DETAILED ACTION
Email Communication
Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502, 502.05.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 4/22/2024 has been fully considered and is attached hereto.
Claim Objections
Claim 4-6, 9-14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 4-6 recite, “in the surface” which appears to be incorrect. It appears these instances should be changed to read, “on the surface”.
Claim 9 recites, “in a surface” which appears to be incorrect. It appears these instances should be changed to read, “on a surface”.
Claim 12 recites, “the metal thin film” and “in the surface” both of which appear to be incorrect. It appears they should be changed to read, “a metal thin film” and “on the surface”.
Claim 13 recites, “the resist” and “in the surface” both of which appear to be incorrect. It appears they should be changed to read, “a resist” and “on the surface”.
Claim 14 recites, “in the surface” appears to be incorrect. It appears it should be changed to read, “on the surface”.
Claims 10-11 are objected to since they depend from claim 9 and inherit the deficiency therein.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites, “wherein an area of the printed circuit board on which the electronic component is mounted has a distance-increasing structure being predetermined and increasing a distance between the electronic component and the printed circuit board compared to when the electronic component is mounted on another area” (emphasis added) which is unclear. The drawings fail to show such a comparison and the written description fails to describe such a comparison making the limitation open-ended and difficult to understand.
For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be considered to recite, “wherein an area of the printed circuit board on which the electronic component is mounted has a distance-increasing structure being predetermined and increasing a distance between the electronic component and the printed circuit board”.
Claim 9 recites, “wherein an area on which the electronic component is mounted in a surface on which the electronic component is mounted has a distance-increasing structure being predetermined and increasing a distance between a bottom surface of the electronic component and the printed circuit board compared to when the electronic component is mounted on another area” (emphasis added) which is unclear. The drawings fail to show such a comparison and the written description fails to describe such a comparison making the limitation open-ended and difficult to understand.
Claims 2-8, 10-14 are rejected since they depend from claims 1 and 9 and inherit the deficiency therein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9, 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fukuzumi et al. (US 10,070,529 – hereinafter, “Fukuzumi”).
With respect to claim 9, Fukuzumi teaches (In Fig 4) a printed circuit board (20a) on which an electronic component (10a) is mountable, wherein an area on which the electronic component is mounted on a surface on which the electronic component is mounted has a distance-increasing structure (Lack of 24a, 24b, 26a, 26b on certain parts of the surface of 20a) being predetermined and increasing a distance between a bottom surface of the electronic component (10a) and the printed circuit board (20a, see Fig 4).
With respect to claim 12, Fukuzumi further teaches that the distance-increasing structure is a structure in which a metal thin film (26a, 26b) is not formed on at least part of an area to be a projection surface of the electronic component on the surface of the printed circuit board (See Fig 4, there is no metal thin film (26a, 26b) on a surface of the PCB (20a) where there is a projection of the component on the PCB).
With respect to claim 13, Fukuzumi further teaches that the distance-increasing structure is a structure in which a resist (24a, 24b) is not formed on at least part of an area to be a projection surface of the electronic component on the surface of the printed circuit board (See Fig 4, there is no resist (24a, 24b) on a surface of the PCB (20a) where there is a projection of the component on the PCB).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nagata (JP 08162726 – cited on the IDS filed 4/22/2024).
With respect to claim 14, Nagata teaches (In Fig 3) a printed circuit board (1) on which an electronic component (3) is mountable, wherein an area on which the electronic component is mounted on a surface on which the electronic component is mounted has a distance-increasing structure being predetermined and increasing a distance between a bottom surface of the electronic component and the printed circuit board, wherein the distance-increasing structure is a structure in which a recessed portion is formed on at least part of a projection surface of the electronic component on the surface of the printed circuit board (See Fig 3, there is an indent (2) in the PCB (1) in a projection of 3 on the PCB).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 4-5, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuzumi in view of Hasegawa et al. (US 11,444,010 – hereinafter, “Hasegawa”).
