DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a capacitor element, claim 13, and a printed wiring board with built-in capacitor, claim 14” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawing does not show these limitations as above. Please, clarify.
Claim Objections
Claims 13-15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 13, the phrase of “a capacitor element” is unclear because the drawing does not show. Please, revise.
Regarding claim 14, the phrase of “a printed wiring board with built-in capacitor” is unclear because the drawing does not show. Please, revise or cancel this claim.
Regarding to claim 15, please, change claim 15 which is shown below:
15. A method for manufacturing the double-sided copper clad laminate according to claim 1, comprising the steps of:
(i) applying a resin layer precursor to a copper foil;
(ii) curing the precursor to obtain [[a]] the copper foil with the resin layer;
(iii) arranging a dielectric layer on a surface of the resin layer; and
(iv) pressing the copper foil with the resin layer on which the dielectric layer has been arranged and another copper foil with another resin layer produced through the above steps(i) and (ii), so that the dielectric layer is sandwiched by the resin layers from both sides.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 9, and 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Kuwako et al. (WO 2015125928 A1), hereafter Kuwako.
As to claims 1, 13-14, Kuwako discloses a printed circuit board (20) as shown in figures 3-4 with built-in capacitor/capacitor element (10) comprising a double-sided copper clad laminate (1) having copper foil (3) adhered onto both surfaces of a dielectric layer (F),
wherein the dielectric layer (the resin film F) has a thickness of 0.1 µm or more and 2.0 µm or less (0.1 µm to 2.0 µm), the thickness of the dielectric layer (F) in a range of 0.5 µm to 25 µm, and
wherein the double-sided copper clad laminate (1) further comprises a pair of resin layers (4) arranged in contact with the copper foil (3) between the dielectric layer (F) and the copper foil (3).
As to claim 2, Kuwako discloses a tensile strength of the resin layers (the thermosetting resin has a tensile strength about 200 MPa) is larger than a tensile strength of the dielectric layer (100 MPa).
As to claim 3, Kuwako discloses an overall tensile strength of the dielectric layer (F) and the resin layers is 50 MPa or more and 200 MPa or less (the resin film F has the tensile strength about 0.1 GPa or 100 MPa).
As to claim 4, Kuwako discloses an overall puncture strength or force of the dielectric layer (the polyamide about 40-100 MPa) and the resin layers (the polyimide about 203-297 MPa) is 0.6 N or more.
As to claim 5, Kuwako discloses at least one of the resin layers (4) and the dielectric layer (F) comprises a dielectric filler.
As to claim 9, Kuwako discloses the resin layers (4) are free from the dielectric filler and the dielectric layer (F) comprises the dielectric filler.
As to claim 11, Kuwako discloses a glass transition temperature Tg of resin contained in the resin layers (the element 4 made from a polyimide resin has Tg in a range of 200°C -400°C) is 180°C or higher.
As to claim 12, Kuwako discloses a glass transition temperature Tg of resin contained in the resin layers (the element 4 made from a polyimide resin has Tg in a range of 200°C -400°C) is higher than a glass transition temperature Tg of resin contained in the dielectric layer (the polyamide F has Tg in between 40°C -90°C).
As best understood to claim 15, Kuwako discloses a method for manufacturing the double-sided copper clad laminate (1) according to claim 1, comprising the steps of in figure 2:
(i) applying a resin layer (4) precursor to a copper foil (3);
(ii) curing the precursor to obtain [[a]] the copper foil (3) with the resin layer (4);
(iii) arranging a dielectric layer (F) on a surface of the resin layer (4); and
(iv) pressing the copper foil (3) with the resin layer (4) on which the dielectric layer (F) has been arranged and another copper foil (another element 3) with another resin layer (another element 4) produced through the above steps(i) and (ii), so that the dielectric layer (F) is sandwiched by the resin layers from both sides.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8, and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/TUAN T DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848