DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 01/29/2026, in which claims 1-8, 10, 12-20 are pending and ready for examination.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1 and 20 are currently amended. Claim 9 is canceled.
Response to Argument
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims rejected under 35 USC 102, 103 in Remarks filed on 01/29/2026 have been considered but are moot upon further consideration and a new ground of rejection made under 35 USC 103 based on Ghaznavi (US Pub. 20240292005 A1) in view of Iwamura (WO 2020036130 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10-12, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghaznavi (US Pub. 20240292005 A1) in view of Iwamura (WO 2020036130 A1, English equivalent document cited).
Regarding claim 1, Ghaznavi discloses a video coding method comprising (Ghaznavi; Fig. 8, Para. [0214]. A video coding system/method is used.):
receiving data for a block of pixels to be encoded or decoded as a current block of a current picture of a video (Ghaznavi; Para. [0214]. A block of pixels to be coded is obtained as a current block of a video.);
constructing a chroma prediction model based on luma and chroma samples neighboring the current block (Ghaznavi; Para. [0214]. A chroma prediction model is determined in accordance with neighboring luma and chroma samples.);
signaling a set of chroma prediction related syntax elements or receiving the set of chroma prediction related syntax elements, wherein the chroma prediction model is constructed according to the set of chroma prediction related syntax elements (Ghaznavi; Para. [0263]. High-level syntax elements are used for chroma prediction such that a chroma prediction mode/CCLM is determined in accordance with high syntax elements.);
refining the chroma prediction model based on a refinement to the chroma prediction model, wherein the refinement is applicable to only a sub-region of the current block, wherein separate refinements for scaling and offset parameters are coded and signaled for different regions of the current block (Ghaznavi; Para. [0191-194]. CCLM and adjustments for parameters are used, coded, and signaled for different sub-partitions of a current CU/block. CCLM and respective finetuning/refinement (see Para. [0262-264]) are performed only for a sub-block that satisfies certain conditions, and thus finetuning/refinement of scaling and offset are coded and signaled for different regions of a current block.);
performing chroma prediction by applying the chroma prediction model to reconstructed luma samples of the current block to obtain predicted chroma samples of the current block (Ghaznavi; Para. [0214]. Chroma block is predicted by using a chroma prediction model to reconstructed luma samples to obtain prediction chroma samples.); and
using the predicted chroma samples to reconstruct chroma samples of the current block or to encode the current block (Ghaznavi; Para. [0214]. Predicted chroma samples is used to reconstruct chroma samples of a current block.).
But it does not specifically disclose wherein one of the plurality of chroma prediction modes is chosen as the selected chroma prediction mode based on a discontinuity measurement corresponding to reconstructed chroma samples of a neighboring region of the current block.
However, Iwamura teaches wherein one of the plurality of chroma prediction modes is chosen as the selected chroma prediction mode based on a discontinuity measurement corresponding to reconstructed chroma samples of a neighboring region of the current block (Iwamura; Para. [0046-48]. One of different chroma prediction modes/CCIP modes is calculated in accordance with a difference/discontinuity for decoded chroma samples of a neighboring region a current block.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the video coding system of Ghaznavi to adapt a cross-component prediction method, by incorporating Iwamura’s teaching wherein cross-component prediction mode is calculated based on difference between distributions of chroma samples, for the motivation to improve coding efficiency for inter-component intra prediction (Iwamura; Abstract.).
Regarding claim 2, Ghaznavi discloses signaling a refinement to the chroma prediction model or receiving the refinement to the chroma prediction model (Ghaznavi; Para. [0263]. An adjustment/refinement is signaled for a chroma model.).
Regarding claim 3, Ghaznavi discloses wherein the chroma prediction model has model parameters that comprise a scaling parameter and an offset parameter and the refinement to the chroma prediction model comprises an adjustment to the scaling parameter and an adjustment to the offset parameter (Ghaznavi; Para. [0235]. A chroma prediction model includes parameters of a scaling and an offset, and an adjustment/refinement to a chroma model includes an adjustment to a scaling and an offset.).
