DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2-3, 5-6, 12-15 and 24-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Springer (US Pat. No. 12, 483, 615).
Regarding claim 1, Springer discloses a video processing method, comprising:
acquiring an input video frame and display parameters of the input video frame when the input video frame is displayed (see col. 4 lines 48-57 receiving an outgoing video stream from a transmitting device to be transmitted to a receiving device; identify a first set of video parameter data corresponding to the quality of the outgoing video stream), wherein the display parameters comprise at least one of a video format and a resolution (see col. 6 lines 54-col. 7 line 1, video parameter data include display resolution, display size, codec used, color space, and/or bit rate);
processing the input video frame into a plurality of output video frames based on the display parameters, wherein each of the output video frames corresponds to a partial region of the input video frame (see figure 2B step 240; col. 8 lines 10-12 compare video parameter data; see col. 8 lines 42-59 resolution downgraded; see col. 9 lines 59-66 the system determines, based on one or more discrepancies, one or more optimization actions to be performed on the incoming video stream; generate a processed video stream and sends the processed stream to be transmitted to the receiving device; see col. 10 lines 23-45 segmenting the incoming video stream into a number of regions; selective refresh of frames from the incoming video stream within a subset of the regions); and
displaying the plurality of output video frames on a plurality of display devices respectively, so that the plurality of output video frames are displayed according to the display parameters (see col. 13 line 64-col. 14 line 2; generating the modified video stream includes optimizing the video stream to provide an optimized video stream based on the video playing capabilities of one or more client devices; the system transmits the modified video stream to the one or more client devices; see col. 14 lines 23-34; when two different receiving client devices have different needs for modified video streams to achieved optimized quality of the stream; applying the video stream adjustment to the video stream, then transmits the modified video stream to a first set of client devices, and transmits the second modified video stream to a second set of client devices, wherein the modified video stream and the second modified video stream have at least one different video transmission bit rate, frame rate, resolution or audio bit-depth; see col. 15 lines 59-65 output devices).
Regarding claim 2, Springer discloses acquiring input parameters of the input video frame, wherein the input parameters comprise at least one of the video format and the resolution; performing at least one image processing on the input video frame in sequence based on the input parameters and the display parameters, wherein the image processing comprises a segmentation processing for segmenting a current video frame into a plurality of sub-video frames; wherein the plurality of sub-video frames correspond to the plurality of output video frames, respectively; the current video frame is the input video frame or a video frame obtained by performing an image processing other than the segmentation processing on the input video frame (see figures 2B and 3B, col. 6 line 54-col. 7 line 1; col. 10 lines 23-63; and col. 14 lines 35-49).
Regarding claim 3, Springer discloses the input parameters comprise the video format; the performing at least one image processing on the input video frame in sequence based on the input parameters and the display parameters comprises: performing a format conversion processing on the input video frame when the video format of the output video frame is different from the video format of the input video frame, wherein the format conversion processing is used for converting the input video frame into a first video frame complying with the video format in the display parameters; and obtaining the plurality of output video frames by performing the segmentation processing on the first video frame (see col. 6 line 54-col. 7 line 1; col. 10 lines 13-63 and col. 13 lines 48-55).
Regarding claim 5, Springer discloses the first video frame comprises a plurality of viewpoints and pixels at a plurality of positions for each of the viewpoints; the obtaining the plurality of output video frames by performing the segmentation processing on the first video frame comprises: dividing, according to a splicing manner of the plurality of display devices, a plurality of pixels comprised in each viewpoint to obtain pixels comprised in different region positions of each viewpoint; and splicing pixels belonging to the same region position in the plurality of viewpoints to obtain output video frames corresponding to a plurality of region positions respectively (see col. 9 lines 10-24; col. 13 lines 31-63).
Regarding claim 6, Springer discloses the display parameters comprise the resolution; the at least one image processing further comprises a super-resolution processing; and the performing at least one image processing on the input video frame in sequence based on the input parameters and the display parameters comprises: determining execution orders of the segmentation processing and the super-resolution processing based on a video format of the output video frame when a resolution of the output video frame is higher than the resolution of the input video frame, wherein the super-resolution processing is used for improving the resolution of the input video frame; performing, when the super-resolution processing is to be executed, the super-resolution processing on an input second video frame according to the resolution of the output video frame, wherein the second video frame is the input video frame or the sub-video frame (see col. 10 lines 13-45 and col. 14 lines 35-65).
