Detailed Action
Status of Claims
The following is in response to the communication filed 8/6/2026.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claims 7-10 and 17-20 have been withdrawn.
Claims 1-6 and 11-16 have been examined.
Priority
Applicant' s claim for the benefit of prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged. The application is a national stage of International Application No.PCT/CN2023/084240, filed on March 28, 2023, which claims the benefit of and priority to Chinese Patent Application No. 202210677080.9 filed with the Chinese Patent Office on June 15, 2022.
Election/Restriction
Applicant's election without traverse of claims of Group I including claims 1-6 and 11-16, in the reply filed on 8/6/2026, is acknowledged. Claims 7-10 an withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/6/2026.
Specification
ABSTRACT
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
TITLE
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: ANTI-FERROMAGNETIC MAGNETIC RANDOM ACCESS MEMORY DEVICE WITH FIRST AND SECOND ANTI-FERROMAGNETIC LAYERS AND MANUFACTURING METHOD THEREFOR
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4, 6, 11-12, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, the element includes “any one of a single-layer thin film made of a single material and a multi-layer superimposed film made of a plurality of materials.” Applicant has support for A or B individually, but no embodiment has been provided to include both A and B such that it is unclear if applicants claim requires an A and a B or just an A or a B.
For the purposes of examination, the claim is interpreted as “either a single-layer thin film made of a single material or a multi-layer superimposed film made of a plurality of materials.”
Regarding claim 3, the element includes “any one of a single-layer thin film made of a single material and a multi-layer superimposed film made of a plurality of materials.” Applicant has support for A or B individually, but no embodiment has been provided to include both A and B such that it is unclear if applicants claim requires an A and a B or just an A or a B.
For the purposes of examination, the claim is interpreted as “either a single-layer thin film made of a single material or a multi-layer superimposed film made of a plurality of materials.”
Regarding claim 4 the element includes “any one of a multilayer heterostructure made of different materials and a single structure made of a same material.” Applicant has support for A or B individually, but no embodiment has been provided to include both A and B such that it is unclear if applicants claim requires an A and a B or just an A or a B.
For the purposes of examination, the claim is interpreted as “either a multilayer heterostructure made of different materials or a single structure made of a same material.”
Regarding claim 6 the element includes “any one of a single-layer thin film made of a single material and a multi-layer superimposed film made of a plurality of materials.” Applicant has support for A or B individually, but no embodiment has been provided to include both A and B such that it is unclear if applicants claim requires an A and a B or just an A or a B.
For the purposes of examination, the claim is interpreted as “either a single-layer thin film made of a single material or a multi-layer superimposed film made of a plurality of materials.”
Regarding claim 11 the element includes “any one of a multilayer heterostructure made of different materials and a single structure made of a same material.” Applicant has support for A or B individually, but no embodiment has been provided to include both A and B such that it is unclear if applicants claim requires an A and a B or just an A or a B.
For the purposes of examination, the claim is interpreted as “either a multilayer heterostructure made of different materials or a single structure made of a same material.”
Regarding claim 12 the element includes “any one of a multilayer heterostructure made of different materials and a single structure made of a same material.” Applicant has support for A or B individually, but no embodiment has been provided to include both A and B such that it is unclear if applicants claim requires an A and a B or just an A or a B.
For the purposes of examination, the claim is interpreted as “either a multilayer heterostructure made of different materials or a single structure made of a same material.”
Regarding claim 15 the element includes “any one of a single-layer thin film made of a single material and a multi-layer superimposed film made of a plurality of materials.” Applicant has support for A or B individually, but no embodiment has been provided to include both A and B such that it is unclear if applicants claim requires an A and a B or just an A or a B.
For the purposes of examination, the claim is interpreted as “either a single-layer thin film made of a single material or a multi-layer superimposed film made of a plurality of materials.”
Regarding claim 16 the element includes “any one of a single-layer thin film made of a single material and a multi-layer superimposed film made of a plurality of materials.” Applicant has support for A or B individually, but no embodiment has been provided to include both A and B such that it is unclear if applicants claim requires an A and a B or just an A or a B.
