DETAILED ACTION
In the amendment filed June 3, 2026, claims 38, 41-43, 47, 51-52, and 57-60 are amended, claim 39 is cancelled, claims 38 and 40 - 60 are currently pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
Regarding claim objections applicant’s arguments, see page 9 paragraph 2, filed June 3, 2026, with respect to claims 41 and 47 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim objections of claims 41 and 47 have been withdrawn.
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 103 applicant’s arguments, see page 9 paragraphs 3 - page 14, filed June 3, 2026, with respect to claims 38, 51, 57 and 59 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Regarding amended claims 38, 51, 57 and 59, the applicant argued that, see page 9 last paragraph – page 10, “…Claimed embodiments address various problems, issues, and/or difficulties related to user equipment (UEs) reporting results of a successful handover between cells in a radio access network (RAN), with such reports being commonly referred to as "successful handover reports" (SHR). To facilitate such reporting, a RAN node may provide a UE with an SHR configuration that the UE should apply when determining whether to report information (e.g., measurements) concerning successful handover while the UE is in a connected state (e.g., RRC_CONNECTED) with respect to the RAN. For example, the SHR configuration may include triggering conditions for compiling/sending the SHR. …:
In response to applicant's argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the argument above.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., … a RAN node provide a UE with an SHR configuration that the UE apply when determining whether to report information (e.g., measurements) concerning successful handover while the UE is in a connected state (e.g., RRC_CONNECTED) with respect to the RAN….the SHR configuration include triggering conditions for compiling/sending the SHR) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Examiner Note:
Dependent claim 46, recites, “wherein one or more of the following applies: the first partial SHR configuration includes respective first thresholds for one or more timers associated with the cell; and the second partial SHR configuration includes, for each target cell, respective second thresholds for one or more timers associated with the target cell” (configurations are based timer’s) and
Dependent claim 49 recites, “logging measurements in accordance with the configuration for SHR during a handover from the source cell to one of the target cells; and sending to a second RAN node a successful handover report comprising the logged measurements”. Clearly, in view of claim 46 (the configuration for SHR are based timer’s), logging measurements are done in accordance with “one or more timers”.
Regarding amended claims 38, 51, 57 and 59, the applicant argued that, see page 12 paragraphs 1-3, “…Independent claims 38/57 do not specify the UE discarding the "measurements" logged "in accordance with the configuration for SHR" as done by Samsung's UE; instead, these claims specify the UE discarding "the configuration for SHR" used to log the measurements ….
In response to applicant's argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the argument above.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., … the UE discarding "the configuration for SHR" used to log the measurements) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Regarding amended claims 38, 51, 57 and 59, the applicant argued that, see page 12 last paragraph, “…First, … In contrast, claims 38/57 specify that the first RAN node sends the UE both the "configuration for SHR" and the "command to exit the connected state and to enter a non- connected state with the RAN."
In response to applicant's argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the argument above.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., … the first RAN node sends the UE both the "configuration for SHR" and the "command to exit the connected state and to enter a non- connected state with the RAN) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Regarding amended claims 38, 51, 57 and 59, the applicant argued that, see page 13 paragraphs 2 – page 14, “ … Second, although not explicitly stated, the Examiner's finding that "the UE is no longer in RRC contact with the source and ... thus the SHR configuration is no longer needed" suggests that Samsung's "RRCRelease" message inherently indicates for the UE to discard the SHR configuration used to obtain the "logged SHR contents." However, "the fact that a certain result or characteristic may occur or be present in the prior art is not sufficient to establish the inherency of that result or characteristic. ... In relying upon the theory of inherency, the examiner must provide a basis in fact and/or technical reasoning to reasonably support the determination that the allegedly inherent characteristic necessarily flows from the teachings of the applied prior art." MPEP 2112(IV) (quoting In re Rijckaert, 9 F.3d 1531, 1534, 28 USPQ2d 1955, 1957 (Fed. Cir. 1993); Ex parte Levy, 17 USPQ2d 1461, 1464 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1990) (emphasis in original). There's nothing in Samsung to suggest that the "RRCRelease" message from the target node necessarily "indicates for the UE to discard the configuration for SHR" that was used to obtain the "logged successful HO report" that the UE discards. In fact, UE uncertainty about how to handle a stored SHR configuration upon leaving the connected state is one of the problems identified by Applicant and addressed by claimed embodiments. Samsung's silence about how/when to discard an SHR configuration suggests that Samsung had not recognized this problem identified by Applicant. Rather, Samsung addresses a different problem: how/when to discard "logged SHR contents" that were obtained based on an SHR configuration. For at least these reasons, the combination of Chang, Huawei, and Samsung neither discloses nor suggests to a skilled person all the features of the amended independent claims. Accordingly, the combination of Chang, Huawei, and Samsung does not render the amended independent claims obvious ”.
