DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1-13 are pending and presented for examination.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-10 and 13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 12/30/2025, with respect to claims 11 and 12 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. These claims are directed to a product (granular material or a kit). The prior art teaches an identical granular material and an identical kit including all the elements. However, the material and kit are obtained by a different process, namely that the compound C is obtained by a different reaction. The synthetic procedure which leads to compound C will not ultimately change the structure or properties of compound C. Therefore, the products of the prior art will be identical to the claimed products. Note that "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Therefore, the rejections over claims 11 and 12 are maintained as presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claim(s) 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Winter et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2004/0197363).
I. Regarding claim 11, Winter teaches a coated fertilizer granule (claims 1 and 6) and a method for preparing the coated granule (claim 9) comprising: providing the granular material (claim 9); providing a compound (C) having at least one ester bond which is obtainable from the reaction of a hydroxyl group of a compound (A) and an anhydride of a compound (B) (claims 9 and 14, note that the compound (C) of Winter is obtained by a different synthetic scheme; however, as noted above, this compound (C) will be identical to the claimed compound (C) prepared by reacting a hydroxyl group with a carboxyl or anhydride group as claimed); providing a compound (D) including an epoxy group (claim 9); and reacting the compound (C) and (D) to form a compound having an ester bond in the presence of the granule to produce the coated granular material (claim 9 and 0066). Winter teaches the compound (A) can be a triglyceride (0029) or a fatty acid ester of a polyhydric alcohol and a fatty acid (0033); the compound B can be a compound having the formula (b-1) as in claim 4 (claim 17) or maleic acid (claim 17) or maleic anhydride (claim 17); and the compound D can be an epoxidized fatty acid amide (0055) or a fatty acid ester of an alcohol and an epoxidized fatty acid (0054). Winter teaches all the critical limitations of claim 11; therefore, Winter anticipates the claims.
II. Regarding claim 12, Winter teaches a kit comprising: a compound (C) (0074-0075 and 0082); and a compound (D) including an epoxy group (0074-0075 and 0082). Winter teaches all the critical limitations of claim 12; therefore, Winter anticipates the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 1-8, 10 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Winter in view Jain et al. (“Hydroxy fatty acid based polyanhydride as drug delivery system: synthesis, characterization, in vitro degradation, drug release, and biocompatibility”).
Regarding claims 1-8, 10 and 13, Winter teaches a coated fertilizer granule (claims 1 and 6) and a method for preparing the coated granule (claim 9) comprising: providing the granular material (claim 9); providing a compound (C) having at least one ester bond (an acid-modified fatty acid component) which is obtainable from the reaction of a hydroxyl group of a compound (A) and an anhydride of a compound (B) (claims 9 and 14, note that the compound (C) of Winter is obtained by a different synthetic scheme; however, as noted above, this compound (C) will be identical to the claimed compound (C) prepared by reacting a hydroxyl group with a carboxyl or anhydride group as claimed); providing a compound (D) including an epoxy group (claim 9); and reacting the compound (C) and (D) to form a compound having an ester bond in the presence of the granule to produce the coated granular material (claim 9 and 0066). Winter teaches the compound (A) can be a triglyceride (0029) or a fatty acid ester of a polyhydric alcohol and a fatty acid (0033); the compound B can be a compound having the formula (b-1) as in claim 4 (claim 17) or maleic acid (claim 17) or maleic anhydride (claim 17); and the compound D can be an epoxidized fatty acid amide (0055) or a fatty acid ester of an alcohol and an epoxidized fatty acid (0054). Winter fails to teach the compound (C) obtained by reacting a hydroxyl group or epoxy group of a compound (A) with a carboxyl group or anhydride group of a compound (B).
However, Jain teaches that acid-modified fatty acid components can be obtained by the reaction of a hydroxy functional fatty acid with maleic anhydride (see Scheme 1, reaction of ricinoleic acid with maleic anhydride to yield an ester functionalized, acid-modified fatty acid component). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Winter’s process by obtaining the compound (C) from the reaction of a hydroxy group on Winter’s triglyceride with Winter’s maleic anhydride or Winter’s compound having the formula (b-1). One would have been motivated to make this modification as one could have substituted one synthetic scheme for a product for another synthetic scheme for the same product with a reasonable expectation of success (both reaction sequences would be expected to yield an identical product), and the predictable result of obtaining compound (C) for further reaction with compound (D).
3. Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Winter in view of Jain as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wan et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2011/0126602).
Regarding claim 9, Winter in view of Jain teach all the limitations of claim 1, including the compound (A) being castor oil (0031) and compound (B) can be an anhydride (see above), but fails to teach the anhydride being trimellitic anhydride.
However, Wan teaches a process for coating fertilizer granules (abstract) comprising providing a coating agent (0006) by reacting (0018) a plant oil (0019), such as castor oil (0019), with an anhydride (0018), such as trimellitic anhydride (0019). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Winter in view of Jain’s process by substituting trimellitic anhydride for Winter in view of Jain’s anhydride. One would have been motivated to make this modification as one could have made the substitution with a reasonable expectation of success (particularly given that Wan teaches the same type of reactivity, utilizing castor oil, and in the preparation of a similar coated fertilizer granule), and the predictable result of providing a reactant for preparing the coated fertilizer granule.
Conclusion
Claims 1-13 are pending.
Claims 1-13 are rejected.
/ROBERT S WALTERS JR/
February 20, 2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717