DETAILED ACTION
Claims 13-20 are pending in application.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation is: “[…] conveying means arranged to provide a flow of liquid hydrogen to a position at or near the heater […]” in claim 13, lines 9-10.
Because this claim limitation is not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it is not being interpreted to cover only the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
If applicant intends to have this limitation interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitations to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation does not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Marandi et al. (Energy Conversion and Management 2021, 244, 114532).
Marandi et al. discloses a fuel cell system which recovers waste heat (page 3, last full paragraph) from a PEMFC, or a proton exchange membrane fuel cell, (first paragraph of introduction). The fuel cell system comprises a fuel cell stack (page 3, last paragraph; Fig. 1a, LT-PEM Fuel Cell) and a Rankine cooling circuit (Fig. 1a, flows O1 through O4) which is designed to convert waste heat from the fuel cell stack to useful work via the hydrogen expander (page 5, last full paragraph; Fig. 1a, BOG Expander) during operation of the fuel cell system. Marandi et al. further describe the Rankine cooling circuit as comprising an evaporator (page 5, last full paragraph; Fig. 1a, Evaporator 1) which serves as a heater arranged to heat organic coolant fluid (Fig. 1a, Line O2) entering the evaporator in the cooling circuit. The cooling circuit also comprises a turbine (Fig. 1a, Turbine 1) upstream a condenser (Fig. 1a, Condenser 1) and includes a pump (Fig. 1a, Pump 1) used as a means arranged to drive organic coolant fluid around the cooling circuit. Marandi et al. also describe the fluid circuit has having organic cooling fluid in gaseous form downstream the evaporator and liquid form downstream the condenser (page 5, last full paragraph). The fuel cell stack includes a Therminol circuit (Fig. 1a, Lines T1, T2, and T3) to heat the cooling fluid in the evaporator and the fuel cell stack is therefore downstream the condenser in the cooling circuit, hence meeting the claimed limitation of the cooling circuit having gaseous cooling fluid between the heater and condenser and liquid cooling fluid between the condenser and fuel cell stack.
The fuel cell system of Marandi et al. further comprises a cargo liquid hydrogen tank (page 5, last full paragraph) and a conduit serving as a conveying means (Fig. 1a, Line B1) which is arranged to provide the flow of liquid hydrogen to the condenser, which is a position near the evaporator, or heater, on the Rankine cooling circuit, to be vaporized using heat supplied by the evaporator via the organic cooling fluid (Fig. 1a, Line O4). Additionally, gaseous hydrogen flows from the condenser to the fuel inlet to the fuel cell (Fig. 1a, position P1) during operation of the fuel cell system via the condenser such that gaseous hydrogen is in thermal contact with the organic coolant fluid in the condenser.
Regarding claim 14, the fuel cell stack is a PEMFC, or a proton exchange membrane fuel cell, (first paragraph of introduction).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
12. Claims 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clawson (US PG Pub 2003/0170518 A1) in view of Marandi et al. (Energy Conversion and Management 2021, 244, 114532).
Regarding claim 13, Clawson describes a fuel cell system (title) comprising a fuel cell stack (para. [0054], Fig. 3, ref. 110) and a cooling apparatus (para. [0055], Fig. 3, ref. 116) which is used to remove waste heat from the fuel cell stack via a cooling loop (Fig. 3, ref. 130). Furthermore, Clawson discloses the addition of a Rankine cycle to advantageously recover waste heat from the fuel cells during operation of the fuel cell system (para. [0009]-[0010]). The cooling circuit also includes the cooling apparatus, which is a part of the fuel cell stack, a burner (para. [0059], Fig. 3, ref. 140) or heater, a turbine (para. [0061], Fig. 3, ref. 144) and downstream condensing radiator (para. [0063], Fig. 3, ref. 154), or condenser. The burner is arranged to heat humidified cathode exhaust (para. [0057], Fig. 3, ref. 146) and the condensing radiator recycles water from the cooled exhaust stream (para. [0063], Fig. 3, ref. 152) downstream the turbine, and hence the burner is arranged to heat coolant fluid, or water, in the cooling circuit. Clawson also describes a means to drive coolant fluid around the circuit via saturator makeup pump (para. [0063], Fig. 3, ref. 158) and the fuel cell cooling pump (para. [0055], Fig. 3, ref. 132). The coolant fluid is in the form of steam between the burner and the condensing radiator (para. [0059]-[0063]) and in liquid water form between the condensing radiator and the fuel cell stack (para. [0063]).
