CTNF 18/703,457 CTNF 91083 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. The applicant filed preliminary amendment in 04/22/2024 and claims 23-44 are pending in the application, including independent claims 23 and 34. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/01/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Objections Claims 23-27, 33-38 and 38 are objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 23, lines 1, the occurrence of "wireless device, WD," should be "--- wireless device (WD) ----" In claim 23, lines 3-4, the occurrence of "discontinued reception cycle, DRX," should be "--- discontinued reception cycle (DRX) ----" In claim 23, lines 4, the occurrence of "extended discontinued reception cycle, DRX," should be "--- extended discontinued reception cycle (eDRX) ----" In claim 23, lines 6, the occurrence of "second cell, Cell2," should be "--- second cell (Cell2) ----" In claim 23, lines 7-8, the occurrence of "first cell, Cell1," should be "--- first cell (Cell1) ----" In claim 24, lines 3-5, the occurrence of "Cell1," should be "--- the Cell1 ----" In claim 25, lines 2, the occurrence of "Cell1," should be "--- the Cell1 ----" In claim 25, lines 3, the occurrence of "number of cycles, Nserv," should be "--- number of cycles (Nserv) ----" In claim 26, lines 5, the occurrence of "frequency range, FR" should be "--- frequency range (FR) ----" In claim 27, lines 3, the occurrence of "paging time window, PTW" should be "--- paging time window (PTW) ----" In claim 33, lines 3, the occurrence of "first cell, Cell1," should be "--- first cell (Cell1) ----" In claim 33, lines 4, the occurrence of "second cell, Cell2," should be "--- second cell (Cell2) ----" In claim 33, lines 5, the occurrence of "Public Land Mobile Network, PLMN," should be "--- Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) ----" In claim 33, lines 6 the occurrence of "reduced capability, RedCap," should be "--- reduced capability (RedCap) ----" In claim 34, lines 1, the occurrence of "wireless device, WD," should be "--- wireless device (WD) ----" In claim 34, lines 4, the occurrence of "discontinued reception cycle, DRX," should be "--- discontinued reception cycle (DRX) ----" In claim 34, lines 4, the occurrence of "extended discontinued reception cycle, DRX," should be "--- extended discontinued reception cycle (eDRX) ----" In claim 34, lines 6, the occurrence of "second cell, Cell2," should be "--- second cell (Cell2) ----" In claim 34, lines 8, the occurrence of "first cell, Cell1," should be "--- first cell (Cell1) ----" In claim 35, lines 3-5, the occurrence of "Cell1," should be "--- the Cell1 ----" In claim 36, lines 2, the occurrence of "Cell1," should be "--- the Cell1 ----" In claim 36, lines 3, the occurrence of "number of cycles, Nserv," should be "--- number of cycles (Nserv) ----" In claim 37, lines 5, the occurrence of "frequency range, FR" should be "--- frequency range (FR) ----" In claim 38, lines 3, the occurrence of "paging time window, PTW" should be "--- paging time window (PTW) ----" In claim 44, lines 3, the occurrence of "first cell, Cell1," should be "--- first cell (Cell1) ----" In claim 44, lines 4, the occurrence of "second cell, Cell2," should be "--- second cell (Cell2) ----" In claim 44, lines 5, the occurrence of "Public Land Mobile Network, PLMN," should be "--- Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) ----" In claim 44, lines 6 the occurrence of "reduced capability, RedCap," should be "--- reduced capability (RedCap) ----" Appropriate corrections are required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 23-26, 28, 30-37, 39 and 41-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siomina et al. [hereinafter as Siomina], WO 2017/134561 A1 in view of Kim et al. [hereinafter as Kim], US 2022/0377631 A1 . Regarding claim 23 , Siomina discloses wherein a wireless device, WD, configured to communicate with a network node, the WD being configurable to operate in a discontinued reception mode, the discontinued reception mode comprising at least one of a discontinued reception cycle, DRX, and an extended discontinued reception cycle, eDRX (Fig.1&6-7 [0005][0008][0016][0123], UE/wireless device configured to communicate with eNB/network node, the UE/wireless device is configurable to operate in a DRX mode/discontinued reception mode, the discontinued reception mode comprising a DRX cycle/discontinued reception cycle and an eDRX/extended discontinued reception cycle) , the WD comprising processing circuitry configured to (Fig.8 [0093], the UE/wireless device comprising processing circuitry in the procession module 20) : perform a second measurement associated