DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-23 in the reply filed on August 3, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that applicant failed to recite an actual argument citing the grounds of traversal. The request for a rejoinder has been noted. This is not found persuasive because no argument was made,
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Heating element as recited in claims 1-23 where the functional language is heating and the generic placeholder is element.
Heating element according to the original specification can be [0011] a resistive cartridge heater or according to [0051] can be a rod shaped electric cartridge heater
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lilleland et al (US 2020/0132235).
Regarding claim 1: The prior art of Lilleland et al teaches gas delivery apparatus, comprising: a heater block assembly (modular unit 12 see Figs 1-3 and modular 120f see Fig. 11) comprising a pair of (vertically stacked) heating sub-blocks(upper and lower halves) , wherein individual ones of the pair of sub-blocks comprise a planar surface (upper 122f, lowe124f), wherein the first groove and the second groove extend along a length of the individual ones of the pair of sub-blocks, and wherein the planar surfaces (upper piece 122f and lower piece 124f) of the individual ones of the pair of sub-blocks are in mechanical contact with each other; a heating element 18 within the first groove (guided slot 42 in Fig. 3 and slots 98 in Fig. 5, see [0052] and [0063] described as a u-shaped slot), wherein the first groove and the heating element extend along a length of the heater block assembly; a gas line 14 (see [0049] where it is stated that gas is caried in the conduits) within the second groove (receiving space 32), and a temperature-sensing switch (see the discussion of temperature sensors in [0009], [0045], and temperature sensor 812 in [0100]) mechanically coupled to the heater block assembly and electrically (external power terminal 244) coupled to the heating element 214.
In all the Figures and suggested designs of Lilleland et al the gas line 14 is carried in a groove. In many design the heating element is provided above and/or below the gas line. Figs 1-3 and 11 of Lilleland et al fails wherein the planar surface comprises a first groove and a second groove substantially parallel to the first groove. Lilleland et al further fails to teach in Figs. 1-3 and 11 that wherein the second groove is adjacent to the first groove within the heater block assembly. Note those grooves are parallel. See also an alternative design of the heating element 18 where bus-conductors 222 see [0073]. In [0074] Lilleland et al suggests that the design of the heating elements can vary to include plates and/or cylinders. The concept of parallel structures provided is known as supported by Figs. 32 and 33 of Lilleland et al where temperature sensors 812 (temperature switches) are illustrated.
Figs. 5-7 of Lilleland et al illustrates a modular unit 70 where the lower half of the modular unit can have parallel grooves where the gas line is disposed between.
The teachings of Lilleland et al suggest that the design of the gas delivery apparatus to include the location of the grooves and what is provided in them is known both the gas line and heating element are provided in a groove. Note Lilleland suggests that the proximity of the heating element to the gas line (be the heaters parallel or vertically stacked) will ensure ample heating of the gas line by the heating element. Whether those grooves are parallel is a matter of design choice and an alternative variation of Lilleland et al. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Lilleland et al to ensure that the grooves are parallel and that the gas line and heater would be provided in a respective first or second groove as a matter of design choice and variation.
Regarding claim 2: See in Lilleland et al Figus. 1, 2, and 11 where the individual ones of the pair of sub-blocks comprise: an outer surface comprising a substantially planar top surface extending between a pair of rounded sidewall surfaces, wherein the substantially planar top surface is substantially parallel to the planar surface; and a pair of planar endwall surfaces substantially orthogonal to the planar top surface, wherein the first groove and the second groove extend through the pair of planar endwall surfaces.
Regarding claim 3: See in Figures 1 and 2 of Lilleland et al, wherein at least one end sidewall surface of the heater block assembly extends substantially orthogonally between the pair of rounded sidewall surfaces.
Regarding claim 5: See Fig. 1, 2, and 11 of Lilleland et al wherein the pair of rounded sidewall surfaces have a circular arc (have rounded sidewall surfaces).