Clawson also discloses that the fuel cell system is applicable to “non-hybridized” or “pure” hydrogen fuel cell power systems (para. [0024]) which may rely on liquid hydrogen storage (para. [0025]) and that the hydrogen is supplied to the anode of the fuel cell (para. [0058], Fig. 3, ref. 112) via a conduit, indicated as a line between the hydrogen source (para. [0054], Fig. 3, ref. 120) and fuel cell anode in Fig. 3. Hence, the conduit between the hydrogen source (para. [0054], Fig. 3, ref. 120) and anode described by Clawson is a conveying means arranged to provide a flow of liquid hydrogen.
However, Clawson fails to teach the flow of liquid hydrogen to a position at or near the heater and a flow of gaseous hydrogen from said position to a hydrogen fuel input of the fuel cell stack via the condenser.
Marandi et al. teaches a system which recovers waste heat (page 3, last full paragraph) from a PEMFC (proton exchange membrane fuel cell) (first paragraph of introduction) using a condenser (page 5, last full paragraph; Fig. 1a, condenser 1) which is integrated into a Rankine cycle (Fig. 1a, flows O1 through O4) downstream the turbine (Fig. 1a, turbine 1) to heat cryogenic hydrogen gas (page 5, last full paragraph) which enters the fuel cell via an inlet line (Fig. 1a, line P1). Furthermore, the Marandi et al. teaches a conveying means (Fig. 1a, Line B1) which is configured to supply a flow of liquid hydrogen from the cargo liquid hydrogen tank (Fig. 1a, cargo LH2 tank) to the condenser of the Rankine cycle, and hence at or near the evaporator (Fig. 1a, Evaporator 1), or heater, where it is evaporated using heat supplied by the heater via the cooling fluid in the condenser (Page 5, last full paragraph). Additionally, gaseous hydrogen entering the condenser (Fig. 1a, line B2) is in thermal contact with the coolant fluid entering the condenser (Fig. 1a, line O4).
Furthermore, Marandi et al. teaches that waste heat may be recovered from a low-temperature source and the efficiency of a Rankine cooling cycle used to recover waste heat from such sources improves when cryogenic fluids are used as a heat sink in the cycle (page 3, first full paragraph).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the condensing radiator of Clawson, as a heat source to vaporize stored liquid hydrogen and supply it to the fuel cell stack to improve the efficiency of the cooling cycle by utilizing the cryogenic liquid hydrogen as a cold source, as taught by Marandi et al.
Regarding claim 14, Clawson further teaches that the fuel cell stack is a PEM fuel cell stack (para. [0054]).
Regarding claim 15, Clawson teaches that the coolant liquid of the fuel cell system may be water (para. [0006]).
Regarding claim 16, Clawson further teaches that the burner is arranged to receive hydrogen output from the PEM fuel cell stack via the anode exhaust stream (para. [0058], Fig. 3, ref. 118) and purge valve (Fig. 3, ref. 119) where it is combusted (para. [0059]). Additionally, the heat generated from the combusted anode exhaust stream in the burner is used to heat the flow of cooling fluid, or water, in the cooling circuit between the fuel cell stack and turbine by heating the humidified cathode exhaust (Fig. 3, ref. 146) via recuperator (para. [0061], Fig. 3, ref. 148) using the turbine exhaust stream (para. [0062], Fig. 3, ref. 150) downstream the burner.
The combination of Clawson and Marandi et al. teach that the resulting heat generated by combusting anode exhaust in the burner heats the flow of liquid hydrogen to vaporize the flow of liquid hydrogen and generate gaseous hydrogen via a component of the cooling circuit such as the condensing radiator (Fig. 3, ref. 156) of Clawson. Heat generated in the burner must be transferred downstream to the condensing radiator.
