DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 4/18/2024 and 9/22/2025 has/have been received and complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner, and a copy with initials is attached herewith.
Drawings
4. The drawings were received on 4/18/2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim(s) 1 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harris, III (US 10186697 B1) in view of Lee et al (KR 20190090565 A).
Regarding claim 1, Harris, III discloses a battery pack 102 may comprise multiple battery modules 210, each battery module 210 comprising a plurality of modular battery clips 204. Each battery module may comprise a controller board for a Battery Management System (BMS) 212. Each battery module 210 may comprise a slave BMS board, that may be coupled to a master BMS board 214 for the battery pack 102. The slave BMS board 212 of each battery module 210 may be directly connected to the master BMS board 216, as illustrated by connections 216. The BMS boards, whether master BMS board or slave BMS board may be referred to herein as a “controller board.” [Fig. 2-4; column 4, line 28-50; column 5, line 17-36; column 6, line 19-41].
Harris, III remains silent about the temperature and humidity sensing unit and sampling chip as claimed. However, Lee discloses a power conversion apparatus, comprising a control unit, a temperature sensor, a humidity sensor, a dehumidification unit, etc.; each power conversion apparatus is individually equipped with control logic, and is switched by the control unit for connection to a battery; the temperature sensor and the humidity sensor are integrated in a single integrated sensor module, outputs of the temperature sensor and the humidity sensor being transmitted to control logic inside the integrated sensor module, and a temperature measurement signal and a humidity measurement signal being transmitted to the control unit by means of an I2C serial interface; if it is determined that a humidity measurement value exceeds a first reference value but is below a second reference value, the dehumidification unit is started, and if it is determined that a humidity measurement value exceeds the second reference value, a water leakage is determined; the dehumidification unit is arranged inside a casing and comprises a desiccant for adsorbing moisture, and the desiccant can be heated by a heater so as to be regenerated [Fig. 2-5; paragraph 0036-0061]. Although, Lee remains silent about a power supply end of a first temperature sensing unit being connected to a power output end of a battery module; however, it is common general knowledge in the art; therefore, it would have been obvious for a person skilled in the art to provide it.
Therefore, the claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art (KSR v. Teleflex, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 127 S. Ct. 1727 (2007)) and an ordinarily skilled artisan would have recognized such a substitution without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 8, Harris, III teaches a battery pack comprising the BMS slave board and the BMS master board [Fig. 2-4; column 4, line 28-50; column 5, line 17-36; column 6, line 19-41] and Lee teaches a dehumidification module for dehumidification [Fig. 2-5; paragraph 0036-0061].
9. Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harris, III (US 10186697 B1) in view of Lee et al (KR 20190090565 A) as applied in claim 1 and further in view of Schramm et al (US 20190389276 A1) and Juliato (US 20170285744 A1).
Regarding claims 2-3, Lee teaches a control unit, a temperature sensor, a humidity sensor, a dehumidification unit, etc.; each power conversion apparatus is individually equipped with control logic, and is switched by the control unit for connection to a battery; the temperature sensor and the humidity sensor are integrated in a single integrated sensor module, outputs of the temperature sensor and the humidity sensor being transmitted to control logic inside the integrated sensor module, and a temperature measurement signal and a humidity measurement signal being transmitted to the control unit by means of an I2C serial interface but Harris, III/Lee remains silent that the temperature and humidity sensor comprises a humidity probe and a temperature probe; an analog-to-digital converter for performing analog-to-digital conversion on signals and a logic control memory for acquiring and storing data. However, it is known in the art that the temperature and humidity sensor comprises a humidity probe and a temperature probe as taught by Schramm [paragraph 0014, 0043]. It is also known in the art that for signal processing an analog-to-digital converter to convert the analog sensor signals to digital sensor signals and a processing element may include memory as taught by Juliato [paragraph 0011, 0016, 0068]. Therefore, the claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art (KSR v. Teleflex, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 127 S. Ct. 1727 (2007)) and an ordinarily skilled artisan would have recognized such a substitution without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
10. Claim(s) 4-7, 9-10 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harris, III (US 10186697 B1) in view of Lee et al (KR 20190090565 A) as applied in claim 1 and further in view of Shan et al (CN 113851741 A).