With respect to claims 1 and 8, Fukuzumi teaches (In Fig 4) a mounting board comprising: an electronic component (10A); a printed circuit board (20A) on which the electronic component is mounted and with a metal thin film (26a, 26b) and/or a resist (24a, 24b) formed on part of a surface of the printed circuit board (See Fig 4); wherein an area of the printed circuit board (20A) on which the electronic component is mounted has a distance-increasing structure (Lack of 24a, 24b, 26a, 26b) being predetermined and increasing a distance between the electronic component (10a) and the printed circuit board (20a, see Fig 4).
Fukuzumi fails to specifically teach or suggest that the electronic component includes an electronic element and a package surrounding the electronic element, and a heat dissipation component having heat dissipation properties and against which the electronic component is pressed with a bonding material sandwiched between the heat dissipation component and the electronic component, and that the mounting board is part of an electric apparatus configured to perform power conversion of power supplied from a power supply.
Hasegawa, however, teaches (In Fig 27) an electronic component (PKG) includes an electronic element (CPH) and a package (MR) surrounding the electronic element (See Fig 27), and a heat dissipation component (HS) having heat dissipation properties and against which the electronic component is pressed with a bonding material (BD11) sandwiched between the heat dissipation component and the electronic component (See Fig 27), wherein a mounting board (PB1) is part of an electric apparatus (inverter, see Fig 1) configured to perform power conversion of power supplied from a power supply.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hasegawa with that of Fukuzumi, such that in Fukuzumi the electronic component includes an electronic element and a package surrounding the electronic element, and a heat dissipation component having heat dissipation properties and against which the electronic component is pressed with a bonding material sandwiched between the heat dissipation component and the electronic component, wherein a mounting board is part of an electric apparatus configured to perform power conversion of power supplied from a power supply, as taught by Hasegawa, since doing so would provide heat dissipation to the electronic component of Fukuzumi thus preventing breakdown and extending the life of the component of Fukuzumi.
With respect to claim 4, Fukuzumi further teaches that the distance-increasing structure is a structure in which the metal thin film is not formed on at least part of an area to be a projection surface of the electronic component on the surface of the printed circuit board (See Fig 4, there is no metal thin film (26a, 26b) on a surface of the PCB (20a) where there is a projection of the component on the PCB).
With respect to claim 5, Fukuzumi further teaches that the distance-increasing structure is a structure in which a resist (24a, 24b) is not formed on at least part of an area to be a projection surface of the electronic component on the surface of the printed circuit board (See Fig 4, there is no resist (24a, 24b) on a surface of the PCB (20a) where there is a projection of the component on the PCB).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuzumi in view of Hasegawa and further in view of Oyama (JP H1041426).
With respect to claim 2, Fukuzumi as modified by Hasegawa teaches the limitations of claim 1 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest wherein a distance between the electronic component and the printed circuit board increased by the distance-increasing structure is in a range of from 0.2 mm to 1.0 mm.
Oyama, however, teaches wherein a distance between an electronic component and a printed circuit board is in a range of from 0.2 mm to 1.0 mm (“the distance between the ball grid array package 1 and the printed wiring board 5 is about 0.85 mm”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Oyama with that of Fukuzumi, such that, in Fukuzumi a distance between the electronic component and the printed circuit board increased by the distance-increasing structure is in a range of from 0.2 mm to 1.0 mm, as taught by Oyama, since doing so would allow for the component to be far enough to avoid being damaged by the board while keeping the overall height of the apparatus to a minimum.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuzumi in view of Hasegawa and further in view of Dohi et al. (US 2015/0333096 – hereinafter, “Dohi”).
With respect to claim 3, Fukuzumi as modified by Hasegawa teaches the limitations of claim 1 as per above and Fukuzumi further teaches the electronic component includes a lead (12b) connected to an external circuit as a terminal, the printed circuit board (20a) further comprising: a first electrode (22b) formed on the surface of the printed circuit board and to which one end of the lead (12b) is electrically connected (See Fig 4); and a second electrode (22a) formed on the surface of the printed circuit board and to which a terminal other than the lead (12a) is electrically connected (See Fig 4).
Fukuzumi fails to specifically teach or suggest wherein the distance-increasing structure is a structure in which a thickness of the first electrode is thicker than a thickness of the second electrode.