Regarding claim 17, Clawson further teaches that hydrogen is fed directly to the burner via a pressurized source (para. [0054], Fig. 3, ref. 120) and throttle valve (para. [0059], Fig. 3, ref. 126), and that the disclosed fuel cell system is applicable to “non-hybridized” or “pure” hydrogen fuel cell power systems (para. [0024]) which may rely on liquid hydrogen storage (para. [0025]). Additionally, the heat generated from the combusted liquid hydrogen stream in the burner is used to heat the flow of cooling fluid, or water, in the cooling circuit between the fuel cell stack and turbine by heating the humidified cathode exhaust (Fig. 3, ref. 146) via recuperator (para. [0061], Fig. 3, ref. 148) using the turbine exhaust stream (para. [0062], Fig. 3, ref. 150) downstream the burner.
The combination of Clawson and Marandi et al. teach that the resulting heat generated by combusting liquid hydrogen in the burner heats the remaining flow of liquid hydrogen to vaporize the flow of liquid hydrogen and generate gaseous hydrogen via a component of the cooling circuit such as the condensing radiator (Fig. 3, ref. 156) of Clawson. Heat generated in the burner is transferred downstream to the condensing radiator.
Regarding claim 18, Clawson further teaches a turbocharger, which supplies pressurized air to the fuel cell, comprising an air compressor (para. [0055], Fig. 3, ref. 124) which supplies a pressurized air stream (para. [0061], Fig. 3, ref. 136) from an air inlet (para. [0055], Fig. 3, ref. 122) to the fuel cell stack via the cathode inlet line (para. [0057], Fig. 3, ref. 138). Clawson also teaches a turbine (para. [0061], Fig. 3, ref. 144) which can be configured to drive the compressor (para. [0061]). Additionally, the fuel cell system is designed to feed combustion products from the burner to the turbine of the turbocharger via the burner exhaust stream (para. [0059], Fig. 3, ref. 142).
13. Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clawson (US PG Pub 2003/0170518 A1) and Marandi et al. (Energy Conversion and Management 2021, 244, 114532) in view of Morita (US Patent 7,223,487 B2).
Clawson and Marandi et al. are relied upon as described above.
The combination of Clawson and Marandi et al. fail to teach a turbocharger comprising an electric motor arranged to drive the compressor of the turbocharger.
Morita teaches a fuel cell system (title) comprising a compressor (Col. 2, Ln. 51 – Col. 3 Ln. 12; Fig. 1, ref. 6) which supplies the air electrode (Fig. 1, ref. 9) from the air intake (Fig. 1, ref. 5). The compressor is driven by a motor (Fig. 1, ref. 17) which receives electric power supplied by a generator (Fig. 1, ref. 18). The generator is driven to rotate by an expander (Fig. 1, ref. 10) or turbine driven by discharge from the air electrode (Col. 3, Ln. 10).
Furthermore, Morita teaches that it is advantageous from the standpoint of efficiency to recover heat generated by compression of air in the compressor using the expander to generate electricity (Col. 4, Ln. 46-50).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the turbine of Clawson and Marandi et al. to generate electrical power supply for an electric motor driving the compressor as taught by Morita to utilize the heat generated by the air compressor and improve the efficiency of the system.
14. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clawson (US PG Pub 2003/0170518 A1) and Marandi et al. (Energy Conversion and Management 2021, 244, 114532) in view of Moxon (US PG Pub 2019/0128570 A1).
Clawson and Marandi et al. are relied upon as described above.
Clawson further teaches that the expander, or turbine (para. [0036], Fig. 3, ref. 144) has a power take-off (Fig. 3, ref. 82) which can be utilized to generate electrical power and supplement the power of the fuel cell (para. [0036]).
However, the combination of Clawson and Marandi et al. fails to teach a propulsion system comprising a propulsor arranged to receive electrical power from the fuel cell stack which generated propulsive thrust using electrical power.
Moxon teaches a thermal management system (title) for a battery powered aircraft (para. [0002]) comprising a propeller (para. [0023], Fig. 2, ref. 5), or propulsor, which is driven by an electric motor (Fig. 2, ref. 6) which is supplied by a battery (Fig. 2, ref. 8). The battery may be a fuel cell (para. [0007]).
Moxon also teaches that integrating propellers into the thermal management system of an aircraft can result in significant efficiency improvement (para. [0004]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the fuel cell system of Clawson and Marandi et al. to supply electric power to a propulsor in the form of a propeller, to provide cooling to the aircraft and improve its efficiency, as taught by Moxon.
Conclusion
/N.A.M./
Nathan A McMullen
Examiner, Art Unit 1788
09/17/2026
/ALEXANDRE F FERRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788