CTNF 18/703,134 CTNF 83071 DETAILED ACTION This communication is in response to Application No. 18/703,134 filed on 4/19/2024. The preliminary amendment presented on 4/19/2024, which cancels claims 14-15 and 17 and amends claims 1-13 and 16, is hereby acknowledged. Claims 1-13 and 16 have been examined. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/19/2024, 5/19/2025, and 1/27/2026 is being considered by the examiner. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 1, 13, and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 1, line 7, the phrase “synchronization signal blocks, SSB” should be corrected as –synchronization signal blocks (SSBs)--. Similar correction for all acronyms in claims 1, 13, and 16 is required; and In claim 13, line 2, the phrase “the the user equipment” should be corrected as –the user equipment --. Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 07-04-01 AIA 07-04 35 U.S.C. 101 reads as follows: Whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof, may obtain a patent therefor, subject to the conditions and requirements of this title. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. Claim 16 drawn toward a computer program which is merely software, per se. As such, software, per se does not establish a statutory category of invention. Correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 7-9, 11, 13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong et al. (hereinafter Xiong)(US 2018/0309495) in view of Schenk et al. (hereinafter Schenk)(US 2019/0068270) . Regarding claims 1, 13, and 16, Xiong teaches as follows: A user equipment (interpreted as the UE 102 in figure 1) for performing a beam finding procedure with a serving access network node, wherein the user equipment is configured to during the beam finding procedure evaluates a set of candidate beams based on measurements on a set of evaluation symbols with at least one evaluation symbol per candidate beam (the example procedure 200 continues with operation 206 with the UE 102 detecting beamforming reference signals (BRSs) corresponding to the first Tx beam and the second Tx beam, based on identification of physical cell ID information and timing information processed the above-described synchronization signals (e.g., PSS and SSS). The UE 102 can then select one of the Tx beams that was received with the highest power , based on the BRSs, to obtain the best eNB 104 Tx beam, see, ¶ [0024] and figure 2), the user equipment comprising processing circuitry (the application circuitry 602 may include one or more application processors. For example, the application circuitry may include circuitry such as, but not limited to, one or more single-core or multi-core processors. The processor(s) may include any combination of general-purpose processors and dedicated processors. The processors may be coupled with and/or may include memory/storage and may be configured to execute instructions stored in the memory/storage to enable various applications and/or operating systems to nm on the system, see, ¶ [0046] and figure 6), the processing circuitry being configured to cause the user equipment to: receive, as part of performing the beam finding procedure, at least two synchronization signal blocks (SSBs)(PSS and SSS are part of the SSB), where each SSB is composed of symbols (interpreted as the OFDM symbols) and is received from a respective access network node, one being the serving access network node (six Tx beams (e.g., Tx beam 1, Tx beam 2, Tx beam 3, Tx beam 4, Tx beam 5, and Tx beam 6) can be applied for PSS/SSS. The same Tx beams can be applied on PSS/SSS in two consecutive OFDM symbols (e.g., Tx beam 1 can be applied in symbol 1 and symbol 2 to transmit PSS and SSS1), see, ¶ [0028] and figure 3)(multiple eNBs 104 or TPs can use different beams to transmit PSS/SSS in the same symbols. In other words, the first Tx beam and second Tx beam may be a set of aggregated beams, see, ¶ [0022]), wherein each of the at least two SSBs comprises a primary synchronization signal (PSS) and a secondary synchronization signal (SSS), wherein, in each of the SSBs, the PSS comprises a PSS sequence and the SSS comprises an SSS sequence, and wherein all the SSBs have same PSS sequence but mutually different SSS sequences (Tx beam 1 can be applied in symbol 1 and symbol 2 to transmit PSS and SSS1 and Tx beam 1 can be applied in symbol 3 and symbol 4 to transmit PSS and SSS2 , see, ¶ [0028] and figure 3); and include the symbol in which the PSS of the SSB was received from the serving access network node in the set of evaluation symbols when received power of at least one of the SSS of the SSB received from the serving access network node and the SSS of any SSB not received from the serving access network node fulfils a power relation criterion (using these detected beamforming