko et al. together teach the limitations of claim 24. Ko et al. also teaches that the detergent pump 12 and the second detergent storage 30 are aligned along a width direction X of the cabinet, and that the detergent pump 12 includes an inlet port (see port attached to pipe 12a as shown in figure 3) configured to receive the first detergent, and an outlet port (see port attached to 12b as shown in figure 3) configured to discharge the first detergent (see figures 2-3, paragraphs [0056]-[0057]). Tanaka does not teach that the inlet and discharge ports of the detergent pump are arranged parallel to the width direction of the cabinet. However, since the inlet and outlet ports of the detergent pump are disposed so as to allow for fluid transfer between the detergent pump and the first and second storages, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention that the inlet and outlet ports may be arranged based on the available space and relative positioning of the detergent pump to the first and second storages so as to optimize the fluid transfer therebetween. Furthermore, it has been determined that the rearrangement of parts constitutes an obvious design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art absent persuasive evidence that a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claim 41, Tanaka, Chae et al. and Ko et al. together teach the limitations of claim 40. Tanaka also teaches a water supply module (see piping and instrumentation downstream from 13 and leading up to 30, as shown in figure 6) connected to the water supply valve 33 and the second detergent storage 30, the water supply module including the water supply pipe, the water supply module having more water outlet holes (see e.g. 31a, 31b as shown in figure 5) for water to flow out to the second detergent storage 30 than water inlet holes (see number of parallel lines leading from 33 in figure 6) for water to be introduced from the water supply valve 33 (see pages 3-4 of the translation, figures 5-6).
Regarding claim 42, Tanaka, Chae et al. and Ko et al. together teach the limitations of claim 24. Tanaka teaches that the second detergent storage 30 includes: a receiving casing 31 including a first chamber; a drawer 32 capable of accommodating the second detergent therein (see figure 4, page 3 of the translation), the drawer 32 being extendable from the first chamber, and wherein the second detergent storage 30 is configured such that the first detergent introduced via the detergent pipe and water introduced via the water supply pipe 13 are capable of being mixed with the second detergent in the first chamber and discharged into the tub 50 (see figure 6).
Claims 37-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (JP2022080559A) in view of Ko et al. (US20190345661) and Chae et al. (US20200325616) as applied to claim 24, and further in view of Jang et al. (KR20210027020A).
Regarding claims 37-38, Tanaka, Chae et al. and Ko et al. together teach the limitations of claim 24. Tanaka teaches that the first detergent storage 20/21 includes a storage body capable of storing the first detergent therein, the first detergent storage 20/21 including a mounting portion (see portions of Rt into which 20/21 are disposed, as shown in figures 1-2) located in the top cover 10, and an outflow pipe (see piping associated with valves 45a/45b as shown in figure 6) that carries fluid from the storage body and downstream (see figures 1-2, 6, page 3 of the translation). Tanaka does not teach the storage body having a detergent valve configured to be opened when the storage body is attached to the cabinet and configured to be closed when the storage body is detached from the cabinet and a fastening pipe configured to be inserted into the storage body. Jang et al. teaches a laundry treatment apparatus (see abstract) and that the installation unit 200 comprises a fastening pipe 224a, the fastening pipe extending in a horizontal direction of the cabinet 100, the fastening pipe 224a being configured to be inserted into the storage body 410/420 when the storage body 410/420 is mounted to the installation unit 200 such that the interior of the storage body 410/420 communicates with the detergent pump 220 and allowing pumping of the detergent therefrom; the storage body 410/420 comprises a detergent valve 416/426 into which the fastening pipe is inserted so as to be opened when the storage body 410/420 is mounted to the installation unit 200 of the cabinet 100, the detergent valve 416/426 being configured to discharge the detergent to the coupling pipe 224a, and the detergent valve 416/426 configured to be closed when the storage body 410/420 is detached from the cabinet 100 (see pages 22-23 of the translation, figure 19). Since both Tanaka and Jang et al. teach laundry treatment apparatuses it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention that storage body in the system by Tanaka may include a detergent valve and the mounting portion may include a fastening pipe so as to facilitate the pumping of the contents of the storage body, as shown to be known and conventional by Jang et al. Hence, in the modified system by Tanaka including a detergent pump, it is readily apparent that the detergent pump would be configured to receive the first detergent via the outflow pipe (reads on claim 38).
Regarding claim 39, Tanaka, Chae et al., Ko et al. and Jang et al. together teach the limitations of claim 38. Ko et al. teaches that the detergent pump 12 may be located in the cabinet 100 below the storage body 11 and being connected to the first storage 11 to allow the first detergent to flow, the second detergent storage 30 and the detergent pump 12 being located inside the top cover 101c and aligned along a width direction X of the cabinet 100 (see figures 2-3, paragraphs [0056]-[0057]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 28-29, 33-34, 36, 43 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art of record is Tanaka (JP2022080559A). Tanaka fails to teach/disclose all of the limitations of claims 28, 33, 36 and 43. Furthermore, no other prior art was located that fairly suggested the claimed invention in whole or in part along with the requisite motivation for combination to anticipate or render the claimed invention obvious.
Conclusion
/TINSAE B AYALEW/EXAMINER, Art Unit 1711