DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed on April 22, 2024 and August 7, 2025 have been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Hamada (JP 2001-060589; cited in the IDS)
Regarding claim 1, Hamada discloses a wiring board (see figure 3) comprising: an insulation layer (202); a groove (203) located at an upper surface of the insulation layer (202); a recessed portion (203, right side) located at the upper surface of the insulation layer (202) and having a width wider than the groove (see figure 3); an underlying metal layer (205) located at an inner surface of the groove and an inner surface of the recessed portion (see figure 3); a first wiring conductor (206) located on the underlying metal layer (205) to fill the groove; and a second wiring conductor (211) located on the underlying metal layer (205) to fill the recessed portion (203) and having a width wider than the first wiring conductor (see figure 3g), wherein the second wiring conductor (211) comprises a first portion and a second portion located adjacent to and integrally with the first portion, and a plurality of voids (created by electroplating) are located at a boundary between the first portion and the second portion (paragraph 0031-0038).
Regarding claim 2, Hamada discloses the wiring board (see figure 3), wherein the first portion is a first electrolytic plating metal (TaN; paragraph 0031), and the second portion is a second electrolytic plating metal (Cu: paragraph 0031).
Regarding claim 3, Hamada discloses the wiring board (see figure 3), wherein at least a part of the first portion and of the second portion (see figure 3) located with the boundary interposed therebetween contains a continuous crystal (see figure 3; paragraph 0031-0037).
Regarding claim 7, Hamada discloses a manufacturing method for a wiring board (see figure 3), the manufacturing method comprising: forming a groove (203) and a recessed portion (203 right side) having a metal layer (205) exposed from the plating resist; removing the plating resist from on top of the underlying metal layer (205); forming a second electrolytic plating layer (211) on the first electrolytic plating layer and on the underlying metal layer (205); and removing portions of the first electrolytic plating layer (206), the second electrolytic plating layer (211), and the underlying metal layer (205) to form a first wiring conductor that fills the groove (see figure 3) and is made of a first electrolytic plating metal derived from the first electrolytic plating layer or a second electrolytic plating metal derived from the second electrolytic plating layer, and a second wiring conductor (see figure 3) that fills the recessed portion and is made of the first electrolytic plating metal and the second electrolytic plating metal derived from the second electrolytic plating layer (see figure 3; paragraph 0031-0038).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamada (JP 2001-060589; cited in the IDS)
Regarding claim 4, Hamada discloses the wiring board wherein first wiring conductor (206) has a width; but lack the width being of 15µm or less. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make Hamada’s first conductor with a width of 15µm or less, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore , Hamada teaches in paragraph 0057; “In the present invention, a narrow groove wiring having a pattern width (wiring groove width) of less than 1 μm is used as a narrow groove wiring, but it is needless to say that this range changes depending on conditions of chemical mechanical polishing, a condition for forming a metal film, and the like”, so the first conductor (206) can have a width of 15µm or less since
Regarding claim 5, Hamada discloses the wiring board wherein second wiring conductor (211) has a width; but lack the width being of 150 µm or more. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make Hamada’s second conductor with a width of 150µm or more, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore , Hamada teaches in paragraph 0057; “In the present invention, a narrow groove wiring having a pattern width (wiring groove width) of less than 1 μm is used as a narrow groove wiring, but it is needless to say that this range changes depending on conditions of chemical mechanical polishing, a condition for forming a metal film, and the like”, so the second conductor (211) can have a width of 150µm or more.
Regarding claim 6, Hamada discloses the claimed invention except for a maximum length of the void being in a range from 50 nm to 1µm. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to the wiring board with a maximum length of the void in a range from 50 nm to 1µm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235. Furthermore , Hamada teaches in paragraph 0057; “In the present invention, a narrow groove wiring having a pattern width (wiring groove width) of less than 1 μm is used as a narrow groove wiring, but it is needless to say that this range changes depending on conditions of chemical mechanical polishing, a condition for forming a metal film, and the like”, so a maximum length of the void can be in a range from 50 nm to 1µm.
Regarding claim 8, Hamada discloses the claimed invention except for the plating resist having a width in a range from 50 µm to 100 µm. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the wiring board with a plating resist having a width in a range from 50 µm to 100µm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235. Furthermore, Hamada teaches in paragraph 0057; “In the present invention, a narrow groove wiring having a pattern width (wiring groove width) of less than 1 μm is used as a narrow groove wiring, but it is needless to say that this range changes depending on conditions of chemical mechanical polishing, a condition for forming a metal film, and the like”, so the plating resist can have a width in a range from 50 µm to 100µm.
Regarding claim 9, Hamada discloses the method wherein first wiring conductor (206) has a width; but lack the width being of 15µm or less. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make Hamada’s first wire conductor with a width of 15µm or less, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore , Hamada teaches in paragraph 0057; “In the present invention, a narrow groove wiring having a pattern width (wiring groove width) of less than 1 μm is used as a narrow groove wiring, but it is needless to say that this range changes depending on conditions of chemical mechanical polishing, a condition for forming a metal film, and the like”, so the first wire conductor (206) can have a width of 15µm or less since
Regarding claim 10, Hamada discloses the method, wherein second wiring conductor (211) has a width; but lack the width being of 150 µm or more. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make Hamada’s second wiring conductor with a width of 150µm or more, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, Hamada teaches in paragraph 0057; “In the present invention, a narrow groove wiring having a pattern width (wiring groove width) of less than 1 μm is used as a narrow groove wiring, but it is needless to say that this range changes depending on conditions of chemical mechanical polishing, a condition for forming a metal film, and the like”, so the second wiring conductor (211) can have a width of 150µm or more.
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Narumi (US 9,655,248), Inui (US 8,745,860), Furutani et al (US 9,564,392), Harazono (US 10,172,235) and Yasuda (US 2016/0381793) disclose a wiring board
December 22, 2025
/ANGEL R ESTRADA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841