DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on March 9, 2026 has been entered and considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 26-30, 32-34, 36, 38-43, 46, and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Creager et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0153812 A1 (hereinafter Creager), in view of Bozzini et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0293694 A1 (hereinafter Bozzini).
Regarding claim 26, Creager teaches a control device for ergonomic based reconfiguration of a virtual input device (101 and 200, 100 FIGS. 1-2, paragraph[0020] of Creager teaches FIG. 2 is a block diagram of a virtual input computing system (200) for processing data obtained from the virtual keyboard (100) of FIG. 1, according to one example of the principles described herein; the virtual input computing system (200) may be incorporated into the pad (101) of the virtual keyboard (100), may be a coupled to the virtual keyboard (100), may be a standalone computing device, or may be incorporated into a computing device to which, the virtual keyboard (100) is communicatively coupled; and in the example where the virtual input computing system (200) is incorporated into a computing device to which the virtual keyboard (100) is communicatively coupled, the various computing elements and resources provided by the virtual input computing system (200) may be part of the computing device, and the modules comprising executable program code used in the implementation of the virtual keyboard (100) and its associated functions may be stored within a data storage device of the computing device, and See also at least paragraphs[0028]-[0036], [0042]-[0043], [0048]-[0050], and [0061] of Creager (i.e., Creager teaches a virtual input computing system for processing data obtained from a virtual keyboard, and to orient keys and display keystrokes associated with hand movements of a user)), the control device comprising processing circuitry, the processing circuitry being configured to cause the control device to: obtain information of posture and/or movement of a user from a sensor whilst the user is interacting with the virtual input device in a virtual environment; determine whether or not the posture and/or movement of the user satisfies an ergonomic criterion by comparing the posture and/or movement of the user to reference ergonomic data; and (201, 102 FIGS. 1-2, and 5, paragraph[0059] of Creager teaches the method (500) of FIG. 5 may continue by the processor (201) executing the security module (240) to determine (block 503) if the initial hand characteristics match a number of hand characteristics defined by a keystroke identity such as the keystroke identity defined and stored at blocks 303 and 304 of FIG. 3; in one example, the initial hand characteristics may be compared to the keystroke identity of an individual currently logged into the computing device; in this example, a user who is authorized to access the computer, but is not the current user of the computer may still be denied access; in another example, the processor (201) may compare the initial hand characteristics to the keystroke identity of a number of users; if the initial hand characteristics match hand characteristics defined by a keystroke identity (block 503, determination YES), then access to the computing device may be allowed; the method (500) may loop back to block 501 to ensure that every time a user's hands are detected, that this security measure may be performed; the hand characteristics compared at block 503 may include, hand movements, hand sizes, hand posturing, hand positioning, and keystroke style, tissue density of the user's hands and fingers (110), palm prints, fingerprints, among many other characteristics of the user's hands and fingers as detected by the sensing devices (102), or combinations thereof, and See also at least paragraphs[0013]-[0014], [0020], [0022], [0036], [0038], [0048], [0050], [0058], and [0063] of Creager (i.e., Creager teaches a processor for executing a module to determine characteristics of hand, wherein the hand characteristics include at least hand movements, hand posturing, hand positioning, and keystroke style, wherein the virtual keyboard is calibrated while demonstrating keystrokes on the virtual keyboard, wherein determining the hand posturing from outset of the user using the virtual keyboard is based on detection by sensing devices detecting interaction by the user, and wherein processor determines whether hand characteristics match a stored keystroke identity by comparing initial hand characteristic to a keystroke identity of an individual currently logged into a computing device connected to the virtual keyboard)); but does not expressly teach reconfigure, when the posture and/or movement of the user fails to satisfy the ergonomic criterion, at least one setting of the virtual input device as a function of the posture and/or movement of the user and the reference ergonomic data to suggest to the user to change the posture and/or movement to be closer to satisfying the ergonomic criterion.
However, Bozzini teaches reconfigure, when the posture and/or movement of the user fails to satisfy the ergonomic criterion, at least one setting of the virtual input device as a function of the posture and/or movement of the user and the reference ergonomic data to suggest to the user to change the posture and/or movement to be closer to satisfying the ergonomic criterion (201 FIGS. 1-3, and 6-16, paragraph[0078] of Bozzini teaches at step 610, the processor 20 checks whether there is a corresponding virtual keyboard associated with the detected signature in the memory 30; if the corresponding virtual keyboard exists in the memory 30, the processor 20 at step 615 retrieves the corresponding virtual keyboard from the memory 30 and displays the corresponding virtual keyboard on the screen 310; this corresponding virtual keyboard should be an adapted keyboard produced previously with respect to this particular signature; if the default virtual keyboard 710 is displayed, the default virtual keyboard 710 is replaced by the corresponding virtual keyboard; and text 440 in FIG. 7 is entered by a user through the use of the adapted virtual key board, and See also at least paragraphs[0071]-[0077], [0079]-[0082], and [0087]-[0099] of Bozzini (i.e., Bozzini teaches a processor checks whether there is a corresponding virtual keyboard associated with a detected signature, which is a matching depiction of a user based on sizes and positions of touches, representing fingers of a user wherein if a corresponding virtual keyboard exists the processor retrieves the corresponding virtual keyboard from memory and displays the virtual keyboard on a screen, and wherein if no corresponding virtual keyboard exists in memory the processor produces a first virtual keyboard matching the detected signature and displays the first virtual keyboard that is capable of suggesting to the user to start using the first virtual keyboard to enter data in a manner that conforms with the first virtual keyboard that is adapted to the detected signature)).
Furthermore, Creager and Bozzini are considered to be analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to a keyboard, and forming a keyboard that is a virtual keyboard suitable for a particular user. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Creager based on Bozzini to reconfigure, when the posture and/or movement of the user fails to satisfy the ergonomic criterion, at least one setting of the virtual input device as a function of the posture and/or movement of the user and the reference ergonomic data to suggest to the user to change the posture and/or movement to be closer to satisfying the ergonomic criterion. One reason for the modification as taught by Bozzini is to have an apparatus for presenting a virtual keyboard with some keys partially or fully extend beyond the screen, dynamically adapting a virtual keyboard to a particular typing habits of a user, and allowing a user to customize a keyboard layout including adding/deleting keys and changing key positions (paragraph[0002] of Bozzini). The same motivation and rationale to combine for claim 26 mentioned above applies to all corresponding dependent claims mentioned in corresponding statement of grounds of rejection.
