Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed October 31st, 2025, with respect to the 101 rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 101 rejections of claims 1-15 has been withdrawn.
However, applicant's arguments filed October 31st, 2025 and directed to prior art based rejections have also been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments on pages 12-13 of the remarks amount to a general allegation that the prior art cited in the previous office action do not teach the limitations newly added to claims 1, 10, and 15. As shown below the Office maintains that Albert does indeed disclose all the newly added limitations. Specific citations and mappings are provided below for the various newly added limitations. The applicant has not specifically noted in what ways Albert does not disclose the newly added limitations.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “grouping unit”, “exercise sequency generating unit” in claims 1, 10, and 15 and “communication unit” in claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 9-12 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Albert (US 2004/0229729).
With respect to claim 1, Albert discloses, an apparatus (para. 12) for providing an exercise sequence (i.e. fig. 1), the apparatus comprising:
a grouping unit for grouping exercise equipment in a smart gym into a plurality of exercise groups (36 in fig. 1; para. 85; also note the grouping in fig. 8 that details how the exercise equipment is grouped by equipment type and exercise type; finally note fig. 9, which labels various groups of exercise, “chest”, “shoulders”, “legs”); and
an exercise sequence generating unit for selecting at least one piece of exercise equipment belonging to each of the plurality of exercise groups (fig. 9 details a workout selections for chest, shoulders, legs), and generating an exercise sequence including a use order of the at least one piece of exercise equipment (para. 50; figs. 1, and 5, detail the method of generating the exercise sequence displayed in fig. 9) and an exercise program for each of the at least one piece of exercise equipment (fig. 9 details a specific exercise program for the user),
wherein the exercise sequence generating unit generates the exercise sequence to balance a user's physical development status by increasing a use frequency of selecting exercise equipment related to muscles for which a PMWindividual is less than a PMWestimate (paras. 46 and 61, the PMWindividual in Albert is seen as the current repetition or weight amount, and PMWestimate is the selected new repetition or weight amount), from each of the plurality of exercise groups for exercise target muscles (para. 61 and fig. 6; “[t]he present system adapts to the user and increases or decreases the difficulty of workouts as the user's strength and fitness increase. Thus, if a given workout is too easy for the user, the system will take this into account and increase the resistance used for similar exercises in subsequent workouts.”), and
wherein the PMWestimate indicates an estimated value of user's personal maximum strength PMW based on an estimated muscle strength value calculated based on user data (para. 61 states user data, repetitions completed in Albert, is used to determine when a user is ready to progress to a new repetition or weight amount), and the PMWindividual indicates a personal maximum strength reflecting an objectification index (para. 61 details a “counter or running score” which is seen equivalent to applicant’s objectification index) for each user (para. 61 details this is unique to each user) obtained for a preset period (para. 64 details periodically reevaluating and setting new baseline weights as well) in which each user exercises based on an initial target weight of exercise equipment set using a PMWestimate value (para. 61-64), and
wherein the apparatus is configured to transmit the exercise sequence to the exercise equipment or a user terminal to be displayed thorough an exercise program installed on the exercise equipment or the user terminal (fig. 9; para. 9 detail a display device to display workout instructions through an exercise program).
With respect to claim 3, Albert discloses, the apparatus of claim 1 (see above), wherein the grouping unit performs grouping based on body parts (para. 46; also note fig. 9 and its grouping of chest, shoulders, legs).
With respect to claim 4, Albert discloses, the apparatus of claim 1 (see above), wherein the exercise sequence generating unit selects the at least one piece of exercise equipment (para. 45 details automatic generation of exercise sequences based on a user’s physical condition), based on a user's physical condition, and analyzes the user's physical condition by the user’s personal maximum strength PMW (fig. 1 details determining the user’s “overall fitness level”) or maximum oxygen intake (VO2Max) (28 in fig. 3b details recording the user’s VO2Max).
With respect to claim 5, Albert discloses, the apparatus of claim 4 (see above), wherein the exercise sequence generating unit generates the exercise program by setting an intensity of exercise performed for each exercise equipment belonging to the plurality of exercise groups (intensity is shown in suggested weight and repetitions in fig. 9), based on the user's physical condition (para. 61 details adapting the intensity to the user’s strength and fitness level), and sets the exercise intensity, based on exercise load and number of repetitions (para. 61 details adjusting repetitions and exercise load).
With respect to claim 9, Albert discloses, the apparatus of claim 1 (see above), wherein the exercise sequence generating unit generates a next exercise sequence by reflecting performance results of a user performing the exercise sequence in a preset time unit (para. 61 details adapting the intensity to the user’s strength and fitness level).
