DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/26/2026, was filed before the final office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 5/26/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of independent claim(s) under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of 35 USC 103 rejection is made in view of the combination with Hull and Kast, wherein Kast has been added to cure the deficiencies of Hull.
Claim Rejection Notes
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 12, 13, and 18-21, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hull (US 20050005115 A1, published: 1/6/2005), in view of Kast (US 20110093855 A1, published: 4/21/2011).
Claim 1. (Currently Amended): Hull teaches a method for processing a document task, comprising:
determining a first device in a master device and a slave device, wherein the master device initiates flowing for a target document, the slave device receives the flowing for the target document, and the first device is used to perform an operation on the target document (the portable device sends a URL to a printer, which accesses the document from a document database using the URL, in order to print the document [Hull, 0006]. The wireless transceiver receives, via wireless communication, a document being unconsciously captured by a first device and to transmit the document to a second device [Hull, 0008]; Examiner's Note: wherein the master is the first device, and the slave is the second device);
wherein the flowing for the target documents comprises: transferring a part of tasks for the target document from the master device to the slave device (the SMA and/or PC may comprise a network attached server that receives documents from unconscious capture devices [Hull, 0049]);
allocating an operating-type task for the target document to the first device, to enable the first device to process the operating-type task for the target document; and allocating a presenting-type task for the target document to a second device in the master device and the slave device, to enable the second device to process the presenting-type task for the target document (the portable device sends a URL to a printer, which accesses the document from a document database using the URL, in order to print the document [Hull, 0006]. The wireless transceiver receives, via wireless communication, a document being unconsciously captured by a first device and to transmit the document to a second device, such that communication of the document occurs between the first and second devices. The memory is coupled to the transceiver and stores the document. The processor is coupled to the transceiver and the memory, and controls the transceiver to cause the transceiver to receive the document unconsciously from the first device and to transfer the document as part of being downloaded to the second device [Hull, 0008]; Examiner's Note: wherein the first device transfers a file to a second device, which then processes and prints said document), wherein the presenting-type task comprises at least a task that performs displaying or playing on the target document (appliance 201 may have a display with a graphical user interface that may be used for informing the user that the document transfer has been completed [Hull, 0033]).
Hull does not teach wherein the operating-type task comprises at least a task that performs an editing operation or a presentation operation on the target document.
However, Kast teaches wherein the operating-type task comprises at least a task that performs an editing operation or a presentation operation on the target document (if a user at source 100 adds a new paragraph to a document and then edits the new paragraph, the corresponding non-synchronization tasks must be performed in that order on target 102 to maintain consistency with the state of data at the source [Kast, 0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the invention was filed, to modify the document transfer, processing, and presentation invention of Hull to include the document editing feature of Kast.
One would have been motivated to make this modification to edit working documents that can be accessed and sent over the network. Such will increase the user's ability to work with and correct network documents.
Claims 18 and 19, having similar deficiencies to claim 1, are likewise rejected.
Claim 2: The combination with Hull and Kast, teaches the method according to claim 1. Hull further teaches wherein determining the first device in the master device and the slave device comprises: determining the slave device in one or more devices that have communication connection capabilities with the master device; and determining the first device in the master device and the slave device (the SMA has a mechanism for wireless communication and data transfer, a buffer memory (e.g., flash, disk, etc.), and a processor. The SMA is carried by users of SMA-capable unconscious capture devices, such as, for example, photocopiers, facsimile machines, multifunction machines, etc. In the case of the photocopier, when the users make copies on the photocopier, the scanned electronic versions of the copied documents are transferred unconsciously to the SMA. When the user returns to their personal computer (PC), the data on the SMA is unconsciously downloaded to a memory in the PC [Hull, 0019]).
Claim 20, having similar deficiencies to claim 2, is likewise rejected.
Claim 3: The combination with Hull and Kast, teaches the method according to claim 2. Hull further teaches wherein determining the slave device in the one or more devices that have communication connection capabilities with the master device comprises: determining, according to a target input instruction, the slave device in the one or more devices that have communication connection capabilities with the master device (An SMA system could be used to synchronize data between PC's, exclusive of any office appliances. This would allow users to seemlessly maintain the same data on their office PC and their PC at home. FIG. 3 is a block diagram of an alternative embodiment of the SMA that synchronizes files between two or more PC's. This is useful for ensuring that the same data is present on the PCs [Hull, 0038]).
