Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 84, 103 and 104 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ko et al (US 2016/0192225) (hereinafter Ko).
Regarding claim 84, Ko discloses an apparatus, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code (see Ko, Fig. 8, p. [0166], e.g., device 100); the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to:
receive a configuration of a number of reference signals to be sent, the reference signals corresponding to a plurality of reference signals representative of radio conditions in a total of a physical channel based on said configuration (see Ko, Fig. 7, p. [0127-0128], [0147], e.g., the UE 100 having received the RS including the RS configuration indicator from BS 2, and p. [0163], e.g., the RS configuration indicator is designed to include the RS resource used for channel information measurement);
receive an instruction for a reduction of said reference signals to be sent (see Ko, p. [0141], e.g., the UE may receive a plurality of RS indicators, and RS resources transmitted through each RS indicator may be comprised of RS resources physically used by the same BS, and p. [0163], e.g., the BS uses the received channel information report message to generate signals, the number of used RSs can be reduced);
set a transmission scheme of at least one reference signal representative of radio conditions in at least one portion of said physical channel based on said configuration and said instruction (see Ko, Fig. 7, p. [0146-0148], e.g., the UE can use a CQI (Channel Quality Indicator) appropriate for the corresponding precoder using an arbitrary precoder, and p. [0149-0150], e.g., the spatial channel information may indicate specific information that is transmitted to BS 2 so that the specific information may be used to decide a transmit (Tx) precoder and a Tx rank of interference reduction signals to be transmitted to the UE 100), and
transmit, in said physical channel, said at least one reference signal representative of radio conditions in said at least one portion of said physical channel according to said transmission scheme (see Ko, Fig. 7, p. [0149-0150], e.g., the spatial channel information may indicate specific information that is transmitted to BS 2 so that the specific information may be used to decide a transmit (Tx) precoder and a Tx rank of interference reduction signals to be transmitted to the UE 100, p. [0162]).
Regarding claim 103, Ko discloses a method comprising:
receiving a configuration of a number of reference signals to be sent, the reference signals corresponding to a plurality of reference signals representative of radio conditions in a total of a physical channel based on said configuration (see Ko, Fig. 7, p. [0127-0128], [0147], e.g., the UE 100 having received the RS including the RS configuration indicator from BS 2, and p. [0163], e.g., the RS configuration indicator is designed to include the RS resource used for channel information measurement),
receiving an instruction for a reduction of said reference signals to be sent (see Ko, p. [0141], e.g., the UE may receive a plurality of RS indicators, and RS resources transmitted through each RS indicator may be comprised of RS resources physically used by the same BS, and p. [0163], e.g., the BS uses the received channel information report message to generate signals, the number of used RSs can be reduced),
setting a transmission scheme of at least one reference signal representative of radio conditions in at least one portion of said physical channel based on said configuration and said instruction (see Ko, Fig. 7, p. [0146-0148], e.g., the UE is unable to recognize which precoder is used, and can use a CQI (Channel Quality Indicator) appropriate for the corresponding precoder using an arbitrary precoder, and p. [0149-0150], e.g., the spatial channel information may indicate specific information that is transmitted to BS 2 so that the specific information may be used to decide a transmit (Tx) precoder and a Tx rank of interference reduction signals to be transmitted to the UE 100), and
transmitting, in said physical channel, said at least one reference signal representative of radio conditions in said at least one portion of said physical channel according to said transmission scheme (see Ko, Fig. 7, p. [0146-0148], e.g., the UE is unable to recognize which precoder is used, and can use a CQI (Channel Quality Indicator) appropriate for the corresponding precoder using an arbitrary precoder, and p. [0149-0150], e.g., the spatial channel information may indicate specific information that is transmitted to BS 2 so that the specific information may be used to decide a transmit (Tx) precoder and a Tx rank of interference reduction signals to be transmitted to the UE 100).