Regarding claim 4, Ghaznavi discloses wherein the chroma prediction model has a set of model parameters that comprise a scaling parameter and an offset parameter for each chroma component, wherein the signaled refinement comprises adjustments to the scaling parameter but not the offset parameter of each chroma component (Ghaznavi; Para. [0235]. A chroma prediction model includes parameters of a scaling and an offset for each chroma component, and an adjustment/refinement to a chroma model includes an adjustment to a scaling, but not an offset.).
Regarding claim 5, Ghaznavi discloses wherein the signaled refinement comprises one adjustment that is applicable to the scaling parameters of both chroma components (Ghaznavi; Para. [0235]. A signaled adjustment is applied to a scaling for both chroma component, also see Para. [0263].), wherein the offset parameter of each chroma component is implicitly adjusted (Ghaznavi; Para. An offset is adjusted by calculation implicitly.).
Regarding claim 6, Ghaznavi discloses wherein the offset parameter is derived from the adjusted scaling parameter (Ghaznavi; Para. [0235-236]. An offset is determined from adjusted scaling through cost/difference minimization.).
Regarding claim 7, Ghaznavi discloses wherein the chroma prediction model comprises model parameters for each chroma component, wherein the signaled refinement comprises adjustment to the model parameters of a first chroma component but no adjustment to the model parameters of a second chroma component (Ghaznavi; Para. [0259]. CCLM and adjustment/finetuning are applied to model parameters of a first chroma component but not a second chroma component.).
Regarding claim 10, Ghaznavi discloses wherein the chroma prediction model is one of a plurality of chroma prediction models applied to the reconstructed luma samples of the current block to obtain the predicted chroma samples of the current block, wherein the refinement comprises adjustment to the model parameters of the plurality of chroma prediction models (Ghaznavi; Para. [0214]. A chroma model is one of different chroma models used on reconstructed samples of a current block for prediction chroma samples, an adjustment/finetuning includes model parameters of different chroma models.).
Regarding claim 11, Ghaznavi discloses signaling a set of chroma prediction related syntax elements or receiving the set of chroma prediction related syntax elements, wherein the chroma prediction model is constructed according to the set of chroma prediction related syntax elements (Ghaznavi; Para. [0263]. Syntax elements for chroma prediction are signaled and received, wherein chroma model is determined in accordance with different chroma prediction syntax elements.).
Regarding claim 12, Ghaznavi discloses wherein different methods are used to signal or receive the set of chroma prediction related syntax elements for when the current block is greater than or equal to a threshold size and for when the current block is smaller than a threshold size (Ghaznavi; Para. [0264]. Different methods, e.g. finetuning or not, are used for different chroma prediction syntax, also see Para. [0263], in accordance with block size, e.g. being greater or smaller than a size.).
Claim 20 is directed to an electronic apparatus comprising: a video coding circuit configured to perform operations comprising a sequence of processing steps corresponding to the same as claimed in claim 1, and is rejected for the same reason of anticipation as outlined above.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghaznavi (US Pub. 20240292005 A1) in view of Iwamura (WO 2020036130 A1, English equivalent document cited), as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Kang (US Pub. 20210392328 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Ghaznavi discloses the refinement (Ghaznavi; See remarks regarding claim 1 above.).
But it does not specifically disclose wherein the refinement further comprises a sign of the adjustment to the scaling parameter of at least one chroma component.
However, Kang teaches wherein the refinement further comprises a sign of the adjustment to the scaling parameter of at least one chroma component (Ghaznavi; Para. [0138]. Delta/refinement includes a sign of an adjustment for scaling information of at least a chroma component.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the video coding system of Ghaznavi to adapt a video component scaling/mapping approach, by incorporating Kang’s teaching wherein parts of information of scaling adjustment are coded separately, for the motivation to perform video component scaling using different models (Kang; Abstract.).
Claims 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghaznavi (US Pub. 20240292005 A1) in view of Iwamura (WO 2020036130 A1, English equivalent document cited), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Deng (US Pub. 20220124340 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Ghaznavi discloses chroma prediction (Ghaznavi; See remarks regarding claim 11 above.).
But it does not specifically disclose wherein the set of chroma prediction related syntax elements selects one of a plurality of different chroma prediction modes that refer to different regions neighboring the current block, wherein the applied chroma prediction model is constructed according to the selected chroma prediction mode.