For the purposes of examination, the claim is interpreted as “either a single-layer thin film made of a single material or a multi-layer superimposed film made of a plurality of materials.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kanegae US 20060114714 A1 (hereinafter Kanegae).
Regarding claim 1, Kanegae discloses:
a ferromagnetic thin film structure body, (Kanegae, Fig. 16, upper ferromagnetic layer 1)
an anti-ferromagnetic thin film structure body, and (anti-ferromagnetic layer 4)
a tunnel insulating thin film structure body (tunnel insulating layer 3) sandwiched between the ferromagnetic thin film structure body and the anti-ferromagnetic thin film structure body. (See Fig. 5)
Regarding claim 2, Kanegae further discloses:
wherein each of the ferromagnetic thin film structure body, (ferromagnetic layer 1)
the anti-ferromagnetic thin film structure body (anti-ferromagnetic layer 4) and the tunnel insulating thin film structure body (tunnel insulating layer 3) employs any one of a single-layer thin film made of a single material and a multi-layer superimposed film made of a plurality of materials. ([0025], tunnel insulating film 3, is made of Al2O, there for made of a single material.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanegae as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Okazawa US 20020000597 A1 (hereinafter Okazawa).
Regarding claim 4, Kanegae discloses all the elements of claim 1.
Kanegae does not appear to disclose:
wherein a voltage control magnetic anisotropy (VCMA) electrode capable of applying a voltage to the anti-ferromagnetic thin film structure body for controlling magnetic anisotropy is provided around a side surface of the anti-ferromagnetic thin film structure body, and the VCMA electrode employs any one of a multilayer heterostructure made of different materials and a single structure made of the same material.
Okazawa, which teaches nonvolatile semiconductor memory device, which discloses:
a voltage control magnetic anisotropy (VCMA) electrode (Fig. 1(a), second wiring 25) capable of applying a voltage to the anti-ferromagnetic thin film structure body (first data storage layer 24 and [0043] the material is ferromagnetic thin film material is antiparallel to the direction of magnetization therefore being an anti-ferromagnetic thin film material.) for controlling magnetic anisotropy is provided around a side surface of the anti-ferromagnetic thin film structure body, ([0065], second wiring 25 is disposed over the first data storage layer 24 and is capable of applying voltage to said layer.) and the VCMA electrode employs any one of a multilayer heterostructure made of different materials and a single structure made of a same material. (The Examiner's understanding of the term wiring to be a conductive path made of a at least a single structure made of at least one conductive material.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kanegae to have a voltage control magnetic anisotropy (VCMA) electrode capable of applying a voltage to the anti-ferromagnetic thin film structure body for controlling magnetic anisotropy is provided around a side surface of the anti-ferromagnetic thin film structure body, and the VCMA electrode employs any one of a multilayer heterostructure made of different materials and a single structure made of a same material as taught by Okazawa for purposes of connecting a first memory element with a second memory element over the first.
Regarding claim 11, Kanegae discloses all the elements of claim 2.
Kanegae does not appear to disclose:
wherein a voltage control magnetic anisotropy (VCMA) electrode capable of applying a voltage to the anti-ferromagnetic thin film structure body for controlling magnetic anisotropy is provided around a side surface of the anti-ferromagnetic thin film structure body, and the VCMA electrode employs any one of a multilayer heterostructure made of different materials and a single structure made of the same material.
Okazawa, which teaches nonvolatile semiconductor memory device, which discloses:
a voltage control magnetic anisotropy (VCMA) electrode (Fig. 1(a), second wiring 25) capable of applying a voltage to the anti-ferromagnetic thin film structure body (first data storage layer 24 and [0043] the material is ferromagnetic thin film material is antiparallel to the direction of magnetization therefore being an anti-ferromagnetic thin film material.) for controlling magnetic anisotropy is provided around a side surface of the anti-ferromagnetic thin film structure body, ([0065], second wiring 25 is disposed over the first data storage layer 24 and is capable of applying voltage to said layer.) and the VCMA electrode employs any one of a multilayer heterostructure made of different materials and a single structure made of a same material. (The Examiner’s understanding of the term wiring to be a conductive path made of a at least a single structure made of at least one conductive material.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kanegae to have a voltage control magnetic anisotropy (VCMA) electrode capable of applying a voltage to the anti-ferromagnetic thin film structure body for controlling magnetic anisotropy is provided around a side surface of the anti-ferromagnetic thin film structure body, and the VCMA electrode employs any one of a multilayer heterostructure made of different materials and a single structure made of a same material as taught by Okazawa for purposes of connecting a first memory element with a second memory element over the first.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 3-4, 6, 12, 15, and 16 would be allowable, for the reasons given below, if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 3, the cited prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest, along with the other claimed features, an anti-ferromagnetic magnetic random access memory device comprising the second ferromagnetic thin film structure body “on an upper part of the second tunnel insulating thin film structure body” or “spin electrons of the first ferromagnetic thin film structure body and the second ferromagnetic thin film structure body are fixed in opposite directions.”
