DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In virtue of the Response filed on 07/20/2026, wherein claims 1-20 are pending, claims 1, 9, 17 recited in independent form. The present Application claims priority to Provisional Application 63/263,388 with a filing date of 11/02/2021 and is a 371 of PCT/SE2022/050994 with a filing date 10/31/2022.
Claim Interpretation
The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation of the limitations present in the claims using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art, without importing limitations from the specification. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is only limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked and is otherwise given the broadest reasonable interpretation. The Examiner has not identified any language which invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, therefore the limitations will be given the broadest reasonable interpretation, without importing limitations for the specification.
35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 15 are amended such that previously held rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, are overcome.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts the claims require "[e]mbodiments herein disclose adding the indication to the system information for indicating the type of the cell controlled by the radio network node, i.e., whether the cell is a mobile cell or not." Applicant further asserts the claims require "[f]or example, it is herein disclosed a design of a dedicated master information block (MIB) for mobile IAB cells.” The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant is asserting the interpretations of the claim which stem from language only present in the Specification, such an interpretation extends well beyond the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) of the limitations actually present in the claims. Applicant makes reference to a dedicated MIB in the specification; however, the claims are not drawn to a dedicated MIB of mobile IAB cells. Accordingly, the assertion does not pertain to the language actually present in the claims. The claims are amended to recite only: “wherein the indication is comprised in a master information block to indicate whether the cell is a mobile IAB cell.” Wherein, in the previously cited section d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 in view of d4 suggests that mobility information (i.e. indication) is communicated to an IAB node and may include information that indicates the mobility state of the IAB node, wherein the indication of a mobile node is indicative of a mobile IAB cell (see d1 Fig. 5). The mobility state information may include information associated with a level or state of mobility of the IAB node, such as information indicating whether the IAB node is stationary, has low-speed mobility (for example, is moving at a speed that is less than or equal to a first threshold), has medium-speed mobility (for example, is moving at a speed that is greater than the first threshold but is less than or equal to a second threshold), or has high-speed mobility (for example, is moving at a speed that is greater than the second threshold). The mobility state information may include information associated with a change (that is, a transition) in mobility of the IAB node, such as information indicating a transition from one mobility state to another, such as from the stationary state to the low-speed state. In some aspects, the mobility state information may include information indicating a time at which the transition has taken or is to take place. The mobility state information may include a measurement report associated with the IAB node, such as a radio resource measurement (RRM) measurement report. The mobility state information may include information indicating whether the IAB node is capable of motion or being moved (for example, an indication of whether the IAB node is a non-mobile IAB node). As described above, the mobility state of a given IAB node can impact operation of the mobile IAB network and, therefore, knowledge of the mobility state may be needed in order to facilitate efficient and acceptable performance of the mobile IAB network. Clearly indication of IAB mobility is taught by d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 in view of d4. Therefore, all that remains to be resolved is teaching of communication of an indication in a MIB. D1 in view of d2 in view of d3 in view of d4 suggests throughout that MIB (a well-known construct for communication of indicators) are used for such purposes. D1 in view of d2 in view of d3 in view of d4 further suggests that in some aspects, the second wireless communication device may transmit, and the first wireless communication device may receive, the mobility state information in an RRC message, downlink control information (DCI), a layer 1 reference signal, a medium access control (MAC) control element, a master information block (MIB), a random access channel (RACH) message, a system information block (SIB), a handover request message, a secondary node (SN) addition request message, or another type of communication (see d1 para. 0071). Clearly, any one of a plurality of options are contemplated by d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 in view of d4 including MIB which would be an obvious use for communication of the mobility information discussed above and even suggests such (see underlined section above). Therefore, d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 in view of d4 clearly suggest the elements of the claims as amended, in contrast to Applicant assertions. d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 in view of d4 further suggests mobility state information may be communicated via a Uu interface (for example, in DCI, a layer 1 reference signal, a MAC control element, a MIB, a SIB1, uplink control information (UCI)) (see d1 para. 0068). 79] FIG. 6 is a diagram illustrating an example process 600 performed, for example, by a wireless communication device, in accordance with various aspects of the present disclosure. The Examiner maintains that all the limitations of the claims are disclosed by d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 in view of d4 and makes the rejection below final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US-20210044958 to Abedini et al (hereinafter d1) in view of US-20160302143 to Karlsson et al (hereafter d2) in view of US-20220400427 to Huang et al (hereinafter d3) in view of US-20170026891 to Hahn et al (hereinafter d4).
Regarding claim 1, as to the limitations “A method performed by a radio network node for handling communication in a wireless communication network, the method comprising: transmitting to a UE or an Integrated Access and Backhaul, IAB, node, system information comprising an indication of a cell, controlled by the radio network node, wherein the radio network node is an IAB node, and the indication indicates whether the cell is a mobile cell or not” d1 discloses a system comprising at least a radio network node and a UE (see d2 Fig. 1) the radio network node and a UE comprising at least a communication interface, memory, and processing circuitry associated with the communication interface and memory (see d1 Fig. 2), wherein the processing circuitry is configured to perform methods (see d1 Figs. 5-7) related IAB (see d1 para. 0002); including transmitting to a UE or an Integrated Access and Backhaul, IAB, node, system information comprising an indication of a cell, controlled by the radio network node, wherein the radio network node is an IAB node, and the indication indicates whether the cell is a mobile cell or not (see D1, paragraphs 7, 29, 31, 62, 64, 71, 72, 78, 96, Fig. 5, step 510); D1 describes (abstract and para. 0060) signaling between IAB-nodes. A mobile IAB node may provide an independently moving cell site; a second IAB-node transmits mobility state information to a first IAB-node, the mobility state information may include information associated with a level or state of mobility of the IAB node, such as information indicating whether the IAB node is stationary or has high-speed mobility. The second IAB-node may transmit, and the first IAB-node may receive, the mobility state information in a downlink control information (DCI) or a master information block (MIB) (see D1 Fig. 5 and paragraphs 68, 71 and 74).