with at least one second cell, Cell2, associated with the network node if the WD does not meet a cell selection criterion for a first cell, Cell1 (Fig.6-7 [0136] section 4.2.2.1 Measurement and evaluation of serving cell lines 1-13, the UE/wireless device is performing the measurements i.e., a second measurement of at least all neighbor cells/associated with at least one second cell Cell2 associated with the eNB/network node if the UE/wireless device does not fulfill i.e., not meet the cell selection criterion S for the serving cell/a first cell Cell1) ; and perform a cell selection procedure for a network if the WD has not found at least one suitable cell based on the performed second measurement within a second time period (Fig.6-7&11 [0136] section 4.1 Cell selection process, section 4.2.1 Cell re-selection procedure, section 4.2.2.1 Measurement and evaluation of serving cell lines 14-20, the UE/wireless device is performing cell selection procedures for a network e.g., PLMN if the UE/wireless device has not found any new suitable cell based on the performed measurements i.e., second measurement during a PTW2 i.e., second time period for strongest cell; [0114] and Fig.6-7&10 [0113][0117], performing the cell selection procedures e.g., strongest cell/Cell2 based on the performed measurements/second measurement during the PTW2 second period) . However, Siomina does not explicitly disclose wherein the second time period, being based at least in part on a scaling factor. In the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches wherein the second time period, being based at least in part on a scaling factor (Fig.16 [0258], the second time duration period is based on a scaling factor and Fig.12 [0215]-[0216], wireless device is performing a measurement configuration by applying a scaling factor) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Siomina to incorporate the teaching of Kim in order to provide for achieving reliability and simplifying the management. It would have been beneficial to use the second time duration period which is based on a scaling factor and, wireless device is performing e.g., receiving/obtaining a measurement configuration by applying a scaling factor as taught by Kim to have incorporated in the system of Siomina to provide for improving service quality and expanding and improving coverage and system capacity. (Kim, Fig.1 [0002], Fig.12 [0215]-[0216] and Fig.16 [0258]). Regarding claim 24 , Siomina and Kim disclosed all the elements of claim 23 as stated above wherein Siomina further discloses the processing circuitry is further configured to: perform a first measurement on Cell1 (Fig.6-7 [0043]-[0044], the processing circuitry of the UE wireless communication device is performing a first measurement on the at least one serving cell/Cell 1 and Fig.6-7& [0114], performing measurements/first measurement on the serving cell/Cell 1 during PTW1) ; and evaluate whether the WD meets the cell selection criterion for Cell1 based on the first measurement performed on Cell1 within a first time period (Fig.6-7 [0136] section 4.2.2.1 Measurement and evaluation of serving cell lines 1-13, the UE/wireless device is evaluating whether the UE/wireless device fullfils/meets the cell selection criterion S for the serving cell/Cell1 and Fig.6-7 [0043], the first measurement performed on the at least one serving cell/Cell 1 within the first PTW first time period) . Regarding claim 25 , Siomina and Kim disclosed all the elements of claim 24 as stated above wherein Siomina further discloses the performing of the first measurement on Cell1 includes determining at least a measurement requirement is within a number of cycles, Nserv, of the discontinued reception mode (Fig.6-7 [0136] section 4.2.2.1 Measurement and evaluation of serving cell lines 1-13, the performing of the first measurement on Cell1 includes determining a measurement rules/requirement is within a number of cycles, Nserv, of the DRX/discontinued reception mode) . Regarding claim 26 , Siomina and Kim disclosed all the elements of claim 23 as stated above wherein Siomina further discloses the second time period is further based on at least one of: a length of the DRX (Fig.6-7 [0099], the length of DRX1 and DRX2) ; a length of the eDRX (Fig.6-7 [0127], the eDRX cycle length) ; and a frequency range, FR. Regarding claim 28 , Siomina and Kim disclosed all the elements of claim 23 as stated above wherein Siomina further discloses the scaling factor comprises at least one of: a beam sweeping factor; another factor based on a length of the DRX and a reference signal periodicity (Fig.6-7 [0074], extended DRX (eDRX) periodicity) ; and a power class of