Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on April 19, 2024, October 6, 2025, and October 1, 2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8, 10-13, and 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2017/0025647 (IDS dated 04/19/2024), hereinafter Taniguchi.
Regarding claim 1, Taniguchi teaches a pouch-type battery case (pouch type batteries of Figs. 6A-6C) comprising:
A cup part defining a recessed shape (Figs 2A-5, recess 22); and
A side (planar lid portion 24) disposed around at least a portion of the cup part (22),
Wherein the cup part (22) includes:
A base surface (Figs 2A-2B, bottom most side of recess 22);
A plurality of circumferential surfaces (Figs 2A-2B, walls of recess 22);
A plurality of die edges (Figs 4A-4C, edges Rd that form upper corners of recess 22 of packaging material 20), each die edge connecting adjacent circumferential surface and the side, each die edge being rounded and having a curvature of radius Rd; and
A plurality of thickness edges (Fig 5, edges Rcp that form corners of base surface
of recess 22 of packaging material 20), each thickness edge connecting adjacent circumferential surfaces to each other, each thickness edge being rounded and having curvature of radius Rt,
Wherein, the Rd and the Rt satisfy a condition defined by Rd≤Rt<3*Rd (Example 2-20 wherein Rd=1mm and Rt=3mm which falls within the claimed range and therefore anticipates. Additionally Example 2-22 wherein Rd=3mm and Rt=3mm which falls within the claimed range and therefore anticipates).
Regarding claim 2, Taniguchi teaches the pouch-type battery case of claim 1 (Figs 6A-6C), wherein a depth of the cup part (22) D such that the Rd satisfies a conditional defined by D/20≤Rd≤D/6 (Example 2-20 wherein Rd=1mm and forming depth is 10mm-17mm which falls within the claimed range and therefore anticipates).
Regarding claim 4, Taniguchi teaches the pouch-type battery case of claim 1, wherein curvature radii of the plurality of thickness edges are the same as each other (Fig 5, each corner of base surface of 20 is labeled as Rcp and therefore are all equal to each other).
Regarding claim 5, Taniguchi teaches the pouch-type battery case of claim 1 (Figs 4A-4C, upper corners Rd of recess of 20 are labeled as Rd and therefore are all equal to each other), wherein curvature radii of the plurality of die edges are equal to each other.
Regarding claim 6, Taniguchi teaches the pouch-type battery case of claim 1 (Figs 6A-6C), wherein a condition defined by 0.3mm≤Rd≤1mm is satisfied (Example 2-20 wherein Rd=1mm which falls within the claimed range and therefore anticipates).
Regarding claim 8, Taniguchi teaches the pouch-type battery case of claim 1 (Figs 6A-6C), wherein the cup part further includes a plurality of punch edges (Figs 4A-4C, edges Rp that form lower corners of recess 22 of packaging material 20) connecting the base surface to the plurality of circumferential surfaces, each punch edge being rounded with a curvature of radius Rp,
Wherein the Rp satisfies at least a condition defined by 0.3mm≤Rp≤1mm or a condition Rp≤Rt<3*Rp (Example 2-22 wherein Rp=1mm which falls within the claimed range and therefore anticipates).
Regarding claim 10, Taniguchi teaches the pouch-type battery case of claim 8 (Figs 6A-6C), wherein a depth of the cup part D such that the Rd satisfies a condition defined by D/20≤Rp≤D/6(Example 2-22 wherein Rp=1mm and forming depth is 10mm-17mm which falls within the claimed range and therefore anticipates).
Regarding claim 11, Taniguchi teaches a pouch-type battery case (pouch type batteries of Figs. 6A-6C) comprising:
A cup part defining a recessed shape (Figs 2A-5, recess 22); and
A side (planar lid portion 24) disposed around at least a portion of the cup part (22),
Wherein the cup part (22) includes:
A base surface (Figs 2A-2B, bottom most side of recess 22);
A plurality of circumferential surfaces (Figs 2A-2B, walls of recess 22);
A plurality of die edges (Figs 4A-4C, edges Rd that form upper corners of recess 22 of packaging material 20), each die edge connecting adjacent circumferential surface and the side, each die edge being rounded and having a curvature of radius Rd
Wherein, a depth of the cup part is D such that a condition defined by D/20≤Rd≤D/6 is satisfied (Example 2-20 wherein Rd=1mm and forming depth is 10mm-17mm which falls within the claimed range and therefore anticipates).
