DETAILED OFFICE ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-12,14-17 are pending examination.
Claim 13, 18-24 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1 ,2,6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103(a) as being unpatentable over YU et al. (USPUB 20140153928) in view of Larikova et al. (USPUB 20160248535).
As per claim 1, YU et al. teaches A free space optic FSO network node ( Free space optical communication taught within Paragraph [0018]- “… provided a communication apparatus for transmitting and receiving signals to and from a plurality of remote terminal in a wireless optical communication system performing communication based on a free space…” AND FIG. 2- shows wireless optical transmission/reception unit) comprising: a first receiving module configured to receive a first FSO signal comprising a first set of multiplexed wavelengths from a first direction and a second receiving module configured to receive a second FSO signal comprising a second set of multiplexed wavelengths from a second direction (Receiver for signal communication and multiplexing wavelengths taught within Paragraphs [0019-0021]- “…a first receiver configured to receive an optical signal in the first direction; a first transmitter configured to send an optical signal in the second direction; a second receiver configured to receive an optical signal in the second direction; a second transmitter configured to send an optical signal in the first direction; a beam monitoring controller configured to monitor the optical signals inputted to the first receiver and the second receiver; and a selector configured to transfer the optical signal received from the first receiver to the OFDM processing unit through a first path or transfer the optical signal received from the second receiver to the OFDM processing unit through a second path based on a result of the monitoring of the beam monitoring controller….” AND Paragraph [0026]- “… wireless optical communication system in which communication is performed based on a free space and a plurality of the communication apparatuses is arranged in a ring form around a central office terminal (COT), including: monitoring optical signals received in a first direction or in a second direction opposite to the first direction and selecting a first path through which the optical signals in the first direction are received,…”) ;
YU et al. does not explicitly teach a first wavelength selective device configured to drop a first subset of wavelengths from the first set of multiplexed wavelengths and a second wavelength selective device configured to drop a second subset of wavelengths from the second set of multiplexed wavelengths.
However, within analogous art, Larikova et al. teaches a first wavelength selective device configured to drop a first subset of wavelengths from the first set of multiplexed wavelengths and a second wavelength selective device configured to drop a second subset of wavelengths from the second set of multiplexed wavelengths (Wavelength selective routing and multiplexing wavelength taught within FIG. 6 -FIG. 8 teaches first and second WSS and the add and drop of wavelengths AND further taught within Paragraphs [0090-0092]- “… flexible add/drop functionality in accordance with some embodiments of the system (and method and card) 100 which may include one or more pre-amplifier cards 280 and/or WSS cards 270. FIG. 8 shows support for a number of channels using fixed OADMs (FOADM) 810. For example, 4 channels may be supported 802 with single FOADMs 810 in each direction (e.g., transmit and receive) or a larger number of channels may be supported 806 using one or more of 8 channel or 16 channel FOADMs 810 in each direction (e.g., transmit and receive)….”) .
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Larikova et al. within the modified teaching of the Communication apparatus in wideband wireless optical communication system based on free space, and transmission and reception method using the same mentioned by YU et al. because the Method and apparatus for modular ROADM and remote DWDM wavelength ADD/DROP mentioned by Larikova et al. provides a method and system for implementation of multi-channel optical wavelength distribution within free space optical communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the Method and apparatus for modular ROADM and remote DWDM wavelength ADD/DROP mentioned by Larikova et al. within the modified teaching of the Communication apparatus in wideband wireless optical communication system based on free space, and transmission and reception method using the same mentioned by YU et al. for implementing a system and method for multi-channel optical wavelength distribution within free space optical communication system.