Regarding claim 104, Ko discloses an apparatus, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code (see Ko, Fig. 8, p. [0166], e.g., device 100); the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to:
configure a user equipment with a configuration of a number of reference signals to be sent by the user equipment, the reference signals corresponding to a plurality of reference signals representative of radio conditions in a total of a physical channel based on the configuration (see Ko, Fig. 7, p. [0127-0128], [0147], e.g., the UE 100 having received the RS including the RS configuration indicator from BS 2, and p. [0163], e.g., the RS configuration indicator is designed to include the RS resource used for channel information measurement); and
transmit, to the user equipment, an instruction for the reduction of the reference signals to be sent by the user equipment (see Ko, p. [0141], e.g., the UE may receive a plurality of RS indicators, and RS resources transmitted through each RS indicator may be comprised of RS resources physically used by the same BS, and p. [0163], e.g., the BS uses the received channel information report message to generate signals, the number of used RSs can be reduced), wherein the instruction causes the user equipment to set a transmission scheme of at least one reference signal representative of radio conditions in at least one portion of the physical channel based on the configuration and the instruction (see Ko, Fig. 7, p. [0146-0148], e.g., the UE is unable to recognize which precoder is used, and can use a CQI (Channel Quality Indicator) appropriate for the corresponding precoder using an arbitrary precoder, and p. [0149-0150], e.g., the spatial channel information may indicate specific information that is transmitted to BS 2 so that the specific information may be used to decide a transmit (Tx) precoder and a Tx rank of interference reduction signals to be transmitted to the UE 100, and p. [0162]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 85-86, 89-91 and 94 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko in view of Peadler et al (US 2023/0124275) (hereinafter Peadler).
Regarding claim 85, Ko does not expressly disclose the apparatus of claim 84, wherein
said plurality of reference signals is arranged in a time domain, said instruction includes a value as a reduction parameter based on which said number of reference signals to be sent is to be reduced, and in relation to said setting, the apparatus is further caused to: reduce said number of reference signals to be sent based on said reduction parameter, and derive said at least one reference signal based on a result of said reducing.
Peadler discloses the above recited limitations. In particular, Peadler discloses the apparatus of claim 84, wherein said plurality of reference signals is arranged in a time domain (see Peadler, p. [0040-0042], e.g., the UE may obtain information about the environment in real-time, e.g., by a measurement or receive real-time measurement data, which can be used to determine the predictive environmental model), said instruction includes a value as a reduction parameter based on which said number of reference signals to be sent is to be reduced (see Peadler, p. [0052-0053], e.g., adjustment of the transmission parameter) , and in relation to said setting, the apparatus is further caused to: reduce said number of reference signals to be sent based on said reduction parameter, and derive said at least one reference signal based on a result of said reducing (see Peadler, p. [0053-0054], e.g., . the UE may use a signal parameter, e.g., a predictive QoS, an intensity, etc., to maintain the transmission parameter).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Peadler’s teachings into Ko. The suggestion/motivation would have been to improve efficiently transmission by reduce the pilot signal rate a signaling overhead as suggested by Peadler.
Regarding claim 86, the combined teaching of Ko and Peadler disclose the apparatus according to claim 85, wherein said reduction parameter is a subtrahend to be subtracted from said number of reference signals to be sent, and in relation to said reducing, the apparatus is further caused to: subtract said value from said number of reference signals to be sent (see Peadler, p. [0052-0053], e.g., adjustment of the transmission parameter, and p. [0075], [0085], e.g., adjusting the transmission parameter is performed by reducing a content of a report, a reporting rate and/or a reference signal rate of the user equipment. This way, a signaling overhead can be reduced).
