DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species1, Figures 1-12F, claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8-10, 12-14, 16, 18-20, 23, 24, 30, 34 and 35 in the reply filed on 02/04/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that it would not represent an undue burden on the Examiner to examine the constituents of the two species together. This is found persuasive; therefore, the Election of Species Requirement has been withdrawn.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8-10, 12-14, 16, 18-20, 23, 24, 30, 34 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fiedler et al. (US Patent No. 10,143,270).
Regarding claim 1, Fiedler et al. discloses a strap fastener comprising a connecting device wherein the connecting device comprises:
a first connecting part which comprises a first base body and at least one engagement protrusion arranged rigidly on the first base body (see annotated Fig. 17C), and
a second connecting part which can be placed against the first connecting part in a closing direction, is connected to a strap and comprises a second base body with an engagement section arranged rigidly on the second base body, wherein the engagement section is engageable along an engagement direction different from the closing direction with the at least one engagement protrusion of the first connecting part so that the engagement section is in engagement with the at least one engagement protrusion of the first connecting part in a connected position of the first connecting part and the second connecting part (see annotated Fig. 17C and Col. 23, lines 13-18),
wherein the first connecting part comprises a first magnetic device and the second connecting part comprises a second magnetic device, wherein the first magnetic device and the second magnetic device cooperate in a magnetically attracting manner to support the placing of the first connecting part and the second connecting part against one other along the closing direction (see annotated Fig. 17C),
wherein in the connected position, the second connecting part can be twisted about the closing direction relative to the first connecting part and, when twisted, the engagement of the engagement section with the at least one engagement protrusion is maintained (see annotated Fig. 17C and Fig. 16D),
wherein, in the connected position, the engagement section, viewed along the closing direction, is arranged on a first side of the at least one engagement protrusion and the strap is in a position relative to the at least one engagement protrusion or, by twisting the second connecting part relative to the first connecting part, can be brought into a position in which the strap extends beyond the at least one engagement protrusion on a second side facing away from the first side (see annotated Fig. 17C and Fig. 16D).
Regarding claim 2, Fiedler et al. discloses, wherein at least one of:
the second connecting part can be moved, in the connected position, by an angle of at least 10°, preferably at least 20°, about the closing direction relative to the first connecting part (see annotated Fig. 17C and Fig. 17B), and
the strap in the connected position can be moved over the at least one engagement protrusion on the second side when the second connecting part is twisted relative to the first connecting part (see annotated Fig. 17C and Fig. 16D).
Regarding claim 4, Fiedler et al. discloses, wherein the second connecting part comprises a fastening section to which the strap is fastened, wherein the strap emerges from the fastening section at an exit location (see annotated Fig. 17C).
Regarding claim 5, Fiedler et al. discloses, wherein the exit location is radially spaced from an axis of rotation directed along the closing direction, about which the second connecting part can be twisted relative to the first connecting part (see annotated Fig. 17C).
Regarding claim 6, Fiedler et al. discloses, wherein at least one of:
the exit location, viewed radially to the axis of rotation, is arranged between the axis of rotation and the engagement section (see annotated Fig. 17C), and
the exit location, viewed radially to the axis of rotation has a greater distance to the axis of rotation than the engagement section (see annotated Fig. 17C).
Regarding claim 8, Fiedler et al. discloses, wherein the strap extends from the fastening section on a first side of the fastening section and a further strap section is arranged on a second side of the fastening section facing away from the first side of the fastening section (see annotated Fig. 17C).
Regarding claim 9, Fiedler et al. discloses wherein the first connecting part comprises a blocking section which is arranged rigidly on the first base body and is configured to cooperate with the second connecting part in the connected position in order to block the engagement of the engagement section with the at least one engagement protrusion opposite to the engagement direction- wherein, in the connected position, the second connecting part can be tilted relative to the first connecting part in order to release the blocking against the engagement direction for separating of the first connecting part and the second connecting part from one another, and to enable the at least one engagement section and the at least one engagement protrusion to be disengaged (see Fig. 17B and annotated Fig. 17C).
Regarding claim 10, Fiedler et al. discloses, wherein at least one of:
the second connecting part can be lifted off the first connecting part for tilting relative to the first connecting part on a side facing away from the at least one engagement protrusion opposite to the closing direction (see Fig. 17B and annotated Fig. 17C), and
the second connecting part comprises an actuating section which can be actuated by a user for tilting the second connecting part relative to the first connecting part (see Fig. 17B and annotated Fig. 17C).
