Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the same stacked-layer structure" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is assumed the Applicant means "a same stacked-layer structure".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Akagawa et al. (US 20110260204 A1) hereafter referred to as Akagawa
In regard to claim 1 Akagawa teaches a display apparatus [see Fig. 11, Fig. 1 see paragraph 0145 “As shown in FIG. 11, the electro-optical device 300 according to the second modified example has a dummy pixel that is located in a circumferential edge part of the pixel region 107 and does not contribute to actual displaying”] comprising a pixel portion and a dummy pixel portion,
wherein the dummy pixel portion is a region not contributing [“The dummy pixel includes the pixel electrode 21, the cathode 27 and the functional layer 25 formed between the pixel electrode 21 and the cathode 27 in the same manner as the sub-pixels SG. However, the pixel electrode 21 of the dummy pixel is not electrically connected to the driving TFT 122”] to display, wherein the dummy pixel portion is placed outside [see Fig. 11 “located in a circumferential edge part of the pixel region 107”] the pixel portion to be adjacent to the pixel portion in a top view,
wherein the pixel portion comprises a plurality [see Fig. 11, Fig. 1 “sub-pixels SG”] of pixels, wherein each of the plurality of pixels comprises [“functional layer 25 mainly includes the light emitting layer 23 and may further include carrier injection layers (such as a hole injection layer and an electron injection layer) or carrier transport layers (such as a hole transport layer and an electron transport layer). In addition, the functional layer 25 may include a hole blocking layer and an electron blocking layer”] a light-emitting device,
wherein the light-emitting device comprises a [“sub-pixels SG each further include: a pixel electrode (anode) 21”] pixel electrode, a first layer [“a functional layer 25 that is arranged between the pixel electrode 21 and the cathode 27 and includes a light emitting layer”] over the pixel electrode, and a common electrode [“a cathode 27 that is the other of the pair of electrodes”] over the first layer,
[the Examiner notes that “comprises” means includes and is broader than “consists”]
wherein the first layer comprises [see 25 see Fig. 4 reproduced below “functional layer 25 includes a hole injection transport layer 22 and a light emitting layer 23” “functional layer 25 mainly includes the light emitting layer 23 and may further include carrier injection layers (such as a hole injection layer and an electron injection layer) or carrier transport layers (such as a hole transport layer and an electron transport layer). In addition, the functional layer 25 may include a hole blocking layer and an electron blocking layer”] a light-emitting layer, wherein the common electrode is shared [see Fig. 11] by the plurality of pixels,
wherein the first layers of adjacent pixels of the plurality of pixels are separated [see Fig. 4 reproduced above] by a first insulating layer [“lower layer partition wall portion 32a is made of an inorganic insulating material such as a silicon oxide. The upper layer partition wall portion 32b is made of an organic insulating material such as an epoxy system or a polyimide system”] comprising an inorganic material and a second insulating layer comprising an organic material,
wherein a side surface of the first layer comprises a region in contact with [see Fig. 4 reproduced above] the first insulating layer, wherein in the pixel portion, the second insulating layer is over [see Fig. 4 reproduced above] and in contact with the first insulating layer and is placed below [see Fig. 4 reproduced above] the common electrode,
wherein the dummy pixel portion comprises a plurality [see Fig. 1, Fig. 11 see “As shown in FIG. 11, the electro-optical device 300 according to the second modified example has a dummy pixel that is located in a circumferential edge part of the pixel region 107 and does not contribute to actual displaying”] of dummy pixels, wherein each of the plurality of dummy pixels comprises a conductive layer [see 21 see “The dummy pixel includes the pixel electrode 21, the cathode 27 and the functional layer 25 formed between the pixel electrode 21 and the cathode 27 in the same manner as the sub-pixels SG”] and a second layer [see 25] over the conductive layer,
wherein a side surface of the second layer comprises a region in contact with [see Fig. 11, Fig. 4 reproduced above “functional layer 25 includes a hole injection transport layer 22 and a light emitting layer 23”] the first insulating layer, wherein in the dummy pixel portion, the second insulating layer is over [see Fig. 11, Fig. 4 reproduced above] and in contact with the first insulating layer,
wherein the conductive layer comprises the same material [“The dummy pixel includes the pixel electrode 21, the cathode 27 and the functional layer 25 formed between the pixel electrode 21 and the cathode 27 in the same manner as the sub-pixels SG”] as the pixel electrode, and wherein the second layer comprises the same material [“The dummy pixel includes the pixel electrode 21, the cathode 27 and the functional layer 25 formed between the pixel electrode 21 and the cathode 27 in the same manner as the sub-pixels SG”] as the light-emitting layer.
