DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
This application contains claims directed to more than one species of the generic invention. These species are deemed to lack unity of invention because they are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1.
The species are as follows:
The species as shown in Figure 2.
The species as shown in Figure 12.
The species as shown in Figure 13.
Applicant is required, in reply to this action, to elect a single species to which the claims shall be restricted if no generic claim is finally held to be allowable. The reply must also identify the claims readable on the elected species, including any claims subsequently added. An argument that a claim is allowable or that all claims are generic is considered non-responsive unless accompanied by an election.
Upon the allowance of a generic claim, applicant will be entitled to consideration of claims to additional species which are written in dependent form or otherwise require all the limitations of an allowed generic claim. Currently, claim 1 is a generic claim.
The groups of inventions listed above do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack the same or corresponding special technical features for the following reasons:
Group I discloses the deformation preventing portion is a concave portion which is formed in the rigid body and/or the end plate and into which an outer periphery of the elastic body is fitted.
Group II discloses the deformation preventing portion is an outer peripheral portion that covers an outer periphery of the elastic body and is formed of a material having an elastic modulus higher than that of the elastic body.
Group III discloses the deformation preventing portion is a fibrous material disposed in a mesh shape inside the elastic body.
During a telephone conversation with Attorney Francine Nesti on February 11, 2026, a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of Group I, claims 1-2. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 3-4 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
If claim limitations in this application that use the word "means" (or "step"), they are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, if claim limitations in this application that do not use the word "means" (or "step"), they are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word "means," but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation is:
“a fastening member configured to fasten” in claim 1, line 7, with “fastening member” being the generic placeholder not preceded by a structural modifier, and "to fasten” being the coupled functional language.
Because this claim limitation is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
The corresponding structure for the generic placeholder "fastening member" is being interpreted as fastening bolt 21 and nut 22 as shown in Fig. 1 and as described in paragraph 10 of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (hereinafter “Zhou”) (US 2017/0271710 A1) in view of Montan et al. (hereinafter “Montan”) (WO 2018/224451 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou discloses a pressurizing structure for a storage battery which applies pressure in a thickness direction to a structure (B) including a storage battery cell (see para. 38) including an electrode portion (see “step type cell” in the abstract, which inherently includes an electrode portion because the electrode is an essential component of the battery cell, as it is responsible for the electrochemical reactions that occur within the cell) with a laminate exterior material (see a top portion of the structure B in fig. 5), the pressurizing structure comprising:
a pair of end plates (1 and A) disposed at corresponding two ends of the structure (B) in the thickness direction (fig. 2); wherein
an elastic body (4) is disposed at at least one of positions sandwiched between the end plate (1) and the structure (B) (fig. 2),
a rigid body (2) is disposed at a position sandwiched between the clastic body (4) and the structure (B) (fig. 2), and
any one of the end plate, the elastic body, and the rigid body further includes a deformation preventing portion (see the drawing below) configured to prevent deformation of the elastic body (4) in a direction perpendicular to the thickness direction (see the drawing below).
Zhou discloses the end plate (1) of the pressuring structure slides down to press the structure (B) (para. 37-38). Zhou does not expressly disclose a fastening member configured to fasten the pair of end plates to each other.
Montan discloses a pressurizing structure comprising a pair of end plates (14 and 16) disposed at corresponding two ends of a battery cell structure (12) in the thickness direction to exert compression force on the structure (see abstract), fastening members (18) configured to fasten the pair of end plates to each other in order to pressurize the battery cells as uniform as possible (see page 6 last paragraph of the English translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the end plates of Zhou to include fastening members, as taught by Montan, in order to pressurize the battery cells as uniform as possible.
Regarding claim 2, the pressurizing structure for a storage battery according to claim 1, wherein the deformation preventing portion is a concave portion (see the drawing above) which is formed in the rigid body (2) (see the drawing above) and into which an outer periphery of the elastic body (4) is fitted (see the drawing above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art listed on the attached PTO 892 are cited to show:
US 3,287,486 discloses a pressurized structure comprising a fastening member for fastening a pair of end plates to each other (figs. 1A and 1B).
US 2010/0216048 A1 discloses a pressurized structure comprising a fastening member (7) for fastening a pair of end plates to each other to pressurize a fuel cell (see abstract) (figs. 1).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
JIMMY T. NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3725
/JIMMY T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725