DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-9 are pending, and claims 1-8 are currently under review.
Claim 9 is withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 1-8, in the reply filed on 7/01/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 9 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/01/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duchesne et al. (US 2010/0175790).
Regarding claims 1-2 and 4-5, Duchesne et al. discloses a soldering flux composition [abstract]; said flux including a fluxing agent such as levulinic acid and a solvent [abstract]. One of ordinary skill would understand that levulinic acid has a melting point of up to 35 degrees C and a boiling point of up to 246 degrees C, which meets the claimed ranges. Duchesne et al. further teaches that the solvent can include propylene glycol, which has a boiling point of approximately 188 degrees C [0029, claim6]. It would have been obvious to select propylene glycol as a solvent that is expressly taught as claimed (ie. inventive composition) by Duchesne et al.
Regarding claim 3, Duchesne et al. discloses the flux of claim 1 (see previous). Duchesne et al. further teaches that the levulinic acid is included in the total flux in an amount of 6 to 15 weight percent, which overlaps with the claimed range [0031]. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 6, Duchesne et al. discloses the flux of claim 1 (see previous). Duchesne et al. teaches the levulinic acid amount of 6 to 15 weight percent as explained above, and further teaches that the tacky solvent can be included in an amount of 50 to 80 weight percent [0031].The examiner notes that these amounts result in an overlapping ratio of tacky solvent to levulinic acid. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 8, Duchesne et al. discloses the flux of claim 1 (see previous). Duchesne et al. does not expressly teach that rosins or thermosetting resins are present, such that one of ordinary skill would understand that these components can be absent.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duchesne et al. (US 2010/0175790) in view of Zado (US 4,701,224).
Regarding claim 7, Duchesne et al. discloses the flux of claim 1 (see previous). Duchesne et al. further teaches inclusion of polyalkene glycol, which one of ordinary skill would understand to be a nonionic surfactant [0029]. However, Duchesne et al. does not expressly teach the inclusion of an amine as claimed. Zado discloses that it is known to include amine components in water soluble flux compositions to inhibit decomposition of the soldering fluid [abstract, col.3 ln.1-33]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the flux of Duchesne et al. by including an amine component for the aforementioned benefit as taught by Zado.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS A WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734