In response to applicant's argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the argument above.
Regarding amended claims 38, 51, 57 and 59, Chang teaches receiving, from the first RAN node via the cell, a configuration for successful handover reporting (SHR) by the UE (see para. 0006, 0037, 0045, the RAN configures, to the UE / receiving at UE, a triggering condition {a configuration- a timer T310 threshold, a timer T312 threshold, a timer T304 threshold} of the successful handover information reporting), wherein the configuration for SHR includes: a SHR-related configuration determined by the source cell for UE handover(see Fig.3, para. 0064-0066, the SHR-related configuration in the handover command includes both the SHR-related configuration determined by the source cell, see also para. 0062-0063), and a SHR-related configuration determined by the target cell for UE handover (see Fig.3, para. 0064-0066, the SHR-related configuration in the handover command includes both the SHR-related configuration determined by the source cell and the SHR-related configuration determined by the target cell), Huawei further disclose a configuration for successful handover reporting (SHR) by a UE (see page 6, proposal 1 and 2, the source configures T30/T312 and T304 to trigger SHR reporting by a UE), wherein the configuration for SHR includes: a first partial SHR configuration pertaining to a source cell for UE handover (see page 6, proposal 2: partial SHR configuration based on "T310/T312 in the source cell" is configuration info pertaining to the source cell; see also page 5, the thresholds of T310/T312/T304 have been identified as the SHR configuration), and a second partial SHR configuration pertaining to one or more target cells for UE handover (see page 5, partial SHR configuration based of T304 is configured by target and when source decides the threshold, source 'read' the RRC configuration provided by target), the Examiner further states that Samsung teaches storing a received configuration for SHR in UE memory (see section 2.1, gNB provides condition(s) of SHR when initiating HO / a received configuration for SHR and whenever SHR has been configured and the configured condition met, UE stores SHR configuration to determine when conditions/triggering is met); subsequently entering a non-connected state with the RAN (see Figure 2, last arrow, sending the RRCRelease message by the second node (rather than by the first node) as the end of the handover procedure. In this case it is obvious that the UE is no longer in RRC contact with the source and that thus the SHR configuration is no longer needed, section 2.1, when HO fails the UE enters a non-connected state); and discarding the stored configuration for SHR in association with entering the non-connected state (see page 2, proposal 2, "When HO has been successfully completed or failed, UE discards the SHR configuration, the SHR configuration is discarded when it is no longer needed and only allows to log measurements while the UE is connected state, the UE discard the logged SHR content).
Examiner Note: It is unclear as to the command to exit the connected state and to enter a
non-connected state with the RAN - no problem can be defined - no inventive step is thus recognized
- assuming that the message is a RRCRelease message, it appears obvious that a SHR configuration is
no longer needed, since the UE then is without connection to the RAN and thus cannot apply the SHR
configuration. Samsung discloses (see Figure 2, last arrow) sending the RRCRelease message by the second node (rather than by the first node) as the end of the handover procedure. In this case it is obvious that the UE is no longer in RRC contact with the source and that thus the SHR configuration is no longer needed.
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the combination of the systems as disclosed by Chang, Huawei and Samsung reads upon “receiving, from the first RAN node via the cell, a configuration for successful handover reporting (SHR) by the UE, wherein the configuration for SHR includes: a first partial SHR configuration pertaining to a source cell for UE handover, and a second partial SHR configuration pertaining to one or more target cells for UE handover; storing the received configuration for SHR in UE memory; subsequently entering a non-connected state with the RAN, and discarding the stored configuration for SHR in association with entering the non- connected state” as recites in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 38, 40, 42, 44-48, 51-53, and 56-60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (US Pub. No.: 2024/0215099), in view of Huawei ( Report of Procedures and Modeling of successful HO report, R2-2108564, 2021-08-27) and further in view of Samsung (SON Enhancements for Successful HO Report, R2-2108643, 2021-08-27).
