DETAILED ACTION
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
5. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitations are:
“a concentration calculation unit configured to” and “an electronic control module (ECM)” in claims 1-4.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1-3 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO2021124937A1 by Yamamoto et al. (hereinafter Yamamoto).
Regarding Claim 1, Yamamoto teaches an analysis device (Fig. 1 @ 100, Abstract) configured to measure a concentration of a measurement target component that is at least one of nitric oxide, nitrogen dioxide, nitrous oxide, ammonia, ethane, formaldehyde, acetaldehyde, sulfur dioxide, methane, methanol, or ethanol contained in a combustion gas (Par. [0006]), the analysis device comprising:
a laser light source (Fig. 1 @ L, 5, Abstract) configured to irradiate the combustion gas (Fig. 1 @ SG, SS, Par. [0005]) with reference light (Fig. 1 @ L, 5, Abstract, i.e. the reference light);
a light detector (Fig. 1 @ 75, Par. [0029]) configured to detect intensity of sample light obtained when the reference light is transmitted through the combustion gas (Fig. 1 @ L, SG, SS, 3, 75); and
a concentration calculation unit (Fig. 2 @ 201, Par. [0044-0045]) configured to calculate the concentration of the measurement target component (Par. [0044-0045]) based on an output signal from the light detector (Fig. 1 @ 75, Par. [0029]),
wherein the concentration calculation unit (Fig. 2 @ 201, Par. [0044-0045]) is configured to:
when a concentration of the nitric oxide is measured, calculate the concentration of the nitric oxide (Par. [0006]: The gas to be measured is not limited to one type, and may be a mixed gas containing a plurality of the above gases thus limitation is anticipated) based on absorption between 5.24 and 5.26 pm by the nitric oxide (Par. [0018-0019]: the measurement light L is composed of a plurality of element lights L1 to L4 having different wavelength regions. Since the measurement light L is composed of a plurality of element lights L1 to L4, for example, a plurality of types of measurement target gases having absorption peaks in the wavelength regions of the element lights L1 to L4 can be measured thus limitation is anticipated. Also see Par. [0109]: a laser that generates measurement light L having a wavelength (for example, infrared light) that can be absorbed by the measurement target gas. Claimed limitation absorption between 5.24 and 5.26 pm falls within mid-infrared band);
when a concentration of the nitrogen dioxide is measured, calculate the concentration of the nitrogen dioxide (Par. [0006]) based on absorption between 6.14 and 6.26 pm by the nitrogen dioxide (Par. [0018-0019]: the measurement light L is composed of a plurality of element lights L1 to L4 having different wavelength regions. Since the measurement light L is composed of a plurality of element lights L1 to L4, for example, a plurality of types of measurement target gases having absorption peaks in the wavelength regions of the element lights L1 to L4 can be measured thus limitation is anticipated. Also see Par. [0109]: a laser that generates measurement light L having a wavelength (for example, infrared light) that can be absorbed by the measurement target gas. Claimed limitation absorption between 6.14 and 6.26 pm falls within mid-infrared band);
when a concentration of the nitrous oxide is measured, calculate the concentration of the nitrous oxide (Par. [0006]: The gas to be measured is not limited to one type, and may be a mixed gas containing a plurality of the above gases thus limitation is anticipated) based on absorption between 7.84 and 7.91 pm by the nitrous oxide (Par. [0018-0019]: the measurement light L is composed of a plurality of element lights L1 to L4 having different wavelength regions. Since the measurement light L is composed of a plurality of element lights L1 to L4, for example, a plurality of types of measurement target gases having absorption peaks in the wavelength regions of the element lights L1 to L4 can be measured thus limitation is anticipated. Also see Par. [0109]: a laser that generates measurement light L having a wavelength (for example, infrared light) that can be absorbed by the measurement target gas. Claimed limitation absorption between 7.84 and 7.91 pm falls within mid-infrared band);
when a concentration of the ammonia is measured, calculate the concentration of the ammonia (Par. [0006]) based on absorption between 9.38 and 9.56 pm by the ammonia (Par. [0018-0019]: the measurement light L is composed of a plurality of element lights L1 to L4 having different wavelength regions. Since the measurement light L is composed of a plurality of element lights L1 to L4, for example, a plurality of types of measurement target gases having absorption peaks in the wavelength regions of the element lights L1 to L4 can be measured thus limitation is anticipated. Also see Par. [0109]: a laser that generates measurement light L having a wavelength (for example, infrared light) that can be absorbed by the measurement target gas. Claimed limitation absorption between 9.38 and 9.56 pm falls within mid-infrared band);
