DETAILED ACTION
This is the Office action based on the 18702402 application filed April 18, 2024, and in response to applicant’s argument/remark filed on May 12, 2026. Claims 1-31 are currently pending and have been considered below. Applicant’s cancellation of claim 32, and withdrawal of claims 20-31 acknowledged.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election, without traverse, of the invention of Group I, claims 1-19 in the reply filed on May 12, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 20-31 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 8, 9, 12, 13, 14, 16 and 17 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12660540. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12660540 recites all limitations that are recited in these claims. It is noted that C4H9F3Si and C5H9F5Si recited in claim 20 read on the Si-containing hydrofluorocarbon recited in claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 8, 9, 12, 13, 16 and 17; the fluorocarbon compounds recited in claim 20 read on the fluorocarbon recited in claim 2; and the silicon-containing films recited in claim 20 reads on the silicon-containing film recited in claim 14.
Claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 8, 9, 12, 13, 14, 16 and 17 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12660540. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12660540 recites all limitations that are recited in these claims. It is noted that C4H9F3Si and C5H9F5Si recited in claim 8 read on the Si-containing hydrofluorocarbon recited in claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 8, 9, 12, 13, 16 and 17; the fluorocarbon compounds recited in claim 8 read on the fluorocarbon compounds recited in claim 2, and the silicon-containing films recited in claim 8 reads on the silicon-containing film recited in claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11, 14-15 and 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Izawa et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 6475918), hereinafter “Izawa”:--Claims 1, 4, 6, 7, 8, 9, 11, 14, 19: Izawa teaches a method of etching, comprisingproviding a substrate, then forming a silicon oxide layer on the substrate, then forming a mask having an opening over the silicon oxide layer (Col. 5, Lines 1-14; Col. 9, Lines 24-28; Col. 1, Lines 13-15);loading the substrate into a stage within a process chamber (Fig. 7), then supplying an etching gas to the substrate, then supplying RF power to the etching gas to generate a plasma to etch the silicon oxide layer (Col. 8, Line 65 through Col. 9, Line 28) to form an aperture (Fig. 4 and 6). Izawa further teaches that the etching gas comprises C3F6, Ar and Si (OCH3)2F2. Izawa further teaches that a deposition gas may be added to the etching gas in order to prevent bowing (Col. 2, Lines 18-20), and that adding Si would remove excessive F in the plasma, thus greatly reduces bowing (Col. 9, Lines 44-45). Izawa further teaches that in addition to Si(OCH3)2F2 , Si(OCH3)2F2, Si(CH3)2F2, Si(CH3)2Cl2, Si(OCH3)2Cl2, Si(CH3)3H, Si(CH3)2H2, SiH4, Si2H6 or SiCl2H2 (Col. 9, Line 29 through Col. 10, Line 10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, in routine experimentations, to use an etching gas comprising Si(CH3)2F2 among the list of possible gas compounds in the invention Izawa. It is noted that Si(CH3)2F2 is a Si-containing hydrofluorocarbon containing methyl groups attaching to a silicon atom.--Claim 2: Izawa further teaches that in addition to, and instead of, C3F6, CHF3 may be used (Col. 9, Lines 49-55). --Claim 3: Izawa further teaches that in addition O2 may be added to ensure hole penetration (Col. 9, Lines 49-55).--Claim 5: Izawa further teaches that NH3 may be added for etching an organic insulation film (Col. 8, Lines 9-11).--Claim 15: Fig. 4 shows that the aperture has an aspect ratio about 15:1.
Claims 10 and 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Izawa as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Korzenski et al. (U.S. PGPub. No. 20090192065), hereinafter “Korzenski”:--Claim 10: Izawa teaches the invention as in claim 1, wherein Izawa teaches that adding Si would remove excessive F in the plasma, thus greatly reduces bowing (Col. 9, Lines 44-45). Izawa further teaches to add Si(CH3)2F2 to the etching gas, but fails to teach adding the claimed CH3F3Si to the etching gas. Korzenski, also directed to a method of plasma processing a silicon oxide layer (Fig. 1), teaches that a silicon-containing layer passivating agent may be added to reduce the chemical attack of the silicon-containing layer, wherein the silicon-containing layer passivating agent may be an alkylhalosilane having a formula R3SiX, R2SiX2, RSiX3, where R=methyl, ethyl, propyl,…, and X may be F ([0082]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, in routine experimentations, to use RSiX3, where R=methyl and X=F, as the Si-containing gas as an equivalent substitution for the Si(CH3)2F2 in the invention of Izawa because Izawa teaches that adding Si would remove excessive F in the plasma thus greatly reduces bowing and further teaches to add Si(CH3)2F2 to the etching gas, and Korzenski teaches that alkylhalosilanes such as (CH3)2SiF2 or (CH3)SiF3 would reduce chemical attack on the silicon oxide layer.