Claim 21, having similar deficiencies to claim 3, is likewise rejected.
Claim 4: The combination with Hull and Kast, teaches the method according to claim 2. Hull further teaches wherein determining the slave device in the one or more devices that have communication connection capabilities with the master device comprises at least one of: calculating a distance between the master device and a third device, wherein the third device is any one of the one or more devices that have communication connection capabilities with the master device; and in response to determining that the distance is less than or equal to a distance threshold, determining the third device as the slave device; or calculating a signal intensity between the master device and a third device, wherein the third device is any one of the one or more devices that have communication connection capabilities with the master device; and in response to determining that the signal intensity is greater than or equal to a signal intensity threshold, determining the third device as the slave device (every time PC 301 is in proximity to SMA 302, files are transferred to PC 303 via SMA 302 over a wireless communication link using wireless transceiver 301B (e.g., wireless transceiver PCI bus card) of PC 301 and wireless transceiver 302A of SMA 302. At this time, files on SMA 302 that had been uploaded to it by PC 303 (and stored in buffer memory 302C) for transfer to PC 301 are sent to PC 301 over a wireless communication link using wireless transceiver 301B and wireless transceiver 302A. The analogous operations are performed when SMA 302 is in proximity to PC 303 [Hull, 0038]).
Claim 5: The combination with Hull and Kast, teaches the method according to claim 2. Hull further teaches wherein determining the first device in the master device and the slave device comprises: according to pre-set designating information, determining the master device as the first device (the original devices (copier, fax, printer, PC) may contain a user interface that is used to confirm data should be transferred to the SMA before the transfer occurs [Hull, 0020]; Examiner's Note: other paragraphs also teach other methods the SMA may connect to devices. The SMA is pre-set by being programmed to gather information for devices).
Claim 6: The combination with Hull and Kast, teaches the method according to claim 2. Hull further teaches wherein determining the first device in the master device and the slave device comprises: obtaining device information of the master device and device information of the slave device; comparing the device information of the master device with the device information of the slave device; and according to a result of the comparing, determining the first device (prior to document transfer, SMA 202 transmits information to appliance 201 for identification. In one embodiment, this information is used by appliance 201 to select an encryption scheme which the user desires to use or is able to determine its use. In one embodiment, the identification information allows appliance 201 to identify which public key to use to encrypt the document prior to transfer to SMA 202 [Hull, 0030]).
Claim 7: The combination with Hull and Kast, teaches the method according to claim 2. Hull further teaches wherein determining the first device in the master device and the slave device comprises: according to sequence information for executing operating-type tasks for the target document, determining a device corresponding to a current number in the master device and the slave device as the first device, wherein the sequence information comprises numbers for executing the operating-type tasks (an algorithm is here, and generally, conceived to be a self-consistent sequence of steps leading to a desired result [Hull, 0014]. Prior to document transfer, SMA 202 transmits information to appliance 201 for identification. In one embodiment, this information is used by appliance 201 to select an encryption scheme which the user desires to use or is able to determine its use. In one embodiment, the identification information allows appliance 201 to identify which public key to use to encrypt the document prior to transfer to SMA 202 [Hull, 0030]).
Claim 8: The combination with Hull and Kast, teaches the method according to claim 1. Hull further teaches wherein allocating the operating-type task for the target document to the first device, to enable the first device to process the operating-type task for the target document comprises: allocating the operating-type task to the first device, to enable the first device to generate an interactive interface for the operating-type task; receiving execution information for the operating-type task transmitted by the first device; and processing the target document according to the execution information, wherein the execution information is generated according to operation information received by the interactive interface for the operating-type task (the SMA is carried by users of SMA-capable unconscious capture devices, such as, for example, photocopiers, facsimile machines, multifunction machines, etc. In the case of the photocopier, when the users make copies on the photocopier, the scanned electronic versions of the copied documents are transferred unconsciously to the SMA. When the user returns to their personal computer (PC), the data on the SMA is unconsciously downloaded to a memory in the PC [Hull, 0019]. The transfer is conscious; the original devices (copier, fax, printer, PC) may contain a user interface that is used to confirm data should be transferred to the SMA before the transfer occurs. For example, the user walks up to the copier, it detects there is an SMA present, and indicates this on the console. The user has the opportunity to confirm transfer to the SMA before it occurs [Hull, 0020]).