As per claim 2, Combinations of YU et al. and Larikova et al. teach claim 1,
Within analogous art, Larikova et al. teaches wherein the first wavelength selective device is further configured to pass a third subset of wavelengths from the first set of multiplexed wavelengths and the second wavelength selective device is further configured to pass a fourth subset of wavelengths from the second set of multiplexed wavelengths ( WSS and multiplexing taught within Paragraphs [0082]- “…system (and method and card) 100 (of FIGS. 1A-D). Some embodiments may include a communications card in slot 262 on a shelf 216, and the card in slot 262 may have WSS 270 and/or OSC 272 functionalities. In addition, there may be numerous sockets (Socket 1 through Socket N, elements 274, 276, 278) into which various modules may be plugged…” AND Paragraph [0087]- “FIG. 5A illustrates various views of another two-degree (2D) reconfigurable optical add-drop multiplexing (ROADM) node 502 in accordance with some embodiments of the method (and system and card) 100. FIG. 5A shows how a stock communications card 502 similar to those described in FIGS. 3-4 may accept modules with pluggable local booster functionality 506 and/or pluggable OCM (and/or line booster) functionality 412. According to some embodiments, the node 502 of FIG. 5A may include the multi-channel optical adapter card (and method and system) 124 of FIG. 1B. The node 502 of FIG. 5A may include at least one wavelength selective switch WSS 270, ….”) .
As per claim 6, Combinations of YU et al. and Larikova et al. teach claim 1,
YU et al. teaches configured in a ring network and wherein the first receiving module receives the first FSO signal from a first adjacent FSO ring network node and the second receiving module ( Ring form of the terminals within the free space communication taught within Paragraph [0018]- “… a wireless optical communication system performing communication based on a free space, wherein the plurality of remote terminals are arranged in a ring form around the communication apparatus, and the communication apparatus includes: a wireless optical transmission/reception unit configured to split optical signals received in a first direction or a second direction opposite to the first direction by wavelengths, output the split optical signals, and transmit the optical signals having the plurality of wavelengths in the first direction and the second direction;…”) .
As per claim 12, Combinations of YU et al. and Larikova et al. teach claim 1,
Within analogous art, Larikova et al. teaches wherein the first wavelength selective device comprises a first wavelength selective switch WSS and the second wavelength selective device( FIG. 6 – teaches multiple WSS devices – Shown below- the multiple WSS highlighter with Fig. below).
2. Claims 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103(a) as being unpatentable over YU et al. (USPUB 20140153928) in view of Larikova et al. (USPUB 20160248535) in further view of YU ( USPUB 20130163991).
As per claim 7, Combinations of YU et al. and Larikova et al. teach claim 1,
Combinations of YU et al. and Larikova et al. does not explicitly teach further comprising a first transmitting module configured to transmit a third FSO signal comprising a third set of multiplexed wavelengths and a second transmitting module configured to transmit a fourth FSO signal comprising a fourth set of multiplexed wavelengths.
Within analogous art, YU teaches further comprising a first transmitting module configured to transmit a third FSO signal comprising a third set of multiplexed wavelengths and a second transmitting module configured to transmit a fourth FSO signal comprising a fourth set of multiplexed wavelengths ( Transmitting unit for transmitting signal based on multiplexed wavelength taught within Paragraph [0014-0017]- “…a first transmitting unit for adding the wireless optical signal of corresponding unique wavelength to the wireless optical signals of remaining unique wavelengths received from the first receiving unit or the second receiving unit, and transmitting the added wireless optical signals to the COT or the RT in the reverse or forward direction; and a second transmitting unit for adding the wireless optical signal of the corresponding unique wavelength to the wireless optical signals of the remaining unique wavelength received from the first receiving unit or the second receiving unit, and transmitting the added wireless optical signals to the COT or the RT in the reverse or forward direction….”) .
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of YU within the combined modified teaching of the Communication apparatus in wideband wireless optical communication system based on free space, and transmission and reception method using the same mentioned by YU et al. and the Method and apparatus for modular ROADM and remote DWDM wavelength ADD/DROP mentioned by Larikova et al. because the System for providing WDM based wireless optical transport network and method for transmitting wireless optical signal using the same mentioned by YU provides a method and system for implementation of WDM optical transport network within a ring network set up.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the System for providing WDM based wireless optical transport network and method for transmitting wireless optical signal using the same mentioned by YU within the combined modified teaching of the Communication apparatus in wideband wireless optical communication system based on free space, and transmission and reception method using the same mentioned by YU et al. and the Method and apparatus for modular ROADM and remote DWDM wavelength ADD/DROP mentioned by Larikova et al. for implementing a system and method for WDM optical transport network within a ring network set up.