As per claim 38, Chang disclose A method for a user equipment (UE) (see Fig. 1, UE) configured to communicate with a first radio access network (RAN) node (see Fig.1, Source base station/source cell) via a cell (see para. 0012, a source cell communicating with user equipment (UE), and a target cell serving as an object to which the UE is handed over), the method comprising:
receiving, from the first RAN node via the cell, a configuration for successful handover reporting (SHR) by the UE (see para. 0006, 0037, 0045, the RAN configures, to the UE / receiving at UE, a triggering condition {a configuration- a timer T310 threshold, a timer T312 threshold, a timer T304 threshold} of the successful handover information reporting),
wherein the configuration for SHR includes:
a SHR-related configuration determined by the source cell for UE handover(see Fig.3, para. 0064-0066, the SHR-related configuration in the handover command includes both the SHR-related configuration determined by the source cell, see also para. 0062-0063), and
a SHR-related configuration determined by the target cell for UE handover (see Fig.3, para. 0064-0066, the SHR-related configuration in the handover command includes both the SHR-related configuration determined by the source cell and the SHR-related configuration determined by the target cell).
Although Chang disclose wherein the configuration for SHR includes: a SHR-related configuration determined by the source cell for UE handover and a SHR-related configuration determined by the target cell for UE handover.
Chang however does not explicitly disclose wherein the configuration for SHR includes: a first partial SHR configuration pertaining to a source cell for UE handover, and a second partial SHR configuration pertaining to one or more target cells for UE handover.
Huawei however disclose a configuration for successful handover reporting (SHR) by a UE (see page 6, proposal 1 and 2, the source configures T30/T312 and T304 to trigger SHR reporting by a UE), wherein the configuration for SHR includes: a first partial SHR configuration pertaining to a source cell for UE handover (see page 6, proposal 2: partial SHR configuration based on "T310/T312 in the source cell" is configuration info pertaining to the source cell; see also page 5, the thresholds of T310/T312/T304 have been identified as the SHR configuration), and a second partial SHR configuration pertaining to one or more target cells for UE handover (see page 5, partial SHR configuration based of T304 is configured by target and when source decides the threshold, source 'read' the RRC configuration provided by target).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of a configuration for successful handover reporting (SHR) by the UE, wherein the configuration for SHR includes: a first partial SHR configuration pertaining to a source cell for UE handover, and a second partial SHR configuration pertaining to one or more target cells for UE handover, as taught by Huawei, in the system of Chang, so as to enable a successful handover reporting (SHR) by the UE, see Huawei, page 6, section 2 and 2.1.
Although the combination of Chang and Huawei disclose a configuration for successful handover reporting (SHR) by the UE, wherein the configuration for SHR includes: a first partial SHR configuration pertaining to a source cell for UE handover, and a second partial SHR configuration pertaining to one or more target cells for UE handover;
The combination of Chang and Huawei however does not explicitly disclose storing the received configuration for SHR in UE memory; subsequently entering a non-connected state with the RAN; and discarding the stored configuration for SHR in association with entering the non-connected state.
Samsung however disclose storing a received configuration for SHR in UE memory (see section 2.1, gNB provides condition(s) of SHR when initiating HO / a received configuration for SHR and whenever SHR has been configured and the configured condition met, UE stores SHR configuration to determine when conditions/triggering is met); subsequently entering a non-connected state with the RAN (see Figure 2, last arrow, sending the RRCRelease message by the second node (rather than by the first node) as the end of the handover procedure. In this case it is obvious that the UE is no longer in RRC contact with the source and that thus the SHR configuration is no longer needed, section 2.1, when HO fails the UE enters a non-connected state); and discarding the stored configuration for SHR in association with entering the non-connected state (see page 2, proposal 2, "When HO has been successfully completed or failed, UE discards the SHR configuration, the SHR configuration is discarded when it
is no longer needed and only allows to log measurements while the UE is connected state, the UE discard the logged SHR content).
Examiner Note: It is unclear as to the command to exit the connected state and to enter a
non-connected state with the RAN - no problem can be defined - no inventive step is thus recognized
- assuming that the message is a RRCRelease message, it appears obvious that a SHR configuration is
no longer needed, since the UE then is without connection to the RAN and thus cannot apply the SHR
configuration. Samsung discloses (see Figure 2, last arrow) sending the RRCRelease message by the second node (rather than by the first node) as the end of the handover procedure. In this case it is obvious that the UE is no longer in RRC contact with the source and that thus the SHR configuration is no longer needed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of a storing the received configuration for SHR in UE memory; subsequently entering a non-connected state with the RAN; and discarding the stored configuration for SHR in association with entering the non-connected state, as taught by Samsung, in the system of Chang and Huawei, so as to enable a UE to store the latest SHR entry, see Samsung, page 6, section 2 and 2.1.