Regarding claim 27, Creager and Bozzini teach the control device according to claim 26, wherein the posture and/or movement of the user is represented by a user model defining a digital twin of the user, and wherein the digital twin is compared to the reference ergonomic data when determining whether or not the posture and/or movement of the user satisfies the ergonomic criterion (FIGS. 1-3, and 6-16, paragraph[0078] of Bozzini teaches at step 610, the processor 20 checks whether there is a corresponding virtual keyboard associated with the detected signature in the memory 30; if the corresponding virtual keyboard exists in the memory 30, the processor 20 at step 615 retrieves the corresponding virtual keyboard from the memory 30 and displays the corresponding virtual keyboard on the screen 310; this corresponding virtual keyboard should be an adapted keyboard produced previously with respect to this particular signature; if the default virtual keyboard 710 is displayed, the default virtual keyboard 710 is replaced by the corresponding virtual keyboard; and text 440 in FIG. 7 is entered by a user through the use of the adapted virtual key board, and See also at least paragraphs[0071]-[0077], [0079]-[0082], and [0087]-[0099] of Bozzini (i.e., Bozzini teaches a processor checks whether there is a corresponding virtual keyboard associated with a detected signature, which is a matching depiction of a user based on sizes and positions of touches, representing fingers of a user wherein if a corresponding virtual keyboard exists the processor retrieves the corresponding virtual keyboard from memory and displays the virtual keyboard on a screen, and wherein if no corresponding virtual keyboard exists in memory the processor produces a first virtual keyboard matching the detected signature and displays the first virtual keyboard that is capable of suggesting to the user to start using the first virtual keyboard to enter data in a manner that conforms with the first virtual keyboard that is adapted to the detected signature)).
Regarding claim 28, Creager and Bozzini teach the control device according to claim 27, wherein the digital twin represents any of: arms, hands, legs, feet, neck, head and torso of the user, or any combination thereof, with relative dimensions extracted from a digital representation of the user (FIGS. 1-3, and 6-16, paragraph[0078] of Bozzini teaches at step 610, the processor 20 checks whether there is a corresponding virtual keyboard associated with the detected signature in the memory 30; if the corresponding virtual keyboard exists in the memory 30, the processor 20 at step 615 retrieves the corresponding virtual keyboard from the memory 30 and displays the corresponding virtual keyboard on the screen 310; this corresponding virtual keyboard should be an adapted keyboard produced previously with respect to this particular signature; if the default virtual keyboard 710 is displayed, the default virtual keyboard 710 is replaced by the corresponding virtual keyboard; and text 440 in FIG. 7 is entered by a user through the use of the adapted virtual key board, and See also at least paragraphs[0071]-[0077], [0079]-[0082], and [0087]-[0099] of Bozzini (i.e., Bozzini teaches a processor checks whether there is a corresponding virtual keyboard associated with a detected signature, which is a matching depiction of a user based on sizes and positions of touches, representing fingers of a user wherein if a corresponding virtual keyboard exists based on the detected signature then the processor retrieves the corresponding virtual keyboard from memory and displays the virtual keyboard on a screen, wherein if no corresponding virtual keyboard exists in memory the processor produces a first virtual keyboard matching the detected signature and displays the first virtual keyboard that is capable of suggesting to the user to start using the first virtual keyboard to enter data in a manner that conforms with the first virtual keyboard that is adapted to the detected signature, and wherein the processor detects, records and stores relative position and sizes of fingers as a signature for future reference)).
Regarding claim 29, Creager and Bozzini teach the control device according to claim 26, wherein a threshold value is dependent on relative dimensions of arms, hands, head and/or torso of the user as derived from a digital representation of the user, and wherein the threshold value is used in determining whether or not the posture and/or movement of the suer satisfies the ergonomic criterion (FIGS. 1-3, and 6-16, paragraph[0078] of Bozzini teaches at step 610, the processor 20 checks whether there is a corresponding virtual keyboard associated with the detected signature in the memory 30; if the corresponding virtual keyboard exists in the memory 30, the processor 20 at step 615 retrieves the corresponding virtual keyboard from the memory 30 and displays the corresponding virtual keyboard on the screen 310; this corresponding virtual keyboard should be an adapted keyboard produced previously with respect to this particular signature; if the default virtual keyboard 710 is displayed, the default virtual keyboard 710 is replaced by the corresponding virtual keyboard; and text 440 in FIG. 7 is entered by a user through the use of the adapted virtual key board, and See also at least paragraphs[0071]-[0077], [0079]-[0082], and [0087]-[0099] of Bozzini (i.e., Bozzini teaches a processor checks whether there is a corresponding virtual keyboard (e.g., a virtual keyboard keyboard level) associated with a detected signature, which is a matching depiction of a user based on sizes and positions of touches, representing fingers of a user wherein if a corresponding virtual keyboard exists based on the detected signature then the processor retrieves the corresponding virtual keyboard from memory and displays the virtual keyboard on a screen, wherein if no corresponding virtual keyboard exists in memory the processor produces a first virtual keyboard matching the detected signature and displays the first virtual keyboard that is capable of suggesting to the user to start using the first virtual keyboard to enter data in a manner that conforms with the first virtual keyboard that is adapted to the detected signature, and wherein the processor detects, records and stores relative position and sizes of fingers as a signature for future reference)).
Regarding claim 30, Creager and Bozzini teach the control device according to claim 26, wherein the reference ergonomic data represents postures and/or movements to be used by the user, wherein the posture and/or movement of the user fails to satisfy the ergonomic criterion when the posture and/or movement of the user deviate more than a first threshold value from the reference ergonomic data, and whereby the user is suggested to change the posture and/or movement to be closer to the reference ergonomic data (FIGS. 1-3, and 6-16, paragraph[0078] of Bozzini teaches at step 610, the processor 20 checks whether there is a corresponding virtual keyboard associated with the detected signature in the memory 30; if the corresponding virtual keyboard exists in the memory 30, the processor 20 at step 615 retrieves the corresponding virtual keyboard from the memory 30 and displays the corresponding virtual keyboard on the screen 310; this corresponding virtual keyboard should be an adapted keyboard produced previously with respect to this particular signature; if the default virtual keyboard 710 is displayed, the default virtual keyboard 710 is replaced by the corresponding virtual keyboard; and text 440 in FIG. 7 is entered by a user through the use of the adapted virtual key board, and See also at least paragraphs[0071]-[0077], [0079]-[0082], and [0087]-[0099] of Bozzini (i.e., Bozzini teaches a processor checks whether there is a corresponding virtual keyboard associated with a detected signature, which is a matching depiction of a user based on sizes and positions of touches, representing fingers of a user wherein if a corresponding virtual keyboard exists based on the detected signature then the processor retrieves the corresponding virtual keyboard from memory and displays the virtual keyboard on a screen, wherein if no corresponding virtual keyboard exists in memory the processor produces a first virtual keyboard matching the detected signature and displays the first virtual keyboard that is capable of suggesting to the user to start using the first virtual keyboard to enter data in a manner that conforms with the first virtual keyboard that is adapted to the detected signature, and wherein the processor detects, records and records relative position and sizes of fingers as a signature for future reference)).
