DETAILED ACTION
Note:
One megapascal (MPa) is equal to approximately 0.102 kgf/mm² (kilogram-force per square millimeter). Conversely, 1 kgf/mm² equals 9.807 MPa. (Note: "kg/mm²" technically measures mass rather than force, but in engineering it is commonly used as a shorthand for kilogram-force, kgf/mm².
Therefore, 20 kgf/mm² equal 196.14 MPa.
The tensile strength of standard epoxy resin typically ranges from 5,000 to 14,000 psi (35 to 97 MPa), though specialized structural or high-performance formulations can reach up to 17,500 psi (120 MPa) depending on the chemical mixture and how it is cured.
The tensile strength of a polyimide-modified epoxy resin typically ranges from 70 MPa to 110 MPa (roughly 10,000 to 16,000 psi), depending heavily on the ratio of polyimide blended into the matrix, the specific curing agents used, and test temperatures.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 9, and 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being
anticipated by Kuwako et al. (WO 2015125928 A1), hereafter Kuwako.
As to claims 1, 13-14, Kuwako discloses a printed circuit board (20) as shown in
figures 3-4 with built-in capacitor/capacitor element (10) comprising a double-sided
copper clad laminate (1) having copper foil (3) adhered onto both surfaces of a dielectric
layer (F),
wherein the dielectric layer (the resin film F) has a thickness of 0.1 µm or more
and 2.0 µm or less (0.1 µm to 2.0 µm), the thickness of the dielectric layer (F) in a
range of 0.5 µm to 25 µm, and
wherein the double-sided copper clad laminate (1) further comprises a pair of
resin layers (4) arranged in contact with the copper foil (3) between the dielectric layer
(F) and the copper foil (3), and
an overall tensile strength of the dielectric layer (F) and the resin layers is 50 MPa or more and 200 MPa or less (the resin film F made from epoxy resin material has the tensile strength of 35 MPa to 97 MPa), and the resin layer 4 made from epoxy, polyimide, or polyamide has the tensile strength about 70 MPa to 110 MPa; therefore, the overall tensile strength in a range of 50 MPa to 200 MPa).
As to claim 2, Kuwako discloses a tensile strength of the resin layers (the
thermosetting resin has a tensile strength about 200 MPa) is larger than a tensile
strength of the dielectric layer (100 MPa).
As to claim 4, Kuwako discloses an overall puncture strength or force of the
dielectric layer (the polyamide about 40-100 MPa) and the resin layers (the polyimide
about 203-297 MPa) is 0.6 N or more.
As to claim 5, Kuwako discloses at least one of the resin layers (4) and the
dielectric layer (F) comprises a dielectric filler.
As to claim 9, Kuwako discloses the resin layers (4) are free from the dielectric
filler and the dielectric layer (F) comprise the dielectric filler.
As to claim 11, Kuwako discloses a glass transition temperature Tg of resin
contained in the resin layers (the element 4 made from a polyimide resin has Tg in a
range of 200°C -400°C) is 180°C or higher.
As to claim 12, Kuwako discloses a glass transition temperature Tg of resin
contained in the resin layers (the element 4 made from a polyimide resin has Tg in a
range of 200°C -400°C) is higher than a glass transition temperature Tg of resin
contained in the dielectric layer (the polyamide F has Tg in between 40°C -90°C).
As to claim 15, Kuwako discloses a method for manufacturing
the double-sided copper clad laminate (1) according to claim 1, comprising the steps of
in figure 2:
(i) applying a resin layer (4) precursor to a copper foil (3);
(ii) curing the precursor to obtain the copper foil (3) with the resin layer (4);
(iii) arranging a dielectric layer (F) on a surface of the resin layer (4); and
(iv) pressing the copper foil (3) with the resin layer (4) on which the dielectric
layer (F) has been arranged and another copper foil (another element 3) with another
resin layer (another element 4) produced through the above steps(i) and (ii), so that the
dielectric layer (F) is sandwiched by the resin layers from both sides.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8, and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base
claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the
limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/10/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues:
Kuwako fails to disclose or suggest the subject matter of amended claim 1, which recites that an overall tensile strength of the dielectric layer and the resin layers is 50 MPa or more and 200 MPa or less.
After carefully review, examiner respectively disagrees. Kuwako discloses the resin film F made from epoxy resin material has the tensile strength of 35 MPa to 97 MPa, and the resin layer 4 made from epoxy, polyimide, or polyamide has the tensile strength about 70 MPa to 110 MPa; therefore, the overall tensile strength in a range of 50 MPa to 200 MPa.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TUAN T DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847