As per claim 40, the combination of Chang, Huawei and Samsung disclose the method of claim 38.
Samsung further disclose wherein: the method further comprises receiving, from the first RAN node, a command to exit the connected state and to enter a non-connected state with the RAN; entering the non-connected state with the RAN is responsive to the command (see Fig.2, last arrow, sending
the RRCRelease message / to exit the connected state, by the second node (rather than by the first node) as the end of the handover procedure, the UE is no longer in RRC contact with the
source and that thus the SHR configuration is no longer needed); and discarding the stored configuration for SHR is responsive to one of the following: the command, or entering the non-connected state (see Fig.2, section 2.1, discarding the logged information for SHR after receiving the release command).
As per claim 42, the combination of Chang, Huawei and Samsung disclose the method of claim 38.
Samsung further disclose wherein: entering the non-connected state with the RAN is responsive to a failure to reestablish a connection with the RAN; and discarding the stored configuration for SHR is responsive to one of the following: the failure, or entering the non-connected state (see proposal 2, when HO has failed , the UE discard the SHR configuration).
As per claim 44, the combination of Chang, Huawei and Samsung disclose the method of claim 38.
Chang further disclose wherein one of the following applies: the configuration for SHR is received by the UE in a single message (see para. 0045, the SHR-related configuration at least includes a triggering condition {in a single message} for triggering the UE to record an SHR); and
Huawei further disclose the first and second partial SHR configurations are received by the UE in respective first and second messages (see page 6, proposal 2: sending/configuring"T310/T312 in the source cell" is configuration info pertaining to the source cell/ a first message), and a second partial SHR configuration pertaining to one or more target cells for UE handover (see page 5, sending the T304 configured by target and when source decides the threshold / a second message).
As per claim 45, the combination of Chang, Huawei and Samsung disclose the method of claim 44.
Chang further disclose wherein each of the single message, the first message, and the second message is an RRCReconfiguration message (see para.0036, 0046, 0047 the handover command is an RRC reconfiguration message, see also para. 0069-0079).
As per claim 46, the combination of Chang, Huawei and Samsung disclose the method of claim 38.
Chang further disclose wherein one or more of the following applies: the first partial SHR configuration includes respective first thresholds for one or more timers associated with the cell; and the second partial SHR configuration includes, for each target cell, respective second thresholds for one or more timers associated with the target cell (see para. 0036, when T310 is running, only when the value of T310 exceeds a configured threshold / respective first threshold for a timer, can the UE include T310-related information in the successful handover report. See also para. 0006, 0036, 0045, 0056).
As per claim 47, the combination of Chang, Huawei and Samsung disclose the method of claim 46.
Huawei further disclose wherein one or more of the following are percentages or fractions of respective timer values that are configured for the associated cells: the respective first thresholds, and the respective second thresholds (see page 3, configuring the actual thresholds according to 80%, 60%, and 40%, directly to the UE and the UE will get to know the actual threshold" or Define a series of fractions in a new IE, such as Threshold_SHR = {80%, 60%, 40%}; □ NW would configure a specific T310 and a specific Threshold_SHR to UE, e.g., T310 = ms50, Threshold_SHR = 80%, then the rea threshold for creating the SHR is 50*80% = 40ms...").
As per claim 48, the combination of Chang, Huawei and Samsung disclose the method of claim 38.
Huawei further disclose wherein the second partial SHR configuration includes respective identifiers of the one or more target cells (see page 11, 15, target cell related identifiers are to be included
in the successful HO report, the source node needs to have the target cell id to handle SHR like CHO, so that the UE may differ between the target cells and apply the SHR configurations accordingly).
As per claim 49, the combination of Chang, Huawei and Samsung disclose the method of claim 38.
Samsung further disclose logging measurements in accordance with the configuration for SHR during a handover from the source cell to one of the target cells; and sending to a second RAN node a successful handover report comprising the logged measurements (see Fig.2, the UE is logging SHR content and reports to target cell / sending to a second RAN node).