As to the limitation “wherein the indication is comprised in a master information block to indicate whether the cell is a mobile IAB cell.” d1 suggests that mobility information (i.e. indication) is communicated to an IAB node and may include information that indicates the mobility state of the IAB node, wherein the indication of a mobile node is indicative of a mobile IAB cell (see d1 Fig. 5). The mobility state information may include information associated with a level or state of mobility of the IAB node, such as information indicating whether the IAB node is stationary, has low-speed mobility (for example, is moving at a speed that is less than or equal to a first threshold), has medium-speed mobility (for example, is moving at a speed that is greater than the first threshold but is less than or equal to a second threshold), or has high-speed mobility (for example, is moving at a speed that is greater than the second threshold). The mobility state information may include information associated with a change (that is, a transition) in mobility of the IAB node, such as information indicating a transition from one mobility state to another, such as from the stationary state to the low-speed state. In some aspects, the mobility state information may include information indicating a time at which the transition has taken or is to take place. The mobility state information may include a measurement report associated with the IAB node, such as a radio resource measurement (RRM) measurement report. The mobility state information may include information indicating whether the IAB node is capable of motion or being moved (for example, an indication of whether the IAB node is a non-mobile IAB node). As described above, the mobility state of a given IAB node can impact operation of the mobile IAB network and, therefore, knowledge of the mobility state may be needed in order to facilitate efficient and acceptable performance of the mobile IAB network. Clearly indication of IAB mobility is taught by d1. Therefore, all that remains to be resolved is teaching of communication of an indication in a MIB. D1 suggests throughout that MIB (a well-known construct for communication of indicators) are used for such purposes. D1 further suggests that in some aspects, the second wireless communication device may transmit, and the first wireless communication device may receive, the mobility state information in an RRC message, downlink control information (DCI), a layer 1 reference signal, a medium access control (MAC) control element, a master information block (MIB), a random access channel (RACH) message, a system information block (SIB), a handover request message, a secondary node (SN) addition request message, or another type of communication (see d1 para. 0071). Clearly, any one of a plurality of options are contemplated by d1 including MIB which would be an obvious use for communication of the mobility information discussed above and even suggests such (see underlined section above). Therefore, d1 clearly suggest the elements of the claims as amended, in contrast to Applicant assertions. d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 in view of d4 further suggests mobility state information may be communicated via a Uu interface (for example, in DCI, a layer 1 reference signal, a MAC control element, a MIB, a SIB1, uplink control information (UCI)) (see d1 para. 0068). 79] FIG. 6 is a diagram illustrating an example process 600 performed, for example, by a wireless communication device, in accordance with various aspects of the present disclosure.
As to the limitations of claim 1, d1 discloses that which is set forth above which are fairly interpreted as meeting the limitations of the claims. However, in order to provide the most complete and effective examination, or in the event d1 is shown to not teach any limitation from the claim, attention is directed to d2 which also addresses all the limitations noted above which are met by d1 and further discloses teachings relative to the limitations of claim 1, wherein d1 and d2 meet all the limitations in question, possibly alone, but certainly in combination. Wherein d2, in a similar field of endeavor of wireless communication (see d2 para. 0002), and further suggests techniques of selecting a cell for a user equipment to camp on when a cellular communication network includes a mobile base station or repeater relay. These features correspond to the preamble of claim 1. D2 also discloses (paragraph 63) that a user equipment may receive mobility information that is broadcast by the base station or repeater relay of a mobile cell. The mobility information may be broadcast by the respective base station or repeater relay as system information, e.g., as a system information block (SIB). The mobility information may include data which allows the user equipment to determine a velocity and movement direction of the base station or repeater relay which broadcasts the mobility information. These features correspond to step A in claim, except that the base station or repeater relay is not explicitly said to be an IAB node. The invention according to claim 1 only differs from the method disclosed by D2 in that the node is explicitly an IAB node. However, it is mentioned in D2 (paragraph 57) that the base stations (or repeater relays) may communicate with each other via wireless radio communications (e.g. LTE). For a person skilled in the art, with knowledge of mobile communication, it is considered to be obvious that the base stations (or repeater relays) in D2, that communicates via radio, could be IAB-nodes, since IAB-communication is a well-known type of wireless communication between base stations as evidenced by the disclosure of d1. D2 also discloses use of mobility information received in system information for cell (re-)selection, in particular for determining whether to camp on a cell or discard a cell and select another cell (see d2, paras. 6, 8, 13, 18,24,26,27,30,35,63,67, 76, 77,92,93, 102,105); D2 relates to techniques of selecting a cell for a user equipment to camp on when a cellular communication network includes a mobile base station or repeater relay. D2 also discloses (paragraph 63) that a user equipment may receive mobility information that is broadcast by the base station or repeater relay of a mobile cell. The mobility information may be broadcast by the respective base station or repeater relay as system information, e.g., as a system information block (SIB). The mobility information may include data which allows the user equipment to determine a velocity and movement direction of the base station or repeater relay which broadcasts the mobility information. Further, D2 discloses (paragraph 65) that the user equipment may compare the velocity and direction of movement of the base station or repeater relay to the velocity and direction of movement of the user equipment. Mobile cells may be selectively prioritized or deprioritized when a cell selection is performed. In particular, when the user equipment becomes attached to the cellular communication network, the user equipment may take the broadcast mobility information into account in cell selection. Moving cell(s) may selectively be prioritized or deprioritized over stationary cells or other moving cells, depending on whether the base station or repeater relay moves in a direction and at a velocity similar to that of the user equipment.