Specifically, regarding claim 3, Kanegae discloses:
wherein the memory device comprises a first ferromagnetic thin film structure body, (Fig. 16, ferromagnetic layer 1)
a first tunnel insulating thin film structure body (tunnel insulating layer 3) arranged on an upper part of the first ferromagnetic thin film structure body, (See Fig. 16)
an anti-ferromagnetic thin film structure body (anti-ferromagnetic layer 4) arranged on an upper part of the first tunnel insulating thin film structure body, (See Fig. 16)
each of the first ferromagnetic thin film structure body, the first tunnel insulating thin film structure body, the anti-ferromagnetic thin film structure body, … employs any one of a single-layer thin film made of a single material and a multi-layer superimposed film made of a plurality of materials.
Kanegae does not appear to disclose:
a second tunnel insulating thin film structure body arranged on an upper part of the anti-ferromagnetic thin film structure body, and
a second ferromagnetic thin film structure body arranged on an upper part of the second tunnel insulating thin film structure body;
spin electrons of the first ferromagnetic thin film structure body and the second ferromagnetic thin film structure body are fixed in opposite directions;
and
each of the first ferromagnetic … the second tunnel insulating thin film structure body and the second ferromagnetic thin film structure body employs any one of a single-layer thin film made of a single material and a multi-layer superimposed film made of a plurality of materials. ([0025], tunnel insulating film 3, is made of Al2O, there for made of a single material.)
Okazawa, which teaches nonvolatile semiconductor memory device, which discloses:
a second tunnel insulating thin film structure body (Fig. 1(a) second memory element, second insulation layer 33) arranged on an upper part of the anti-ferromagnetic thin film structure body, (first data storage layer 24) and (See Fig. 1(a).)
a second ferromagnetic thin film structure body arranged (second pinned layer 32) …
and
each of the first ferromagnetic … the second tunnel insulating thin film structure body and the second ferromagnetic thin film structure body employs any one of a single-layer thin film made of a single material and a multi-layer superimposed film made of a plurality of materials. ([0023], the material being disposed on the layer therefore it could be at a film made of a single material.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kanegae to have a second tunnel insulating thin film structure body arranged on an upper part of the anti-ferromagnetic thin film structure body, … and each of the first ferromagnetic … the second tunnel insulating thin film structure body and the second ferromagnetic thin film structure body employs any one of a single-layer thin film made of a single material and a multi-layer superimposed film made of a plurality of materials, as taught by Okazawa for purposes of high density memory capacity. (Okazawa, Abstract).
However, neither Kanegae nor Okazawa disclose the second ferromagnetic thin film structure body “on an upper part of the second tunnel insulating thin film structure body” or “spin electrons of the first ferromagnetic thin film structure body and the second ferromagnetic thin film structure body are fixed in opposite directions.”
Claims 12, 14, and 16 are allowable based on the dependence to claim 3.
Regarding claim 5, the cited prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest, along with the other claimed features, an anti-ferromagnetic magnetic random access memory device comprising “the VCMA electrode is connected to an outer surface of the insulating layer thin film by any one of connection modes, comprising completely surrounding the outer surface of the insulating layer thin film, partially surrounding the outer surface of the insulating layer thin film, and partially contacting with the outer surface of the insulating layer thin film.”
Kanegae as modified by Okazawa discloses all the elements of claim 4.