As per claim 9, Combinations of YU et al. and Larikova et al. and YU teach claim 7,
Combinations of YU et al. and Larikova et al. does not explicitly teach further comprising a third wavelength selective device configured to select the third set of multiplexed wavelengths of the third FSO signal and the fourth set of multiplexed wavelengths of the fourth FSO signal.
Within analogous art, YU teaches further comprising a third wavelength selective device configured to select the third set of multiplexed wavelengths of the third FSO signal and the fourth set of multiplexed wavelengths of the fourth FSO signal ( Wavelength multiplexing selectively taught within Paragraphs [0057-0059]- “…first transmitting unit 112 may transmit a wireless optical signal to an Rx(a) of an RT1. That is, an E/O(a) of the transmitting unit 112 converts electric signals of different wavelengths into optical signals, respectively, an MUX(a) of the transmitting unit 112 multiplexes the plurality of optical converted signals to generate a wireless optical multiplexed signal, and a Tx(a) of the transmitting unit 112 transmits the wireless optical multiplexed signal….”) .
3. Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103(a) as being unpatentable over YU et al. (USPUB 20140153928) in view of Larikova et al. (USPUB 20160248535) in further view of Sorin Tibuleac ( NPL Doc: " Transmission Impairments in DWDM Networks With Reconfigurable Optical Add-Drop Multiplexers,"10th February 2010, JOURNAL OF LIGHTWAVE TECHNOLOGY, VOL. 28, NO. 4, FEBRUARY 15, 2010,Pages 557-565.).
As per claim 15, Yu et al. teaches A method( Paragraph [0018]- “… provided a communication apparatus for transmitting and receiving signals to and from a plurality of remote terminal in a wireless optical communication system performing communication based on a free space…” AND FIG. 2- shows wireless optical transmission/reception unit), the FSO network node comprising a first receiving module configured to receive a first FSO signal comprising a first set of multiplexed wavelengths, a second receiving module configured to receive a second FSO signal comprising a second set of multiplexed wavelengths( Paragraphs [0019-0021]- “…a first receiver configured to receive an optical signal in the first direction; a first transmitter configured to send an optical signal in the second direction; a second receiver configured to receive an optical signal in the second direction; a second transmitter configured to send an optical signal in the first direction; a beam monitoring controller configured to monitor the optical signals inputted to the first receiver and the second receiver; and a selector configured to transfer the optical signal received from the first receiver to the OFDM processing unit through a first path or transfer the optical signal received from the second receiver to the OFDM processing unit through a second path based on a result of the monitoring of the beam monitoring controller….” AND Paragraph [0026]- “… wireless optical communication system in which communication is performed based on a free space and a plurality of the communication apparatuses is arranged in a ring form around a central office terminal (COT), including: monitoring optical signals received in a first direction or in a second direction opposite to the first direction and selecting a first path through which the optical signals in the first direction are received,…”),
YU et al. does not explicitly teach a first wavelength selective device configured to drop a first subset of wavelengths from the first set of multiplexed wavelengths and a second wavelength selective device configured to drop a second subset of wavelengths from the second set of multiplexed wavelengths, the method comprising: monitoring the first subset of wavelengths received at the first receiving module; monitoring the second subset of wavelengths received at the second receiving module; blocking, using the first wavelength selective device, a third subset of wavelengths from the first set of multiplexed wavelengths corresponding to the second subset of wavelengths dropped by the second wavelength selective device; and blocking, using the second wavelength selective device, a fourth subset of wavelengths from the second set of multiplexed wavelengths corresponding to the first subset of wavelengths dropped by the first wavelength selective device.