Regarding claim 6: The prior art of Lilleland et al fails to teach a sub-block of the individual ones of the pair of sub-blocks further comprises a third groove extending substantially orthogonally from the first groove and along a planar endwall surface of the pair of planar endwall surfaces. However, the through holes of the thermal insulation jacket 24 of modular unit 12 which is used to connect the heating element 18 to the external power source are an alternative design to the third groove. Note the through hole is orthogonal to the groove holding gas line 14. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Lilleland et al to ensure sub-block of the individual ones of the pair of sub-blocks further comprises a third groove extending substantially orthogonally from the first groove and along a planar endwall surface of the pair of planar endwall surfaces to hold the gas line, heating element, temperature switch or other desired components of the modular unit.
Regarding claim 7: Recall the prior art of Lilleland et al fails to teach a third groove, but such provision is a matter of design choice as recited in the rejection of claim 6 above. It would have been with a reasonable expectation of success that when such third groove is provided then the heating element comprises a first portion extending within the first groove and a second portion substantially orthogonally connected to the first portion, wherein the second portion extends within the third groove. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Lilleland et al to ensure sub-block of the individual ones of the pair of sub-blocks further comprises a third groove extending substantially orthogonally from the first groove and along a planar endwall surface of the pair of planar endwall surfaces to hold the gas line, heating element, temperature switch or other desired components of the modular unit.
Regarding claim 8: See Fig. 3 and [0055] of Lilleland et al wherein upper portion 50 and the lower half portion 52 define a pair of locking flanges 54 for self-locking around the carrier 16. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the design of the modular unit of Lilleland et al to ensure that the individual ones of the pair of sub-blocks comprise at least one opening between the first and second grooves, wherein the at least one opening extends through the outer surface to support a way to lock or close the modular unit.
Regarding claim 9: See Fig. 32 of Lilleland et al wherein the temperature-sensing switch (temperature sensors 812) is mechanically coupled to the planar top surface of housing 802.
Regarding claim 10: See Figures 3 and 11 of Lilleland et al wherein the first grooves (slot 42 Fig. 3/groove 98 Fig. 5) and second groove (receiving space 32) are semicircular.
Regarding claim 15: The gas delivery apparatus of claim 1, wherein the individual ones of the pair of sub-blocks comprise any one of aluminum, copper, steel or Hastelloy. See [0076] of Lilleland et al discussed aluminum as a material of construction
Regarding claim 16: See the rejection of claim 1 above. Note that Figure 4 of Lilleland et al teaches a plurality of parallel heating elements18 and see Fig. 12A, Figs 1-3, and 11 of Lilleland et al fails wherein the planar surface comprises a first groove and a second groove substantially parallel to the first groove. Lilleland et al further fails to teach in Figs. 1-3 and 11 that wherein the second groove is adjacent to the first groove within the heater block assembly. Note those grooves are parallel. See also an alternative design of the heating element 18 where bus-conductors 222 see [0073]. In [0074] Lilleland et al suggests that the design of the heating elements can vary to include plates and/or cylinders. The concept of parallel structures provided is known as supported by Figs. 32 and 33 of Lilleland et al where temperature sensors 812 (temperature switches) are illustrated.
Figs. 5-7 of Lilleland et al illustrates a modular unit 70 where the lower half of the modular unit can have parallel grooves where the gas line 14 is disposed between.
The teachings of Lilleland et al suggest that the design of the gas delivery apparatus to include the location of the grooves and what is provided in them is known both the gas line and heating element are provided in a groove. Whether those grooves are parallel is a matter of design choice and an alternative variation of Lilleland et al. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Lilleland et al to ensure that the grooves are parallel and that the gas line and heater would be provided in a respective first or second groove as a matter of design choice and variation. It is thus also obvious to further modify the apparatus of Lilleland et al for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a plurality of grooves to include a third and fourth groove for the second planar surface (upper or lower halve of the modular unit).
Claims 4 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lilleland et al (US 2020/0132235) in view of Morioka, Makoto (JP10047581A using the Machine Generated English Translation provided by applicant with the IDS of April 25, 2024).
The teachings of Lilleland et al were described above.
The apparatus of Lilleland et al fails to teach:
Regarding claim 4: The gas delivery apparatus of claim 2, wherein at least one end sidewall surface of the heater block assembly extends between the pair of rounded sidewall surfaces at an oblique angle.