Kanegae as modified by Okazawa do not appear to directly disclose:
an insulating layer thin film is provided around the side surface of the anti- ferromagnetic thin film structure body, and the VCMA electrode is connected to an outer surface of the insulating layer thin film by any one of connection modes, comprising completely surrounding the outer surface of the insulating layer thin film, partially surrounding the outer surface of the insulating layer thin film, and partially contacting with the outer surface of the insulating layer thin film.
Hong et al. US 20220254994 A1 (hereinafter Hong), which teaches a magnetic memory device which includes a magnetic tunnel junction pattern (Hong, [0004]), discloses:
an insulating layer thin film (Fig. 3, first capping dielectric layer 130) is provided around the side surface of the anti- ferromagnetic thin film structure body, (second magnetic structure MS2, [0026] – [0027] the memory element includes an antiferromagnetic material.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kanegae as modified by Okazawa to have an insulating layer thin film is provided around the side surface of the anti- ferromagnetic thin film structure body, and the VCMA electrode is connected to an outer surface of the insulating layer thin film by any one of connection modes, comprising completely surrounding the outer surface of the insulating layer thin film, partially surrounding the outer surface of the insulating layer thin film, and partially contacting with the outer surface of the insulating layer thin film as taught by Hong for purposes of conformally covering the MTJ device (Hong, [0047]), which provides device insulation.
However, none of the above prior art appears to disclose: “the VCMA electrode is connected to an outer surface of the insulating layer thin film by any one of connection modes, comprising completely surrounding the outer surface of the insulating layer thin film, partially surrounding the outer surface of the insulating layer thin film, and partially contacting with the outer surface of the insulating layer thin film.”
Regarding claim 6, the cited prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest, along with the other claimed features, an anti-ferromagnetic magnetic random access memory device comprising “the anti-ferromagnetic thin film structure body is able to be replaced with a ferrimagnetic thin film structure body”.
Regarding claim 13, the cited prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest, along with the other claimed features, an anti-ferromagnetic magnetic random access memory device comprising “the VCMA electrode is connected to an outer surface of the insulating layer thin film by any one of connection modes, comprising completely surrounding the outer surface of the insulating layer thin film, partially surrounding the outer surface of the insulating layer thin film, and partially contacting with the outer surface of the insulating layer thin film.”
Kanegae as modified by Okazawa discloses all the elements of claim 11.
Kanegae as modified by Okazawa do not appear to directly disclose:
an insulating layer thin film is provided around the side surface of the anti- ferromagnetic thin film structure body, and the VCMA electrode is connected to an outer surface of the insulating layer thin film by any one of connection modes, comprising completely surrounding the outer surface of the insulating layer thin film, partially surrounding the outer surface of the insulating layer thin film, and partially contacting with the outer surface of the insulating layer thin film.
Hong, which teaches a magnetic memory device which includes a magnetic tunnel junction pattern (Hong, [0004]), discloses:
an insulating layer thin film (Fig. 3, first capping dielectric layer 130) is provided around the side surface of the anti- ferromagnetic thin film structure body, (second magnetic structure MS2, [0026] – [0027] the memory element includes an antiferromagnetic material.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kanegae as modified by Okazawa to have an insulating layer thin film is provided around the side surface of the anti- ferromagnetic thin film structure body, and the VCMA electrode is connected to an outer surface of the insulating layer thin film by any one of connection modes, comprising completely surrounding the outer surface of the insulating layer thin film, partially surrounding the outer surface of the insulating layer thin film, and partially contacting with the outer surface of the insulating layer thin film as taught by Hong for purposes of conformally covering the MTJ device (Hong, [0047]), which provides device insulation.
However, none of the above prior art appears to disclose: “the VCMA electrode is connected to an outer surface of the insulating layer thin film by any one of connection modes, comprising completely surrounding the outer surface of the insulating layer thin film, partially surrounding the outer surface of the insulating layer thin film, and partially contacting with the outer surface of the insulating layer thin film.”
Regarding claim 15, the cited prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest, along with the other claimed features, an anti-ferromagnetic magnetic random access memory device comprising “the anti-ferromagnetic thin film structure body is able to be replaced with a ferrimagnetic thin film structure body”.
Conclusion
/HEIM KIRIN GREWAL/Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/DAVIENNE N MONBLEAU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812