However, within analogous art, Larikova et al. teaches a first wavelength selective device configured to drop a first subset of wavelengths from the first set of multiplexed wavelengths and a second wavelength selective device configured to drop a second subset of wavelengths from the second set of multiplexed wavelengths ( FIG. 6 -FIG. 8 teaches first and second WSS and the add and drop of wavelengths AND further taught within Paragraphs [0090-0092]- “… flexible add/drop functionality in accordance with some embodiments of the system (and method and card) 100 which may include one or more pre-amplifier cards 280 and/or WSS cards 270. FIG. 8 shows support for a number of channels using fixed OADMs (FOADM) 810. For example, 4 channels may be supported 802 with single FOADMs 810 in each direction (e.g., transmit and receive) or a larger number of channels may be supported 806 using one or more of 8 channel or 16 channel FOADMs 810 in each direction (e.g., transmit and receive)….”) ,
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Larikova et al. within the modified teaching of the Communication apparatus in wideband wireless optical communication system based on free space, and transmission and reception method using the same mentioned by YU et al. because the Method and apparatus for modular ROADM and remote DWDM wavelength ADD/DROP mentioned by Larikova et al. provides a method and system for implementation of multi-channel optical wavelength distribution within free space optical communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the Method and apparatus for modular ROADM and remote DWDM wavelength ADD/DROP mentioned by Larikova et al. within the modified teaching of the Communication apparatus in wideband wireless optical communication system based on free space, and transmission and reception method using the same mentioned by YU et al. for implementing a system and method for multi-channel optical wavelength distribution within free space optical communication system.
Combination of YU et al. and Larikova et al. does not explicitly teach the method comprising: monitoring the first subset of wavelengths received at the first receiving module; monitoring the second subset of wavelengths received at the second receiving module; blocking, using the first wavelength selective device, a third subset of wavelengths from the first set of multiplexed wavelengths corresponding to the second subset of wavelengths dropped by the second wavelength selective device; and blocking, using the second wavelength selective device, a fourth subset of wavelengths from the second set of multiplexed wavelengths corresponding to the first subset of wavelengths dropped by the first wavelength selective device.
However, within analogous art, Sorin Tibuleac teaches the method comprising: monitoring the first subset of wavelengths received at the first receiving module ( monitoring of wavelength from ROADM nodes taught within Page 558-Col. 1- “…channel power monitoring, the addition and removal of any number and combination of wavelengths, the support of a wide variety of channel bandwidths…” AND Col. 2- “…additional components to monitor the output power per channel. Other optical components, which may be found within a ROADM node are: 1:N power splitters or couplers, multiplexers and demultiplexers for local wavelengths, taps for power monitoring, amplifiers…”) ; monitoring the second subset of wavelengths received at the second receiving module; blocking, using the first wavelength selective device ( Page 559 – Col. 1- “…The wavelength selective switch with two input ports and one output port selects wavelengths coming from either the multiplexer or the splitter while blocking the same wavelength from the other port….”) , a third subset of wavelengths from the first set of multiplexed wavelengths corresponding to the second subset of wavelengths dropped by the second wavelength selective device ( Page 559- col. 1- “…path through the node, multiple add/drop paths for a given transponder. Fig. 1(d) illustrates such a steerable (or directionless) ROADM where a 2 1 WSS on the drop path selects a wavelength from either east or west direction of propagation through the transmission fiber. These wavelength and direction independent add/drop switching features can be combined into more complex node architectures…”) ; and blocking, using the second wavelength selective device ( Page 565-Col. 1- “…For an N 1 WSS, the weighted crosstalk for a given port may be calculated based on the spectral characteristics of the primary signal and blocked signal(s), and on the port isolation profile of the block port(s). For the specific case of a 2 1 WSS, the crosstalk signal may be computed by simply multiplying the blocked signal spectrum by the isolation profile [13]. The same general principle applies to the calculation of the weighted crosstalk when arbitrary modulation formats and data rates are present on each of the blocking ports….”) , a fourth subset of wavelengths from the second set of multiplexed wavelengths corresponding to the first subset of wavelengths dropped by the first wavelength selective device ( Multiple wavelengths for multiplexing and dropped with wavelength selective taught within Page 559- Col. 2- “…A tunable wavelength filter can separate a single wavelength from a DWDM spectrum. Multiple filters in sequence can be used to add/drop a corresponding number of wavelengths at a ROADM node. Alternatively, filters with wavelength and bandwidth tunability have also been proposed as a solution for add/drop of 4–8 DWDM channels with a single device…”) .