Regarding claim 12, Taniguchi teaches the pouch-type battery case of claim 1 (Figs 6A-6C), wherein a thickness of the base surface is Tb (bottom of 22) and a thickness of the side (24) is Ts such that a condition defined by Tb≥0.8*Ts is satisfied (Examples 2-20 and 2-22 use the packaging material from Example 1-1 where the layers 11-16 have a total thickness of 140µm and make up the base and linear portion 24. Therefore Tb=Ts=140µm which falls within the claimed range and therefore anticipates).
Regarding claim 13, Taniguchi teaches the pouch-type battery case of claim 12 (Fig 6A-6C), wherein a thickness of a pouch film of the battery case (Figs 4A-4C, packaging material 10 before forming) is Tf such that a condition defined by 0.8*Tf≤Tb, Ts≤Tf is satisfied (Example 1-1: packaging material 20 has a continuous thickness therefore Ts=Tb=Tf which falls within the claimed range and therefore anticipates).
Regarding claim 16, Taniguchi teaches the pouch-type battery case of claim 12 (Fig 6A-6C), wherein the cup part (22) further includes a plurality of punch edges (bottoms edges of 22) connecting the base surface (bottom of 22) to the plurality of circumferential surfaces (side walls of 22), each punch edge being rounded,
A thickness of a pouch film of the battery case (Figs 4A-4C, packaging material 10 before forming) is Tf, a thickness of each of the circumferential surfaces (walls of 22) of the cup part is Tc, a thickness of each of the punch edges (upper corners of 22) is Tp, and a thickness of the die edge (bottom corners of 22) is Td such that a condition defined by 0.5*Tf≤Tc,Tp,Td≤Tf is satisfied (Example 1-1: packaging material 20 has a continuous thickness therefore Tc=Tp=Td=Tf which falls within the claimed range and therefore anticipates)
Regarding claim 17, Taniguchi teaches the pouch-type battery case of claim 16 (Fig 6A-6C), wherein a condition defined by 0.6*Tf≤Tc,Tp,Td≤Tf is satisfied (Example 1-1: packaging material 20 has a continuous thickness therefore Tc=Tp=Td=Tf which falls within the claimed range and therefore anticipates)
Regarding claim 18, Taniguchi teaches the pouch-type battery case of claim 16 (Fig 6A-6C), wherein a condition defined by Tp≥0.6*Tb is satisfied (Example 1-1: packaging material 20 has a continuous thickness therefore Tp=Tb which falls within the claimed range and therefore anticipates)
Regarding claim 19, Taniguchi teaches the pouch-type battery case of claim 16 (Fig 6A-6C), wherein a condition defined by Tp≥0.6*Ts is satisfied (Example 1-1: packaging material 20 has a continuous thickness therefore Tp=Ts which falls within the claimed range and therefore anticipates)
Regarding claim 20, Taniguchi teaches the pouch-type battery case of claim 16 (Fig 6A-6C), wherein a condition defined by Tp≤Tc≤Td is satisfied (Example 1-1: packaging material 20 has a continuous thickness therefore Tp=Tc=Td which falls within the claimed range and therefore anticipates)
Regarding claim 21, Taniguchi teaches a secondary battery (entire battery of Fig 6A-6C) comprising:
a pouch-type battery case according to claim 2 (pouch type battery case of Fig 6A-6C); and
an electrode assembly accommodated in the cup part of the pouch-type battery case (‘The packaging material 10 covers the battery elements such as a positive electrode, a separator, a negative electrode, and an electrolytic solution to thereby prevent moisture from entering into the battery’ [0026]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 7, 9, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2017/0025647 (IDS dated 04/19/2024), hereinafter Taniguchi, as applied to claims 1, 8, and 13 above, and further in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2017/0025647 (IDS dated 04/19/2024), hereinafter Taniguchi.