Thus, starting from d1 and looking d2, the skilled person would find d2 as it is in the same field of endeavor and is directed to a similar problem and would consider to combine, as a combination of known techniques, the teachings of d2 into the communication method of d1 arriving in this way at the subject-matter of the present claim, which is considered to be obvious in view of the disclosure of d1 in combination with the disclosure of d2.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2, it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (sensing network communication) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to communication performance (see d2 para. 0005). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved efficiency, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d2. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (IAB) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
As to the limitations of claim 1, d1/d2 discloses that which is set forth above which are fairly interpreted as meeting the limitations of the claims. However, in order to provide the most complete and effective examination, or in the event d1 is shown to not teach any limitation from the claim, attention is directed to d3 which also addresses all the limitations noted above which are met by d1and/or d2, wherein d1, d2 and d3 meet all the limitations in question, possibly alone, but certainly in combination. Wherein d3, in a similar field of endeavor of wireless communication (see d3 para. 0002), and further suggests to use the mobile IAB node information to select a network element that supports mobile IAB to serve the MT or UE after the mobile IAB indication is received (see d2 para. 0004-0019) (see also Figs. 7-12). Thus, starting from d1 and looking to d3, the skilled person would find d3 as it is in the same field of endeavor and is directed to a similar problem and would consider to combine, in an obvious manner, the teachings of d3 into the communication method of d1 arriving in this way at the subject-matter of the present claim, which is considered to be obvious in view of the disclosure of d1 in combination with the disclosure of d3.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1, d2 and d3, it is noted that d1, d2 and d3 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (IAB) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d3 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to provide higher quality of service, longer battery life, and improved performance (see d3 para. 0003, 0039). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d3, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d3 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved efficiency, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d3. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (IAB) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
As to the limitations of claim 1, d1 discloses that which is set forth above which are fairly interpreted as meeting the limitations of the claims. However, in order to provide the most complete and effective examination, or in the event d1, d2, d3 is shown to not teach any limitation from the claim, attention is directed to d4 which also addresses all the limitations noted above which are met by d1 by disclosing teachings relative to the limitations, wherein d1, d2, d3, and d4 meet all the limitations in question, possibly alone, but certainly in combination. Wherein d4, in a similar field of endeavor of wireless communication (see d4 para. 0001), and further suggests a method of controlling a handover, which is controlled by a 1st moving cell base station in a wireless communication system, the method including the steps of performing measurement on signals of at least one or more neighbor base stations and determining whether to make a handover based on a result of the measurement, wherein the 1st moving cell base station controls the handover not to be made into a 2nd moving cell among the at least one or more neighbor base stations using information on a moving cell dedicated cell ID; moving cell base station device in a device capable of operating as a 1st moving cell base station in a wireless communication system, the moving cell base station device including a transceiving unit configured to perform measurement on signals of at least one or more neighbor base stations and a processor connected to the transceiving unit, the processor determining whether to make a handover based on a result of the measurement, the processor controlling the handover not to be made into a 2nd moving cell among the at least one or more neighbor base stations using information on a moving cell dedicated cell ID; the moving cell base station may secure information on the moving cell dedicated cell ID through system information broadcasted by the 2nd moving cell base station; the 1st moving cell base station may receive the information on the moving cell dedicated cell ID through System Information Block Type 1 broadcasted by the 2nd moving cell base station. The 1st moving cell base station may receive the information on the moving cell dedicated cell ID through an access barring information parameter (AC Barring Parameter) of System Information Block Type 2 broadcasted by the 2.sup.nd moving cell base station (see d4 para. 0009-0017). Thus, starting from d1 and looking d4, the skilled person would find d4 as it is in the same field of endeavor and is directed to a similar problem and would consider to combine, in an obvious manner, the teachings of d4 into the communication method of d1 arriving in this way at the subject-matter of the present claim, which is considered to be obvious in view of the disclosure of d1 in combination with the disclosure of d4.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d4, it is noted that d1 and d4 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (IAB) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d4 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to prevent an unnecessary measurement on a moving cell in a channel quality measurement procedure (see d4 paras. 0019-0023). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d4, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d4 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved efficiency, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d4. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (IAB) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 2, as to the limitation “The method according to claim 1, wherein the system information further comprises another indication indicating whether the UE and/or the IAB node is allowed to camp on the cell” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 in view of d4 suggests at least indicating whether the UE and/or the IAB node is allowed to camp on the cell (see d2 para. 0017, 0020; d3 Fig. 4 para. 0008, 0015, 0045). Thus, starting from d1 and looking d2, d3, d4, the skilled person would find d2-d4 as it is in the same field of endeavor and is directed to a similar problem and would consider to combine, without the exercise of inventive step, the teachings of d2-d4 into the communication method of d1 arriving in this way at the subject-matter of the present claim, which is considered to be obvious in view of the disclosure of d1 in combination with the disclosure of d2-d4.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2, it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (sensing network communication) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to communication performance (see d2 para. 0005). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved efficiency, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d2. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (IAB) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1, d2 and d3, it is noted that d1, d2 and d3 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (IAB) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d3 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to provide higher quality of service, longer battery life, and improved performance (see d3 para. 0003, 0039). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d3, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d3 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved efficiency, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d3. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (IAB) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 3, as to the limitation “The method according to claim 1, wherein the indication comprises a flag indicating whether the cell is a barred cell” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 in view of d4 suggests at least indicating whether the cell is a barred cell (see d4 para. 0017, Tables 4, 5, and para. 0073-0074). Thus, starting from d1 and looking d2, d3, d4, the skilled person would find d2-d4 as it is in the same field of endeavor and is directed to a similar problem and would consider to combine, without the exercise of inventive step, the teachings of d2-d4 into the communication method of d1 arriving in this way at the subject-matter of the present claim, which is considered to be obvious in view of the disclosure of d1 in combination with the disclosure of d2.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d4, it is noted that d1 and d4 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (IAB) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d4 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to prevent an unnecessary measurement on a moving cell in a channel quality measurement procedure (see d4 paras. 0019-0023). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d4, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d4 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved efficiency, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d4. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (IAB) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 4, as to the limitation “The method according to claim 1, wherein the indication is comprised in a system information block, SIB” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 in view of d4 suggests at least use of SIB for communication (see d1 para. 0071, 0076, 0078, 0096, 0116; d2 para. 0024). Thus, starting from d1 and looking d2, d3, d4, the skilled person would find d2-d4 as it is in the same field of endeavor and is directed to a similar problem and would consider to combine, without the exercise of inventive step, the teachings of d2-d4 into the communication method of d1 arriving in this way at the subject-matter of the present claim, which is considered to be obvious in view of the disclosure of d1 in combination with the disclosure of d2.
Regarding claim 5, as to the limitation “The method according to claim 1, wherein the system information further comprises a further indication indicating one or more criteria for which UEs or IAB nodes are allowed access to the cell” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 in view of d4 suggests at least indicating one or more criteria for which UEs or IAB nodes are allowed access to the cell (d1 para. 0034; d2 para. 0106, 0114). Thus, starting from d1 and looking d2, d3, d4, the skilled person would find d2-d4 as it is in the same field of endeavor and is directed to a similar problem and would consider to combine, without the exercise of inventive step, the teachings of d2-d4 into the communication method of d1 arriving in this way at the subject-matter of the present claim, which is considered to be obvious in view of the disclosure of d1 in combination with the disclosure of d2.