In regard to claim 2 Akagawa teaches wherein the common electrode overlaps [see Fig. 11] with the second layer in each of the plurality of dummy pixels, and wherein the second insulating layer is placed below [see Fig. 11] the common electrode in the dummy pixel portion.
In regard to claim 3 Akagawa teaches wherein the plurality of pixels are arranged in n columns [see Fig. 1, Fig. 11 “The sub-pixels SG support red (R), green (G) and blue (B) light and are arranged in a matrix form in the pixel region 107”] in the pixel portion, wherein the dummy pixel portion is provided outside at least one of a leftmost column [see Fig. 11] and a rightmost column of the plurality of pixels arranged in the n columns, and wherein n is an integer [see Fig. 1, Fig. 11] greater than or equal to 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akagawa in view of Baek (US 20210175460 A1)
In regard to claim 4 Akagawa teaches wherein the plurality of pixels are arranged in n columns [see Fig. 1, Fig. 11 “The sub-pixels SG support red (R), green (G) and blue (B) light and are arranged in a matrix form in the pixel region 107”] in the pixel portion, and wherein n is an integer [see Fig. 1, Fig. 11] greater than or equal to 1,
but does not specifically teach wherein the dummy pixel portion is provided in two or more columns outside at least one of a leftmost column and a rightmost column of the plurality of pixels arranged in the n columns.
See Akagawa paragraph 0145 “The dummy pixel suppresses an influence of a variation in a part (located at the circumferential edge part) of the functional layer 25 (formed using the droplet discharging method or the mask deposition method) on the sub-pixels SG (to be used for actual displaying) and can achieve a high quality of displaying with less variation in luminance”.
See Baek “In FIG. 2, the electroluminescent display device according to the embodiment of the present disclosure includes a display area DA displaying an image and a non-display area NDA surrounding the display area DA” “In the non-display area NDA, a plurality of dummy sub-pixels DP are disposed. It is illustrated that one dummy sub-pixel DP is disposed at each of left and right sides of each sub-pixel row of the first direction and upper and lower sides of each sub-pixel column of the second direction in the display area DA, the number of the dummy sub-pixel DP is not limited thereto. For example, two or more dummy sub-pixels DP can be disposed at each of the left and right sides of each sub-pixel row, and two or more dummy sub-pixels DP can be disposed at each of the upper and lower sides of each sub-pixel column”.
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify Akagawa to include wherein the dummy pixel portion is provided in two or more columns outside at least one of a leftmost column and a rightmost column of the plurality of pixels arranged in the n columns.
Thus it would be obvious to combine the references to arrive at the claimed invention.
The motivation is to obtain less variation in the sub-pixels SG (to be used for actual displaying) by using two or more dummy sub-pixels on all sides of the display.
The Examiner also notes case law, It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to use “wherein the dummy pixel portion is provided in two or more columns outside at least one of a leftmost column and a rightmost column of the plurality of pixels arranged in the n columns ”, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233
In regard to claim 5 Akagawa teaches wherein the plurality of pixels are arranged in m rows [see Fig. 1, Fig. 11 “The sub-pixels SG support red (R), green (G) and blue (B) light and are arranged in a matrix form in the pixel region 107”] in the pixel portion, and wherein m is an integer [see Fig. 1] greater than or equal to 1,
but does not specifically teach wherein the dummy pixel portion is provided in two or more rows outside at least one of an uppermost row and a lowermost row of the plurality of pixels arranged in the m rows.
See Akagawa paragraph 0145 “The dummy pixel suppresses an influence of a variation in a part (located at the circumferential edge part) of the functional layer 25 (formed using the droplet discharging method or the mask deposition method) on the sub-pixels SG (to be used for actual displaying) and can achieve a high quality of displaying with less variation in luminance”.