when a concentration of the ethane is measured, calculate the concentration of the ethane (Par. [0006]) based on absorption between 3.33 and 3.36 pm by the ethane (Par. [0018-0019]: the measurement light L is composed of a plurality of element lights L1 to L4 having different wavelength regions. Since the measurement light L is composed of a plurality of element lights L1 to L4, for example, a plurality of types of measurement target gases having absorption peaks in the wavelength regions of the element lights L1 to L4 can be measured thus limitation is anticipated. Also see Par. [0109]: a laser that generates measurement light L having a wavelength (for example, infrared light) that can be absorbed by the measurement target gas. Claimed limitation absorption between 3.33 and 3.36 pm falls within mid-infrared band);
when a concentration of the formaldehyde or the acetaldehyde is measured, calculate the concentration of the formaldehyde or the acetaldehyde (Par. [0006]: The gas to be measured is not limited to one type, and may be a mixed gas containing a plurality of the above gases thus limitation is anticipated) based on absorption between 5.65 and 5.67 pm by the formaldehyde or the acetaldehyde (Par. [0018-0019]: the measurement light L is composed of a plurality of element lights L1 to L4 having different wavelength regions. Since the measurement light L is composed of a plurality of element lights L1 to L4, for example, a plurality of types of measurement target gases having absorption peaks in the wavelength regions of the element lights L1 to L4 can be measured thus limitation is anticipated. Also see Par. [0109]: a laser that generates measurement light L having a wavelength (for example, infrared light) that can be absorbed by the measurement target gas. Claimed limitation absorption between 5.65 and 5.67 pm falls within mid-infrared band);
when a concentration of the sulfur dioxide is measured, calculate the concentration of the sulfur dioxide (Par. [0006]) based on absorption between 7.38 and 7.42 pm by the sulfur dioxide (Par. [0018-0019]: the measurement light L is composed of a plurality of element lights L1 to L4 having different wavelength regions. Since the measurement light L is composed of a plurality of element lights L1 to L4, for example, a plurality of types of measurement target gases having absorption peaks in the wavelength regions of the element lights L1 to L4 can be measured thus limitation is anticipated. Also see Par. [0109]: a laser that generates measurement light L having a wavelength (for example, infrared light) that can be absorbed by the measurement target gas. Claimed limitation absorption between 7.38 and 7.42 pm falls within mid-infrared band);
when a concentration of the methane is measured, calculate the concentration of the methane (Par. [0006]) based on absorption between 7.50 and 7.54 pm by the methane (Par. [0018-0019]: the measurement light L is composed of a plurality of element lights L1 to L4 having different wavelength regions. Since the measurement light L is composed of a plurality of element lights L1 to L4, for example, a plurality of types of measurement target gases having absorption peaks in the wavelength regions of the element lights L1 to L4 can be measured thus limitation is anticipated. Also see Par. [0109]: a laser that generates measurement light L having a wavelength (for example, infrared light) that can be absorbed by the measurement target gas. Claimed limitation absorption between 7.50 and 7.54 pm falls within mid-infrared band); and
when a concentration of the methanol or the ethanol is measured, calculate the concentration of the methanol or the ethanol (Par. [0006]) based on absorption between 9.45 and 9.47 pm by the methanol or the ethanol (Par. [0018-0019]: the measurement light L is composed of a plurality of element lights L1 to L4 having different wavelength regions. Since the measurement light L is composed of a plurality of element lights L1 to L4, for example, a plurality of types of measurement target gases having absorption peaks in the wavelength regions of the element lights L1 to L4 can be measured thus limitation is anticipated. Also see Par. [0109]: a laser that generates measurement light L having a wavelength (for example, infrared light) that can be absorbed by the measurement target gas. Claimed limitation absorption between 9.45 and 9.47 pm falls within mid-infrared band).