Regarding claim 32, Creager and Bozzini teach the control device according to claim 26, wherein the processing circuitry further is configured to cause the control device to: retrieve historical data representing previous postures and/or movements of the user, and wherein determining whether or not the posture and/or movement of the user satisfies the ergonomic criterion further is a function of the historical data (FIGS. 1-3, and 6-16, paragraph[0078] of Bozzini teaches at step 610, the processor 20 checks whether there is a corresponding virtual keyboard associated with the detected signature in the memory 30; if the corresponding virtual keyboard exists in the memory 30, the processor 20 at step 615 retrieves the corresponding virtual keyboard from the memory 30 and displays the corresponding virtual keyboard on the screen 310; this corresponding virtual keyboard should be an adapted keyboard produced previously with respect to this particular signature; if the default virtual keyboard 710 is displayed, the default virtual keyboard 710 is replaced by the corresponding virtual keyboard; and text 440 in FIG. 7 is entered by a user through the use of the adapted virtual key board, and See also at least paragraphs[0071]-[0077], [0079]-[0082], and [0087]-[0099] of Bozzini (i.e., Bozzini teaches a processor checks whether there is a corresponding virtual keyboard associated with a detected signature, which is a matching depiction of a user based on sizes and positions of touches, representing fingers of a user wherein if a corresponding virtual keyboard exists based on the detected signature then the processor retrieves the corresponding virtual keyboard from memory and displays the virtual keyboard on a screen, wherein if no corresponding virtual keyboard exists in memory the processor produces a first virtual keyboard matching the detected signature and displays the first virtual keyboard that is capable of suggesting to the user to start using the first virtual keyboard to enter data in a manner that conforms with the first virtual keyboard that is adapted to the detected signature, and wherein the processor detects, records and stores relative position and sizes of fingers as a signature for future reference)).
Regarding claim 33, Creager and Bozzini teach the control device according to claim 26, wherein the processing circuitry further is configured to cause the control device to: aggregate tracked posture and/or movement of the user over time; and construct a user model from the tracked posture and/or movement of the user (FIGS. 1-3, and 6-16, paragraph[0090] of Bozzini teaches the processor 20 automatically detects this variation and evaluates the region in which the keyboard should be receptive for each key; the processor 20 in effect adapts the individual keys to the user habits in respect of position, size and shape while a user hitting the keys to reduce the error rate of typing by a user on a virtual keyboard; the adaptation can take place all the time when the keyboard is in use or only during a learning phase of the system; however, the adaptation is preferably linked to a given user, so that each user has his/her personal parameter set that is loaded initially and then adjusted depending on the current setting of the adaptation; this set of parameters can be selected either by an input (user identification, signature, etc.) of a user or by recognizing the typical finger position; and the user may also signal the processor 20 to store the newly adapted virtual keyboard as the corresponding virtual keyboard for the signature, and See also at least paragraphs[0071]-[0082], [0087]-[0089], and [0091]-[0099] of Bozzini (i.e., Bozzini teaches a processor checks whether there is a corresponding virtual keyboard associated with a detected signature, which is a matching depiction of a user based on sizes and positions of touches, representing fingers of a user wherein if a corresponding virtual keyboard exists based on the detected signature then the processor retrieves the corresponding virtual keyboard from memory and displays the virtual keyboard on a screen, wherein if no corresponding virtual keyboard exists in memory the processor produces a first virtual keyboard matching the detected signature and displays the first virtual keyboard that is capable of suggesting to the user to start using the first virtual keyboard to enter data in a manner that conforms with the first virtual keyboard that is adapted to the detected signature, and wherein the processor detects, records and stores relative position and sizes of fingers as a signature for future reference)).
Regarding claim 34, Creager and Bozzini teach the control device according to claim 26, wherein the posture and/or movement of the user is tracked by at least one sensor configured to record sensor data representing a digital representation of the user, and wherein the digital representation of the user is analysed to track the posture and/or movement of the user in relation to the user input device in the virtual environment (FIGS. 1-3, and 6-24, paragraph[0059] of Bozzini teaches sensing layer 320 may sense a change associated with its electrical properties every time a user contacts sensing layer 320, and may provide this information to processor 20 and/or memory 30. Processor 20 may utilize this information to determine a shape, a size, and/or a location of a user's finger (or fingers) on display 120. In one exemplary implementation, processor 20 may calculate touch area(s) associated with a user's finger(s) based on information received from sensing layer 320, and may reconfigure display element(s) (e. g., keys, icons, etc.) associated with display 120 based on the calculated touch area(s), and See also at least paragraphs[0047]-[0054], [0058], [0071]-[0082], [0087]-[0089], and [0090]-[0106] of Bozzini (i.e., Bozzini teaches a sensing layer along with a processor that together sense at least a finger contact (i.e., touch) on a display having a touch-sensitive screen and checks whether there is a corresponding virtual keyboard associated with a detected signature, which is a matching depiction of the user based on sizes and positions of touches, representing fingers of a user wherein if a corresponding virtual keyboard exists based on the detected signature then the processor retrieves the corresponding virtual keyboard from memory and displays the virtual keyboard on a screen, wherein if no corresponding virtual keyboard exists in memory the processor produces a first virtual keyboard matching the detected signature and displays the first virtual keyboard that is capable of suggesting to the user to start using the first virtual keyboard to enter data in a manner that conforms with the first virtual keyboard that is adapted to the detected signature, and wherein the processor detects, records and stores relative position and sizes of fingers as a signature for future reference)).
Regarding claim 36, Creager and Bozzini teach the control device according to claim 26, wherein reconfiguring the at least one setting of the virtual input device is constrained by at least one property of a physical environment in which the virtual input device is deployed (FIGS. 1-3, and 6-24, paragraph[0064] of Bozzini teaches FIG. 4 shows an exemplary virtual keyboard 410 on the display 120, in which the sensing layer 320 having touch-sensitive elements extends beyond the area of the screen 310; the second portion of touch-sensitive elements is arranged to be consecutive to the bottom edge of the screen 310 and to the first portion of the touch-sensitive elements; in this example, the spacebar and its horizontal neighbors are only displayed partially (upper portion on the screen 310 and on the first portion of the touch-sensitive elements, lower portion outside of the screen 310 and on the second portion of the touch-sensitive elements) such that their positions are easier to find visually; the second portion of the touch-sensitive elements may exist in any of all sides of the screen 310; for example, if the virtual keyboard 410 is moved to the top, the row of the number keys can be partially displayed; and similarly, the keys on the right or left side can be partially displayed if touch-sensitive area is also extended in that side, and See also at least paragraphs[0047]-[0054], [0058]-[0059], [0065], [0071]-[0082], [0087]-[0089], and [0090]-[0106] of Bozzini (i.e., Bozzini teaches a sensing layer along with a processor that together sense at least a finger contact (i.e., touch) on a display having a touch-sensitive screen and checks whether there is a corresponding virtual keyboard associated with a detected signature, which is a matching depiction of the user based on sizes and positions of touches, representing fingers of a user wherein if a corresponding virtual keyboard exists based on the detected signature then the processor retrieves the corresponding virtual keyboard from memory and displays the virtual keyboard on a screen, wherein if no corresponding virtual keyboard exists in memory the processor produces a first virtual keyboard matching the detected signature and displays the first virtual keyboard that is capable of suggesting to the user to start using the first virtual keyboard to enter data in a manner that conforms with the first virtual keyboard that is adapted, according to dimensions of the display, to the detected signature, and wherein the processor detects, records and stores relative position and sizes of fingers as a signature for future reference)).