With respect to claim 10, Albert discloses, a method of providing an exercise sequence (fig. 1 and 5), the method comprising:
grouping, by a grouping unit, exercise equipment in a smart gym into a plurality of exercise groups (36 in fig. 1; para. 85; also note the grouping in fig. 8 that details how the exercise equipment is grouped by equipment type and exercise type; finally note fig. 9, which labels various groups of exercise, “chest”, “shoulders”, “legs”); and
by an exercise sequence generating unit, selecting at least one piece of exercise equipment belonging to each of the plurality of exercise groups (fig. 9 details a workout selections for chest, shoulders, legs) and generating an exercise sequence including a use order of the at least one piece of exercise equipment (para. 50; figs. 1, and 5, detail the method of generating the exercise sequence displayed in fig. 9) and an exercise program for each of the at least one piece of exercise equipment (fig. 9 details a specific exercise program for the user); and
transmitting the exercise sequence to the exercise equipment or a user terminal to be displayed thorough an exercise program installed on the exercise equipment or the user terminal (fig. 9; para. 9 detail a display device to display workout instructions through an exercise program).
wherein the exercise sequence generating unit generates the exercise sequence to balance a user's physical development status by increasing a use frequency of selecting exercise equipment related to muscles for which a PMWindividual is less than a PMWestimate (paras. 46 and 61, the PMWindividual in Albert is seen as the current repetition or weight amount, and PMWestimate is the selected new repetition or weight amount), from each of the plurality of exercise groups for exercise target muscles (para. 61 and fig. 6; “[t]he present system adapts to the user and increases or decreases the difficulty of workouts as the user's strength and fitness increase. Thus, if a given workout is too easy for the user, the system will take this into account and increase the resistance used for similar exercises in subsequent workouts.”), and
wherein the PMWestimate indicates an estimated value of user's personal maximum strength PMW based on an estimated muscle strength value calculated based on user data (para. 61 states user data, repetitions completed in Albert, is used to determine when a user is ready to progress to a new repetition or weight amount), and the PMWindividual indicates a personal maximum strength reflecting an objectification index (para. 61 details a “counter or running score” which is seen equivalent to applicant’s objectification index) for each user (para. 61 details this is unique to each user) obtained for a preset period (para. 64 details periodically reevaluating and setting new baseline weights as well) in which each user exercises based on an initial target weight of exercise equipment set using a PMWestimate value (para. 61-64).
With respect to claim 11, Albert discloses, the method of claim 10 (see above), wherein the exercise sequence generating unit selects the at least one piece of exercise equipment (para. 45 details automatic generation of exercise sequences based on a user’s physical condition), based on a user's physical condition, and analyzes the user's physical condition by the user’s personal maximum strength PMW (fig. 1 details determining the user’s “overall fitness level”) or maximum oxygen intake (VO2Max) (28 in fig. 3b details recording the user’s VO2Max).
With respect to claim 12, Albert discloses, the method of claim 4 (see above), wherein the exercise sequence generating unit generates the exercise program by setting an intensity of exercise performed for each exercise equipment belonging to the plurality of exercise groups (intensity is shown in suggested weight and repetitions in fig. 9), based on the user's physical condition (para. 61 details adapting the intensity to the user’s strength and fitness level), and sets the exercise intensity, based on exercise load and number of repetitions (para. 61 details adjusting repetitions and exercise load).
With respect to claim 15, Albert discloses, a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium, storing instructions that cause a computing device (para. 12; claim 28) to perform a method of providing an exercise sequence, the method comprising:
grouping, by a grouping unit, exercise equipment in a smart gym into a plurality of exercise groups (36 in fig. 1; para. 85; also note the grouping in fig. 8 that details how the exercise equipment is grouped by equipment type and exercise type; finally note fig. 9, which labels various groups of exercise, “chest”, “shoulders”, “legs”);
by an exercise sequence generating unit, selecting at least one piece of exercise equipment belonging to each of the plurality of exercise groups (fig. 9 details a workout selections for chest, shoulders, legs) and generating an exercise sequence including a use order of the at least one piece of exercise equipment (para. 50; figs. 1, and 5, detail the method of generating the exercise sequence displayed in fig. 9) and an exercise program for each of the at least one piece of exercise equipment (fig. 9 details a specific exercise program for the user); and
transmitting the exercise sequence to the exercise equipment or a user terminal to be displayed thorough an exercise program installed on the exercise equipment or the user terminal (fig. 9; para. 9 detail a display device to display workout instructions through an exercise program).