Claim 9: The combination with Hull and Kast, teaches the method according to claim 8. Hull further teaches wherein receiving the execution information for the operating-type task transmitted by the first device, and processing the target document according to the execution information comprises: in response to determining that more than one piece of execution information transmitted by the first device is received at a same time, determining whether the more than one piece of execution information is associated with a same element in the target document; and in response to determining that the more than one piece of execution information is associated with the same element in the target document, determining a first execution information and processing the target document according to the first execution information, wherein the first execution information is one of the more than one piece of execution information associated with the same element in the target document (after receiving a document from appliance 201, the SMA 202 may be used to specify an operation to be performed on the document. The operation may include printing the document, e-mailing the document, faxing the document, encrypting the document, storing the document, or any other type of operation, such as transferring the document to a third device or multiple devices. The user may specify the operation using an input device (e.g., keypad, styles, etc.) on SMA 202 [Hull, 0034]. [Hull, 0038]. Determining whether the second device is capable of processing the document [Hull, Claim 55]).
Claim 12: The combination with Hull and Kast, teaches the method according to claim 9. Hull further teaches wherein in response to determining that the more than one piece of execution information is associated with the same element in the target document, determining the first execution information and processing the target document according to the first execution information comprises: in response to determining that the more than one piece of execution information is associated with the same element in the target document, processing the target document according to a received instruction (the portable device sends a URL to a printer, which accesses the document from a document database using the URL, in order to print the document [Hull, 0006]. After receiving a document from appliance 201, the SMA 202 may be used to specify an operation to be performed on the document. The operation may include printing the document, e-mailing the document, faxing the document, encrypting the document, storing the document, or any other type of operation, such as transferring the document to a third device or multiple devices [Hull, 0034]).
Claim 13: The combination with Hull and Kast, teaches the method according to claim 9. Hull further teaches wherein receiving the execution information for the operating-type task transmitted by the first device, and processing the target document according to the execution information comprises: in response to determining that the more than one piece of execution information is associated with different elements of the target document, processing the target document respectively according to the more than one piece of execution information (determining whether the second device is capable of processing the document [Hull, Claim 55]).
Claim(s) 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hull (US 20050005115 A1, published: 1/6/2005) and Kast (US 20110093855 A1, published: 4/21/2011), and in further view of Bailey et al. (US 20130094047 A1, published: 4/18/2013).
Claim 10: The combination with Hull and Kast, teaches the method according to claim 9. The combination with Hull and Kast, does not teach wherein in response to determining that the more than one piece of execution information is associated with the same element in the target document, determining the first execution information and processing the target document according to the first execution information comprises: in response to determining that the more than one piece of execution information is associated with the same element in the target document, determining an occurrence time of an operation corresponding to each of the more than one piece of execution information; and determining execution information corresponding to an operation with an occurrence time that is ranked first in a sequence of the occurrence times as the first execution information, and processing the target document according to the first execution information.
However, Bailey teaches wherein in response to determining that the more than one piece of execution information is associated with the same element in the target document, determining the first execution information and processing the target document according to the first execution information comprises: in response to determining that the more than one piece of execution information is associated with the same element in the target document, determining an occurrence time of an operation corresponding to each of the more than one piece of execution information; and determining execution information corresponding to an operation with an occurrence time that is ranked first in a sequence of the occurrence times as the first execution information, and processing the target document according to the first execution information (the printer queries an access control system over a wired or wireless network, to obtain details of functions that the user or mobile device is allowed to use on that device, the times of day at which they are allowed to print, the maximum number of pages per day (or other period) that they may print, and the like. Alternatively, the printer may optionally have been pre-programmed with access control data [Bailey, 0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the invention was filed, to modify the document transfer, processing, and presentation invention of the combination with Hull and Kast, to include the occurrence time feature of Bailey.