-- Claim 12: Izawa teaches the invention as in claim 1, wherein Izawa teaches that adding Si would remove excessive F in the plasma, thus greatly reduces bowing (Col. 9, Lines 44-45). Izawa further teaches to add Si(CH3)2F2 to the etching gas, but fails to teach adding C4H9F3Si to the etching gas. Korzenski, also directed to a method of plasma processing a silicon oxide layer (Fig. 1), teaches that a silicon-containing layer passivating agent may be added to reduce the chemical attack of the silicon-containing layer, wherein the silicon-containing layer passivating agent may be an alkylhalosilane having a formula R3SiX, R2SiX2, RSiX3, where R=methyl, ethyl, propyl,…, and X may be F ([0082]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, in routine experimentations, to use RSiX3, where R=butyl and X=F, as the Si-containing gas as an equivalent substitution for the Si(CH3)2F2 in the invention of Izawa because Izawa teaches that adding Si would remove excessive F in the plasma thus greatly reduces bowing and further teaches to add Si(CH3)2F2 to the etching gas, and Korzenski teaches that alkylhalosilanes such as (CH3)2SiF2 and (C4H9)SiF3 would reduce chemical attack on the silicon oxide layer.
Claims 17 and 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Izawa in view of Korzenski:--Claim 17: Izawa teaches the invention as in claim 1, wherein Izawa teaches that adding Si would remove excessive F in the plasma, thus greatly reduces bowing (Col. 9, Lines 44-45). Izawa further teaches to add Si(CH3)2F2 to the etching gas, but fails to teach adding C4H9F3Si to the etching gas. Korzenski, also directed to a method of plasma processing a silicon oxide layer (Fig. 1), teaches that a silicon-containing layer passivating agent may be added to reduce the chemical attack of the silicon-containing layer, wherein the silicon-containing layer passivating agent may be an alkylhalosilane having a formula R3SiX, R2SiX2, RSiX3, where R=methyl, ethyl, propyl,…, and X may be F ([0082]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, in routine experimentations, to use RSiX3, where R=butyl and X=F, as the Si-containing gas as an equivalent substitution for the Si(CH3)2F2 in the invention of Izawa because Izawa teaches that adding Si would remove excessive F in the plasma thus greatly reduces bowing and further teaches to add Si(CH3)2F2 to the etching gas, and Korzenski teaches that alkylhalosilanes such as (CH3)2SiF2 and (C4H9)SiF3 would reduce chemical attack on the silicon oxide layer.--Claim 18: Izawa teaches the invention as in claim 1, wherein Izawa teaches that adding Si would remove excessive F in the plasma, thus greatly reduces bowing (Col. 9, Lines 44-45). Izawa further teaches to add Si(CH3)2F2 to the etching gas, but fails to teach adding CH3F3Si to the etching gas. Korzenski, also directed to a method of plasma processing a silicon oxide layer (Fig. 1), teaches that a silicon-containing layer passivating agent may be added to reduce the chemical attack of the silicon-containing layer, wherein the silicon-containing layer passivating agent may be an alkylhalosilane having a formula R3SiX, R2SiX2, RSiX3, where R=methyl, ethyl, propyl,…, and X may be F ([0082]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, in routine experimentations, to use RSiX3, where R=methyl and X=F, as the Si-containing gas as an equivalent substitution for the Si(CH3)2F2 in the invention of Izawa because Izawa teaches that adding Si would remove excessive F in the plasma thus greatly reduces bowing and further teaches to add Si(CH3)2F2 to the etching gas, and Korzenski teaches that alkylhalosilanes such as (CH3)2SiF2 and (CH3)SiF3 would reduce chemical attack on the silicon oxide layer.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 and 16 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and a terminal disclaimer is provided in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(b) to overcome the double patenting rejection shown above. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: With respect to claim 13, none of the cited prior arts teaches the feature “the Si-containing hydrofluorocarbon is C₅H₉F₅Si or its isomers” in the context of claim 13; With respect to claim 16, none of the cited prior arts teaches the feature “introducing an etching gas containing C₅H₉F₅Si into the reactor” in the context of claim 16.
Conclusion
/THOMAS T PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713