See Baek “In FIG. 2, the electroluminescent display device according to the embodiment of the present disclosure includes a display area DA displaying an image and a non-display area NDA surrounding the display area DA” “In the non-display area NDA, a plurality of dummy sub-pixels DP are disposed. It is illustrated that one dummy sub-pixel DP is disposed at each of left and right sides of each sub-pixel row of the first direction and upper and lower sides of each sub-pixel column of the second direction in the display area DA, the number of the dummy sub-pixel DP is not limited thereto. For example, two or more dummy sub-pixels DP can be disposed at each of the left and right sides of each sub-pixel row, and two or more dummy sub-pixels DP can be disposed at each of the upper and lower sides of each sub-pixel column”.
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify Akagawa to include wherein the dummy pixel portion is provided in two or more rows outside at least one of an uppermost row and a lowermost row of the plurality of pixels arranged in the m rows.
Thus it would be obvious to combine the references to arrive at the claimed invention.
The motivation is to obtain less variation in the sub-pixels SG (to be used for actual displaying) by using two or more dummy sub-pixels on all sides of the display.
The Examiner also notes case law, It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to use “wherein the dummy pixel portion is provided in two or more rows outside at least one of an uppermost row and a lowermost row of the plurality of pixels arranged in the m rows”, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233
In regard to claim 6 [see 112 rejection] Akagawa teaches [see “The dummy pixel includes the pixel electrode 21, the cathode 27 and the functional layer 25 formed between the pixel electrode 21 and the cathode 27 in the same manner as the sub-pixels SG”] wherein the conductive layer comprises the same structure as the pixel electrode but does not specifically teach “stacked-layer”.
See Akagawa paragraph 0085, 0128 “The present embodiment describes that the electro-optical device 100 has the top emission structure” “pixel electrode 21 made of ITO or the like is formed on the surface of the second interlayer insulating film 14” “source electrode 122e, the drain electrode 122f and the gate electrode 122g may be made of a low-resistance wiring material such as Al”.
See Baek teaches, see Fig. 8 see “first electrode 160 includes a first layer 160a and a second layer 160b, and the second layer 160b is disposed between the first layer 160a and the substrate 100, more particularly, between the first layer 160a and the overcoat layer 155” “The first layer 160a is formed of a conductive material having relatively high work function. For example, the first layer 160a can be formed of a transparent conductive material such as indium tin oxide (ITO) or indium zinc oxide (IZO). The second layer 160b is formed of a metal material having relatively high reflectance. For example, the second layer 160b can be formed of silver (Ag). Here, the work function of the first layer 160a is higher than the work function of the second layer 160b” “In addition, the first electrode 160 can further include a third layer 160c between the second layer 160b and the substrate 100, for example, between the second layer 160b and the overcoat layer 155. The third layer 160c is formed to improve the adhesion property between the second layer 160b and the overcoat layer 155 and can be omitted. For example, the third layer 160c can be formed of a transparent conductive material such as ITO or IZO, but is not limited thereto”.
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify Akagawa to include reflection i.e. to modify Akagawa to include wherein the conductive layer comprises the same stacked-layer structure as the pixel electrode.
Thus it would be obvious to combine the references to arrive at the claimed invention.