the WD (Fig.1&6-7 [0034], a power class of the UE/wireless device between 20-38 dBm) . Regarding claim 30 , Siomina and Kim disclosed all the elements of claim 23 as stated above wherein Siomina further discloses the performing of the cell selection procedure includes: scanning at least a communication channel in a frequency band to determine whether the at least one suitable cell has been found based on at least the performed second measurement, the at least one suitable cell meeting at least one cell selection condition (Fig.6-7 [0136] section 4.1 Cell selection process, section 4.2.1 Cell re-selection procedure, section 4.2.1 Cell Re-selection lines 1-4 and section 4.2.2.1 Measurement and evaluation of serving cell lines 1-13, the UE/wireless device is searching/scanning at least a communication channel in an intra-frequency and inter-frequency band to detect/ determine whether the suitable cell has been found based on at least the performed measurements/second measurement, and Fig.6-7 [0136] section 4.2.2.5.4 Measurements of HRPD cells cell lines 1-10, the suitable cell fulfilling/meeting at least one cell selection condition) . Regarding claim 31 , Siomina and Kim disclosed all the elements of claim 23 as stated above wherein Siomina further discloses the performing of the cell selection procedure for the network includes: determining that the at least one cell is not the at least one suitable cell based at least in part on a cell search and the second measurement (Fig.6- 7 [0136] section 4.1 Cell selection process, section 4.2.1 Cell re-selection procedure, section 4.2.2.1 Measurement and evaluation of serving cell lines 1-13, determining that the neighbor cells is not the suitable cell based at least in part on a cell search and the measurements i.e., second measurement) . Regarding claim 32 , Siomina and Kim disclosed all the elements of claim 23 as stated above wherein Siomina further discloses the processing circuitry is further configured to at least one of perform the second measurement and perform the cell selection procedure based on a configuration received from the network node (Fig.6-7 [0136] section 4.1 Cell selection process, section 4.2.1 Cell re-selection procedure, section 4.2.2.1 Measurement and evaluation of serving cell lines 1-13, performing the measurements/second measurement and performing the cell selection procedure based on a request or configuration received from the network node e.g., a radio access node 14 of a serving cell: Fig.6-7 [0114]) . Regarding claim 33 , Siomina and Kim disclosed all the elements of claim 23 as stated above wherein Siomina further discloses at least one of: the first cell, Cell1, is a serving cell (Fig.6-7 [0043]-[0044], the first cell is a serving cell/Cell 1 and Fig.6-7& [0114]) ; the at least one second cell, Cell2, is a neighbor cell (Fig.6-7 [0045]-[0050], the second cell is a neighbor cell/Cell 2 and Fig.6-7& [0117]) ; the network is a Public Land Mobile Network, PLMN (Fig.6-7 [0136] section 4.1 Cell Selection lines 1-5, the network is a Public Land Mobile Network) ; and the WD is a reduced capability, RedCap, device. Regarding claim 34 , Siomina discloses wherein a method in a wireless device, WD, configured to communicate with a network node, the WD being configurable to operate in a discontinued reception mode, the discontinued reception mode comprising at least one of a discontinued reception cycle, DRX, and an extended discontinued reception cycle, eDRX (Fig.1&6-7 [0005][0008][0016][0123], a method in a UE/wireless device configured to communicate with eNB/network node, the UE/wireless device is configurable to operate in a DRX mode/discontinued reception mode, the discontinued reception mode comprising a DRX cycle/discontinued reception cycle and an eDRX/extended discontinued reception cycle) , the method comprising: performing a second measurement associated with at least one second cell, Cell2, associated with the network node if the WD does not meet a cell selection criterion for a first cell, Cell 1 (Fig.6-7 [0136] section 4.2.2.1 Measurement and evaluation of serving cell lines 1-13, the UE/wireless device is performing the measurements i.e., a second measurement of at least all neighbor cells/associated with at least one second cell Cell2 associated with the eNB/network node if the UE/wireless device does not fulfill i.e., not meet the cell selection criterion S for the serving cell/a first cell Cell1) ; and performing a cell selection procedure for a network if the WD has not found at least one suitable cell based on the performed second measurement within a second time period (Fig.6-7&11 [0136] section 4.1 Cell selection process, section 4.2.1 