Regarding claim 89, the combined teaching of Ko and Peadler disclose the apparatus according to claim 84, wherein a plurality of reference signal resources corresponding to said plurality of reference signals is arranged in a frequency domain, said instruction includes at least one value as at least one reduction parameter based on which said number of reference signals to be sent is to be reduced, and in relation to said setting, the apparatus is further caused to: reduce said number of reference signals to be sent based on said selected reduction parameter, and derive said at least one reference signal based on a result of said reducing (see Peadler, p. [0037], e.g., A connection between the UE and the network entity may be a wireless connection, e.g., a mmWave-based connection over the mobile communication system (e.g., using carrier frequencies of at least 20 GHz) or may be performed at lower carrier frequencies, and p. [0044], e.g., if the value for the predicted channel dynamic is zero, a CSI reporting can be reduced or even omitted for the predefined time, and p. [0053-0054]).
Regarding claim 90, the combined teaching of Ko and Peadler disclose the apparatus according to claim 89, wherein said at least one reduction parameter is at least one reduction divisor by which said number of reference signals to be sent is to be divided, and in relation to said reducing, the apparatus is further caused to: divide said number of reference signals to be sent by said selected reduction parameter (see Peadler, p. [0012], e.g., a parameter of the environment used to calculate the channel dynamic may be satisfying and thus a CSI can also be derived from this environment. That way, a transmission efficiency can be improved, e.g., by reducing a signaling overhead, and p. [0044], [0053-0054]).
Regarding claim 91, the combined teaching of Ko and Peadler disclose the apparatus according to claim 89, wherein in relation to said setting, the apparatus is further caused to: consider at least one of a cell load (see Ko, p. [0099], e.g., the UE receives a reference signal periodically broadcast from the BS, measures of the intensity of the reference signal (RS), and collects load information of the BS), a transmission scheduler, and a tradeoff between overhead reduction and channel variation sensitivity.
Regarding claim 94, the combined teaching of Ko and Peadler disclose the apparatus according to claim 84, wherein the apparatus is further caused to: receive, a return instruction to return to said number of reference signals to be sent, and set said transmission scheme of said plurality of reference signals representative of radio conditions in said total of said physical channel based on said return instruction (see Peadler, p. [0022], e.g., if the redetermined deviation is below the threshold adjusting the transmission parameter else repeating the repredicting and redetermining until the deviation is below the threshold, p. [0052-0053], [0055], e.g., if the redetermined deviation is below the threshold adjusting the transmission parameter else repeating the repredicting and redetermining until the deviation is below the threshold).
Claims 87-88 and 92 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko in view of Nam et al (US 2022/046968) (hereinafter Nam).
Regarding claim 1, Ko does not expressly disclose the apparatus according to claim 84, wherein said number of reference signals to be sent relates to one slot, or wherein said number of reference signals to be sent relates to a predetermined number of slots.
Nam discloses the above recited limitations (see Nam, Fig. 3, p. [0087-0088], e.g., a base station may transmit repetitions of a set of reference signals in respective RS resources of the RS resource sets. In some examples, the repetitions of the RS resource sets are scheduled in consecutive slots. In other examples, the repetitions of the RS resource sets are scheduled in non-consecutive slots).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Nam’s teachings into Ko. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide channel reporting information for reconfigurable surfaces as suggested by Nam.
Regarding claim 88, the combined teaching of Ko and Nam disclose the apparatus according to claim 87, wherein said predetermined number of slots include a plurality of consecutive slots, or wherein said predetermined number of slots include a plurality of non-consecutive slots (see Nam, Fig. 3, p. [0087-0088], e.g., a base station may transmit repetitions of a set of reference signals in respective RS resources of the RS resource sets. In some examples, the repetitions of the RS resource sets are scheduled in consecutive slots. In other examples, the repetitions of the RS resource sets are scheduled in non-consecutive slots).
Regarding claim 92, the combined teaching of Ko and Nam disclose the apparatus according to claim 89, wherein said number of reference signals to be sent relates to one physical resource block, or wherein said number of reference signals to be sent relates to a predetermined number of physical resource blocks (see Nam, Fig. 3, p. [0087-0088]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 93 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MINH TRANG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477