One would have been motivated to make this modification to account for the timing of transferring content from one device to another. Such will keep accurate records of document processing.
Claim 11: The combination with Hull and Kast, teaches the method according to claim 9. The combination with Hull and Kast, does not teach wherein in response to determining that the more than one piece of execution information is associated with the same element in the target document, determining the first execution information and processing the target document according to the first execution information comprises: in response to determining that the more than one piece of execution information is associated with the same element in the target document, determining an occurrence time of an operation corresponding to each of the more than one piece of execution information; and storing the more than one piece of execution information in sequence according to an order of the occurrence times, and processing the target document according to the stored execution information.
However, Bailey teaches wherein in response to determining that the more than one piece of execution information is associated with the same element in the target document, determining the first execution information and processing the target document according to the first execution information comprises: in response to determining that the more than one piece of execution information is associated with the same element in the target document, determining an occurrence time of an operation corresponding to each of the more than one piece of execution information; and storing the more than one piece of execution information in sequence according to an order of the occurrence times, and processing the target document according to the stored execution information (the printer queries an access control system over a wired or wireless network, to obtain details of functions that the user or mobile device is allowed to use on that device, the times of day at which they are allowed to print, the maximum number of pages per day (or other period) that they may print, and the like. Alternatively, the printer may optionally have been pre-programmed with access control data [Bailey, 0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the invention was filed, to modify the document transfer, processing, and presentation invention of the combination with Hull and Kast, to include the occurrence time feature of Bailey.
One would have been motivated to make this modification to account for the timing of transferring content from one device to another. Such will keep accurate records of document processing.
Claim(s) 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hull (US 20050005115 A1, published: 1/6/2005) and Kast (US 20110093855 A1, published: 4/21/2011), and in further view of Boerries et al. (US 20090307370 A1, published: 12/10/2009).
Claim 14: The combination with Hull and Kast, teaches the method according to claim 1. The combination with Hull and Kast, does not teach wherein allocating the presenting-type task for the target document to the second device in the master device and the slave device, to enable the second device to process the presenting-type task for the target document comprises: allocating the presenting-type task for the target document to the second device, to enable the second device to generate a displaying interface for the presenting-type task and to display the target document in the displaying interface.
However, Boerries teaches wherein allocating the presenting-type task for the target document to the second device in the master device and the slave device, to enable the second device to process the presenting-type task for the target document comprises: allocating the presenting-type task for the target document to the second device, to enable the second device to generate a displaying interface for the presenting-type task and to display the target document in the displaying interface (a device includes logic operable to display an email message received from a remote location, the email message having associated data (e.g., an attachment) located remotely to the device (e.g., with a server or the like) [Boerries, 0011]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the invention was filed, to modify the document transfer, processing, and presentation invention of the combination with Hull and Kast, to include the document display feature of Boerries.
One would have been motivated to make this modification to process a document such that it can be displayed to a user. Such will allow the user to work with said documents in real time.
Claim 15: The combination of Hull, Kast, and Boerries, teaches the method according to claim 14. Boerries further teaches wherein allocating the presenting-type task for the target document to the second device in the master device and the slave device, to enable the second device to process the presenting-type task for the target document comprises: in response to determining that a processed target document needs to be displayed by the presenting-type task, transmitting the processed target document to the second device, to display the processed target document on the displaying interface for the presenting-type task of the second device; wherein the processed target document is obtained by processing the target document according to the execution information of the operating-type task (the method includes displaying at least a portion of an email message on a device, the email message having data associated therewith located remote from the device, receiving a request for the data, and initiating a fetch of the data from the remote location, wherein the data is fetched in the background of the device[Boerries, 0015]).
Claim 16: The combination of Hull, Kast, and Boerries, teaches the method according to claim 14, wherein allocating the presenting-type task for the target document to the second device in the master device and the slave device, to enable the second device to process the presenting-type task for the target document comprises: in response to determining that a processed target document does not need to be displayed by the presenting-type task, not transmitting the processed target document to the second device; wherein the processed target document is obtained by processing the target document according to the execution information of the operating-type task (Examiner's Note: if there is no content to be displayed, nothing is displayed).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Seth A Silverman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2172