Cell re-selection procedure, section 4.2.2.1 Measurement and evaluation of serving cell lines 14-20, the UE/wireless device is performing cell selection procedures for a network e.g., PLMN if the UE/wireless device has not found any new suitable cell based on the performed measurements i.e., second measurement during the PTW2 i.e., second time period for e.g., strongest cell; [0114] and Fig.6-7&10 [0113][0117], performing the cell selection procedures e.g., strongest cell/Cell2 based on the performed measurements/second measurement during the PTW2 second period) . However, Siomina does not explicitly disclose wherein the second time period, being based at least in part on a scaling factor. In the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches wherein the second time period, being based at least in part on a scaling factor (Fig.16 [0258], the second time duration period is based on a scaling factor and Fig.12 [0215]-[0216], wireless device is performing e.g., receiving/obtaining a measurement configuration by applying a scaling factor) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Siomina to incorporate the teaching of Kim in order to provide for achieving reliability and simplifying the management. It would have been beneficial to use the second time duration period which is based on a scaling factor and, wireless device is performing e.g., receiving/obtaining a measurement configuration by applying a scaling factor as taught by Kim to have incorporated in the system of Siomina to provide for improving service quality and expanding and improving coverage and system capacity. (Kim, Fig.1 [0002], Fig.12 [0215]-[0216] and Fig.16 [0258]). Regarding claim 35 , Siomina and Kim disclosed all the elements of claim 34 as stated above wherein Siomina further discloses the method comprises: performing a first measurement on Cell1 (Fig.6-7 [0043]-[0044], the processing circuitry of the UE wireless communication device is performing a first measurement on the at least one serving cell/Cell 1 and Fig.6-7& [0114], performing measurements/first measurement on the serving cell/Cell 1 during PTW1) ; and evaluating whether the WD meets the cell selection criterion for Cell1 based on the first measurement performed on Cell1 within a first time period (Fig.6-7 [0136] section 4.2.2.1 Measurement and evaluation of serving cell lines 1-13, the UE/wireless device is evaluating whether the UE/wireless device fulfils/meets the cell selection criterion S for the serving cell/Cell1 and Fig.6-7 [0043], the first measurement performed on the at least one serving cell/Cell 1 within the first PTW first time period) . Regarding claim 36 , Siomina and Kim disclosed all the elements of claim 35 as stated above wherein Siomina further discloses the performing of the first measurement on Cell1 includes determining at least a measurement requirement is within a number of cycles, Nserv, of the discontinued reception mode (Fig.6-7 [0136] section 4.2.2.1 Measurement and evaluation of serving cell lines 1-13, the performing of the first measurement on Cell1 includes determining a measurement rules/requirement is within a number of cycles, Nserv, of the DRX/discontinued reception mode) . Regarding claim 37 , Siomina and Kim disclosed all the elements of claim 34 as stated above wherein Siomina further discloses the second time period is further based on at least one of: a length of the DRX (Fig.6-7 [0099], the length of DRX1 and DRX2) ; a length of the eDRX (Fig.6-7 [0127], the eDRX cycle length) ; and a frequency range, FR. Regarding claim 39 , Siomina and Kim disclosed all the elements of claim 34 as stated above wherein Siomina further discloses the scaling factor comprises at least one of: a beam sweeping factor; another factor based on a length of the DRX and a reference signal periodicity (Fig.6-7 [0074], extended DRX (eDRX) periodicity) ; and a power class of the WD (Fig.1&6-7 [0034], a power class of the UE/wireless device between 20-38 dBm) . Regarding claim 41 , Siomina and Kim disclosed all the elements of claim 34 as stated above wherein Siomina further discloses the performing of the cell selection procedure includes: scanning at least a communication channel in a frequency band to determine whether the at least one suitable cell has been found based on at least the performed second measurement, the at least one suitable cell meeting at least one cell selection condition (Fig.6-7 [0136] section 4.1 Cell selection process, section 4.2.1 Cell re-selection procedure, and section 4.2.2.1 Measurement and evaluation of serving cell lines 1-13, the UE/wireless device is searching/scanning at least a communication channel in an intra-frequency