DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-14, 16-17, and 31, in the reply filed on 6/12/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 16, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jang (US Pub. 20160150345).
Regarding claim 1, Jang discloses a method for rendering an audio source using a plurality of virtual sources, the plurality of virtual sources including a first virtual source (see fig. 2; paragraphs 44 and 59), the method comprising:
obtaining a target distance gain value (see fig. 2, items 200 and 211; paragraphs 59-60; distance between 200 and 211), wherein the target distance gain value was derived using a target distance gain function for the audio source and a reference distance value indicating a distance between a listening position and a reference point for the audio source (see fig. 5; paragraphs 76-80; the center 211 of the multipole sound object is the reference point and the user 200 is the listening position; the relationship of overall volume is set as a function of this object-to-user distance is the target distance gain function evaluated at the object-to-user reference distance value);
deriving a first distance gain correction value for at least the first virtual source using the target distance gain value (see paragraphs 64 and 76-80; gain used for rendering the audio source takes into account the directivity of the virtual sources and a gain linked to the distance between the user and the center point); and
rendering the audio source using the derived first distance gain correction value and a signal for the first virtual source (see paragraph 61; the sound source controller 120 may generate a sound in which a directivity and relative distances of the sound sources 220, 230, and 240 vary based on a direction of the multipole sound object 210).
Regarding claim 2, Jang discloses the method of claim 1, as discussed above, further comprising: obtaining a first source distance value indicating a distance between a position of the first virtual source and the listening position, wherein the first distance gain correction value for the first virtual source is derived further using the first source distance value (see fig. 5; paragraphs 74 and 77; since relative distances between the user and the sound sources 220, 230, and 240 decreases, the user 200 may recognize that a volume of a corresponding sound source increases although volumes of the sound sources 220, 230, and 240 are maintained).
Regarding claim 4, Jang discloses the method of claim 1, as discussed above, wherein the target distance gain value was derived by evaluating the target distance gain function at the reference distance value (see paragraphs 52 and 55; relative distance between the multipole sound object and a user).
Regarding claim 5, Jang discloses the method of claim 1, as discussed above, wherein the audio source is rendered using at least the first virtual source and a second virtual source, the audio source is rendered using the derived first distance gain correction value for the first virtual source and using a second distance gain correction value for the second virtual source, and the second distance gain correction value is the same as the derived first distance gain correction value (see figs. 5 and 6; paragraphs 83-88).
Regarding claim 16, Jang discloses the method of claim 1, as discussed above, wherein the first distance gain correction value is a common distance gain correction value that is common for all virtual sources used for rendering the audio source (see fig. 6; paragraph 82-84; the sound source controller 120 may decrease a volume of each of the sound sources 220, 230, and 240 in response to the decrease in the volume of the multipole sound object 210).
Regarding claim 31, the claimed limitations are an apparatus claim directly corresponding to the method of claim 1; therefore, is rejected for the significantly the similar reasons as claim 1, as discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 6, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang (US Pub. 20160150345).
Regarding claim 3, Jang discloses the method of claim 1, as discussed above.
Jang fails to explicitly disclose further comprising: obtaining a distance gain value, wherein the distance gain value was derived using a source distance gain function for the first virtual source, wherein the first distance gain correction value for the first virtual source is derived further using the distance gain value.
However, examiner takes official notice obtaining a distance gain value, wherein the distance gain value was derived using a source distance gain function for the first virtual source, wherein the first distance gain correction value for the first virtual source is derived further using the distance gain value was well known to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, to have incorporated obtaining a distance gain value, wherein the distance gain value was derived using a source distance gain function for the first virtual source, wherein the first distance gain correction value for the first virtual source is derived further using the distance gain value with the method for rendering an audio source of Jang, in order to obtain the well-recognized benefit of more realistic near-field distance cues.
Regarding claim 6, Jang discloses the method of claim 1, as discussed above.
Jang fails to explicitly disclose wherein the audio source is rendered using at least the first virtual source and a second virtual source, the audio source is rendered using the derived first distance gain correction value for the first virtual source and using a second distance gain correction value for the second virtual source, and the second distance gain correction value for the second virtual source is derived using the source distance gain function.
However, examiner takes official notice wherein the audio source is rendered using at least the first virtual source and a second virtual source, the audio source is rendered using the derived first distance gain correction value for the first virtual source and using a second distance gain correction value for the second virtual source, and the second distance gain correction value for the second virtual source is derived using the source distance gain function was well known to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, to have incorporated wherein the audio source is rendered using at least the first virtual source and a second virtual source, the audio source is rendered using the derived first distance gain correction value for the first virtual source and using a second distance gain correction value for the second virtual source, and the second distance gain correction value for the second virtual source is derived using the source distance gain function with the method for rendering an audio source of Jang, in order to obtain the well-recognized benefit of more realistic near-field distance cues.
Regarding claim 13, Jang discloses the method of claim 3, as discussed above.
Jang fails to disclose wherein the source distance gain function for the first virtual source is proportional to A/r.sub.1, A is a constant, and r.sub.1 is the first source distance value.
However, examiner takes official notice wherein the source distance gain function for the first virtual source is proportional to A/r.sub.1, A is a constant, and r.sub.1 is the first source distance value was well known to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, to have incorporated wherein the source distance gain function for the first virtual source is proportional to A/r.sub.1, A is a constant, and r.sub.1 is the first source distance value with the method for rendering an audio source of Jang, in order to obtain the well-recognized benefit of more realistic near-field distance cues.
Regarding claim 14, Jang discloses the method of claim 3, as discussed above.
Jang fails to disclose wherein the source distance gain function for the first virtual source is equal to the target distance gain function for the audio source, or the source distance gain function is a constant.
However, examiner takes official notice wherein the source distance gain function for the first virtual source is equal to the target distance gain function for the audio source, or the source distance gain function is a constant was well known to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, to have incorporated wherein the source distance gain function for the first virtual source is equal to the target distance gain function for the audio source, or the source distance gain function is a constant with the method for rendering an audio source of Jang, in order to obtain the well-recognized benefit of more realistic near-field distance cues.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-12 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Mateos Sole et al. (US Pat. 9674630) teaches rendering audio reproduction data for reproduction environments.
/PAUL KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2695