Regarding claim 12, Fiedler et al. discloses, wherein the second connecting part comprises a blocking element for cooperating with the blocking section of the first connecting part (see annotated Fig. 17C).
Regarding claim 13, Fiedler et al. discloses, wherein the blocking element, in the connected position, is twistable relative to the blocking section of the first connecting part about the closing direction (see annotated Fig. 17C).
Regarding claim 14, Fiedler et al. discloses wherein at least one of:
the first base body comprises a recess which is delimited at least in sections by the blocking section, wherein the blocking element is arranged in the recess in the connected position so that the engagement of the engagement section with the engagement protrusions is blocked (see annotated Fig. 17C), and
the blocking section comprises a run-up slope. wherein the run-up slope is configured to provide a sliding guide for the blocking element against the engagement direction when the second connecting part tilts relative to the first connecting part.
Regarding claim 16, Fiedler et al. discloses, wherein the at least one engagement protrusion is curved in an arcuate manner around the closing direction or a plurality of engagement protrusions are arranged in a row along a circumferential direction pointing around the closing direction (see annotated Fig. 17C).
Regarding claim 18, Fiedler et al. discloses, wherein the engagement section is rotationally symmetrical with respect to the closing direction (see annotated Fig. 17C).
Regarding claim 19, Fiedler et al. discloses, wherein the second base body of the second connecting part comprises a base section which forms the engagement section or to which the engagement section is spaced along the closing direction (see Fig. 16C and annotated Fig. 17C).
Regarding claim 20, Fiedler et al. discloses, wherein at least one of:
the second base body comprises a pin element protruding from the base section along the closing direction, on which the engagement section is arranged and to which the engagement section protrudes along the engagement direction,
the base section protrudes radially beyond the engagement section with respect to the closing direction, and
the base section is disc-shaped (see Fig. 16C and annotated Fig. 17C).
Regarding claim 23, Fiedler et al. discloses, wherein the base section comprises an edge section and the first connecting part comprises a support section rigidly formed on the first base body, wherein, in the connected position, the edge section of the base section is supported on the support section for load bearing along the engagement direction (see annotated Fig. 17C).
Regarding claim 24, Fiedler et al. discloses wherein at least one of:
the edge section extends circumferentially around the closing direction at the base section,
the support section is curved in an arcuate manner around the closing direction (see Fig. 16C and annotated Fig. 17C),
the support section, viewed along the closing direction, is spaced apart from the at least one engagement protrusion,
the support section, viewed along the engagement direction, is spaced apart from the at least one engagement protrusion,
the support section is formed by a surface section which is directed parallel or obliquely to the closing direction, and
the first connecting part comprises two engagement protrusions which are spaced apart from one another along a transverse direction pointing perpendicularly to the engagement direction and perpendicularly to the closing direction, wherein at least one section of the support section, viewed along the transverse direction. is arranged between the engagement protrusions and also along the engagement direction spaced from the engagement protrusions.
Regarding claim 30, Fiedler et al. discloses wherein at least one of:
the base section forms a base surface and the first base body forms a bottom surface, wherein the base surface in the connected position faces the bottom surface along the closing direction (see annotated Fig. 17C),
for tilting the second connecting part relative to the first connecting part, the base section can be tilted about a tilting axis perpendicular to the closing direction and to the engagement direction relative to the first connecting part. and
the first base body comprises a plunge opening into which a section of the base section plunges when the second connecting nan is tilted relative to the first connecting part in the closing direction.
Regarding claim 34, Fiedler et al. discloses, wherein the first base body comprises a positive-locking section against which the base section abuts in the connected position of the first connecting part and the second connecting part for counteracting tilting of the second connecting part relative to the first connecting part (see Fig. 17B and annotated Fig. 17C).
Regarding claim 35, Fiedler et al. discloses, wherein at least one of:
the positive-locking section is formed by a step on which the base section rests in the connected position,
the positive-locking section is formed by a surface section directed perpendicularly or obliquely to the closing direction (see annotated Fig. 17C),
the positive-locking section, viewed along the closing direction, is spaced apart from the at least one engagement protrusion, and
the positive-locking section, viewed along the engagement direction, is spaced apart from the at least one engagement protrusion.
Conclusion
/LOUIS A. MERCADO/
Examiner
Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/SPE, Art Unit 3677