and inter-frequency band to detect/determine whether the suitable cell has been found based on at least the performed measurements/second measurement, and Fig.6-7 [0136] section 4.2.2.5.4 Measurements of HRPD cells cell lines 1-10, the suitable cell fulfilling/meeting at least one cell selection condition) . Regarding claim 42 , Siomina and Kim disclosed all the elements of claim 34 as stated above wherein Siomina further discloses the performing of the cell selection procedure for the network includes: determining that the at least one cell is not the at least one suitable cell based at least in part on a cell search and the second measurement (Fig.6-7 [0136] section 4.1 Cell selection process, section 4.2.1 Cell re-selection procedure, section 4.2.2.1 Measurement and evaluation of serving cell lines 1-13, determining that the neighbor cells is not the suitable cell based at least in part on a cell search and the measurements i.e., second measurement) . Regarding claim 43 , Siomina and Kim disclosed all the elements of claim 34 as stated above wherein Siomina further discloses the method further includes at least one of perform the second measurement and performing the cell selection procedure based on a configuration received from the network node (Fig.6-7 [0136] section 4.1 Cell selection process, section 4.2.1 Cell re-selection procedure, section 4.2.2.1 Measurement and evaluation of serving cell lines 1-13, performing the measurements/ second measurement and performing the cell selection procedure based on a request or configuration received from the network node e.g., a radio access node 14 of a serving cell: Fig.6-7 [0114]) . Regarding claim 44 , Siomina and Kim disclosed all the elements of claim 34 as stated above wherein Siomina further discloses at least one of: the first cell, Cell1, is a serving cell (Fig.6-7 [0043]-[0044], the first cell is a serving cell/Cell 1 and Fig.6-7& [0114]) ; the at least one second cell, Cell2, is a neighbor cell (Fig.6-7 [0045]-[0050], the second cell is a neighbor cell/Cell 2 and Fig.6-7& [0117]) ; the network is a Public Land Mobile Network, PLMN (Fig.6-7 [0136] section 4.1 Cell Selection lines 1-5, the network is a Public Land Mobile Network) ; and the WD is a reduced capability, RedCap, device . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 27 and 38 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Miklos et al. (Pub. No.: US 2015/0109979 A1) teaches Telecommunication Systems with Discontinuous Reception. Lee et al. (U.S Patent No.: US 11356912 B2) teaches Method and Apparatus for Measurement Handling in Wireless Communication System. Johansson et al. (Pub. No.: US 2018/0332532 A1) teaches Power Consumption Enhancements for Less Mobile UEs. Sha et al. (U.S Patent No.: US 12041549 B2) teaches Terminal Energy-Saving Method, Base Station, Terminal, Terminal Energy-Saving System and Computer-Readable Storage Medium. Li (Pub. No.: US 2023/0269819 A1) teaches Method for Determining Extended Discontinuous Reception Parameter, Communication Device and Storage Medium. Niu et al. (Pub. No.: US 2024/0064858 A1) teaches Method, Device, System for Cell Measurement in Wireless Networks. Palenius et al. (Pub. No.: US 2019/0069192 A1) teaches Measuring Multiple Carriers Under Discontinuous Activity. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to VANNEILIAN LALCHINTHANG whose telephone number is (571)272-6859. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 10AM-6PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Edan Orgad can be reached at (571) 272-7884. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /V.L/Examiner, Art Unit 2414 /EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414 Application/Control Number: 18/703,457 Page 2 Art Unit: 2414 Application/Control Number: 18/703,457 Page 3 Art Unit: 2414 Application/Control Number: 18/703,457 Page 4 Art Unit: 2414 Application/Control Number: 18/703,457 Page 5 Art Unit: 2414 Application/Control Number: 18/703,457 Page 6 Art Unit: 2414 Application/Control Number: 18/703,457 Page 7 Art Unit: 2414 Application/Control Number: 18/703,457 Page 8 Art Unit: 2414 Application/Control Number: 18/703,457 Page 9 Art Unit: 2414 Application/Control Number: 18/703,457 Page 10 Art Unit: 2414 Application/Control Number: 18/703,457 Page 11 Art Unit: 2414 Application/Control Number: 18/703,457 Page 12 Art Unit: 2414 Application/Control Number: 18/703,457 Page 13 Art Unit: 2414 Application/Control Number: 18/703,457 Page 14 Art Unit: 2414 Application/Control Number: 18/703,457 Page 15 Art Unit: 2414 Application/Control Number: 18/703,457 Page 16 Art Unit: 2414 Application/Control Number: 18/703,457 Page 18 Art Unit: 2414