DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Notes: when present, semicolon separated fields within the parenthesis (; ;) represent, for example, as (1; Fig 2b; [0049]) = (element 1; Figure No. 2b; Paragraph No. [0049]). For brevity, the texts “Element”, “Figure No.” and “Paragraph No.” shall be excluded, though; additional clarification notes may be added within each field. The number of fields may be fewer or more than three indicated above. The primary reference citation may not be preceded by the inventor tag, wherein the other reference citation will carry inventor tag. These conventions are used throughout this document.
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang; Heming (US 20170037259 A1) hereinafter Wang; in view of HEIMKE BRUNO et al (WO 2018055214 A1; with citations from equivalent disclosure of US 20210288112 A1) hereinafter Heimke.
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches an electrically conductive coating (PEDOT:PSS thin films; [0001, 0056]; see the entire document) of an electrical component (Solar cells ;[0043])for electrically conductively contacting a first busbar (see teaching of Heimke below) arranged outside the coating,
But, Wang does not expressly disclose the electrical component i.e solar cell in details, wherein the electrical component (Solar cell) comprises:
at least one cell with at least one structured layer system , wherein the at least one structured layer system comprises a front electrode , a back electrode , and at least one photoactive layer is arranged between the front electrode and the back electrode , wherein the at least one structured layer system is structured in such a way that the back electrode is interrupted by at least one trench,
Although, Wang discloses some aspects of “ at least the back electrode of the at least one cell is coated with the electrically conductive coating (PEDOT:PSS thin films) and the at least one trench of the back electrode is filled with the electrically conductive coating (PEDOT:PSS thin films), wherein the electrically conductive coating (PEDOT:PSS thin films) has a resistivity ranging from 0.01 to 10,000 Ωm ([0060]) , wherein a ratio of the electrical resistance between the back electrode and the first busbar of the coating (PEDOT:PSS thin films) and the electrical resistance over the width of the trench with the coating (PEDOT:PSS thin films) is at least 1:1000”.
However, in the analogous art, Heimke teaches organic solar cells, an arrangement of an optoelectronic module, comprising various cells, which may be partly shaded during use, and which guarantee an improved efficiency and a longer service life of the module despite the shading ([0001]). wherein (see the entire document, Figs 1 to 12; specifically Figs 2-5, 8, and as cited herein):
at least one cell (Fig 1; [0049]) with at least one structured layer system (layer stack; [0050]: Hereinafter, in regard to a layer stack of the organic optoelectronic cell or the layer stack of the integrated bypass diode, it is assumed that layer stack is taken to mean the layer system between the electrodes, that is to say that the layer stack without electrical bottom and top contacts is meant) , wherein the at least one structured layer system comprises a front electrode (1; Fig 2b; [0049]), a back electrode (2), and at least one photoactive layer (3) is arranged between the front electrode (1) and the back electrode (2), wherein the at least one structured layer system is structured in such a way that the back electrode (2) is interrupted by at least one trench (P3; Figs 2a/2b),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine teaching of Heimke with Wang, and thereafter the combination discloses the component as claimed, since this component is more efficient under shading and less likely to overheat or degrade (Heimke ;[0034-0036]).
The combination of Wang and Heimke) further teaches “ at least the back electrode (2) of the at least one cell is coated with the electrically conductive coating (PEDOT:PSS thin films) and the at least one trench (P3) of the back electrode is filled with the electrically conductive coating (PEDOT:PSS thin films), wherein the electrically conductive coating (PEDOT:PSS thin films) has a resistivity ranging from 0.01 to 10,000 Ωm ([0060]) , wherein a ratio of the electrical resistance between the back electrode (2) and the first busbar (busbar; Fig 5) of the coating (PEDOT:PSS thin films) and the electrical resistance over the width of the trench (P3) with the coating (PEDOT:PSS thin films) is at least 1:1000”.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of (Wang and Heimke) as applied to the electrically conductive coating as claimed in claim 1, further teaches, wherein a ratio of the layer thickness of the coating to the width of the at least one trench (P3) is at least 1:10, a width of the at least one trench (P3) ranges from 1 μm to 1 mm (Heimke [0148]) , and a layer thickness of the coating (PEDOT:PSS thin films) ranges from 100 nm to 100 μm (Wang [0060]), or combination thereof.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of (Wang and Heimke) as applied to the electrically conductive coating as claimed in claim 1, further teaches, wherein a ratio of a layer thickness of the back electrode (Heimke 2) to a width of the first busbar is at least 1:10, the width of the first busbar (Heimke busbar) ranges from 0.1 cm to 10 cm (Heimke [0148]), and the layer thickness of the back electrode (Heimke 2) 10 nm to 1 μm [0060]), or combination thereof.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of (Wang and Heimke) as applied to the electrically conductive coating as claimed in claim 1, further teaches, wherein the coating (PEDOT:PSS thin films of Wang) has a resistivity ranging from 0.1 to 1000 Ωm ([0060]), the ratio of the electrical resistance between the back electrode (2) and the first busbar (Heimke busbar) of the coating and the electrical resistance over the width of the trench (P3) with the coating is at least 1:5000 [0060]), or combination thereof.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of (Wang and Heimke) as applied to the electrically conductive coating as claimed in claim 1, further teaches, wherein the at least one structured layer system (Heimke layer stack; [0050]) is structured in such a way that the structuring comprises:
a trench (P3; Fig 2a/2b; of a first type (P3), which electrically conductively interrupts the back electrode (2),
a trench (P1) of a second type (P1), which electrically conductively interrupts the front electrode (2), and
a trench (p2) of a third type (P2/), which electrically conductively interrupts the at least one photoactive layer (3), such that the front electrode (1) and the back electrode (2) of the at least one cell are electrically conductively interconnected (through 4) with one another.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of (Wang and Heimke) as applied to the electrically conductive coating as claimed in claim 1, further teaches, wherein the coating (PEDOT:PSS thin films of Wang) is formed on a front side of the electrical component and/or on a back side of the electrical component (obvious).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of (Wang and Heimke) as applied to the electrically conductive coating as claimed in claim 1, further teaches, wherein the coating ((PEDOT:PSS thin films of Wang)) comprises:
a) at least one precursor selected from the group consisting of hexamethyldisiloxane (HMDSO), bis-trimethylsilylmethane (BTMSM), tetraethyl orthosilicate (TEOS), hexamethyldisilazane (HMDSN), silane (SiH.sub.4), triethoxysilane (TriEOS), tetramethoxysilane (TMOS) ([0011) , tetramethylsilane (TMS), and trimethoxysilane (TriMOS), bis-diethylamino-silane (BTBAS); or
b) at least one matrix material selected from a), silicon oxycarbides, preferably SiOC or SiOCH, or an SiOCH-like material, silicon carbonitrides (SiNCH), silicon nitrides (SiN), silicates (SiO.sub.2), and Al.sub.2O.sub.3; or
c) at least one material selected from b) and at least one dopant, selected from the group consisting of diborane, trimethyl boron, phosphine, a TCO material, or combination thereof.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of (Wang and and Heimke) as applied to the electrically conductive coating as claimed in claim 1, further teaches, as a protective layer of an electrical component (solar cell of Heimke), wherein the coating (PEDOT:PSS thin films of Wang) has an elasticity ranging from 80,000 psi to 360,000 psi (obvious as per MPEP § 2112.01.II).
It is noted that it has been held that "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." See MPEP § 2112.01.II. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). In this case, because the combination of (Wang and and Heimke) specifically (PEDOT:PSS thin films of Wang) comprises the same materials and interfaces as claimed would have an elasticity ranging from 80,000 psi to 360,000 psi.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of (Wang and Heimke) as applied to the electrically conductive coating as claimed in claim 1, further teaches, an electrical component (Heimke Solar cell; Fig 1), comprising the electrically conductive coating (PEDOT:PSS thin film of Wang) as claimed in claim 1, and the at least one structured layer system (Heimke layer stack; [0050]) having a front electrode (1; Fig 2B; [0049]), a back electrode (2; Fig 2B; [0049]), and at least one photoactive layer (3; Fig 2B; [0049]), wherein the at least one photoactive layer (3) is arranged between the front electrode (1) and the back electrode (2), and at least one busbar (Heimke Busbar; Figs 5,8), wherein the coating (PEDOT:PSS thin film of Wang) is arranged between the at least one structured layer system and the at least one busbar , such that at least the back electrode (2) is electrically conductively contacted with the at least one busbar.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of (Wang and Heimke) discloses a method for coating an electrical component (Heimke) with an electrically conductive coating (PEDOT:PSS thin film of Wang) as claimed in claim 1, wherein the method comprises (Wang [0032], claim 14 and Heimke [0015] and claims 20-22):
a) obtaining an electrical component (Wang Organic Solar cell ) having at least one cell with at least one structured layer system (Heimke layer stack; [0050]), having a front electrode (1; Fig 2B; [0049]), a back electrode (2), and at least one photoactive layer (3; Fig 2B; [0049]) arranged between the front electrode (1) and the back electrode (2), wherein the back electrode (2) is interrupted by at least one trench (P3; Fig 2A/3b);
b) applying (Wang [0053-0056]) at least one precursor, one matrix material and/or one dopant simultaneously or as a mixture by depositing or printing at least onto the back electrode (2) and in the at least one trench (P3) of the back electrode (2), such that at least the back electrode (2) is completely covered; and
obtaining the coating (Wang [0060]).
Correspondence/Contact Information
/MOAZZAM HOSSAIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898
June 25, 2026