See the prior art of Morioka which teaches a heating device for piping where Fig. 6 illustrates that the abutting surface 31 of the heating material 5 is oblique. See also [0031]. According to the prior art of Morioka this oblique cut is an optimal design so that an angle formed between the abutting portions 31 when attached to the pipe is 90 degrees. This optimal design prevents the density of the heating elements from increasing inside the L-shaped portion. Thus, it would have been obvious to modify the prior art of Lilleland et al to ensure that at least one end sidewall surface of the heater block assembly extends between the pair of rounded sidewall surfaces at an oblique angle for optimal design and construction of the heating device and the piping as suggested by the prior art of Morioka.
The apparatus of Lilleland et al fails to teach:
Regarding claim 17: The gas delivery apparatus of claim 16, wherein: a first endwall surface of the first heater block assembly extends at a first angle between opposing first pair of rounded sidewall surfaces of the first heater block assembly ;a second endwall surface of the second heater block assembly extends at a second angle between opposing second rounded sidewall surfaces of the second heater block assembly; the first endwall surface is abutted against the second endwall surface such that a third angle is between the abutted first and second heater block assemblies, wherein the third angle is a sum of the first and second angles; and the first length and the second length are coplanar. See the prior art of Morioka which teaches a heating device for piping where Fig. 6 illustrates that the abutting surface 31 of the heating material 5 is oblique. See also [0031].According to Morioka in [0031] the angle between each material 5 and the abutting surface 31 is 45 deg and an angle between the heating materials 5 is 90 deg. According to the prior art of Morioka this oblique cut is an optimal design so that an angle formed between the abutting portions 31 when attached to the pipe is 90 degrees. This optimal design prevents the density of the heating elements from increasing inside the L-shaped portion. Thus, it would have been obvious to modify the prior art of Lilleland et al to ensure that at least one end sidewall surface of the heater block assembly extends between the pair of rounded sidewall surfaces at an oblique angle for optimal design and construction of the heating device and the piping as suggested by the prior art of Morioka.
The apparatus of Lilleland et al fails to teach:
Regarding claim 18: The gas delivery apparatus of claim 17, wherein the second groove comprises a first terminal portion adjacent to the first endwall and the fourth groove comprises a second terminal portion adjacent to the second endwall, and wherein the first terminal portion is interfaced to the second terminal portion by the first endwall abutted against the second endwall.
Regarding claim 19: The gas delivery apparatus of claim 18, wherein the first gas line is connected to the second gas line by an elbow joint, wherein the first gas line is seated within the second groove and extends substantially the first length, wherein the second gas line is seated within the fourth groove and extends substantially the second length, and wherein the elbow joint is seated within the interfacing first and second terminal portions of the second groove and the fourth groove.
See paragraphs [0030] and [0031] of Morioka and Fig 6 where it is illustrated that an end of each pipe 6 is connected to each other by an L joint 16 at the abutting surface 31. This optimal design prevents the density of the heating elements from increasing inside the L-shaped portion. Thus, it would have been obvious to modify the prior art of Lilleland et al to ensure that at least one end sidewall surface of the heater block assembly extends between the pair of rounded sidewall surfaces at an oblique angle for optimal design and construction of the heating device and the piping as suggested by the prior art of Morioka.
The apparatus of Lilleland et al fails to teach:
Regarding claim 20: The gas delivery apparatus of claim 19, wherein the first gas line extends from the elbow joint at the third angle with respect to the second gas line.
See Fig. 6 of Morioka where an angle between respective pipes 6 is the same as the angle between respective heating materials 5. This optimal design prevents the density of the heating elements from increasing inside the L-shaped portion. Thus, it would have been obvious to modify the prior art of Lilleland et al to ensure that at least one end sidewall surface of the heater block assembly extends between the pair of rounded sidewall surfaces at an oblique angle for optimal design and construction of the heating device and the piping as suggested by the prior art of Morioka.
Fig. 6 of Morioka, Makoto (JP10047581A)
Claims 11-14, 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lilleland et al (US 2020/0132235) in view of Jong (KR 2012001915U using the machine generated translation provided by applicant with the IDS of April 25, 2024).
The teachings of Lilleland et al were described above.