Regarding claim 6, as to the limitation “The method according to claim 5, wherein the one or more criteria comprises one or more of the following: a subscription, a distance range, a velocity comparison, a movement direction comparison, a path loss threshold, an access class, a traffic type, a data volume threshold, or a path comparison” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 in view of d4 suggests one or more of the following: a subscription, a distance range, a velocity comparison, a movement direction comparison, a path loss threshold, an access class, a traffic type, a data volume threshold, or a path comparison (see d1 para. 0034; d2 para. 0006;d3 para. 0060) Thus, starting from d1 and looking d2, d3, d4, the skilled person would find d2-d4 as it is in the same field of endeavor and is directed to a similar problem and would consider to combine, without the exercise of inventive step, the teachings of d2-d4 into the communication method of d1 arriving in this way at the subject-matter of the present claim, which is considered to be obvious in view of the disclosure of d1 in combination with the disclosure of d2.
Regarding claim 7, as to the limitation “The method according to claim 1, wherein the master information block is configured to only be readable by the mobile IAB cells” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 in view of d4 suggests a least one of a master information block, MIB, or in a MIB designed just for IAB (see d1 para. 0068, 0071, 0076, 0078, 0096,0116;). Thus, starting from d1 and looking d2, d3, d4, the skilled person would find d2-d4 as it is in the same field of endeavor and is directed to a similar problem and would consider to combine, without the exercise of inventive step, the teachings of d2-d4 into the communication method of d1 arriving in this way at the subject-matter of the present claim, which is considered to be obvious in view of the disclosure of d1 in combination with the disclosure of d2.
Regarding claim 8, as to the limitation “The method according to claim 1, further comprising generating the system information with an indication” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 in view of d4 suggests a least one system information with the indication (see d1 para. 0071, 0076, 0078, 0096,0116; d2 para 0041, 0063, 0079; d3 para. 0008, 0015, 0045). Thus, starting from d1 and looking d2, d3, d4, the skilled person would find d2-d4 as it is in the same field of endeavor and is directed to a similar problem and would consider to combine, without the exercise of inventive step, the teachings of d2-d4 into the communication method of d1 arriving in this way at the subject-matter of the present claim, which is considered to be obvious in view of the disclosure of d1 in combination with the disclosure of d2.
Regarding claim 9, as to the limitations “A method performed by a user equipment, UE, or an Integrated Access and backhaul, IAB, node for handling communication in a wireless communication network, the method comprising: receiving from a radio network node being an IAB node, system information with an indication of a cell, controlled by the radio network node, wherein the indication indicates whether the cell is a mobile cell or not; and determining whether the UE or the IAB node is allowed to access the cell based on the indication” d1 discloses a system comprising at least a radio network node and a UE (see d2 Fig. 1) the radio network node and a UE comprising at least a communication interface, memory, and processing circuitry associated with the communication interface and memory (see d1 Fig. 2), wherein the processing circuitry is configured to perform methods (see d1 Figs. 5-7) related IAB (see d1 para. 0002); including transmitting to a UE or an Integrated Access and Backhaul, IAB, node, system information comprising an indication of a cell, controlled by the radio network node, wherein the radio network node is an IAB node, and the indication indicates whether the cell is a mobile cell or not (see D1, paragraphs 7, 29, 31, 62, 64, 71, 72, 78, 96, Fig. 5, step 510); D1 describes (abstract and para. 0060) signaling between IAB-nodes. A mobile IAB node may provide an independently moving cell site; a second IAB-node transmits mobility state information to a first IAB-node, the mobility state information may include information associated with a level or state of mobility of the IAB node, such as information indicating whether the IAB node is stationary or has high-speed mobility. The second IAB-node may transmit, and the first IAB-node may receive, the mobility state information in a downlink control information (DCI) or a master information block (MIB) (see D1 Fig. 5 and paragraphs 68, 71 and 74).
As to the limitation “wherein the indication is comprised in a master information block to indicate whether the cell is a mobile IAB cell.” d1 suggests that mobility information (i.e. indication) is communicated to an IAB node and may include information that indicates the mobility state of the IAB node, wherein the indication of a mobile node is indicative of a mobile IAB cell (see d1 Fig. 5). The mobility state information may include information associated with a level or state of mobility of the IAB node, such as information indicating whether the IAB node is stationary, has low-speed mobility (for example, is moving at a speed that is less than or equal to a first threshold), has medium-speed mobility (for example, is moving at a speed that is greater than the first threshold but is less than or equal to a second threshold), or has high-speed mobility (for example, is moving at a speed that is greater than the second threshold). The mobility state information may include information associated with a change (that is, a transition) in mobility of the IAB node, such as information indicating a transition from one mobility state to another, such as from the stationary state to the low-speed state. In some aspects, the mobility state information may include information indicating a time at which the transition has taken or is to take place. The mobility state information may include a measurement report associated with the IAB node, such as a radio resource measurement (RRM) measurement report. The mobility state information may include information indicating whether the IAB node is capable of motion or being moved (for example, an indication of whether the IAB node is a non-mobile IAB node). As described above, the mobility state of a given IAB node can impact operation of the mobile IAB network and, therefore, knowledge of the mobility state may be needed in order to facilitate efficient and acceptable performance of the mobile IAB network. Clearly indication of IAB mobility is taught by d1. Therefore, all that remains to be resolved is teaching of communication of an indication in a MIB. D1 suggests throughout that MIB (a well-known construct for communication of indicators) are used for such purposes. D1 further suggests that in some aspects, the second wireless communication device may transmit, and the first wireless communication device may receive, the mobility state information in an RRC message, downlink control information (DCI), a layer 1 reference signal, a medium access control (MAC) control element, a master information block (MIB), a random access channel (RACH) message, a system information block (SIB), a handover request message, a secondary node (SN) addition request message, or another type of communication (see d1 para. 0071). Clearly, any one of a plurality of options are contemplated by d1 including MIB which would be an obvious use for communication of the mobility information discussed above and even suggests such (see underlined section above). Therefore, d1 clearly suggest the elements of the claims as amended, in contrast to Applicant assertions. d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 in view of d4 further suggests mobility state information may be communicated via a Uu interface (for example, in DCI, a layer 1 reference signal, a MAC control element, a MIB, a SIB1, uplink control information (UCI)) (see d1 para. 0068). 79] FIG. 6 is a diagram illustrating an example process 600 performed, for example, by a wireless communication device, in accordance with various aspects of the present disclosure.