wherein the exercise sequence generating unit generates the exercise sequence to balance a user's physical development status by increasing a use frequency of selecting exercise equipment related to muscles for which a PMWindividual is less than a PMWestimate (paras. 46 and 61, the PMWindividual in Albert is seen as the current repetition or weight amount, and PMWestimate is the selected new repetition or weight amount), from each of the plurality of exercise groups for exercise target muscles (para. 61 and fig. 6; “[t]he present system adapts to the user and increases or decreases the difficulty of workouts as the user's strength and fitness increase. Thus, if a given workout is too easy for the user, the system will take this into account and increase the resistance used for similar exercises in subsequent workouts.”), and
wherein the PMWestimate indicates an estimated value of user's personal maximum strength PMW based on an estimated muscle strength value calculated based on user data (para. 61 states user data, repetitions completed in Albert, is used to determine when a user is ready to progress to a new repetition or weight amount), and the PMWindividual indicates a personal maximum strength reflecting an objectification index (para. 61 details a “counter or running score” which is seen equivalent to applicant’s objectification index) for each user (para. 61 details this is unique to each user) obtained for a preset period (para. 64 details periodically reevaluating and setting new baseline weights as well) in which each user exercises based on an initial target weight of exercise equipment set using a PMWestimate value (para. 61-64).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albert (US 2004/0229729) in view of Chung (US 2008/0102023).
With respect to claim 2, Albert discloses, the apparatus of claim 1 (see above), wherein the grouping unit performs grouping based on exercise target muscles (fig. 9 details chest, shoulder, legs and their associated muscles).
Albert does not expressly disclose, grouping based on joint movement or a number of joints used during exercise for each exercise target muscle.
Chung details categorizing exercises based on the joints exercised and the associated muscles (para. 49).
Chung and Albert are from the same field of endeavor namely exercise sequence generation.
At the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have applied Chung’s joint categorization in the exercise machine categorization of Albert. The combination would have been predictable and resulted in additional categorizations to allow users’ to tailor their exercise based on specific joints for example rehabilitation purposes.
Claim(s) 6-8 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albert (US 2004/0229729) in view of Von Prellwitz (US 2018/0001181).
With respect to claim 6, Albert discloses, the apparatus of claim 1 (see above).
Albert discloses, targeting different set of muscle groups throughout a week and during different workouts (para. 46).
Albert does not expressly disclose, wherein the exercise sequence generating unit generates at least one exercise sequence in a preset time unit so that muscles of the user's entire body are developed evenly.
Von Prellwitz discloses, wherein the exercise sequence generating unit generates at least one exercise sequence in a preset time unit so that muscles of the user's entire body are developed evenly (para. 75).
Von Prellwitz and Albert are from the same field of endeavor namely exercise sequence generation.
At the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have generate exercise sequences in Albert to ensure that muscles are developed evenly as taught by von Prellwitz. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce the risk of injury to the user (von Prellwitz; para. 75).
With respect to claim 7, Albert and von Prellwitz disclose, the apparatus of claim 6 (see above).
Albert further discloses, wherein the exercise sequence generating unit generates the exercise program in consideration of the user's exercise fatigue and exercise rest period, when generating the at least one exercise sequence in the preset time unit (para. 38 details taking into consideration a user’s fatigue and rest period in terms of exercising 2, 3, or 4 days a week).
With respect to claim 8, Albert discloses, the apparatus of claim 1 (see above).
Albert does not expressly disclose, a communication unit communicating with each exercise equipment in the smart gym.
Von Prellwitz discloses, a communication unit communicating with each exercise equipment in the smart gym (fig. 10; para. 82).
Von Prellwitz and Albert are from the same field of endeavor namely exercise sequence generation.
At the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include communication units, as taught by von Prellwitz, in the exercise equipment of Albert. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide real-time feedback to the user (von Prellwitz; para. 82; and also to allow inputting of workout completion in Albert automatically without user keyed feedback).
With respect to claim 13, Albert discloses, the method of claim 10 (see above).
Albert discloses, targeting different set of muscle groups throughout a week and during different workouts (para. 46).
Albert does not expressly disclose, wherein the exercise sequence generating unit generates at least one exercise sequence in a preset time unit so that muscles of the user's entire body are developed evenly.
Von Prellwitz discloses, wherein the exercise sequence generating unit generates at least one exercise sequence in a preset time unit so that muscles of the user's entire body are developed evenly (para. 75).
Von Prellwitz and Albert are from the same field of endeavor namely exercise sequence generation.
At the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have generate exercise sequences in Albert to ensure that muscles are developed evenly as taught by von Prellwitz. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce the risk of injury to the user (von Prellwitz; para. 75).
With respect to claim 14, Albert and von Prellwitz disclose, the method of claim 13 (see above).
Albert further discloses, wherein the exercise sequence generating unit generates the exercise program in consideration of the user's exercise fatigue and exercise rest period, when generating the at least one exercise sequence in the preset time unit (para. 38 details taking into consideration a user’s fatigue and rest period in terms of exercising 2, 3, or 4 days a week).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ohno – US 2023/0317236 – details determining user fatigue level to generate exercise sequences.
Alessandri – US 5916063 – details customized exercise sequences with a communication from the exercise devices
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM BODDIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2625