Regarding Claim 2, Yamamoto teaches the concentration calculation unit (Fig. 2 @ 201, Par. [0044-0045]) is configured to:
when the concentration of the nitric oxide is measured, calculate the concentration of the nitric oxide (Par. [0006]: The gas to be measured is not limited to one type, and may be a mixed gas containing a plurality of the above gases thus limitation is anticipated) based on absorption between 5.245 and 5.247 pm by the nitric oxide (Par. [0018-0019]: the measurement light L is composed of a plurality of element lights L1 to L4 having different wavelength regions. Since the measurement light L is composed of a plurality of element lights L1 to L4, for example, a plurality of types of measurement target gases having absorption peaks in the wavelength regions of the element lights L1 to L4 can be measured thus limitation is anticipated. Also see Par. [0109]: a laser that generates measurement light L having a wavelength (for example, infrared light) that can be absorbed by the measurement target gas. Claimed limitation absorption between 5.245 and 5.247 pm falls within mid-infrared band);
when the concentration of the nitrogen dioxide is measured, calculate the concentration of the nitrogen dioxide (Par. [0006]) based on absorption between 6.145 and 6.254 pm by the nitrogen dioxide (Par. [0018-0019]: the measurement light L is composed of a plurality of element lights L1 to L4 having different wavelength regions. Since the measurement light L is composed of a plurality of element lights L1 to L4, for example, a plurality of types of measurement target gases having absorption peaks in the wavelength regions of the element lights L1 to L4 can be measured thus limitation is anticipated. Also see Par. [0109]: a laser that generates measurement light L having a wavelength (for example, infrared light) that can be absorbed by the measurement target gas. Claimed limitation absorption between 6.145 and 6.254 pm falls within mid-infrared band);
when the concentration of the nitrous oxide is measured, calculate the concentration of the nitrous oxide (Par. [0006]: The gas to be measured is not limited to one type, and may be a mixed gas containing a plurality of the above gases thus limitation is anticipated) based on absorption between 7.845 and 7.907 pm by the nitrous oxide (Par. [0018-0019]: the measurement light L is composed of a plurality of element lights L1 to L4 having different wavelength regions. Since the measurement light L is composed of a plurality of element lights L1 to L4, for example, a plurality of types of measurement target gases having absorption peaks in the wavelength regions of the element lights L1 to L4 can be measured thus limitation is anticipated. Also see Par. [0109]: a laser that generates measurement light L having a wavelength (for example, infrared light) that can be absorbed by the measurement target gas. Claimed limitation absorption between 7.845 and 7.907 pm falls within mid-infrared band);
when the concentration of the ammonia is measured, calculate the concentration of the ammonia (Par. [0006]) based on absorption between 9.384 and 9.557 pm by the ammonia (Par. [0018-0019]: the measurement light L is composed of a plurality of element lights L1 to L4 having different wavelength regions. Since the measurement light L is composed of a plurality of element lights L1 to L4, for example, a plurality of types of measurement target gases having absorption peaks in the wavelength regions of the element lights L1 to L4 can be measured thus limitation is anticipated. Also see Par. [0109]: a laser that generates measurement light L having a wavelength (for example, infrared light) that can be absorbed by the measurement target gas. Claimed limitation absorption between 9.384 and 9.557 pm falls within mid-infrared band);
when the concentration of the ethane is measured, calculate the concentration of the ethane (Par. [0006]) based on absorption between 3.336 and 3.352 pm by the ethane (Par. [0018-0019]: the measurement light L is composed of a plurality of element lights L1 to L4 having different wavelength regions. Since the measurement light L is composed of a plurality of element lights L1 to L4, for example, a plurality of types of measurement target gases having absorption peaks in the wavelength regions of the element lights L1 to L4 can be measured thus limitation is anticipated. Also see Par. [0109]: a laser that generates measurement light L having a wavelength (for example, infrared light) that can be absorbed by the measurement target gas. Claimed limitation absorption between 3.336 and 3.352 pm falls within mid-infrared band);
when the concentration of the formaldehyde or the acetaldehyde is measured, calculate the concentration of the formaldehyde or the acetaldehyde (Par. [0006]: The gas to be measured is not limited to one type, and may be a mixed gas containing a plurality of the above gases thus limitation is anticipated) based on absorption between 5.651 and 5.652 pm or between 5.665 and 5.667 pm by the formaldehyde or the acetaldehyde (Par. [0018-0019]: the measurement light L is composed of a plurality of element lights L1 to L4 having different wavelength regions. Since the measurement light L is composed of a plurality of element lights L1 to L4, for example, a plurality of types of measurement target gases having absorption peaks in the wavelength regions of the element lights L1 to L4 can be measured thus limitation is anticipated. Also see Par. [0109]: a laser that generates measurement light L having a wavelength (for example, infrared light) that can be absorbed by the measurement target gas. Claimed limitation absorption between 5.651 and 5.652 pm falls within mid-infrared band);