However, Deng teaches wherein the set of chroma prediction related syntax elements selects one of a plurality of different chroma prediction modes that refer to different regions neighboring the current block, wherein the applied chroma prediction model is constructed according to the selected chroma prediction mode (Deng; Para. [0050, 74-77]. Different chroma prediction syntax elements are used to select one of different prediction modes for different neighboring regions, wherein an applied chroma model is determined in accordance with a chroma prediction mode.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the video coding system of Ghaznavi to adapt a video component scaling/mapping approach, by incorporating Deng’s teaching wherein different chroma prediction modes are signaled and used, for the motivation to perform chroma scaling based on rules specifying different syntax elements (Deng; Abstract.).
Regarding claim 15, modified Ghaznavi further teaches wherein one of the plurality of chroma prediction modes is chosen as the selected chroma prediction mode based on a luma intra angle information of the current block (Deng; Para. [0050, 74-77]. One of different chroma prediction modes is used in accordance with an intra angle information of a current block.).
Claims 14 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghaznavi (US Pub. 20240292005 A1) in view of Iwamura (WO 2020036130 A1, English equivalent document cited), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Choi (US Pub. 20200296391 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Ghaznavi discloses chroma prediction (Ghaznavi; See remarks regarding claim 11 above.).
But it does not specifically disclose wherein a list of candidates that comprise the plurality of chroma prediction modes are reordered based on a comparison of the chroma predictions obtained by the different chroma prediction modes.
However, Choi teaches wherein a list of candidates that comprise the plurality of chroma prediction modes are reordered based on a comparison of the chroma predictions obtained by the different chroma prediction modes (Choi; Para. [0464-465]. Different chroma modes are sorted/compared to select one of the different modes in accordance with comparison of chroma predictions.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the video coding system of Ghaznavi to adapt a video component scaling/mapping approach, by incorporating Choi’s teaching wherein different chroma prediction modes are used to select one of the different modes, for the motivation to perform CCLM in accordance with different modes (Choi; Abstract.).
Regarding claim 17, Ghaznavi discloses chroma prediction (Ghaznavi; See remarks regarding claim 11 above.).
But it does not specifically disclose wherein one of the plurality of chroma prediction modes is chosen as the selected chroma prediction mode based on a splitting information of a neighboring block.
However, Choi teaches wherein one of the plurality of chroma prediction modes is chosen as the selected chroma prediction mode based on a splitting information of a neighboring block (Choi; Para. [0464-465]. Different chroma modes are sorted/compared to select one of the different modes in accordance with different partitioning of a neighboring block.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the video coding system of Ghaznavi to adapt a video component scaling/mapping approach, by incorporating Choi’s teaching wherein the chroma prediction mode to be used depends different partitioning of a block, for the motivation to perform CCLM in accordance with different modes (Choi; Abstract.).
Regarding claim 18, Ghaznavi discloses chroma prediction (Ghaznavi; See remarks regarding claim 11 above.).
But it does not specifically disclose wherein one of the plurality of chroma prediction modes is chosen as the selected chroma prediction mode based on a size, a width, or a height of the current block.
However, Choi teaches wherein one of the plurality of chroma prediction modes is chosen as the selected chroma prediction mode based on a size, a width, or a height of the current block (Choi; Para. [0464-465]. Different chroma modes are sorted/compared to select one of the different modes in accordance with different size, width or height of a current block.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the video coding system of Ghaznavi to adapt a video component scaling/mapping approach, by incorporating Choi’s teaching wherein the chroma prediction mode to be used depends different size, width, height of a block, for the motivation to perform CCLM in accordance with different modes (Choi; Abstract.).
Regarding claim 19, modified Ghaznavi further teaches wherein chroma prediction models constructed according to different chroma prediction modes are used to perform chroma prediction for different sub-regions of the current block (Ghaznavi; Para. [0191]. CCLM and adjustments for parameters are used, coded, and signaled in accordance with different modes, also see Para. [0188], for different sub-partitions of a current CU/block. Choi; Para. [0464-465]. CCLM are determined from different prediction modes and are used for different partition of a current block.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Iwamura (WO 2020036132 A1) teaches cross-component intra prediction with top and left neighboring samples.
Seregin (WO 2021127430 A1) teaches motion compensation using size of reference picture.
/ALBERT KIR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485