As to the limitations of claim 1, d1 discloses that which is set forth above which are fairly interpreted as meeting the limitations of the claims. However, in order to provide the most complete and effective examination, or in the event d1 is shown to not teach any limitation from the claim, attention is directed to d2 which also addresses all the limitations noted above which are met by d1 and further discloses teachings relative to the limitations of claim 1, wherein d1 and d2 meet all the limitations in question, possibly alone, but certainly in combination. Wherein d2, in a similar field of endeavor of wireless communication (see d2 para. 0002), and further suggests techniques of selecting a cell for a user equipment to camp on when a cellular communication network includes a mobile base station or repeater relay. These features correspond to the preamble of claim 1. D2 also discloses (paragraph 63) that a user equipment may receive mobility information that is broadcast by the base station or repeater relay of a mobile cell. The mobility information may be broadcast by the respective base station or repeater relay as system information, e.g., as a system information block (SIB). The mobility information may include data which allows the user equipment to determine a velocity and movement direction of the base station or repeater relay which broadcasts the mobility information. These features correspond to step A in claim, except that the base station or repeater relay is not explicitly said to be an IAB node. The invention according to claim 1 only differs from the method disclosed by D2 in that the node is explicitly an IAB node. However, it is mentioned in D2 (paragraph 57) that the base stations (or repeater relays) may communicate with each other via wireless radio communications (e.g. LTE). For a person skilled in the art, with knowledge of mobile communication, it is considered to be obvious that the base stations (or repeater relays) in D2, that communicates via radio, could be IAB-nodes, since IAB-communication is a well-known type of wireless communication between base stations as evidenced by the disclosure of d1. D2 also discloses use of mobility information received in system information for cell (re-)selection, in particular for determining whether to camp on a cell or discard a cell and select another cell (see d2, paras. 6, 8, 13, 18,24,26,27,30,35,63,67, 76, 77,92,93, 102,105); D2 relates to techniques of selecting a cell for a user equipment to camp on when a cellular communication network includes a mobile base station or repeater relay. D2 also discloses (paragraph 63) that a user equipment may receive mobility information that is broadcast by the base station or repeater relay of a mobile cell. The mobility information may be broadcast by the respective base station or repeater relay as system information, e.g., as a system information block (SIB). The mobility information may include data which allows the user equipment to determine a velocity and movement direction of the base station or repeater relay which broadcasts the mobility information. Further, D2 discloses (paragraph 65) that the user equipment may compare the velocity and direction of movement of the base station or repeater relay to the velocity and direction of movement of the user equipment. Mobile cells may be selectively prioritized or deprioritized when a cell selection is performed. In particular, when the user equipment becomes attached to the cellular communication network, the user equipment may take the broadcast mobility information into account in cell selection. Moving cell(s) may selectively be prioritized or deprioritized over stationary cells or other moving cells, depending on whether the base station or repeater relay moves in a direction and at a velocity similar to that of the user equipment.
Thus, starting from d1 and looking d2, the skilled person would find d2 as it is in the same field of endeavor and is directed to a similar problem and would consider to combine, as a combination of known techniques, the teachings of d2 into the communication method of d1 arriving in this way at the subject-matter of the present claim, which is considered to be obvious in view of the disclosure of d1 in combination with the disclosure of d2.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2, it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (sensing network communication) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to communication performance (see d2 para. 0005). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved efficiency, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d2. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (IAB) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
As to the limitations of claim 1, d1/d2 discloses that which is set forth above which are fairly interpreted as meeting the limitations of the claims. However, in order to provide the most complete and effective examination, or in the event d1 is shown to not teach any limitation from the claim, attention is directed to d3 which also addresses all the limitations noted above which are met by d1and/or d2, wherein d1, d2 and d3 meet all the limitations in question, possibly alone, but certainly in combination. Wherein d3, in a similar field of endeavor of wireless communication (see d3 para. 0002), and further suggests to use the mobile IAB node information to select a network element that supports mobile IAB to serve the MT or UE after the mobile IAB indication is received (see d2 para. 0004-0019) (see also Figs. 7-12). Thus, starting from d1 and looking to d3, the skilled person would find d3 as it is in the same field of endeavor and is directed to a similar problem and would consider to combine, in an obvious manner, the teachings of d3 into the communication method of d1 arriving in this way at the subject-matter of the present claim, which is considered to be obvious in view of the disclosure of d1 in combination with the disclosure of d3.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1, d2 and d3, it is noted that d1, d2 and d3 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (IAB) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d3 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to provide higher quality of service, longer battery life, and improved performance (see d3 para. 0003, 0039). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d3, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d3 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved efficiency, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d3. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (IAB) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
As to the limitations of claim 1, d1 discloses that which is set forth above which are fairly interpreted as meeting the limitations of the claims. However, in order to provide the most complete and effective examination, or in the event d1, d2, d3 is shown to not teach any limitation from the claim, attention is directed to d4 which also addresses all the limitations noted above which are met by d1 by disclosing teachings relative to the limitations, wherein d1, d2, d3, and d4 meet all the limitations in question, possibly alone, but certainly in combination. Wherein d4, in a similar field of endeavor of wireless communication (see d4 para. 0001), and further suggests a method of controlling a handover, which is controlled by a 1st moving cell base station in a wireless communication system, the method including the steps of performing measurement on signals of at least one or more neighbor base stations and determining whether to make a handover based on a result of the measurement, wherein the 1st moving cell base station controls the handover not to be made into a 2nd moving cell among the at least one or more neighbor base stations using information on a moving cell dedicated cell ID; moving cell base station device in a device capable of operating as a 1st moving cell base station in a wireless communication system, the moving cell base station device including a transceiving unit configured to perform measurement on signals of at least one or more neighbor base stations and a processor connected to the transceiving unit, the processor determining whether to make a handover based on a result of the measurement, the processor controlling the handover not to be made into a 2nd moving cell among the at least one or more neighbor base stations using information on a moving cell dedicated cell ID; the moving cell base station may secure information on the moving cell dedicated cell ID through system information broadcasted by the 2nd moving cell base station; the 1st moving cell base station may receive the information on the moving cell dedicated cell ID through System Information Block Type 1 broadcasted by the 2nd moving cell base station. The 1st moving cell base station may receive the information on the moving cell dedicated cell ID through an access barring information parameter (AC Barring Parameter) of System Information Block Type 2 broadcasted by the 2.sup.nd moving cell base station (see d4 para. 0009-0017). Thus, starting from d1 and looking d4, the skilled person would find d4 as it is in the same field of endeavor and is directed to a similar problem and would consider to combine, in an obvious manner, the teachings of d4 into the communication method of d1 arriving in this way at the subject-matter of the present claim, which is considered to be obvious in view of the disclosure of d1 in combination with the disclosure of d4.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d4, it is noted that d1 and d4 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (IAB) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d4 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to prevent an unnecessary measurement on a moving cell in a channel quality measurement procedure (see d4 paras. 0019-0023). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d4, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d4 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved efficiency, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d4. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (IAB) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 10, as to the limitation “The method according to claim 9, wherein determining whether the UE or the IAB node is allowed to access the cell is further based on one or more criteria” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 in view of d4 suggests at least indicating one or more criteria for which UEs or IAB nodes are allowed access to the cell (d1 para. 0034; d2 para. 0106, 0114). Thus, starting from d1 and looking d2, d3, d4, the skilled person would find d2-d4 as it is in the same field of endeavor and is directed to a similar problem and would consider to combine, without the exercise of inventive step, the teachings of d2-d4 into the communication method of d1 arriving in this way at the subject-matter of the present claim, which is considered to be obvious in view of the disclosure of d1 in combination with the disclosure of d2.