when the concentration of the sulfur dioxide is measured, calculate the concentration of the sulfur dioxide (Par. [0006]) based on absorption between 7.385 and 7.417 pm by the sulfur dioxide (Par. [0018-0019]: the measurement light L is composed of a plurality of element lights L1 to L4 having different wavelength regions. Since the measurement light L is composed of a plurality of element lights L1 to L4, for example, a plurality of types of measurement target gases having absorption peaks in the wavelength regions of the element lights L1 to L4 can be measured thus limitation is anticipated. Also see Par. [0109]: a laser that generates measurement light L having a wavelength (for example, infrared light) that can be absorbed by the measurement target gas. Claimed limitation absorption between 7.385 and 7.417 pm falls within mid-infrared band);
when the concentration of the methane is measured, calculate the concentration of the methane (Par. [0006]) based on absorption between 7.503 and 7.504 pm or between 7.535 and 7.536 pm by the methane (Par. [0018-0019]: the measurement light L is composed of a plurality of element lights L1 to L4 having different wavelength regions. Since the measurement light L is composed of a plurality of element lights L1 to L4, for example, a plurality of types of measurement target gases having absorption peaks in the wavelength regions of the element lights L1 to L4 can be measured thus limitation is anticipated. Also see Par. [0109]: a laser that generates measurement light L having a wavelength (for example, infrared light) that can be absorbed by the measurement target gas. Claimed limitation absorption between 7.535 and 7.536 pm falls within mid-infrared band); and
when a concentration of the methanol or the ethanol is measured, calculate the concentration of the methanol or the ethanol (Par. [0006]) based on absorption between 9.467 and 9.468 pm or between 9.445 and 9.456 pm by the methanol or the ethanol (Par. [0018-0019]: the measurement light L is composed of a plurality of element lights L1 to L4 having different wavelength regions. Since the measurement light L is composed of a plurality of element lights L1 to L4, for example, a plurality of types of measurement target gases having absorption peaks in the wavelength regions of the element lights L1 to L4 can be measured thus limitation is anticipated. Also see Par. [0109]: a laser that generates measurement light L having a wavelength (for example, infrared light) that can be absorbed by the measurement target gas. Claimed limitation absorption between 9.467 and 9.468 pm falls within mid-infrared band).
Regarding Claim 3, Yamamoto teaches the concentration calculation unit (Fig. 2 @ 201, Par. [0044-0045]) is configured to:
when the concentration of the nitric oxide is measured, calculate the concentration of the nitric oxide (Par. [0006]: The gas to be measured is not limited to one type, and may be a mixed gas containing a plurality of the above gases thus limitation is anticipated) based on absorption at 5.2462 pm by the nitric oxide (Par. [0018-0019]: the measurement light L is composed of a plurality of element lights L1 to L4 having different wavelength regions. Since the measurement light L is composed of a plurality of element lights L1 to L4, for example, a plurality of types of measurement target gases having absorption peaks in the wavelength regions of the element lights L1 to L4 can be measured thus limitation is anticipated. Also see Par. [0109]: a laser that generates measurement light L having a wavelength (for example, infrared light) that can be absorbed by the measurement target gas. Claimed limitation absorption between 5.2462 pm falls within mid-infrared band);
when the concentration of the nitrogen dioxide is measured, calculate the concentration of the nitrogen dioxide (Par. [0006]) based on absorption at 6.2322 pm or 6.2538 pm by the nitrogen dioxide (Par. [0018-0019]: the measurement light L is composed of a plurality of element lights L1 to L4 having different wavelength regions. Since the measurement light L is composed of a plurality of element lights L1 to L4, for example, a plurality of types of measurement target gases having absorption peaks in the wavelength regions of the element lights L1 to L4 can be measured thus limitation is anticipated. Also see Par. [0109]: a laser that generates measurement light L having a wavelength (for example, infrared light) that can be absorbed by the measurement target gas. Claimed limitation absorption between 6.2322 pm falls within mid-infrared band);
when the concentration of the nitrous oxide is measured, calculate the concentration of the nitrous oxide (Par. [0006]: The gas to be measured is not limited to one type, and may be a mixed gas containing a plurality of the above gases thus limitation is anticipated) based on absorption at 7.8455 pm, 7.8509 pm, 7.8784 pm, or 7.9067 pm by the nitrous oxide (Par. [0018-0019]: the measurement light L is composed of a plurality of element lights L1 to L4 having different wavelength regions. Since the measurement light L is composed of a plurality of element lights L1 to L4, for example, a plurality of types of measurement target gases having absorption peaks in the wavelength regions of the element lights L1 to L4 can be measured thus limitation is anticipated. Also see Par. [0109]: a laser that generates measurement light L having a wavelength (for example, infrared light) that can be absorbed by the measurement target gas. Claimed limitation absorption at 7.8455 pm, 7.8509 pm, 7.8784 pm, or 7.9067 pm falls within mid-infrared band);