As per claim 51, Chang disclose A method for a first radio access network (RAN) node (see Fig.1, Source base station/source cell) configured to communicate with user equipment, UEs (see Fig. 1, UE), via a cell (see para. 0012, a source cell communicating with user equipment (UE), and a target cell serving as an object to which the UE is handed over), the method comprising:
sending, to a UE via the cell, a configuration for successful handover reporting (SHR) by the UE (see para. 0006, 0037, 0045, the RAN configures, to the UE / sending to UE, a triggering condition {a configuration- a timer T310 threshold, a timer T312 threshold, a timer T304 threshold} of the successful handover information reporting),
wherein the configuration for SHR includes:
a SHR-related configuration determined by the source cell for UE handover(see Fig.3, para. 0064-0066, the SHR-related configuration in the handover command includes both the SHR-related configuration determined by the source cell, see also para. 0062-0063), and
a SHR-related configuration determined by the target cell for UE handover(see Fig.3, para. 0064-0066, the SHR-related configuration in the handover command includes both the SHR-related configuration determined by the source cell and the SHR-related configuration determined by the target cell).
Although Chang disclose wherein the configuration for SHR includes: a SHR-related configuration determined by the source cell for UE handover and a SHR-related configuration determined by the target cell for UE handover.
Chang however does not explicitly disclose a first partial SHR configuration pertaining to a source cell for UE handover, and a second partial SHR configuration pertaining to one or more target cells for UE handover.
Huawei however disclose a configuration for successful handover reporting (SHR) by the UE (see page 6, proposal 1 and 2, the source configures T30/T312 and T304 to trigger SHR reporting), wherein the configuration for SHR includes: a first partial SHR configuration pertaining to a source cell for UE handover (see page 6, proposal 2: partial SHR configuration based on "T310/T312 in the source cell" is configuration info pertaining to the source cell; see also page 5, the thresholds of T310/T312/T304 have been identified as the SHR configuration), and a second partial SHR configuration pertaining to one or more target cells for UE handover (see page 5, partial SHR configuration based on T304 is configured by target and when source decides the threshold, source 'read' the RRC configuration provided by target).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of a configuration for successful handover reporting (SHR) by the UE, wherein the configuration for SHR includes: a first partial SHR configuration pertaining to a source cell for UE handover, and a second partial SHR configuration pertaining to one or more target cells for UE handover, as taught by Huawei, in the system of Chang, so as to enable a successful handover reporting (SHR) by the UE, see Huawei, page 6, section 2 and 2.1.
The combination of Chang and Huawei however does not explicitly disclose storing the received configuration for SHR in UE memory; subsequently entering a non-connected state with the RAN; and discarding the stored configuration for SHR in association with entering the non-connected state.
Samsung however disclose storing a received configuration for SHR in UE memory (see section 2.1, gNB provides condition(s) of SHR when initiating HO / a received configuration for SHR and whenever SHR has been configured and the configured condition met, UE stores SHR configuration to determine when conditions/triggering is met); subsequently entering a non-connected state with the RAN (see Figure 2, last arrow, sending the RRCRelease message by the second node (rather than by the first node) as the end of the handover procedure. In this case it is obvious that the UE is no longer in RRC contact with the source and that thus the SHR configuration is no longer needed, section 2.1, when HO fails the UE enters a non-connected state); and discarding the stored configuration for SHR in association with entering the non-connected state (see page 2, proposal 2, "When HO has been successfully completed or failed, UE discards the SHR configuration, the SHR configuration is discarded when it
is no longer needed and only allows to log measurements while the UE is connected state, the UE discard the logged SHR content).
Examiner Note: It is unclear as to the command to exit the connected state and to enter a
non-connected state with the RAN - no problem can be defined - no inventive step is thus recognized
- assuming that the message is a RRCRelease message, it appears obvious that a SHR configuration is
no longer needed, since the UE then is without connection to the RAN and thus cannot apply the SHR
configuration. Samsung discloses (see Figure 2, last arrow) sending the RRCRelease message by the second node (rather than by the first node) as the end of the handover procedure. In this case it is obvious that the UE is no longer in RRC contact with the source and that thus the SHR configuration is no longer needed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of a storing the received configuration for SHR in UE memory; subsequently entering a non-connected state with the RAN; and discarding the stored configuration for SHR in association with entering the non-connected state, as taught by Samsung, in the system of Chang and Huawei, so as to enable a UE to store the latest SHR entry, see Samsung, page 6, section 2 and 2.1.
As per claim 52, the combination of Chang, Huawei and Samsung disclose the method of claim 51.
Samsung further disclose wherein the configuration for SHR is valid only while the UE is in a connected state with the RAN (see Fig.2, last arrow, sending the RRCRelease message / to exit the connected state, by the second node (rather than by the first node) as the end of the handover procedure, the UE is no longer in RRC contact with the source and that thus the SHR configuration is no longer needed).
As per claim 53, the combination of Chang, Huawei and Samsung disclose the method of claim 51.