Regarding claim 38, Creager and Bozzini teach the control device according to claim 26, wherein the at least one setting pertains to layout of buttons and/or keys on the virtual input device, and wherein the at least one setting is reconfigured by the layout of the buttons and/or keys being changed on the virtual input device (FIGS. 1-3, and 6-16, paragraph[0081] of Bozzini teaches for example, if a default virtual keyboard, such as the default virtual keyboard 710 in FIG. 7, is displayed, the processor 20 adjusts the default virtual keyboard 710 to a wider and larger virtual keyboard 810 as the first virtual keyboard, as shown in FIG. 8 for bigger hands. For smaller hands, the processor 20 may shorten the virtual keyboard 710 to a narrower and smaller virtual keyboard 910, as shown in FIG. 9. In effect, the processor 20 adapts the default virtual keyboard 710 to produce the first virtual keyboard, and See also at least paragraphs[0071]-[0080], [0082], and [0087]-[0099] of Bozzini (i.e., Bozzini teaches a processor checks whether there is a corresponding virtual keyboard associated with a detected signature, which is a matching depiction of a user based on sizes and positions of touches, representing fingers of a user wherein if a corresponding virtual keyboard exists the processor retrieves the corresponding virtual keyboard from memory and displays the virtual keyboard on a screen, and wherein if no corresponding virtual keyboard exists in memory the processor produces a first virtual keyboard matching the detected signature and displays the first virtual keyboard that is capable of having a wider or narrow configuration of keys in the displayed keyboard and capable of suggesting to the user to start using the first virtual keyboard to enter data in a manner that conforms with the first virtual keyboard that is adapted to the detected signature)).
Regarding claim 39, Creager and Bozzini teach the control device according to claim 26, wherein the at least one setting pertains to size and/or shape of buttons and/or keys on the virtual input device, and wherein the at least one setting is reconfigured by the size and/or shape of the buttons and/or keys being changed on the virtual input device (FIGS. 1-3, and 6-16, paragraph[0081] of Bozzini teaches for example, if a default virtual keyboard, such as the default virtual keyboard 710 in FIG. 7, is displayed, the processor 20 adjusts the default virtual keyboard 710 to a wider and larger virtual keyboard 810 as the first virtual keyboard, as shown in FIG. 8 for bigger hands; for smaller hands, the processor 20 may shorten the virtual keyboard 710 to a narrower and smaller virtual keyboard 910, as shown in FIG. 9; and in effect, the processor 20 adapts the default virtual keyboard 710 to produce the first virtual keyboard, and See also at least paragraphs[0071]-[0080], [0082], and [0087]-[0099] of Bozzini (i.e., Bozzini teaches a processor checks whether there is a corresponding virtual keyboard associated with a detected signature, which is a matching depiction of a user based on sizes and positions of touches, representing fingers of a user wherein if a corresponding virtual keyboard exists the processor retrieves the corresponding virtual keyboard from memory and displays the virtual keyboard on a screen, and wherein if no corresponding virtual keyboard exists in memory the processor produces a first virtual keyboard matching the detected signature and displays the first virtual keyboard that is capable of having a wider or narrow configuration of keys in the displayed keyboard and capable of suggesting to the user to start using the first virtual keyboard to enter data in a manner that conforms with the first virtual keyboard that is adapted to the detected signature)).
Regarding claim 40, Creager and Bozzini teach the control device according to claim 26, wherein the at least one setting pertains to size and/or shape of the virtual input device, and wherein the at least one setting is reconfigured by the size and/or shape of the virtual input device being changed (FIGS. 1-3, and 6-16, paragraph[0081] of Bozzini teaches for example, if a default virtual keyboard, such as the default virtual keyboard 710 in FIG. 7, is displayed, the processor 20 adjusts the default virtual keyboard 710 to a wider and larger virtual keyboard 810 as the first virtual keyboard, as shown in FIG. 8 for bigger hands; for smaller hands, the processor 20 may shorten the virtual keyboard 710 to a narrower and smaller virtual keyboard 910, as shown in FIG. 9; and in effect, the processor 20 adapts the default virtual keyboard 710 to produce the first virtual keyboard, and See also at least paragraphs[0071]-[0080], [0082], and [0087]-[0099] of Bozzini (i.e., Bozzini teaches a processor checks whether there is a corresponding virtual keyboard associated with a detected signature, which is a matching depiction of a user based on sizes and positions of touches, representing fingers of a user wherein if a corresponding virtual keyboard exists the processor retrieves the corresponding virtual keyboard from memory and displays the virtual keyboard on a screen, and wherein if no corresponding virtual keyboard exists in memory the processor produces a first virtual keyboard matching the detected signature and displays the first virtual keyboard that is capable of having a wider or narrow configuration of keys in the displayed keyboard and capable of suggesting to the user to start using the first virtual keyboard to enter data in a manner that conforms with the first virtual keyboard that is adapted to the detected signature)).
Regarding claim 41, Creager and Bozzini teach the control device according to claim 26, wherein the at least one setting pertains to spatial location of the virtual input device, and wherein the at least one setting is reconfigured by the spatial location of the virtual input device being changed (FIGS. 1-3, and 6-16, paragraph[0081] of Bozzini teaches for example, if a default virtual keyboard, such as the default virtual keyboard 710 in FIG. 7, is displayed, the processor 20 adjusts the default virtual keyboard 710 to a wider and larger virtual keyboard 810 as the first virtual keyboard, as shown in FIG. 8 for bigger hands; for smaller hands, the processor 20 may shorten the virtual keyboard 710 to a narrower and smaller virtual keyboard 910, as shown in FIG. 9; and in effect, the processor 20 adapts the default virtual keyboard 710 to produce the first virtual keyboard, and See also at least paragraphs[0071]-[0080], [0082], and [0087]-[0099] of Bozzini (i.e., Bozzini teaches a processor checks whether there is a corresponding virtual keyboard associated with a detected signature, which is a matching depiction of a user based on sizes and positions of touches, representing fingers of a user wherein if a corresponding virtual keyboard exists the processor retrieves the corresponding virtual keyboard from memory and displays the virtual keyboard on a screen, and wherein if no corresponding virtual keyboard exists in memory the processor produces a first virtual keyboard matching the detected signature and displays the first virtual keyboard that is capable of having a wider or narrow configuration of keys in the displayed keyboard and capable of suggesting to the user to start using the first virtual keyboard to enter data in a manner that conforms with the first virtual keyboard that is adapted to the detected signature)).