Dohi teaches a thickness of a first electrode is thicker than a thickness of a second electrode (¶ 0074, “Specifically, the first electrode is formed thicker than the second electrode”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dohi with that of Fukuzumi such that, in Fukuzumi the distance-increasing structure is a structure in which a thickness of the first electrode is thicker than a thickness of the second electrode, as taught by Dohi, since doing so would reduce the amount of solder needed for one of the two electrodes (If electrode (22b) of Fukuzumi is thicker, then less solder (31b) is necessary).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuzumi in view of Hasegawa and further in view of Nagata.
With respect to claim 6, Fukuzumi as modified by Hasegawa teaches the limitations of claim 1 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest wherein the distance-increasing structure is a structure in which a recessed portion is formed on at least part of a projection surface of the electronic component on the surface of the printed circuit board.
Nagata, however, teaches (In Fig 3) wherein a distance-increasing structure is a structure in which a recessed portion (2) is formed on at least part of a projection surface of an electronic component (3) on the surface of the printed circuit board (1, see Fig 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Nagata with that of Fukuzumi such that, in Fukuzumi the distance-increasing structure is a structure in which a recessed portion is formed on at least part of a projection surface of the electronic component on the surface of the printed circuit board, as taught by Nagata, since doing so would allow for the electronic component to be a distance from the surface of the circuit board without increasing the distance from the bottom of the circuit board to the top of the component. Further, creating a notch in the circuit board will reduce the weight of the mounting board.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuzumi in view of Hasegawa and further in view of Yamanaka (US 7,872,868).
With respect to claim 7, Fukuzumi as modified by Hasegawa teaches the limitations of claim 1 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest wherein the printed circuit board has multiple screw holes for enabling screwing, and is connectable to the heat dissipation component by passing screws through the multiple screw holes.
Yamanaka, however, teaches (In Fig 2) wherein a printed circuit board (4a) has multiple screw holes (One for each screw 1) for enabling screwing (Via screws 1), and is connectable to a heat dissipation component (5b) by passing screws through the multiple screw holes (See Fig 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yamanaka with that of modified Fukuzumi such that in modified Fukuzumi the printed circuit board has multiple screw holes for enabling screwing, and is connectable to the heat dissipation component by passing screws through the multiple screw holes, as taught by Yamanaka, since doing so would further secure the heat dissipation component to the electronic component thus assuring that the two do not become separated during movement.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuzumi in view of Oyama.
With respect to claim 10, Fukuzumi teaches the limitations of claim 9 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest wherein a distance between the electronic component and the printed circuit board increased by the distance-increasing structure is in a range of from 0.2 mm to 1.0 mm.
Oyama, however, teaches wherein a distance between an electronic component and a printed circuit board is in a range of from 0.2 mm to 1.0 mm (“the distance between the ball grid array package 1 and the printed wiring board 5 is about 0.85 mm”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Oyama with that of Fukuzumi, such that, in Fukuzumi a distance between the electronic component and the printed circuit board increased by the distance-increasing structure is in a range of from 0.2 mm to 1.0 mm, as taught by Oyama, since doing so would allow for the component to be far enough to avoid being damaged by the board while keeping the overall height of the apparatus to a minimum.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuzumi in view of Dohi.
With respect to claim 11, Fukuzumi teaches the limitations of claim 9 as per above and further teaches the electronic component includes a lead (12b) connected to an external circuit as a terminal, the printed circuit board (20a) further comprising: a first electrode (22b) formed on the surface of the printed circuit board and to which one end of the lead (12b) is electrically connected (See Fig 4); and a second electrode (22a) formed on the surface of the printed circuit board and to which a terminal other than the lead (12a) is electrically connected (See Fig 4).
Fukuzumi fails to specifically teach or suggest wherein the distance-increasing structure is a structure in which a thickness of the first electrode is thicker than a thickness of the second electrode.
Dohi teaches a thickness of a first electrode is thicker than a thickness of a second electrode (¶ 0074, “Specifically, the first electrode is formed thicker than the second electrode”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dohi with that of Fukuzumi such that, in Fukuzumi the distance-increasing structure is a structure in which a thickness of the first electrode is thicker than a thickness of the second electrode, as taught by Dohi, since doing so would reduce the amount of solder needed for one of the two electrodes (If electrode (22b) of Fukuzumi is thicker, then less solder (31b) is necessary).
Conclusion
/ZACHARY PAPE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835