Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “carrier means” and “coating means” in claim 1, “physical vapor deposition means” in claim 2, and “PVD means” and “magnetron sputter means” in claim 3.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Objections
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the previously presented objections and thus the objections are withdrawn.
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 12, the limitation “equal or lower to a penetration depth” should be amended to read “equal or lower than a penetration depth” to correct grammar.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the previously presented rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and thus the rejections have been withdrawn.
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In line 2 of claim 7, the limitation “the substrates” lacks antecedent basis and thus is indefinite because it is unclear whether claim 1 is intended to require “coating on a substrate” or coating multiple substrates.
In claim 16, the limitation “plasma ARC source” is indefinite because it is unclear whether the capitalized term “ARC” is intended to be an acronym or if the claim is only intended to refer to a plasma arc source.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-9, 13-15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Leroy (US 20240352571 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Leroy (US 20240352571 A1) teaches a method of forming a carbon coating on a substrate S including mounting the substrate on a substrate carrier 50 (carrier means) within a vacuum chamber 10, providing a magnetron sputtering source 30 (coating means comprising at least a first device in the form of a deposition device) positioned adjacent to the carrier 50 and adapted for depositing a carbon based material (selected material), providing a plasma source 40 (second device) for generating argon ions (positive non-reactive ions) to densify the material on the substrate, where the substrate carrier may be rotated past the sputtering source to deposit carbon material and the plasma assist source to densify the deposited material alternatingly and repeatedly (during the operation of the coating means, the selected material is periodically exposed to ion bombardment by positive reactive ions from the second device) such that a coating is formed on the substrate while rotating/revolving the carrier (periodically moving at least one of the carrier means and the coating means relative to each other along a path), wherein a negative bias voltage is applied to the substrate via the substrate carrier to accelerate the positive ions from the plasma source toward the substrate to densify the deposited carbon (effecting an ion bombardment on the selected material deposited on the substrate thereby increasing density of the material deposited) (para 0022, 0069-0074, 0109-0119, 0125, 0154, 0229; Fig. 1-2).
Regarding claim 2, Leroy teaches the coating means is a magnetron sputtering source (PVD means) for performing sputtering (physical vapor deposition) to deposit the coating (para 0109-0110, 0117).
Regarding claim 3, Leroy teaches the PVD means is a magnetron sputtering source (magnetron sputter means) for performing magnetron sputtering to deposit the coating (para 0109-0110, 0117).
Regarding claim 8, Leroy teaches the positive non-reactive ions provided by the plasma source (second device) are argon (ions having larger mass than carbon) (para 0067-0068, 0117).
Regarding claim 9, Leroy teaches the positive non-reactive ions provided by the plasma source (second device) are argon ions (para 0067-0068, 0117).
Regarding claim 13, Leroy teaches the positive non-reactive ions provided by the plasma source (second device) are argon ions (ions of at least one noble gas element including Ar) (para 0067-0068, 0117).
Regarding claim 14, Leroy teaches the positive non-reactive ions provided by the plasma source (second device) are argon ions (Ar+) (para 0067-0068, 0117).
Regarding claim 15, Leroy teaches the sputtering/PVD coating means includes a carbon target made of graphite (para 0050, 0117, 0236).
Regarding claim 17, Leroy teaches the selected material deposited is amorphous diamond like carbon (a-C) that does not contain hydrogen (hydrogen free) (Abstract, para 0025-0027, claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leroy (US 20240352571 A1), as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Papa (US 20130276984 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Leroy teaches the magnetron sputtering may be pulsed (para 0033-0035), thus creating a plurality of pulses. Leroy fails to explicitly teach a maximum power density in each pulse of the plurality of pulses is at least 0.08kW/cm2. However, Papa (US 20130276984 A1), in the analogous art of pulsed sputtering, teaches magnetron sputtering may be performed in a pulsed manner with a (maximum) power density of 212 W/cm2, or 0.212 kW/cm2 (at least 0.08 kW/cm2), where the cathode for sputtering may be graphite (para 0035, 0054, 0059). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the power density of Leroy with the power density of Papa because this is a substitution of known elements yielding predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Alternatively, or in addition, if the power density recited by Papa is not a “maximum” power density, the maximum power density is necessarily greater than or equal to 0.212 kW/cm2 (at least 0.08 kW/cm2).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Leroy and Papa teaches the (maximum) power density is 212 W/cm2, or 0.212 kW/cm2 (at most 0.5 kW/cm2) (Papa para 0035, 0059).
