DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC paragraph 103
Claim(s) 1-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isoda JP_0856772_A (see machine English translation).
1. Regarding Claims 1-5, 13, and 22, In Example 1, paragraphs [0021]-[0028] and Fig. 4, Isoda discloses a thermoplastic fiber web structure (the net matrix 10 shown in Fig. 4 that is made of a thermoplastic resin material as described in Example 1, and melt extruded into a matrix net, paragraph [0023]), characterized in that the thermoplastic fiber web structure forms a support (paragraph [0023]: prior to thermoforming, the matrix net has an apparent density of 45 kg/m3 and a 25% compression hardness of 14 kg, and after thermoforming a density of 65 kg/m3 (paragraphs [0028]), i.e. it is a support) structure through fiber filaments (paragraph [0023]: filaments are ejected from the nozzles) that are melt-bonded together (paragraph [0023]: the filaments are contact fused together), the fiber filaments being formed from a thermoplastic elastomer material (paragraph [0021]: a polyester-based elastomer block copolymer having hard segments of polybutylene terephthalate and soft segments of polyether; as is being claimed in instant Claims 2 and 4). Isoda also discloses using, alternatively, polyolefin elastomers (paragraph 0009; as is being claimed in instant Claim 3). Isoda further discloses that said its elastomer can also be nylon (paragraph 0009; as is being claimed in instant Claim 5). The thermoplastic fiber web structure in Isoda is used in an automobile interior part such as a seat cushion (Fig. 1 and paragraph [0028]) together with a sleeve (fiberfill web 11 and its preparation disclosed in paragraph [0026], i.e. a needled carded nonwoven web; as claimed in instant Claims 13 and 14) fastened to the thermoplastic fiber web by means of the melt-blown adhesive layer 14 (paragraphs [0027] - [0028]; as being claimed in instant Claim 22).
2. Regarding Claim 6, Isoda discloses having density differences in localized regions (Page 23: paragraph 0013) but does not state the claimed range. However, the Examiner respectfully submits that the difference will ultimately trace back to mere end-user product specifications which are known to vary. Applicants have not indicated how the claimed range results in unexpected properties.
3. Regarding Claims 7-9, Isoda discloses that “a preferred embodiment is also one in which the matrix layer
and the core have a laminated structure of different finenesses, which is an optimum
combination of filaments with apparent density, as required” (paragraph 0013, Page 23). As such, said density difference can be borne out of a difference in distribution of the fiber filaments.
4. Regarding Claim 10, Isoda discloses using hollow fiber filaments (paragraph 0015).
5. Regarding Claim 11, Isoda discloses that the denier can be as low as 100 while the density can be as low as 0.005 g/cm3 (paragraph 0013) which would result in a size of 1.68 mm diameter.
6. Regarding Claim 12, Isoda discloses a density ranging from 0.01 g/cm3 to 0.20 g/cm3 (paragraph 0013) which meets the claimed range.
7. Regarding Claims 13-21, Isoda discloses a hook (paragraph 0028) and the general embodiment of having a thermoplastic strip. The details of which would depend on end-user specifications that are known to vary. Applicants have not indicated how the claimed range results in unexpected properties.
Conclusion
/TAHSEEN KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781 January 20, 2026