Regarding claim 3, 7, and 9, Taniguchi teaches, as mentioned above, a pouch-type battery case (pouch type batteries of Figs. 6A-6C) comprising a cup part defining a recessed shape (Figs 2A-5, recess 22); and a side (planar lid portion 24) disposed around at least a portion of the cup part. The cup part includes a base surface (Figs 2A-2B, bottom most side of recess 22); a plurality of circumferential surfaces (Figs 2A-2B, walls of recess 22); a plurality of die edges (Figs 4A-4C, edges Rd that form upper corners of recess 22 of packaging material 20); a plurality of punch edges (Figs 4A-4C, edges Rp that form lower corners of recess 22 of packaging material 20); and a plurality of thickness edges (Fig 5, edges Rcp that form corners of base surface of recess 22 of packaging material 20). The Rd and the Rt satisfy a condition defined by Rd≤Rt<3*Rd (Example 2-20 wherein Rd=1mm and Rt=3mm which falls within the claimed range and therefore anticipates. Additionally Example 2-22 wherein Rd=3mm and Rt=3mm which falls within the claimed range and therefore anticipates).
However, Taniguchi fails to teach the conditions defined by 0.3mm≤Rt<3mm (instant claim 3), 0.3mm≤Rd≤0.7mm (instant claim 7), and 0.3mm≤Rp≤0.7mm (instant claim 9) being satisfied.
Taniguchi teaches that the punch radius Rp, die radius Rd, and corner radii Rcp (instant’s Rt) can be increased in order to flow into the die clearance Q during forming without sticking and can be decreased in order to avoid wrinkling due to the increase in film thickness [0086-0087]. Additionally, Rcp (instant’s Rt) can be optimized in order to reduce deformation of the corner shape when the electrode member is inserted and vacuum sealed [0087]. Therefore, Rp, Rd, and Rcp (instant’s Rt) are considered an art recognized result effective variable.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optimized Rd, Rp, and Rcp (instant’s Rt) of the pouch-type battery case in order to increase flow when forming and decrease deformation. In optimizing these radii, one would arrive at the claimed range, barring evidence to criticality of unexpected results (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 14-15, Taniguchi teaches, as mentioned above, a pouch-type battery case (pouch type batteries of Figs. 6A-6C) comprising a cup part defining a recessed shape (Figs 2A-5, recess 22); and a side (planar lid portion 24) disposed around at least a portion of the cup part. The cup part includes a base surface (Figs 2A-2B, bottom most side of recess 22); a plurality of circumferential surfaces (Figs 2A-2B, walls of recess 22); a plurality of die edges (Figs 4A-4C, edges Rd that form upper corners of recess 22 of packaging material 20); a plurality of punch edges (Figs 4A-4C, edges Rp that form lower corners of recess 22 of packaging material 20); and a plurality of thickness edges (Fig 5, edges Rcp that form corners of base surface of recess 22 of packaging material 20). The Rd and the Rt satisfy a condition defined by Rd≤Rt<3*Rd (Example 2-20 wherein Rd=1mm and Rt=3mm which falls within the claimed range and therefore anticipates. Additionally the thickness of a pouch film of the battery case (Figs 4A-4C, packaging material 10 before forming) is Tf.
The examiner notes that Examples 2-20 and 2-22 of Taniguchi fail to teach a condition defined by 180µm≤Tf≤200µm (instant claims 14-15) being satisfied. However, Taniguchi teaches that packing material 10 is made up of base layer 11, metal foil layer 13, sealant layer 16, adhesive layer 12, treatment layer 14, and adhesive layer 15 [0026-0027]. The thicknesses of the base layer 11 is 20µm-50µm, adhesive layer 12 is 1µm-10µm, metal foil layer 13 is 30µm-60µm, treatment layer 14 is 10nm-5µm, adhesive layer 15 is 5µm-40µm, and sealant layer 16 is 20µm-85µm. Therefore, the thickness range of packing material 10 is 76 µm-250µm. This demonstrates an overlap in ranges taught. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art” a Prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05).
Conclusion
/M.K.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1724 /BRIAN R OHARA/Examiner, Art Unit 1724