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Sorin Tibuleac within the combined modified teaching of the Communication apparatus in wideband wireless optical communication system based on free space, and transmission and reception method using the same mentioned by YU et al. and the Method and apparatus for modular ROADM and remote DWDM wavelength ADD/DROP mentioned by Larikova et al. because the Transmission Impairments in DWDM Networks With Reconfigurable Optical Add-Drop Multiplexers mentioned by Sorin Tibuleac provides a method and system for implementation of reconfiguration optical add and drop with WSS modules within optical communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the Transmission Impairments in DWDM Networks With Reconfigurable Optical Add-Drop Multiplexers mentioned by Sorin Tibuleac within the combined modified teaching of the Communication apparatus in wideband wireless optical communication system based on free space, and transmission and reception method using the same mentioned by YU et al. and the Method and apparatus for modular ROADM and remote DWDM wavelength ADD/DROP mentioned by Larikova et al. for implementing a system and method for reconfiguration optical add and drop with WSS modules within optical communication system.
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claims 3,4,5,8,10,11,14,16 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
5. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for objecting the claims as allowable subject matter:
As to claim 3, prior art of record does not teach or suggest the limitation mentioned within claim 3: “…wherein the first wavelength selective device is configured to block a fifth subset of wavelengths from the first set of multiplexed wavelengths corresponding to the second subset of wavelengths dropped by the second wavelength selective device ; and wherein the second wavelength selective device is configured to block a sixth subset of wavelengths from the second set of multiplexed wavelengths corresponding to the first subset of wavelengths dropped by the first wavelength selective device.”
As to claim 4, The following claims depend objected allowable claim 3, therefore the following claims are considered objected allowable claims over prior art of record.
As to claims 5 and 10 , The following claims depend objected allowable claim 4, therefore the following claims are considered objected allowable claims over prior art of record.
As to claim 11, The following claims depend objected allowable claim 5, therefore the following claims are considered objected allowable claims over prior art of record.
As to claim 8, prior art of record does not teach or suggest the limitation mentioned within claim 8: “…the third FSO signal is transmitted in response to the first FSO signal and wherein the third set of multiplexed wavelengths are associated with the first set of multiplexed wavelengths; and wherein the fourth FSO signal is transmitted in response to the second FSO signal and wherein the fourth set of multiplexed wavelengths are associated with the second set of multiplexed wavelengths.”
As to claim 14, prior art of record does not teach or suggest the limitation mentioned within claim 14: “…the first set of multiplexed wavelengths and the second set of multiplexed wavelengths each comprise the same set of wavelengths; and wherein an aggregate of the first subset of wavelengths and the second subset of wavelengths comprises each wavelength of the same set of wavelengths.”
As to claim 16, prior art of record does not teach or suggest the limitation mentioned within claim 16: “…responsive to not receiving at least one first wavelength of the first subset of wavelengths at the first receiving module, blocking, using the first wavelength selective device, the at least one first wavelength; and dropping, using the second wavelength selective device, a wavelength from the second set of multiplexed wavelengths corresponding to the at least one first wavelength.”
As to claim 17, The following claims depend objected allowable claim 16, therefore the following claims are considered objected allowable claims over prior art of record.
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892, Notice of Reference Cited for a listing of analogous art.
http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/OMAR S ISMAIL/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635