Regarding claim 11, as to the limitation “The method according to claim 10, wherein the one or more criteria comprise one or more of the following: a subscription, a distance range, a velocity comparison, a movement direction comparison, a path loss threshold, an access class, a traffic type, a data volume threshold, or a path comparison” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 in view of d4 suggests one or more of the following: a subscription, a distance range, a velocity comparison, a movement direction comparison, a path loss threshold, an access class, a traffic type, a data volume threshold, or a path comparison (see d1 para. 0034; d2 para. 0006;d3 para. 0060) Thus, starting from d1 and looking d2, d3, d4, the skilled person would find d2-d4 as it is in the same field of endeavor and is directed to a similar problem and would consider to combine, without the exercise of inventive step, the teachings of d2-d4 into the communication method of d1 arriving in this way at the subject-matter of the present claim, which is considered to be obvious in view of the disclosure of d1 in combination with the disclosure of d2.
Regarding claims 12-13, as to the limitation “The method according to claim 9, further comprising: accessing the cell or not based on the determination” and “The method according to claim 9, wherein the system information further comprises another indication whether the UE and/or the IAB nodes is allowed to camp on the cell; and wherein determining whether the UE or the IAB Node is allowed to access the cell further takes the other indication into account” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 in view of d4 suggests at least indicating whether the UE and/or the IAB node is allowed to camp on the cell (see d2 para. 0017, 0020; d3 Fig. 4 para. 0008, 0015, 0045). Thus, starting from d1 and looking d2, d3, d4, the skilled person would find d2-d4 as it is in the same field of endeavor and is directed to a similar problem and would consider to combine, without the exercise of inventive step, the teachings of d2-d4 into the communication method of d1 arriving in this way at the subject-matter of the present claim, which is considered to be obvious in view of the disclosure of d1 in combination with the disclosure of d2-d4.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2, it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (sensing network communication) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to communication performance (see d2 para. 0005). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved efficiency, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d2. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (IAB) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1, d2 and d3, it is noted that d1, d2 and d3 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (IAB) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d3 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to provide higher quality of service, longer battery life, and improved performance (see d3 para. 0003, 0039). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d3, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d3 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved efficiency, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d3. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (IAB) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 14, as to the limitation “The method according to claim 9, wherein the indication comprises a flag indicating whether the cell is a barred cell” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 in view of d4 suggests at least indicating whether the cell is a barred cell (see d4 para. 0017, Tables 4, 5, and para. 0073-0074). Thus, starting from d1 and looking d2, d3, d4, the skilled person would find d2-d4 as it is in the same field of endeavor and is directed to a similar problem and would consider to combine, without the exercise of inventive step, the teachings of d2-d4 into the communication method of d1 arriving in this way at the subject-matter of the present claim, which is considered to be obvious in view of the disclosure of d1 in combination with the disclosure of d2.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d4, it is noted that d1 and d4 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (IAB) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d4 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to prevent an unnecessary measurement on a moving cell in a channel quality measurement procedure (see d4 paras. 0019-0023). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d4, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d4 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved efficiency, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d4. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (IAB) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 15, as to the limitation “The method according to claim 9, wherein the indication is comprised in a system information block, SIB” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 in view of d4 suggests a least SIB (see d1 para. 0071, 0076, 0078, 0096,0116;). Thus, starting from d1 and looking d2, d3, d4, the skilled person would find d2-d4 as it is in the same field of endeavor and is directed to a similar problem and would consider to combine, without the exercise of inventive step, the teachings of d2-d4 into the communication method of d1 arriving in this way at the subject-matter of the present claim, which is considered to be obvious in view of the disclosure of d1 in combination with the disclosure of d2.
Regarding claim 16, as to the limitation “The method according to claim 9, wherein the system information further comprises a further indication indicating one or more criteria for which UEs and/or IAB nodes are allowed access to the cell; and wherein determining whether the UE or the IAB node is allowed to access the cell further takes the further indication into account” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 in view of d4 suggests at least indicating one or more criteria for which UEs or IAB nodes are allowed access to the cell (d1 para. 0034; d2 para. 0106, 0114). Thus, starting from d1 and looking d2, d3, d4, the skilled person would find d2-d4 as it is in the same field of endeavor and is directed to a similar problem and would consider to combine, without the exercise of inventive step, the teachings of d2-d4 into the communication method of d1 arriving in this way at the subject-matter of the present claim, which is considered to be obvious in view of the disclosure of d1 in combination with the disclosure of d2.
Regarding claim 17, as to the limitations “A radio network node for handling communication in a wireless communication network, the radio network node comprising a communication interface, memory, and processing circuitry associated with the communication interface and memory, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to transmit via the communication interface to a user equipment, UE, or an Integrated Access and Backhaul, IAB, node, system information comprising an indication of a cell, controlled by the radio network node, wherein the radio network node is an IAB node, and the indication indicates whether the cell is a mobile cell or not” d1 discloses a system comprising at least a radio network node and a UE (see d2 Fig. 1) the radio network node and a UE comprising at least a communication interface, memory, and processing circuitry associated with the communication interface and memory (see d1 Fig. 2), wherein the processing circuitry is configured to perform methods (see d1 Figs. 5-7) related IAB (see d1 para. 0002); including transmitting to a UE or an Integrated Access and Backhaul, IAB, node, system information comprising an indication of a cell, controlled by the radio network node, wherein the radio network node is an IAB node, and the indication indicates whether the cell is a mobile cell or not (see D1, paragraphs 7, 29, 31, 62, 64, 71, 72, 78, 96, Fig. 5, step 510); D1 describes (abstract and para. 0060) signaling between IAB-nodes. A mobile IAB node may provide an independently moving cell site; a second IAB-node transmits mobility state information to a first IAB-node, the mobility state information may include information associated with a level or state of mobility of the IAB node, such as information indicating whether the IAB node is stationary or has high-speed mobility. The second IAB-node may transmit, and the first IAB-node may receive, the mobility state information in a downlink control information (DCI) or a master information block (MIB) (see D1 Fig. 5 and paragraphs 68, 71 and 74).