reference signals (BRSs), the UE 600 can select one of the beams that was received with the highest power, based on the BRSs. The UE 600 can report an identifier of the BRS that was received with the strongest Tx beam, see, ¶ [0044]). Xiong teaches the received power based on the beamforming reference signals not based on the secondary synchronization signal (SSS). Schenk teaches as follows: A UE 502 receiving 4 beams 510, 512, 514 and 516, e.g., 4 relatively wide (90°) beams corresponding to 4 different receive directions, during an initial cell search performed by the UE … The subset of the received beams may be determined/selected based on a reliability metric determined from the processing in prior stages, for example, the processing of received PSS and SSS via the received beams. For example, a subset of received beams to be decoded may be selected based on power measurements on the PSS/SSS signals on the received beams, e.g., by selecting the received beams having strong PSS/SSS as the subset of the received beams for decoding and further processing (see, ¶ [0054] an figure 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiong with Schenk to include the cell search based on power measurements on the PSS/SSS signals as taught by Schenk in order to efficiently select beams having strong signal power. Regarding claim 7, Xiong teaches as follows: Wherein the set of candidate beams is evaluated for finding which candidate beam in the set of candidate beams the user equipment is to use for communication with the serving access network node (the UE 102 can then select one of the Tx beams that was received with the highest power, based on the BRSs, to obtain the best eNB 104 Tx beam, see, ¶ [0024]). Regarding claims 8 and 9, Xiong teaches as follows: Using these detected BRSs, the UE 600 can select one of the beams (e.g., one of Tx beam 1, Tx beam 2, Tx beam 3, Tx beam 4, Tx beam 5 or Tx beam 6)(beam selecting is equivalent to applicant’s beam sweeping) that was received with the highest power, based on the BRSs. The UE 600 can report an identifier of the BRS that was received with the strongest Tx beam (see, ¶ [0044]). Regarding claim 11, Xiong teaches the SSB composed of PSS and SSS as presented above except for PBCH signal. Schenk teaches as follows: Performing the cell search procedure may allow the UE to detect cell timing and a cell identifier (ID) through a primary synchronization signal (PSS)/secondary synchronization signal (SSS) that may be received by the UE during the initial cell search, as well as to decode the master information block (MIB) carried in the physical broadcast channel (PBCH)… The apparatus may be a UE configured to receive a plurality of beams through a plurality of different receive beam directions, each of the beams including broadcast information on a PBCH (see, ¶ [0006]-[0007]). Therefore, it is rejected for similar reason as presented above . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong et al. (hereinafter Xiong)(US 2018/0309495) in view of Schenk et al. (hereinafter Schenk)(US 2019/0068270), and further in view of Taherzadeh Boroujeni et al. (hereinafter Boroujeni)(US 2021/0329692) . Regarding claims 2-3, Xiong in view of Schenk teaches all limitations as presented above except for setting the threshold power value. Boroujeni teaches as follows: UE 115-a may perform a power measurement (e.g., a reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement, a received signal strength indication (RSSI) measurement, a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), a signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR), etc.) on a synchronization signal received from base station 105-a (e.g., SSB, PSS, SSS , SIB, etc.), and if the power measurement satisfies a threshold value (e.g., the power measurement is above or below a threshold value ), UE 115-a may determine to transmit the random access request message 220 for the two or more occasions (see, ¶ [0113]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiong in view of Schenk with Boroujeni to include setting a threshold value for power measurements on the SSS signals as taught by Boroujeni in order to efficiently compare SSS signal power measured from different cells or beams . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong et al. (hereinafter Xiong)(US 2018/0309495) in view of Schenk et al. (hereinafter Schenk)(US 2019/0068270), and further in view of Son (US 2019/0254114) . Regarding claim 4, Xiong in view of Schenk teaches all limitations as presented above except for the threshold power value of PSS power over SSS power. Son teaches as follows: UE camps on the NR cell if a specific condition is fulfilled 5002. The condition includes whether the RSRP of PSS/SSS is above a certain threshold or better than that of the serving cell. Once UE camp on the NR cell, the NR cell becomes UE's serving cell (see, ¶ [0067] and figure 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiong in view of Schenk with Son to include setting a threshold value for the RSRP of PSS/SSS as taught by Son in order to efficiently compare signal power from different cells or beams . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong et al. (hereinafter Xiong)(US 2018/0309495) in view of Schenk et al. (hereinafter Schenk)(US 2019/0068270), and further in view of Ali et al. (hereinafter Ali)(US 2023/0371081) . Regarding claims 5-6, Xiong in view of Schenk teaches all limitations as presented above except for the well-known beamforming gains. Ali teaches as follows: The transmit power may be based on a beamforming gain of a narrow beam relative to a receive beam and/or spatial filter used for receiving the SSB (e.g., the transmit power for the narrow beam may be reduced by the relative beamforming gain factor compared to using a spatial transmission filter that is the same as the spatial receive filter for receiving the SSB)(see, ¶ [0064]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiong in view of Schenk with Ali to include beamforming gain factor as taught by Ali in order to efficiently compensate beams with different beamforming gains . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong et al. (hereinafter Xiong)(US 2018/0309495) in view of Schenk et al. (hereinafter Schenk)(US 2019/0068270), and further in view of Zhao (US 2017/0290054) . Regarding claim 10, Xiong in view of Schenk teaches all limitations as presented above except for obtaining user equipment moving speed information. Zhao teaches as follows: The network device may determine the state of the terminal by detecting whether the movement speed of the terminal is greater than a speed threshold (see, ¶ [0104] and 101 in figure 4); and. when the movement speed of the terminal in the cell is fast, and as a result, the terminal frequently shuttles between multiple cells, the network device determines the state of the terminal according to a magnitude relationship between the movement speed of the terminal and the speed threshold, to adjust the network resource used when the terminal performs communication, thereby avoiding occupation of a large quantity of network bandwidths, and improving information transmission efficiency of a wireless network. (see, ¶ [0112]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiong in view of Schenk with Zhao to include detecting the movement speed of the terminal (UE) and compared to the speed threshold as taught by Zhao in order to improve information transmission efficiency of a wireless network . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong et al. (hereinafter Xiong)(US 2018/0309495) in view of Schenk et al. (hereinafter Schenk)(US 2019/0068270), and further in view of Huang et al. (hereinafter Huang)(US 2022/0052742) . Regarding claim 12, Xiong in view of Schenk teaches all limitations as presented above except for independent beam fining procedure per each antenna panel. Huang teaches as follows: Multi-antenna panel joint transmission of multiple layers is performed on multiple antenna panels in parallel; and each antenna panel corresponds to a set of first indication information, so that the network device selects an independent beamforming beam for each antenna panel , so as to obtain a better beamforming gain and improve performance of uplink transmission (see, ¶ [0086]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiong in view of Schenk with Huang to include the independent beamforming beam for each antenna panel as taught by Huang in order to obtain a better beamforming gain and improve performance of uplink transmission. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Jeong S Park whose telephone number is (571)270-1597. The examiner can normally be reached Monday through Friday 8:00-4:30 ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Glenton B Burgess can be reached at 571-272-3949. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JEONG S PARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2454 March 24, 2026 Application/Control Number: 18/703,134 Page 2 Art Unit: 2454 Application/Control Number: 18/703,134 Page 3 Art Unit: 2454 Application/Control Number: 18/703,134 Page 4 Art Unit: 2454 Application/Control Number: 18/703,134 Page 5 Art Unit: 2454 Application/Control Number: 18/703,134 Page 6 Art Unit: 2454 Application/Control Number: 18/703,134 Page 7 Art Unit: 2454 Application/Control Number: 18/703,134 Page 8 Art Unit: 2454 Application/Control Number: 18/703,134 Page 9 Art Unit: 2454 Application/Control Number: 18/703,134 Page 10 Art Unit: 2454 Application/Control Number: 18/703,134 Page 11 Art Unit: 2454 Application/Control Number: 18/703,134 Page 12 Art Unit: 2454