The apparatus of Lilleland et al fails to teach:
Regarding claim 11: The gas delivery apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second groove comprises: a first width along a length of the second groove; and a first portion comprising a second width, wherein the second width is greater than the first width.
Regarding claim 12: The gas delivery apparatus of claim 11, wherein the first portion has a length between 0.2 cm and 2 cm.
Regarding claim 13: The gas delivery apparatus of claim 11, wherein the second groove further comprises a second portion having a third width, wherein the second portion is separated from the first portion by a substantial portion of the length of the second groove, wherein the third width is greater than the first width.
Regarding claim 14: The gas delivery apparatus of claim 13, wherein the first width is at least 6 mm, wherein the second width is approximately 3 mm greater than the first width, and wherein the third width is approximately 1 mm greater than the first width.
Regarding claim 21: The gas delivery apparatus of claim 18, wherein at least one of the second groove and the fourth groove comprise a third portion along the first length or second length having a third width greater than the first width.
The prior art of Jong teaches a conduit heating device which is established in a semiconductor vacuum line. See [0038] and Fig, 3 of Jong where Jong teaches a connecting path (123) into which a vacuum pipe 10 is inserted has a first width and a second width wherein the second width is greater than the first width. In Fig. 3 Jong also illustrates the lengths of a portion and the width of the connecting path. The dimensions of the grooves and connecting paths to include their widths and lengths are a matter of design choice and optimization which could be determined without undue routine experimentation by one of ordinary skill in the art in order to ensure that the size to include the widths are ample to support the heating element, temperature switches and gas lines as desired. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the apparatus of Lilleland et al with the teachings of Jong et al to provide optimal design including the dimensions of the portion, connecting paths, and grooves are ample to support the heating element, temperature switches and gas lines as desired
Fig. 3 of Jong (KR 2012001915U)
The apparatus of Lilleland et al fails to teach:
Regarding claim 22: The gas delivery apparatus of claim 21, wherein the first gas line is mechanically coupled to a third gas line by a compression nut, wherein the first and third gas lines are seated within the second groove and extend substantially the first length, and wherein the compression nut is seated within the third portion of the second groove.
See the compression nut in Fig 2 of Jong below is used to connect portions of the gas lines (vacuum pipe). Compression nuts are known for their ample sealing of pipes to prevent leaks of process fluids/vacuum that would negative impact the process and consequentially the process result. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention modify the apparatus of Lilleland et al with a compression nut as suggested by Jong to mechanically couple the gas lines.
Fig. 6 of Jong (KR 2012001915U)
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lilleland et al (US 2020/0132235) in view of Kang et al (KR 2003006020223 using the machine generated translation provided by applicant with the IDS of April 25, 2024.
The teachings of Lilleland et al were described above.
The apparatus of Lilleland et al fails to teach:
Regarding claim 23: The gas delivery apparatus of claim 17, wherein the first endwall surface of the first heater block assembly extends orthogonally between opposing first rounded sidewall surfaces, wherein the first endwall surface of the first heater block assembly abuts a planar top surface of the second heater block assembly such that a first length of the first heater block assembly extends orthogonally from a second length of the second heater block assembly.
The prior art of Kang et al teaches a unified block heater design for a heating liquid delivery system where the first set of block heaters (first-third 210-203) are orthogonal/perpendicular to a second set of block heaters 240-270. The teachings of Kang et al support that when a plurality of block heaters are coupled to one another an optimal design is to have them be perpendicular to reduce their footprint and to simplify construction. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the design of the gas delivery apparatus of Lilleland et al herein the first endwall surface of the first heater block assembly extends orthogonally between opposing first rounded sidewall surfaces, wherein the first endwall surface of the first heater block assembly abuts a planar top surface of the second heater block assembly such that a first length of the first heater block assembly extends orthogonally from a second length of the second heater block assembly as suggested by the prior art of Kang et al.
Fig. 4 of Kang et al (KR 2003006020223)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
WO 2019110799 A1 teaches an electric fluid flow heater with stabilization brace and heater blocks.
WO2020130469 teaches a block heater and block heater assembly.
/SYLVIA MACARTHUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716