Claim(s) 5-6 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leroy (US 20240352571 A1) in view of Papa (US 20130276984 A1), as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Lin (NPL – “Recent Advances in Modulated Pulsed Power Magnetron Sputtering for Surface Engineering”).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Leroy and Papa teaches the power density is 212 W/cm2, or 0.212 kW/cm2 (at most 0.5 kW/cm2) (Papa para 0035, 0059) but fails to explicitly teach the “maximum” power density is at least 0.08 and at most 0.5 kW/cm2. However, Lin (NPL), in the analogous art of pulsed magnetron sputtering, teaches that modulated pulsed power (MPP) magnetron sputtering can be used as an alternative to HIPIMS to counteract the low deposition rate of HIPIMS, while still increasing the density of the deposited film, wherein the MPP magnetron sputtering uses a peak (maximum) power density of 0.5 to 1.5 kW/cm2 (pg. 49-51, 57; Fig. 1). Papa teaches using HIPIMS for depositing films (para 0028, 0030) and Leroy teaches HIPIMS may be used for deposition (para 0042-0047). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the HIPIMS method of Leroy and Papa with the MPP magnetron sputtering method of Lin, including a maximum power density of 0.5 to 1.5 kW/cm2 in order to improve the deposition rate and thus production throughput because this is a substitution of known elements yielding predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The combination of Leroy, Papa, and Lin teaches a peak/maximum power density of 0.5 to 1.5 kW/cm2 but fails to explicitly teach the peak power density is at most 0.5 kW/cm2. However, one would have expected the use of any value within the Lin range to have yielded similar results. Absent any showing of criticality, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used any values within 0.5 to 1.5 kW/cm2, including values within the claimed range, with a reasonable expectation of success and with predictable results. Please see MPEP 2144.05 (I) for further details.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Leroy, Papa, and Lin teaches the duty cycle of MPP (at least one pulse) is 10-28% (above 10%) (Lin pg. 49; Fig. 1).
Alternatively, the aforementioned combination fails to explicitly teach the duty cycle is above 10%. However, one would have expected the use of any value within the Lin range to have yielded similar results. Absent any showing of criticality, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used any values within 10% to 28%, including values within the claimed range, with a reasonable expectation of success and with predictable results. Please see MPEP 2144.05 (I) for further details.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Leroy, Papa, and Lin teaches the duty cycle of each pulse ranges from 10% to 28% (Lin pg. 49; Fig. 1) and therefore the average duty cycle is necessarily above 10%.
Alternatively, the aforementioned combination fails to explicitly teach the average duty cycle is above 10%. However, one would have expected the use of any value within the Lin range to have yielded similar results. Absent any showing of criticality, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used any values within 10% to 28%, including values within the claimed range, with a reasonable expectation of success and with predictable results. Please see MPEP 2144.05 (I) for further details.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Leroy, Papa, and Lin teaches the duty cycle of each pulse ranges from 10% to 28% (Lin pg. 49; Fig. 1) and therefore the duty cycle of each pulse is at or above 10%.
Alternatively, the aforementioned combination fails to explicitly teach the duty cycle of each pulse is above 10%. However, one would have expected the use of any value within the Lin range to have yielded similar results. Absent any showing of criticality, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used any values within 10% to 28%, including values within the claimed range, with a reasonable expectation of success and with predictable results. Please see MPEP 2144.05 (I) for further details.
Claim(s) 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leroy (US 20240352571 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gorokhovsky (US 20140076715 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Leroy teaches the second device is a plasma source 40 and that the substrate may be cleaned prior to deposition (a step of pre-cleaning the substrates prior to coating deposition) (para 0110-0112, 0149; Fig. 1-2) but fails to explicitly teach the step of pre-cleaning the substrate is performed using the second device. However, Gorokhovsky (US 20140076715 A1), in the analogous art of deposition, teaches that a RAAD plasma may be used for ion cleaning a substrate as well as densifying a coated film (para 0110-0113, 0118). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the plasma source of Leroy to clean the substrate before deposition in addition to densifying the coated film, as described by Gorokhovsky, in order to reduce contamination of the substrate/coating.
Regarding claim 16, Leroy teaches the second device is a plasma source that may be of any suitable type (para 0112) but fails to explicitly teach the second device is a plasma ARC source. However, Gorokhovsky (US 20140076715 A1), in the analogous art of deposition, teaches that a coating can be densified by ion bombardment from ions generated from an RAAD (remote anode arc discharge) plasma (para 0085, 0110-0113). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the plasma source of Leroy with a remote anode arc plasma source, as described by Gorokhovsky, because this is a substitution of known elements yielding predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leroy (US 20240352571 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nastasi (US 5817326 A) and Liu (US 20200111659 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Leroy teaches a movement of the substrate carrier relative to the coating means is by rotation of the carrier, where the rotation comprises passes in front of the sputtering source (coating means) (para 0069-0073, 0125-0127; Fig. 1-2). Leroy fails to explicitly teach a thickness of the selected material during one passage in front of the coating means is equal or lower than a penetration depth of the positive non-reactive ions provided by the second device. However, Nastasi (US 5817326 A), in the analogous art of densification by ions, teaches that the thickness of the layer to be densified is selected such that the ions can penetrate the entire layer and travel into the support (thickness is equal or lower than a penetration depth) (col 3 line 1-12). Additionally, Liu (US 20200111659 A1), in the analogous art of ion bombardment, teaches that the bias power of the substrate may be controlled to allow treatment of thicker films by increasing the penetration depth of the ions (para 0023, 0039, 0045, ). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to control the thickness of a single pass and bias power of the Leroy process such that the thickness is less than a penetration depth of the ions in order to ensure the entire thickness is densified.
Alternatively, Leroy teaches that the thickness of the deposited carbon layer may be adjusted to optimize the physical properties of the deposited layer (para 0163-0164), thus recognizing the thickness of the deposited carbon layer as a result-effective variable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the optimum or workable ranges of thickness for each deposition/pass by routine optimization, which can include a thickness equal or lower than a penetration depth of the positive non-reactive ions. See MPEP 2144.05(II).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 5-6, filed 1/22/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Leroy (US 20240352571 A1).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK S OTT/Examiner, Art Unit 1794