when the concentration of the ammonia is measured, calculate the concentration of the ammonia (Par. [0006]) based on absorption at 9.3847 pm or 9.5566 pm by the ammonia (Par. [0018-0019]: the measurement light L is composed of a plurality of element lights L1 to L4 having different wavelength regions. Since the measurement light L is composed of a plurality of element lights L1 to L4, for example, a plurality of types of measurement target gases having absorption peaks in the wavelength regions of the element lights L1 to L4 can be measured thus limitation is anticipated. Also see Par. [0109]: a laser that generates measurement light L having a wavelength (for example, infrared light) that can be absorbed by the measurement target gas. Claimed limitation absorption at 9.3847 pm or 9.5566 pm falls within mid-infrared band);
when the concentration of the ethane is measured, calculate the concentration of the ethane (Par. [0006]) based on absorption at 3.3368 pm, 3.3482 pm, or 3.3519 pm by the ethane (Par. [0018-0019]: the measurement light L is composed of a plurality of element lights L1 to L4 having different wavelength regions. Since the measurement light L is composed of a plurality of element lights L1 to L4, for example, a plurality of types of measurement target gases having absorption peaks in the wavelength regions of the element lights L1 to L4 can be measured thus limitation is anticipated. Also see Par. [0109]: a laser that generates measurement light L having a wavelength (for example, infrared light) that can be absorbed by the measurement target gas. Claimed limitation absorption at 3.3368 pm, 3.3482 pm, or 3.3519 pm falls within mid-infrared band);
when the concentration of the formaldehyde or the acetaldehyde is measured, calculate the concentration of the formaldehyde or the acetaldehyde (Par. [0006]: The gas to be measured is not limited to one type, and may be a mixed gas containing a plurality of the above gases thus limitation is anticipated) based on absorption at 5.6514 pm or 5.6660 pm by the formaldehyde or the acetaldehyde (Par. [0018-0019]: the measurement light L is composed of a plurality of element lights L1 to L4 having different wavelength regions. Since the measurement light L is composed of a plurality of element lights L1 to L4, for example, a plurality of types of measurement target gases having absorption peaks in the wavelength regions of the element lights L1 to L4 can be measured thus limitation is anticipated. Also see Par. [0109]: a laser that generates measurement light L having a wavelength (for example, infrared light) that can be absorbed by the measurement target gas. Claimed limitation absorption at 5.6514 pm or 5.6660 pm falls within mid-infrared band);
when the concentration of the sulfur dioxide is measured, calculate the concentration of the sulfur dioxide (Par. [0006]) based on absorption at 7.3856 pm or 7.4163 pm by the sulfur dioxide (Par. [0018-0019]: the measurement light L is composed of a plurality of element lights L1 to L4 having different wavelength regions. Since the measurement light L is composed of a plurality of element lights L1 to L4, for example, a plurality of types of measurement target gases having absorption peaks in the wavelength regions of the element lights L1 to L4 can be measured thus limitation is anticipated. Also see Par. [0109]: a laser that generates measurement light L having a wavelength (for example, infrared light) that can be absorbed by the measurement target gas. Claimed limitation absorption at 7.3856 pm or 7.4163 pm falls within mid-infrared band);
when the concentration of the methane is measured, calculate the concentration of the methane (Par. [0006]) based on absorption at 7.5035 pm or 7.5354 pm by the methane (Par. [0018-0019]: the measurement light L is composed of a plurality of element lights L1 to L4 having different wavelength regions. Since the measurement light L is composed of a plurality of element lights L1 to L4, for example, a plurality of types of measurement target gases having absorption peaks in the wavelength regions of the element lights L1 to L4 can be measured thus limitation is anticipated. Also see Par. [0109]: a laser that generates measurement light L having a wavelength (for example, infrared light) that can be absorbed by the measurement target gas. Claimed limitation absorption at 7.5035 pm or 7.5354 pm falls within mid-infrared band); and
when a concentration of the methanol or the ethanol is measured, calculate the concentration of the methanol or the ethanol (Par. [0006]) based on absorption at 9.4671 pm or 9.4557 pm by the methanol or the ethanol (Par. [0018-0019]: the measurement light L is composed of a plurality of element lights L1 to L4 having different wavelength regions. Since the measurement light L is composed of a plurality of element lights L1 to L4, for example, a plurality of types of measurement target gases having absorption peaks in the wavelength regions of the element lights L1 to L4 can be measured thus limitation is anticipated. Also see Par. [0109]: a laser that generates measurement light L having a wavelength (for example, infrared light) that can be absorbed by the measurement target gas. Claimed limitation absorption at 9.4671 pm or 9.4557 pm falls within mid-infrared band).