Regarding claim 42, Creager and Bozzini teach the control device according to claim 26, wherein the at least one setting of the virtual input device is stepwise reconfigured from an initial setting to a final setting via at least one intermediate setting (FIGS. 1-3, and 6-16, paragraph[0071] of Bozzini teaches according to the principles of another invention, a virtual keyboard can be adapted to fit the width of the user's hands and fingers; FIG. 6 illustrates a process 600 of dynamically adapting a virtual keyboard; and for purposes of example and explanation only, the steps of FIG. 6 may be explained hereinafter with specific reference to the exemplary embodiments of FIGS. 1-3 described above and other figures described later, and See also at least paragraphs[0072]-[0082], and [0087]-[0099] of Bozzini (i.e., Bozzini teaches a processor checks whether there is a corresponding virtual keyboard associated with a detected signature, which is a matching depiction of a user based on sizes and positions of touches, representing fingers of a user wherein if a corresponding virtual keyboard exists the processor retrieves the corresponding virtual keyboard from memory and displays the virtual keyboard on a screen, and wherein if no corresponding virtual keyboard exists in memory the processor produces a first virtual keyboard matching the detected signature and displays the first virtual keyboard that is capable of having a wider or narrow configuration of keys in the displayed keyboard and capable of suggesting to the user to start using the first virtual keyboard to enter data in a manner that conforms with the first virtual keyboard that is adapted to the detected signature)).
Regarding claim 43, Creager and Bozzini teach the control device according to claim 26, wherein the virtual input device is any of: a virtual keyboard, a virtual computer mouse, a virtual remote controller, a virtual gaming controller (100 FIGS. 1-2, paragraph[0020] of Creager teaches FIG. 2 is a block diagram of a virtual input computing system (200) for processing data obtained from the virtual keyboard (100) of FIG. 1, according to one example of the principles described herein; the virtual input computing system (200) may be incorporated into the pad (101) of the virtual keyboard (100), may be a coupled to the virtual keyboard (100), may be a standalone computing device, or may be incorporated into a computing device to which, the virtual keyboard (100) is communicatively coupled; and in the example where the virtual input computing system (200) is incorporated into a computing device to which the virtual keyboard (100) is communicatively coupled, the various computing elements and resources provided by the virtual input computing system (200) may be part of the computing device, and the modules comprising executable program code used in the implementation of the virtual keyboard (100) and its associated functions may be stored within a data storage device of the computing device, and See also at least paragraphs[0028]-[0036], [0042]-[0043], and [0048]-[0050] of Creager (i.e., Creager teaches a virtual input computing system for processing data obtained from a virtual keyboard, and to orient keys and display keystrokes associated with hand movements of a user)).
Regarding claim 46, Creager and Bozzini teach the control device according to claim 26, wherein the control device is part of, or integrated with, a communication device (200, 100 FIGS. 1-2, paragraph[0061] of Creager teaches in this manner, the virtual keyboard (100) may be used to provide access control and security to any computing device; and these computing devices may include, for example, desktop computers, laptop computers, tablet computers, mobile phone devices, as well as objects or devices that user computing devices such as vehicles, automated teller machines (ATMs), buildings, musical instruments such as keyboards, checkout stands at retail stores, among many other devices and objects, and See also at least paragraphs[0020], [0027]-[0036], [0042]-[0043], and [0048]-[0050] of Creager (i.e., Creager teaches the virtual input computing system having hardware adapters that provide an interface to a display device that includes a mobile device having a screen)).
Regarding claim 48, Creager teaches a method for ergonomic based reconfiguration of a virtual input device (100 FIGS. 1-2, and 3 paragraph[0020] of Creager teaches FIG. 2 is a block diagram of a virtual input computing system (200) for processing data obtained from the virtual keyboard (100) of FIG. 1, according to one example of the principles described herein; the virtual input computing system (200) may be incorporated into the pad (101) of the virtual keyboard (100), may be a coupled to the virtual keyboard (100), may be a standalone computing device, or may be incorporated into a computing device to which, the virtual keyboard (100) is communicatively coupled; and in the example where the virtual input computing system (200) is incorporated into a computing device to which the virtual keyboard (100) is communicatively coupled, the various computing elements and resources provided by the virtual input computing system (200) may be part of the computing device, and the modules comprising executable program code used in the implementation of the virtual keyboard (100) and its associated functions may be stored within a data storage device of the computing device, and See also at least paragraphs[0028]-[0036], [0042]-[0043], [0048]-[0050], and [0061] of Creager (i.e., Creager teaches a virtual input computing system and method for processing data obtained from a virtual keyboard, and to orient keys and display keystrokes associated with hand movements of a user)), the method being performed by a control device, the method comprising: obtaining information of posture and/or movement of a user from a sensor whilst the user is interacting with the virtual input device in a virtual environment; determining whether or not the posture and/or movement of the user satisfies an ergonomic criterion by comparing the posture and/or movement of the user to reference ergonomic data; and (101 and 200, 102 FIGS. 1-3, and 5, paragraph[0059] of Creager teaches the method (500) of FIG. 5 may continue by the processor (201) executing the security module (240) to determine (block 503) if the initial hand characteristics match a number of hand characteristics defined by a keystroke identity such as the keystroke identity defined and stored at blocks 303 and 304 of FIG. 3; in one example, the initial hand characteristics may be compared to the keystroke identity of an individual currently logged into the computing device; in this example, a user who is authorized to access the computer, but is not the current user of the computer may still be denied access; in another example, the processor (201) may compare the initial hand characteristics to the keystroke identity of a number of users; if the initial hand characteristics match hand characteristics defined by a keystroke identity (block 503, determination YES), then access to the computing device may be allowed; the method (500) may loop back to block 501 to ensure that every time a user's hands are detected, that this security measure may be performed; the hand characteristics compared at block 503 may include, hand movements, hand sizes, hand posturing, hand positioning, and keystroke style, tissue density of the user's hands and fingers (110), palm prints, fingerprints, among many other characteristics of the user's hands and fingers as detected by the sensing devices (102), or combinations thereof, and See also at least paragraphs[0013]-[0014], [0020], [0022], [0036], [0038], [0048]-[0054], [0058], and [0063] of Creager (i.e., Creager teaches a processor for executing a module to determine characteristics of hand, wherein the hand characteristics include at least hand movements, hand posturing, hand positioning, and keystroke style, wherein the virtual keyboard is calibrated while demonstrating keystrokes on the virtual keyboard, wherein determining the hand posturing from outset of the user using the virtual keyboard is based on detection by sensing devices detecting interaction by the user, and wherein processor determines whether hand characteristics match a stored keystroke identity by comparing initial hand characteristic to a keystroke identity of an individual currently logged into a computing device connected to the virtual keyboard)); but does not expressly teach reconfiguring, when the posture and/or movement of the user fails to satisfy the ergonomic criterion, at least one setting of the virtual input device as a function of the posture and/or movement of the user and the reference ergonomic data to suggest to the user to change the posture and/or movement to be closer to satisfying the ergonomic criterion.