Regarding claim 12, Springer discloses the input video frame comprises a plurality of video frames, and the method further comprises: caching the plurality of input video frames and output video frames corresponding to each of the plurality of input video frames to display the output video frames in sequence according to a frame sequence of the output video frames; and the method further comprises: in response to an adjustment operation on the display parameters, determining a target video frame to be adjusted based on changes of the display parameters before and after the adjustment, wherein the target video frame is a cached input video frame or a cached output video frame; and processing the target video frame to obtain a video frame complying with the adjusted display parameters (see col. 8 lines 42-59; col. 10 lines 23-63; and col. 14 lines 35-49).
Regarding claim 13, Springer discloses the determining a target video frame to be adjusted based on changes of the display parameters before and after the adjustment comprises: taking the cached output video frame as the target video frame when the changes represent changes in the resolution, wherein the cached output video frame is an output video frame to be displayed at a current moment; and taking the cached input video frame as the target video frame when the changes represent other changes other than the changes in the resolution (see col. 8 lines 42-59 and col. 14 lines 23-49).
Regarding claim 14, Springer discloses the processing the target video frame to obtain a video frame complying with the adjusted display parameters comprises: in response to the target video frame being the output video frame, processing a resolution of the cached output video frame according to the adjusted display parameters to obtain an output video frame with a changed resolution; and in response to the target video frame being the cached input video frame, processing the cached input video frame into a plurality of new output video frames based on the adjusted display parameters (see col. 14 line 35-col. 15 line 16).
Regarding claim 15, the limitation of claim 15 can be found in claim 1 above. Therefore claim 15 is analyzed and rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 1 above. It is also noted that Springer discloses a memory storing computer programs and a processor (see figure 4 and claim 16 of the prior art).
Regarding claims 24-27, the limitation of claims 24-27 can be found in claims 1 and 15 above. Therefore claims 24-27 are analyzed and rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claims 1 and 15 above. It is also noted that Springer discloses a memory storing computer programs and a processor (see figure 4 and claim 16 of the prior art).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Springer (US Pat. No. 12, 483, 615) in view of Schnyder et al. (US Pat. No. 8, 928, 729 hereinafter referred as Schnyder).
Regarding claim 4, although Springer discloses the limitation of claims 1 and 3, Springer fails to specifically disclose a video format of the input video frame is a two-dimensional video format, a video format of the output video frame is a three- dimensional video format; and the performing a format conversion processing on the input video frame comprises: acquiring a depth map corresponding to the input video frame; and generating sub-video frames corresponding to a plurality of viewpoints based on a depth value of each pixel in the depth map and a pixel value of each pixel in the input video frame, wherein the sub-video frame corresponding to each viewpoint comprises pixels at a plurality of positions for the viewpoint.
In the same field of endeavor Schnyder discloses a video format of the input video frame is a two-dimensional video format, a video format of the output video frame is a three- dimensional video format; and the performing a format conversion processing on the input video frame comprises: acquiring a depth map corresponding to the input video frame; and generating sub-video frames corresponding to a plurality of viewpoints based on a depth value of each pixel in the depth map and a pixel value of each pixel in the input video frame, wherein the sub-video frame corresponding to each viewpoint comprises pixels at a plurality of positions for the viewpoint (see figure 1, 3D production; see col. 3 lines 9-38 receiving 2D and outputting 3D video signal; see figures 4, 5, col. 6 lines 28-67 depth map created; see col. 7 lines 36-47 depth map for each frame are generated; players are modeled as billboards whose depth is assigned from the per-frame depth map at the lowest point (in image space) of the segmented region (illustrated as items 506); as illustrated in FIG. 5, each depth is assigned from per-frame depth maps; see col. 8 lines 32-57; once the depth maps have been generated for each frame in a video feed, processing continues at 208 where images are rendered; a virtual or generated image is rendered which, when viewed in conjunction with the original image, provides a stereographic view of the image; the conversion engine 120 operates to convert the final corrected depth values into pixel displacements; the conversion engine 120 may select the desired virtual interaxial and convergence settings; 3D point cloud reprojected into an arbitrary virtual view plane, generating a synthesized output image).
Therefore, in light of the teaching in Schnyder, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Springer by specifically adding the features of inputting 2D video format and output 3D format, acquire depth map and generate sub-videos as claimed in order to form a stereoscopic image from output image and panorama image.
Claims 7-8 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Springer (US Pat. No. 12, 483, 615) in view of LYU (US PG PUB 20220253977) and further in view of Tang et al. (US Pat. No. 12,033,302 hereinafter referred as Tang).