As to the limitation “wherein the indication is comprised in a master information block to indicate whether the cell is a mobile IAB cell.” d1 suggests that mobility information (i.e. indication) is communicated to an IAB node and may include information that indicates the mobility state of the IAB node, wherein the indication of a mobile node is indicative of a mobile IAB cell (see d1 Fig. 5). The mobility state information may include information associated with a level or state of mobility of the IAB node, such as information indicating whether the IAB node is stationary, has low-speed mobility (for example, is moving at a speed that is less than or equal to a first threshold), has medium-speed mobility (for example, is moving at a speed that is greater than the first threshold but is less than or equal to a second threshold), or has high-speed mobility (for example, is moving at a speed that is greater than the second threshold). The mobility state information may include information associated with a change (that is, a transition) in mobility of the IAB node, such as information indicating a transition from one mobility state to another, such as from the stationary state to the low-speed state. In some aspects, the mobility state information may include information indicating a time at which the transition has taken or is to take place. The mobility state information may include a measurement report associated with the IAB node, such as a radio resource measurement (RRM) measurement report. The mobility state information may include information indicating whether the IAB node is capable of motion or being moved (for example, an indication of whether the IAB node is a non-mobile IAB node). As described above, the mobility state of a given IAB node can impact operation of the mobile IAB network and, therefore, knowledge of the mobility state may be needed in order to facilitate efficient and acceptable performance of the mobile IAB network. Clearly indication of IAB mobility is taught by d1. Therefore, all that remains to be resolved is teaching of communication of an indication in a MIB. D1 suggests throughout that MIB (a well-known construct for communication of indicators) are used for such purposes. D1 further suggests that in some aspects, the second wireless communication device may transmit, and the first wireless communication device may receive, the mobility state information in an RRC message, downlink control information (DCI), a layer 1 reference signal, a medium access control (MAC) control element, a master information block (MIB), a random access channel (RACH) message, a system information block (SIB), a handover request message, a secondary node (SN) addition request message, or another type of communication (see d1 para. 0071). Clearly, any one of a plurality of options are contemplated by d1 including MIB which would be an obvious use for communication of the mobility information discussed above and even suggests such (see underlined section above). Therefore, d1 clearly suggest the elements of the claims as amended, in contrast to Applicant assertions. d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 in view of d4 further suggests mobility state information may be communicated via a Uu interface (for example, in DCI, a layer 1 reference signal, a MAC control element, a MIB, a SIB1, uplink control information (UCI)) (see d1 para. 0068). 79] FIG. 6 is a diagram illustrating an example process 600 performed, for example, by a wireless communication device, in accordance with various aspects of the present disclosure.
As to the limitations of claim 1, d1 discloses that which is set forth above which are fairly interpreted as meeting the limitations of the claims. However, in order to provide the most complete and effective examination, or in the event d1 is shown to not teach any limitation from the claim, attention is directed to d2 which also addresses all the limitations noted above which are met by d1 and further discloses teachings relative to the limitations of claim 1, wherein d1 and d2 meet all the limitations in question, possibly alone, but certainly in combination. Wherein d2, in a similar field of endeavor of wireless communication (see d2 para. 0002), and further suggests techniques of selecting a cell for a user equipment to camp on when a cellular communication network includes a mobile base station or repeater relay. These features correspond to the preamble of claim 1. D2 also discloses (paragraph 63) that a user equipment may receive mobility information that is broadcast by the base station or repeater relay of a mobile cell. The mobility information may be broadcast by the respective base station or repeater relay as system information, e.g., as a system information block (SIB). The mobility information may include data which allows the user equipment to determine a velocity and movement direction of the base station or repeater relay which broadcasts the mobility information. These features correspond to step A in claim, except that the base station or repeater relay is not explicitly said to be an IAB node. The invention according to claim 1 only differs from the method disclosed by D2 in that the node is explicitly an IAB node. However, it is mentioned in D2 (paragraph 57) that the base stations (or repeater relays) may communicate with each other via wireless radio communications (e.g. LTE). For a person skilled in the art, with knowledge of mobile communication, it is considered to be obvious that the base stations (or repeater relays) in D2, that communicates via radio, could be IAB-nodes, since IAB-communication is a well-known type of wireless communication between base stations as evidenced by the disclosure of d1. D2 also discloses use of mobility information received in system information for cell (re-)selection, in particular for determining whether to camp on a cell or discard a cell and select another cell (see d2, paras. 6, 8, 13, 18,24,26,27,30,35,63,67, 76, 77,92,93, 102,105); D2 relates to techniques of selecting a cell for a user equipment to camp on when a cellular communication network includes a mobile base station or repeater relay. D2 also discloses (paragraph 63) that a user equipment may receive mobility information that is broadcast by the base station or repeater relay of a mobile cell. The mobility information may be broadcast by the respective base station or repeater relay as system information, e.g., as a system information block (SIB). The mobility information may include data which allows the user equipment to determine a velocity and movement direction of the base station or repeater relay which broadcasts the mobility information. Further, D2 discloses (paragraph 65) that the user equipment may compare the velocity and direction of movement of the base station or repeater relay to the velocity and direction of movement of the user equipment. Mobile cells may be selectively prioritized or deprioritized when a cell selection is performed. In particular, when the user equipment becomes attached to the cellular communication network, the user equipment may take the broadcast mobility information into account in cell selection. Moving cell(s) may selectively be prioritized or deprioritized over stationary cells or other moving cells, depending on whether the base station or repeater relay moves in a direction and at a velocity similar to that of the user equipment.