However, Bozzini teaches reconfiguring, when the posture and/or movement of the user fails to satisfy the ergonomic criterion, at least one setting of the virtual input device as a function of the posture and/or movement of the user and the reference ergonomic data to suggest to the user to change the posture and/or movement to be closer to satisfying the ergonomic criterion (201 FIGS. 1-3, and 6-16, paragraph[0078] of Bozzini teaches at step 610, the processor 20 checks whether there is a corresponding virtual keyboard associated with the detected signature in the memory 30; if the corresponding virtual keyboard exists in the memory 30, the processor 20 at step 615 retrieves the corresponding virtual keyboard from the memory 30 and displays the corresponding virtual keyboard on the screen 310; this corresponding virtual keyboard should be an adapted keyboard produced previously with respect to this particular signature; if the default virtual keyboard 710 is displayed, the default virtual keyboard 710 is replaced by the corresponding virtual keyboard; and text 440 in FIG. 7 is entered by a user through the use of the adapted virtual key board, and See also at least ABSTRACT, paragraphs[0071]-[0077], [0079]-[0082], and [0087]-[0099] of Bozzini (i.e., Bozzini teaches a processor checks whether there is a corresponding virtual keyboard associated with a detected signature, which is a matching depiction of a user based on sizes and positions of touches, representing fingers of a user wherein if a corresponding virtual keyboard exists the processor retrieves the corresponding virtual keyboard from memory and displays the virtual keyboard on a screen, and wherein if no corresponding virtual keyboard exists in memory the processor produces a first virtual keyboard matching the detected signature and displays the first virtual keyboard that is capable of suggesting to the user to start using the first virtual keyboard to enter data in a manner that conforms with the first virtual keyboard that is adapted to the detected signature)).
Furthermore, Creager and Bozzini are considered to be analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to a keyboard, and forming a keyboard that is a virtual keyboard suitable for a particular user. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system and method of Creager based on Bozzini by reconfiguring, when the posture and/or movement of the user fails to satisfy the ergonomic criterion, at least one setting of the virtual input device as a function of the posture and/or movement of the user and the reference ergonomic data to suggest to the user to change the posture and/or movement to be closer to satisfying the ergonomic criterion. One reason for the modification as taught by Bozzini is to have an apparatus for presenting a virtual keyboard with some keys partially or fully extend beyond the screen, dynamically adapting a virtual keyboard to a particular typing habits of a user, and allowing a user to customize a keyboard layout including adding/deleting keys and changing key positions (paragraph[0002] of Bozzini).
Claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Creager, in view of Bozzini, and Kim et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2010/0241985 A1 (hereinafter Kim I).
Regarding claim 37, Creager and Bozzini teach the control device according to claim 36, but do not expressly teach wherein the constraints are derived by the control device from information received by the control device of the physical environment.
However, Kim I teaches wherein the constraints are derived by the control device from information received by the control device of the physical environment (FIGS. 3-4, and 12-18, paragraph[0088] of Kim I teaches the virtual keyboard size setting module 110 can provide a size setting user interface for setting the size of a virtual keyboard on the display region of the touch screen 20; responsive to the user input received through the size setting user interface, the virtual keyboard size setting module 110 can set size information for the corresponding virtual keyboard; and also, the virtual keyboard size setting module 110 can send the set size information to the virtual keyboard processing module 120, and See also at least paragraphs[0036]-[0045], [0082]-[0087], and [0089]-[0108] of Kim I (i.e., Kim I teaches a virtual keyboard providing apparatus having a virtual keyboard size setting module that provides a size setting user interface, wherein responsive to a user input received through the size setting user interface, the virtual keyboard providing apparatus is capable of setting a size of a virtual keyboard that is based on the user input, and wherein the size of the virtual keyboard is constrained within a boundary of a display region of a touch screen, and wherein the size is based on a user selection)).
Furthermore, Creager, Bozzini, and Kim I are considered to be analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to a keyboard, and forming a keyboard that is a virtual keyboard suitable for a particular user. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Creager based on Bozzini and Kim I wherein the constraints are derived by the control device from information received by the control device of the physical environment. One reason for the modification as taught by Bozzini is to have an apparatus for presenting a virtual keyboard with some keys partially or fully extend beyond the screen, dynamically adapting a virtual keyboard to a particular typing habits of a user, and allowing a user to customize a keyboard layout including adding/deleting keys and changing key positions (paragraph[0002] of Bozzini). Another reason for the modification as taught by Kim I is to provide a virtual keyboard configured to facilitate the entry of keys and provide various forms of virtual keyboards according to the needs of a user (paragraph[0005] of Kim I).
Claims 44-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Creager, in view of Bozzini, and Holland et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0035439 A1 (hereinafter Holland).
Regarding claim 44, Creager and Bozzini teach the control device according to claim 26, but do not expressly teach wherein the virtual environment is an extended reality (XR) virtual environment.
However, Holland teaches wherein the virtual environment is an extended reality (XR) virtual environment (FIGS. 1-10, paragraph[0046] of Holland teaches for example, in the virtual keyboard example above, the position, order, size, and/or configuration of the virtual keyboard and/or keys on the virtual keyboard can be modified or randomized when rendered to the user to prevent other users in the physical environment from inferring key locations or typed data; the user can see the virtual keyboard through an XR device (e.g., a head-mounted display, AR glasses, etc.), but other users or devices will not be able to infer or understand the configuration of the virtual keyboard or the location of specific keys in the virtual keyboard; and accordingly, the other users will not be able to infer or understand the user's interactions with the virtual keyboard to potentially infer the information entered by the user through the virtual keyboard, even if the users are also using an XR device and engaged in the same XR experience as the user or otherwise capable of seeing the user's movements corresponding to the user's interactions, and See also at least paragraphs[0036]-[0037], [0039], [0043], [0045], and [0057] of Holland (i.e., Holland teaches an XR experience that includes an XR environment wherein a user is utilizing a virtual keyboard in a manner that prevents other users in the physical environment from inferring key locations)).