Regarding claim 7, although Springer discloses the limitations of claims 1, 2 and 6, Springer fails to specifically disclose determining that the execution order of the segmentation processing precedes the execution order of the super-resolution processing when the video format of the output video frame is a two-dimensional video format.
In the same field of endeavor LYU discloses determining that the execution order of the segmentation processing precedes the execution order of the super-resolution processing when the video format of the output video frame is a two-dimensional video format (see paragraph 0061 the obtained image is segmented and then the method of super-resolution is executed).
Therefore, in light of the teaching in LYU, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Springer by performing segmenting then perform super resolution as claimed in order to avoid distortion while increasing the resolution.
Claim 7 further differs from the combination of Springer and LYU in that the claim further requires determining that the execution order of the segmentation processing lags behind that of the super-resolution processing when the video format of the output video frame is a three- dimensional video format.
In the same field of endeavor Tang discloses the feature of segmentation model takes the output of the video super resolution model as input and produces feature segmentation maps (see col. 45 line 44-col. 46 line 46, the Super resolution (SR) takes both noisy samples and estimated noise as input to generate clean upscaled samples; an upscale block stacks layers).
Therefore, in light of the teaching in Tang, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Springer and LYU by adding the feature of performing super resolution then segmenting when 3D format is output in order to identify critical features found in the video frame and to facilitate removal of unknown degradation.
Regarding claim 8, Tang discloses the video format of the output video frame is a three-dimensional video format; an execution order of the segmentation processing lags behind that of the super-resolution processing (see col. 58 line 57-col. 59 line 6; and col. 45 line 44-col. 46 line 46); and Springer discloses the performing the super-resolution processing on an input second video frame comprises extracting a sub-video frame belonging to each viewpoint from the second video frame, wherein the sub-video frame of each viewpoint comprises pixels at a plurality of positions; and wherein the segmentation processing is used for rearranging, according to a splicing manner of the plurality of display devices, the pixels in the sub-video frames of each viewpoint subjected to the pixel expansion to obtain the output video frame (see col. 9 lines 10-24 and col. 13 lines 4-21); and LYU discloses performing a pixel expansion on the pixels in the sub-video frame of each viewpoint (see paragraphs 0074 and 0108). The motivation to combine the references is disclosed in claim 7 above.
Regarding claim 10, LYU discloses the performing a pixel expansion comprises: for each sub-video frame, interpolating at least one circle of first pixels outside a first edge of the sub-video frame to obtain an intermediate sub-video frame, wherein a pixel value of the first pixel is a pre-set value; and performing the pixel expansion on pixels comprised in each intermediate sub-video frame (see paragraph 0108 and 0117). The motivation to combine the references is discussed in claim 7 above.
Regarding claim 11, LYU discloses the video format of the input video frame is a two-dimensional video format; and before performing the pixel expansion, the method further comprises: interpolating at least one circle of second pixels outside a second edge of the input video frame to obtain a third video frame, wherein a pixel value of the second pixel is a pre-set value; and performing the segmentation processing on the third video frame to obtain the plurality of sub-video frames; wherein the first edge is an edge in the sub-video frame other than the second edge (see figures 6a-6e, paragraphs 0074 and 0116-0117). The motivation to combine the references is discussed in claim 7 above.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Springer (US Pat. No. 12, 483, 615) in view of LYU (US PG PUB 20220253977)
Regarding claim 9, although Springer discloses the limitation of claims 1, 2 and 6, Springer fails to specifically disclose wherein the video format of the output video frame is a two-dimensional video format; an execution order of the segmentation processing precedes the execution order of the super-resolution processing; and the performing of the super- resolution processing on an input second video frame comprises: for each sub-video frame in the plurality of sub-video frames, performing a pixel expansion on pixels comprised in the sub-video frame to obtain an output video frame corresponding to each sub-video frame
In the same field of endeavor LYU discloses wherein the video format of the output video frame is a two-dimensional video format; an execution order of the segmentation processing precedes the execution order of the super-resolution processing (see paragraph 0061); and the performing of the super- resolution processing on an input second video frame comprises: for each sub-video frame in the plurality of sub-video frames, performing a pixel expansion on pixels comprised in the sub-video frame to obtain an output video frame corresponding to each sub-video frame (see paragraphs 0074 and 0108).
Therefore, in light of the teaching in LYU, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Springer by performing segmenting then perform super resolution, and perform pixel expansion as claimed in order to avoid distortion while increasing the resolution.
Conclusion
/HELEN SHIBRU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2484 November 29, 2025