Thus, starting from d1 and looking d2, the skilled person would find d2 as it is in the same field of endeavor and is directed to a similar problem and would consider to combine, as a combination of known techniques, the teachings of d2 into the communication method of d1 arriving in this way at the subject-matter of the present claim, which is considered to be obvious in view of the disclosure of d1 in combination with the disclosure of d2.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2, it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (sensing network communication) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to communication performance (see d2 para. 0005). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved efficiency, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d2. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (IAB) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
As to the limitations of claim 1, d1/d2 discloses that which is set forth above which are fairly interpreted as meeting the limitations of the claims. However, in order to provide the most complete and effective examination, or in the event d1 is shown to not teach any limitation from the claim, attention is directed to d3 which also addresses all the limitations noted above which are met by d1and/or d2, wherein d1, d2 and d3 meet all the limitations in question, possibly alone, but certainly in combination. Wherein d3, in a similar field of endeavor of wireless communication (see d3 para. 0002), and further suggests to use the mobile IAB node information to select a network element that supports mobile IAB to serve the MT or UE after the mobile IAB indication is received (see d2 para. 0004-0019) (see also Figs. 7-12). Thus, starting from d1 and looking to d3, the skilled person would find d3 as it is in the same field of endeavor and is directed to a similar problem and would consider to combine, in an obvious manner, the teachings of d3 into the communication method of d1 arriving in this way at the subject-matter of the present claim, which is considered to be obvious in view of the disclosure of d1 in combination with the disclosure of d3.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1, d2 and d3, it is noted that d1, d2 and d3 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (IAB) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d3 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to provide higher quality of service, longer battery life, and improved performance (see d3 para. 0003, 0039). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d3, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d3 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved efficiency, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d3. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (IAB) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
As to the limitations of claim 1, d1 discloses that which is set forth above which are fairly interpreted as meeting the limitations of the claims. However, in order to provide the most complete and effective examination, or in the event d1, d2, d3 is shown to not teach any limitation from the claim, attention is directed to d4 which also addresses all the limitations noted above which are met by d1 by disclosing teachings relative to the limitations, wherein d1, d2, d3, and d4 meet all the limitations in question, possibly alone, but certainly in combination. Wherein d4, in a similar field of endeavor of wireless communication (see d4 para. 0001), and further suggests a method of controlling a handover, which is controlled by a 1st moving cell base station in a wireless communication system, the method including the steps of performing measurement on signals of at least one or more neighbor base stations and determining whether to make a handover based on a result of the measurement, wherein the 1st moving cell base station controls the handover not to be made into a 2nd moving cell among the at least one or more neighbor base stations using information on a moving cell dedicated cell ID; moving cell base station device in a device capable of operating as a 1st moving cell base station in a wireless communication system, the moving cell base station device including a transceiving unit configured to perform measurement on signals of at least one or more neighbor base stations and a processor connected to the transceiving unit, the processor determining whether to make a handover based on a result of the measurement, the processor controlling the handover not to be made into a 2nd moving cell among the at least one or more neighbor base stations using information on a moving cell dedicated cell ID; the moving cell base station may secure information on the moving cell dedicated cell ID through system information broadcasted by the 2nd moving cell base station; the 1st moving cell base station may receive the information on the moving cell dedicated cell ID through System Information Block Type 1 broadcasted by the 2nd moving cell base station. The 1st moving cell base station may receive the information on the moving cell dedicated cell ID through an access barring information parameter (AC Barring Parameter) of System Information Block Type 2 broadcasted by the 2.sup.nd moving cell base station (see d4 para. 0009-0017). Thus, starting from d1 and looking d4, the skilled person would find d4 as it is in the same field of endeavor and is directed to a similar problem and would consider to combine, in an obvious manner, the teachings of d4 into the communication method of d1 arriving in this way at the subject-matter of the present claim, which is considered to be obvious in view of the disclosure of d1 in combination with the disclosure of d4.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d4, it is noted that d1 and d4 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (IAB) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d4 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to prevent an unnecessary measurement on a moving cell in a channel quality measurement procedure (see d4 paras. 0019-0023). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d4, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d4 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved efficiency, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d4. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (IAB) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 18, as to the limitation “The radio network node according to claim 17, wherein the system information further comprises another indication indicating whether the UE and/or the IAB node is allowed to camp on the cell” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 in view of d4 suggests at least indicating whether the UE and/or the IAB node is allowed to camp on the cell (see d2 para. 0017, 0020; d3 Fig. 4 para. 0008, 0015, 0045). Thus, starting from d1 and looking d2, d3, d4, the skilled person would find d2-d4 as it is in the same field of endeavor and is directed to a similar problem and would consider to combine, without the exercise of inventive step, the teachings of d2-d4 into the communication method of d1 arriving in this way at the subject-matter of the present claim, which is considered to be obvious in view of the disclosure of d1 in combination with the disclosure of d2-d4.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2, it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (sensing network communication) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to communication performance (see d2 para. 0005). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved efficiency, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d2. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (IAB) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1, d2 and d3, it is noted that d1, d2 and d3 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (IAB) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d3 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to provide higher quality of service, longer battery life, and improved performance (see d3 para. 0003, 0039). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d3, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d3 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved efficiency, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d3. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (IAB) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 19, as to the limitation “The radio network node according to claim 17, wherein the indication comprises a flag indicating whether the cell is a barred cell” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 in view of d4 suggests at least indicating whether the cell is a barred cell (see d4 para. 0017, Tables 4, 5, and para. 0073-0074). Thus, starting from d1 and looking d2, d3, d4, the skilled person would find d2-d4 as it is in the same field of endeavor and is directed to a similar problem and would consider to combine, without the exercise of inventive step, the teachings of d2-d4 into the communication method of d1 arriving in this way at the subject-matter of the present claim, which is considered to be obvious in view of the disclosure of d1 in combination with the disclosure of d2.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d4, it is noted that d1 and d4 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (IAB) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d4 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to prevent an unnecessary measurement on a moving cell in a channel quality measurement procedure (see d4 paras. 0019-0023). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d4, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d4 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved efficiency, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d4. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (IAB) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 20, as to the limitation “The radio network node according to claim 17, wherein the indication is comprised in a system information block, SIB” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 in view of d4 suggests at least use of SIB for communication (see d1 para. 0071, 0076, 0078, 0096, 0116; d2 para. 0024). Thus, starting from d1 and looking d2, d3, d4, the skilled person would find d2-d4 as it is in the same field of endeavor and is directed to a similar problem and would consider to combine, without the exercise of inventive step, the teachings of d2-d4 into the communication method of d1 arriving in this way at the subject-matter of the present claim, which is considered to be obvious in view of the disclosure of d1 in combination with the disclosure of d2.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/NATHAN S TAYLOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643