Furthermore, Creager, Bozzini, and Holland are considered to be analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to a keyboard, and forming a keyboard that is a virtual keyboard suitable for a particular user. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Creager based on Bozzini and Holland wherein the virtual environment is an extended reality (XR) virtual environment. One reason for the modification as taught by Bozzini is to have an apparatus for presenting a virtual keyboard with some keys partially or fully extend beyond the screen, dynamically adapting a virtual keyboard to a particular typing habits of a user, and allowing a user to customize a keyboard layout including adding/deleting keys and changing key positions (paragraph[0002] of Bozzini). Another reason for the modification as taught by Holland is to obfuscate virtual control interfaces in extended reality and other applications (paragraph[0001] of Holland).
Regarding claim 45, Creager and Bozzini teach the control device according to claim 26, but do not expressly teach wherein the virtual environment is either an augmented reality (AR) virtual environment, a virtual reality (VR) virtual environment, or a mixed reality (MR) virtual environment.
However, Holland teaches wherein the virtual environment is either an augmented reality (AR) virtual environment, a virtual reality (VR) virtual environment, or a mixed reality (MR) virtual environment (FIGS. 1-10, paragraph[0046] of Holland teaches for example, in the virtual keyboard example above, the position, order, size, and/or configuration of the virtual keyboard and/or keys on the virtual keyboard can be modified or randomized when rendered to the user to prevent other users in the physical environment from inferring key locations or typed data; the user can see the virtual keyboard through an XR device (e.g., a head-mounted display, AR glasses, etc.), but other users or devices will not be able to infer or understand the configuration of the virtual keyboard or the location of specific keys in the virtual keyboard; and accordingly, the other users will not be able to infer or understand the user's interactions with the virtual keyboard to potentially infer the information entered by the user through the virtual keyboard, even if the users are also using an XR device and engaged in the same XR experience as the user or otherwise capable of seeing the user's movements corresponding to the user's interactions, and See also at least paragraphs[0036]-[0037], [0039], [0043], [0045], and [0057] of Holland (i.e., Holland teaches an XR experience that includes an XR environment wherein a user is utilizing a virtual keyboard in a manner that prevents other users in the physical environment from inferring key locations)).
Claim 47 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Creager, in view of Bozzini, and Huang et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2010/0164849 A1 (hereinafter Huang).
Regarding claim 47, Creager and Bozzini teach a system, comprising a control device according to claim 26, and a user interface device (101 and 200 FIGS. 1-2, paragraph[0020] of Creager teaches FIG. 2 is a block diagram of a virtual input computing system (200) for processing data obtained from the virtual keyboard (100) of FIG. 1, according to one example of the principles described herein; the virtual input computing system (200) may be incorporated into the pad (101) of the virtual keyboard (100), may be a coupled to the virtual keyboard (100), may be a standalone computing device, or may be incorporated into a computing device to which, the virtual keyboard (100) is communicatively coupled; and in the example where the virtual input computing system (200) is incorporated into a computing device to which the virtual keyboard (100) is communicatively coupled, the various computing elements and resources provided by the virtual input computing system (200) may be part of the computing device, and the modules comprising executable program code used in the implementation of the virtual keyboard (100) and its associated functions may be stored within a data storage device of the computing device, and See also at least paragraphs[0028]-[0036], [0042]-[0043], [0048]-[0050], and [0061] of Creager (i.e., Creager teaches a virtual input computing system for processing data obtained from a virtual keyboard, and to orient keys and display keystrokes associated with hand movements of a user, wherein an image of a keyboard is displayed on a pad using a projection system to project the image of the keyboard on the pad)), but do not expressly teach wherein the user interface device comprises a projection module for making the virtual input device visible on a surface, and the sensor for sensing user interaction of the user with the virtual input device.
However, Huang teaches wherein the user interface device comprises a projection module for making the virtual input device visible on a surface, and the sensor for sensing user interaction of the user with the virtual input device (11, 15 and 12 FIGS. 1A-1D, paragraph[0024] of Huang teaches the storage module 13 is used for storing dimensions of a coordinate system, a plurality of press-key data corresponding to the virtual keys, coordinates of the virtual keys in the coordinate system, and two respective reference positions 121 of the vibration sensors 12 in the coordinate system; the processor 14 is electrically coupled with the projection module 11, the vibration sensors 12 and the storage module 13, respectively; referring to FIG. 2, it shows a flow diagram of a first embodiment of the present invention, applied to the electronic device as shown in FIGS. 1A, 1B, 1C and 1D; the projection module 11 of the tablet PC 10 is used to project an image of a virtual keyboard 21 on the surface 20 on which the electronic device is put, and the virtual keyboard 21 includes plural virtual press-keys, with an image of each virtual press-key being marked with a function that the virtual press-key is provided with or a character or symbol that is to be inputted; and the image of this virtual keyboard 21 can be pre-stored in the storage module 13 or directly stored in the projection module 11, and See also at least paragraphs[0021]-[0023], [0025], and [0034] of Huang (i.e., Huang teaches a projection module that projects a virtual keyboard, and a photodetector used for detecting a position where the virtual keyboard is pressed in order to generate a coordinate of pressing )).
Furthermore, Creager, Bozzini, and Huang are considered to be analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to a keyboard, and forming a keyboard that is a virtual keyboard suitable for a particular user. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Creager based on Bozzini and Huang wherein the user interface device comprises a projection module for making the virtual input device visible on a surface, and the sensor for sensing user interaction of the user with the virtual input device. One reason for the modification as taught by Bozzini is to have an apparatus for presenting a virtual keyboard with some keys partially or fully extend beyond the screen, dynamically adapting a virtual keyboard to a particular typing habits of a user, and allowing a user to customize a keyboard layout including adding/deleting keys and changing key positions (paragraph[0002] of Bozzini). Another reason for the modification as taught by Huang is to have a virtual keyboard that includes a suitable projection module for projecting a virtual keyboard on a surface (paragraphs[0007]-[0009] of Huang).
Potentially Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 31 and 35 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten to overcome objection(s) indicated above, and if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, because for each of claims 31 and 35 the prior art references of record do not teach the combination of all element limitations as presently claimed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 9, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The following is a brief summary of Applicant’s arguments:
In regard to currently amended claim 26, Applicants submitted that the combination of prior art of record does not disclose the following limitations: “obtain information of posture and/or movement of a user from a sensor whilst the user is interacting with the virtual input device in a virtual environment; determine whether or not the posture and/or movement of the user satisfies an ergonomic criterion by comparing the posture and/or movement of the user to reference ergonomic data; and reconfigure, when the posture and/or movement of the user fails to satisfy the ergonomic criterion, at least one setting of the virtual input device as a function of the posture and/or movement of the user and the reference ergonomic data to suggest to the user to change the posture and/or movement to be closer to satisfying the ergonomic criterion”.