Regarding Claim 7, Yamamoto teaches a cell (Fig. 1 @ SS, Par. [0005]) into which the combustion gas (Fig. 1 @ SG, Par. [0005]) is introduced,
wherein the cell is a multireflection cell or a resonance cell (Fig. 1 @ SS, Par. [0015]).
Regarding Claim 8, Yamamoto teaches an analysis method of measuring a concentration of a measurement target component that is at least one of nitric oxide, nitrogen dioxide, nitrous oxide, ammonia, ethane, formaldehyde, acetaldehyde, sulfur dioxide, methane, methanol, or ethanol contained in a combustion gas (See Claim 1 rejection. Note: an apparatus claim can be used to implement a method claim), the analysis method comprising:
when a concentration of the nitric oxide is measured, calculating the concentration of the nitric oxide based on absorption between 5.24 and 5.26 pm by the nitric oxide (See Claim 1 rejection);
when a concentration of the nitrogen dioxide is measured, calculating the concentration of the nitrogen dioxide based on absorption between 6.14 and 6.26 pm by the nitrogen dioxide (See Claim 1 rejection);
when a concentration of the nitrous oxide is measured, calculating the concentration of the nitrous oxide based on absorption between 7.84 and 7.91 pm by the nitrous oxide (See Claim 1 rejection);
when a concentration of the ammonia is measured, calculating the concentration of the ammonia based on absorption between 9.38 and 9.56 pm by the ammonia (See Claim 1 rejection);
when a concentration of the ethane is measured, calculating the concentration of the ethane based on absorption between 3.33 and 3.36 pm by the ethane (See Claim 1 rejection);
when a concentration of the formaldehyde or the acetaldehyde is measured, calculating the concentration of the formaldehyde or the acetaldehyde based on absorption between 5.65 and 5.67 pm by the formaldehyde or the acetaldehyde (See Claim 1 rejection);
when a concentration of the sulfur dioxide is measured, calculating the concentration of the sulfur dioxide based on absorption between 7.38 and 7.42 pm by the sulfur dioxide (See Claim 1 rejection);
when a concentration of the methane is measured, calculating the concentration of the methane based on absorption between 7.50 and 7.54 pm by the methane (See Claim 1 rejection); and
when a concentration of the methanol or the ethanol is measured, calculating the concentration of the methanol or the ethanol based on absorption between 9.45 and 9.47 pm by the methanol or the ethanol (See Claim 1 rejection).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto in view of JP2011191246A by Takashi et al. (hereinafter Takashi).
Regarding Claims 4-6, Yamamoto teaches the concentration calculation unit (Fig. 2 @ 201, Par. [0044-0045]) but does not explicitly each is configured to calculate the concentration of the measurement target component by correcting interference influence of an interference component that is a component other than the measurement target component contained in the combustion gas (Claim 4);
wherein the interference component is water, carbon dioxide, and/or a hydrocarbon (Claim 5);
wherein the laser light source is a quantum cascade laser (Claim 6).
However, Takashi teaches calculate the concentration of the measurement target component by correcting interference influence of an interference component that is a component other than the measurement target component contained in the combustion gas (Abstract, Page 5-9);
wherein the interference component is water, carbon dioxide, and/or a hydrocarbon (Page 5, 7);
wherein the laser light source is a quantum cascade laser (Pag 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamamoto by Takashi as taught above such that calculate the concentration of the measurement target component by correcting interference influence of an interference component that is a component other than the measurement target component contained in the combustion gas; wherein the interference component is water, carbon dioxide, and/or a hydrocarbon; wherein the laser light source is a quantum cascade laser is accomplished in order to obtain accurate computation of concentration (Takashi, Abstract).
Conclusion
/JAMIL AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877