Regarding claims 4-7, Harris, III teaches a BMS master board, wherein the BMS master board is arranged inside the battery pack housing and is used to connect with the BMS slave board [Fig. 2-4; column 4, line 28-50; column 5, line 17-36; column 6, line 19-41]. Harris, III remains silent about determination of condensation in the battery pack. However, Shan teaches a power battery system, comprising a battery management system, and an anti-dew apparatus; the anti-dew apparatus comprises a temperature, humidity and pressure integrated sensor, a temperature sensor, a dew point calculation module, and a dehumidification apparatus, the temperature, humidity and pressure integrated sensor being connected to the dew point calculation module, and an output of the dew point calculation module being connected to the battery management system; according to the aerodynamic theory and a moist air psychrometric chart curve, the dew point calculation module calculates a dew point temperature; according to the calculation, analysis and determination of the dew point calculation module, the battery management system controls the dehumidification apparatus to implement a dehumidification function [Fig. 1-2, 5; paragraph 0084-0160].
Therefore, the claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art (KSR v. Teleflex, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 127 S. Ct. 1727 (2007)) and an ordinarily skilled artisan would have recognized such a substitution without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 9, Shan teaches that the battery management system controls the dehumidification apparatus to implement a dehumidification function; the dehumidification apparatus comprises a negative electrode sheet, a solid polymer membrane and a positive electrode sheet which are arranged inside a casing; water molecules in moist air are decomposed into hydrogen ions and oxygen, and the hydrogen ions pass through the solid polymer membrane and then react with external oxygen to generate water molecules or water vapors which are discharged from a power battery casing [Fig. 1-2, 5; paragraph 0084-0160].
Regarding claim 10, Lee teaches a moisture absorption material pack and a heating piece; a temperature sensor being used for measuring a heating temperature is common general knowledge in the art; and would have been obvious to a skilled artisan.
Regarding claims 13-15, Harris, III teaches a BMS master board, wherein the BMS master board is arranged inside the battery pack housing and is used to connect with the BMS slave board [Fig. 2-4; column 4, line 28-50; column 5, line 17-36; column 6, line 19-41]. And Lee teaches a dehumidification module for dehumidification [Fig. 2-5; paragraph 0036-0061].
11. Claim(s) 11-12 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harris, III (US 10186697 B1) in view of Lee et al (KR 20190090565 A) Schramm et al (US 20190389276 A1) and Juliato (US 20170285744 A1) as applied in claim 2 and further in view of Shan et al (CN 113851741 A).
Regarding claims 11-12, Harris, III teaches a BMS master board, wherein the BMS master board is arranged inside the battery pack housing and is used to connect with the BMS slave board [Fig. 2-4; column 4, line 28-50; column 5, line 17-36; column 6, line 19-41]. Harris, III remains silent about determination of condensation in the battery pack. However, Shan teaches a power battery system, comprising a battery management system, and an anti-dew apparatus; the anti-dew apparatus comprises a temperature, humidity and pressure integrated sensor, a temperature sensor, a dew point calculation module, and a dehumidification apparatus, the temperature, humidity and pressure integrated sensor being connected to the dew point calculation module, and an output of the dew point calculation module being connected to the battery management system; according to the aerodynamic theory and a moist air psychrometric chart curve, the dew point calculation module calculates a dew point temperature; according to the calculation, analysis and determination of the dew point calculation module, the battery management system controls the dehumidification apparatus to implement a dehumidification function [Fig. 1-2, 5; paragraph 0084-0160].
Therefore, the claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art (KSR v. Teleflex, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 127 S. Ct. 1727 (2007)) and an ordinarily skilled artisan would have recognized such a substitution without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claims 16-20, Harris, III teaches a BMS master board, wherein the BMS master board is arranged inside the battery pack housing and is used to connect with the BMS slave board [Fig. 2-4; column 4, line 28-50; column 5, line 17-36; column 6, line 19-41]. And Lee teaches a dehumidification module for dehumidification [Fig. 2-5; paragraph 0036-0061].
/MUHAMMAD S SIDDIQUEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723