The motivation is to add reflection to increase light output.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
In regard to claim 1 Baek (US 20210175460 A1) teaches [see “In FIG. 2, the electroluminescent display device according to the embodiment of the present disclosure includes a display area DA displaying an image and a non-display area NDA surrounding the display area DA”] a display apparatus comprising a pixel portion [DA] and a dummy pixel portion [NDA],
wherein the dummy pixel portion is a region not contributing [see “non-display area NDA” “In the non-display area NDA, a plurality of dummy sub-pixels DP are disposed”] to display, wherein the dummy pixel portion is placed outside [see Fig. 2 “a non-display area NDA surrounding the display area DA”] the pixel portion to be adjacent [see Fig. 2] to the pixel portion in a top view,
wherein the pixel portion comprises [see Fig. 2 “In the display area DA, red, green, and blue sub-pixels R, G and B are disposed”] a plurality of pixels, wherein each of the plurality of pixels comprises [“light-emitting layer 180” “first electrode 160, the light-emitting layer 180, and the second electrode 190 constitute a light-emitting diode De”] a light-emitting device,
wherein the light-emitting device comprises a pixel electrode [“first electrode 160”], a first layer [“light-emitting layer 180”] over the pixel electrode, and a common electrode [see Fig. 3 “a second electrode 190 is formed on the light-emitting layer 180 and the dummy light-emitting layer 180a”] over the first layer,
wherein the first layer comprises [“light-emitting layer 180”] a light-emitting layer, wherein the common electrode is shared [see Fig. 3 “a second electrode 190 is formed on the light-emitting layer 180 and the dummy light-emitting layer 180a”] by the plurality of pixels,
wherein the first layers of adjacent pixels of the plurality of pixels are separated by a first insulating layer [“first bank 172 can be formed of a material having a hydrophilic property, for example, an inorganic insulating material such as silicon oxide (SiO.sub.2) or silicon nitride (SiNx)”] comprising an inorganic material and a second insulating layer [“second bank 174 can be formed of an organic insulating material having a hydrophobic property”] comprising an organic material,
wherein a side surface of the first layer comprises a region in contact with [see Fig. 3] the first insulating layer, wherein in the pixel portion, the second insulating layer is over [see Fig. 3] and in contact with the first insulating layer and is placed below [see Fig. 3] the common electrode,
wherein the dummy pixel portion comprises a plurality [see Fig. 2 see “In the non-display area NDA, a plurality of dummy sub-pixels DP are disposed”] of dummy pixels, wherein each of the plurality of dummy pixels comprises a conductive layer [“a dummy electrode 164 is formed in the dummy sub-pixel region DP”] and a second layer [“dummy light-emitting layer 180a is formed on the dummy electrode 164 in the dummy sub-pixel region DP”] over the conductive layer,
wherein a side surface of the second layer comprises a region in contact with [see Fig. 3] the first insulating layer, wherein in the dummy pixel portion, the second insulating layer is over [see Fig. 3] and in contact with the first insulating layer,
and wherein the second layer comprises [“referring to FIG. 4, the dummy light-emitting layer 180a of the dummy sub-pixel region DP is connected to the light-emitting layer 180 of the pixel region P adjacent thereto along the second direction to thereby form one body” “the dummy light-emitting layer 180a is formed simultaneously with the light-emitting layer 180”] the same material as the light-emitting layer
and Baek further states “A first electrode 160 is formed in each pixel region P on the overcoat layer 155, and a dummy electrode 164 is formed in the dummy sub-pixel region DP on the overcoat layer 155” which appears to teach “wherein the conductive layer comprises the same material as the pixel electrode” however Baek does not actually state this, however see “in FIG. 9C, a first conductive layer 1601, a second conductive layer 1602, and a third conductive layer 1603 are sequentially deposited on the overcoat layer 155 substantially over the entire surface of the substrate 100”.
See Choi et al. (US 20160079323 A1) teaches see Figs. 1, 2, 3, see “a cross-sectional structure of an OLED device according to a first embodiment of the present disclosure will be described with reference to FIG. 3” “Referring to FIG. 2, the OLED device includes red, green and blue sub-pixels R, G and B 11 arranged in a first active area 10” “the dummy area 20 can be defined in such a manner as to surround all edges of the first active area 10. Also, the OLED device includes a plurality of dummy pixels 21 formed in the dummy area 20” “The organic light emitting elements can also be formed in the dummy area 20. However, the driving thin film transistors are not formed in the dummy area 20. As such, the organic light emitting elements within the dummy area 20 cannot emit any light” “organic light emitting element 112, 114 and 115 includes a first electrode 112, a second electrode 115 formed opposite to the first electrode 112, and an organic emission layer 114 formed between the first electrode 112 and the second electrode 115”, see that the conductive layer comprises the same material as the pixel electrode, “The first electrodes 112 of the organic light emitting elements each connected to the drain electrode 109 via the secondary contact hole can be formed on the planarization film 111 opposite to the sub-pixel 11 within the first active area 10. At the same time, the first electrode 112 of different organic light emitting element can be formed on the planarization film 111 opposite to the dummy pixel 21 within the dummy area 20” “A first organic emission layer 114 is formed on the exposed surface of the first electrode 112 within the first active area 10” “A second organic emission layer 214 is formed on the first electrode 112 which has an exposed upper surface and is formed in the dummy area 20 opposite to the dummy pixel 21” i.e. the same first electrode 112 is formed in both the active area 10 and the dummy area 20 .
/SITARAMARAO S YECHURI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893