In regard to currently amended claim 30, Applicants submitted that the combination of prior art of record does not disclose the following limitations: “represents postures and/or movements to be used by the user, wherein the posture and/or movement of the user fails to satisfy the ergonomic criterion when the posture and/or movement of the user deviate more than a first threshold value from the reference ergonomic data, and whereby the user is suggested to change the posture and/or movement to be closer to the reference ergonomic data”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. In regard to the argument ‘A’ summarized above paragraph[0059] of Creager teaches the method (500) of FIG. 5 may continue by the processor (201) executing the security module (240) to determine (block 503) if the initial hand characteristics match a number of hand characteristics defined by a keystroke identity such as the keystroke identity defined and stored at blocks 303 and 304 of FIG. 3; in one example, the initial hand characteristics may be compared to the keystroke identity of an individual currently logged into the computing device; in this example, a user who is authorized to access the computer, but is not the current user of the computer may still be denied access; in another example, the processor (201) may compare the initial hand characteristics to the keystroke identity of a number of users; if the initial hand characteristics match hand characteristics defined by a keystroke identity (block 503, determination YES), then access to the computing device may be allowed; the method (500) may loop back to block 501 to ensure that every time a user's hands are detected, that this security measure may be performed; the hand characteristics compared at block 503 may include, hand movements, hand sizes, hand posturing, hand positioning, and keystroke style, tissue density of the user's hands and fingers (110), palm prints, fingerprints, among many other characteristics of the user's hands and fingers as detected by the sensing devices (102), or combinations thereof, and See also at least paragraphs[0013]-[0014], [0020], [0022], [0036], [0038], [0048], [0050], [0058], and [0063] of Creager.
Thus, Creager teaches a processor for executing a module to determine characteristics of hand, wherein the hand characteristics include at least hand movements, hand posturing, hand positioning, and keystroke style, wherein the virtual keyboard is calibrated while demonstrating keystrokes on the virtual keyboard, wherein determining the hand posturing from outset of the user using the virtual keyboard is based on detection by sensing devices detecting interaction by the user, and wherein processor determines whether hand characteristics match a stored keystroke identity by comparing initial hand characteristic to a keystroke identity of an individual currently logged into a computing device connected to the virtual keyboard.
In addition, paragraph[0078] of Bozzini teaches at step 610, the processor 20 checks whether there is a corresponding virtual keyboard associated with the detected signature in the memory 30; if the corresponding virtual keyboard exists in the memory 30, the processor 20 at step 615 retrieves the corresponding virtual keyboard from the memory 30 and displays the corresponding virtual keyboard on the screen 310; this corresponding virtual keyboard should be an adapted keyboard produced previously with respect to this particular signature; if the default virtual keyboard 710 is displayed, the default virtual keyboard 710 is replaced by the corresponding virtual keyboard; and text 440 in FIG. 7 is entered by a user through the use of the adapted virtual key board, and See also at least paragraphs[0071]-[0077], [0079]-[0082], and [0087]-[0099] of Bozzini.
Thus, to clarify, Bozzini teaches a processor checks whether there is a corresponding virtual keyboard associated with a detected signature, which is a matching depiction of a user based on sizes and positions of touches, representing fingers of a user wherein if a corresponding virtual keyboard exists the processor retrieves the corresponding virtual keyboard from memory and displays the virtual keyboard on a screen, and wherein if no corresponding virtual keyboard exists in memory the processor produces a first virtual keyboard matching the detected signature and displays the first virtual keyboard that is capable of suggesting to the user to start using the first virtual keyboard to enter data in a suitable manner that conforms with the first virtual keyboard that is adapted to the detected signature.
Furthermore, as mentioned above, Creager and Bozzini are considered to be analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to a keyboard, and forming a keyboard that is a virtual keyboard suitable for a particular user. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Creager based on Bozzini to reconfigure, when the posture and/or movement of the user fails to satisfy the ergonomic criterion, at least one setting of the virtual input device as a function of the posture and/or movement of the user and the reference ergonomic data to suggest to the user to change the posture and/or movement to be closer to satisfying the ergonomic criterion. One reason for the modification as taught by Bozzini is to have an apparatus for presenting a virtual keyboard with some keys partially or fully extend beyond the screen, dynamically adapting a virtual keyboard to a particular typing habits of a user, and allowing a user to customize a keyboard layout including adding/deleting keys and changing key positions (paragraph[0002] of Bozzini). The same motivation and rationale to combine for claim 26 mentioned above applies to all corresponding dependent claims mentioned in corresponding statement of grounds of rejection.
Still in addition, in regard to the argument ‘B’ summarized above paragraph[0078] of Bozzini teaches at step 610, the processor 20 checks whether there is a corresponding virtual keyboard associated with the detected signature in the memory 30; if the corresponding virtual keyboard exists in the memory 30, the processor 20 at step 615 retrieves the corresponding virtual keyboard from the memory 30 and displays the corresponding virtual keyboard on the screen 310; this corresponding virtual keyboard should be an adapted keyboard produced previously with respect to this particular signature; if the default virtual keyboard 710 is displayed, the default virtual keyboard 710 is replaced by the corresponding virtual keyboard; and text 440 in FIG. 7 is entered by a user through the use of the adapted virtual key board, and See also at least paragraphs[0071]-[0077], [0079]-[0082], and [0087]-[0099] of Bozzini.
Thus, to further clarify, Bozzini teaches a processor checks whether there is a corresponding virtual keyboard associated with a detected signature, which is a matching depiction of a user based on sizes and positions of touches, representing fingers of a user wherein if a corresponding virtual keyboard exists based on the detected signature then the processor retrieves the corresponding virtual keyboard from memory and displays the virtual keyboard on a screen, wherein if no corresponding virtual keyboard exists in memory the processor produces a first virtual keyboard matching the detected signature and displays the first virtual keyboard that is capable of suggesting to the user to start using the first virtual keyboard to enter data in a suitable manner that conforms with the first virtual keyboard that is adapted to the detected signature, and wherein the processor detects, records and records relative position and sizes of fingers as a signature for even future reference.
Also, in regard to independent claim 26 Applicant submitted that similar arguments apply to independent claim 48 and respective dependent claims. Therefore, the Examiner’s response in regard to arguments ‘A’, summarized above, also applies to the independent claim 48 and respective dependent claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABDUL-SAMAD A ADEDIRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621