Samsung further disclose wherein: the cell is the source cell; and the method further comprises receiving the second partial SHR configuration from a second RAN node that serves cells including the one or more target cells (see Fig. 2, receiving the second partial SHR configuration from a target /second RAN node).
As per claim 56, the combination of Chang, Huawei and Samsung disclose the method of claim 51.
Chang further disclose wherein one of the following applies: the configuration for SHR is received by the UE in a single message (see para. 0045, the SHR-related configuration at least includes a triggering condition {in a single message} for triggering the UE to record an SHR); and
Huawei further disclose the first and second partial SHR configurations are received by the UE in respective first and second messages (see page 6, proposal 2: sending/configuring"T310/T312 in the source cell" is configuration info pertaining to the source cell/ a first message), and a second partial SHR configuration pertaining to one or more target cells for UE handover (see page 5, sending the T304 configured by target and when source decides the threshold / a second message).
As per claim 57, claim 57 is rejected the same way as claim 38 (UE Method claim). Chang also disclose A user equipment (UE) (see Fig.4, UE40) configured to communicate with a first radio access network (RAN) node (see Fig.1, Source base station/source cell) via a cell (see para. 0012, a source cell communicating with user equipment (UE), and a target cell serving as an object to which the UE is handed over), the UE comprising: communication interface circuitry (see Fig.4, Transceiver for communicating with RAN) configured to communicate with at least the first RAN node (see Fig.1, Source base station/RAN node); and processing circuitry (see Fig.4, a processor 401).
As per claim 58, the combination of Chang, Huawei and Samsung disclose the UE claim 57.
Samsung further disclose to receive, from the first RAN node, a command to exit the connected state and to enter a non-connected state with the RAN; enter the non-connected state in response to the command (see Fig.2, last arrow, sending the RRCRelease message / to exit the connected state, by the second node (rather than by the first node) as the end of the handover procedure, the UE is no longer in RRC contact with the source and that thus the SHR configuration is no longer needed); and discarding the stored configuration for SHR responsive to one of the following: the command, or entering the non-connected state (see Fig.2, section 2.1, discarding the logged information for SHR after receiving the release command).
As per claim 59, claim 59 is rejected the same way as claim 51 (RAN method claim). Chang also disclose A first radio access network (RAN) node (see Fig.1, Source base station/source cell) configured to communicate with user equipment (UEs) (see Fig. 1, UE) via a cell (see para. 0012, a source cell communicating with user equipment (UE), and a target cell serving as an object to which the UE is handed over), the first RAN node comprising: communication interface circuitry (see Fig.4, Transceiver for communicating with UEs, see para. 0094) configured to communicate with UEs (see Fig,4, UEs communicating with Source cell) and with a second RAN node (see Fig.1, Target base station); and processing circuitry (see Fig.4, a processor 401, see para. 0094).
As per claim 60, the combination of Chang, Huawei and Samsung disclose the RAN node claim 59.
Samsung further disclose wherein: the configuration for SHR is valid only while the UE is in a connected state with the RAN; and the processing circuitry and the communication interface circuitry are further configured to send to the UE a command to exit the connected state and to enter a non-connected state with the RAN (see Fig.2, last arrow, sending the RRCRelease message / to exit the connected state, by the second node (rather than by the first node) as the end of the handover procedure, the UE is no longer in RRC contact with the source and that thus the SHR configuration is no longer needed); and wherein the command indicates that the UE should discard the configuration for SHR if it is stored by the UE (see Fig.2, section 2.1, discarding the logged information for SHR after receiving the release command).
Claim 54 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (US Pub. No.: 2024/0080741), in view of Huawei ( Report of Procedures and Modeling of successful HO report, R2-2108564, 2021-08-27), in view of Samsung (SON Enhancements for Successful HO Report, R2-2108643, 2021-08-37) and further in view of NEC (Discuss on signalling aspects of successful handover report, R2-2105446, 2021-05-27).
As per claim 54, the combination of Chang, Huawei and Samsung disclose the method of claim 53.
The combination of Chang, Huawei and Samsung however does not explicitly disclose wherein the second partial SHR configuration is specific to the UE, and is received in response to sending the second RAN node a request to handover the UE to one of the target cells.
NEC however disclose wherein a second partial SHR configuration is specific to a UE, and is received in response to sending a second RAN node a request to handover the UE to one of the target cells (see page 2, 2nd paragraph, the SHR is configured in RRC message for handover (RRCReconfiguration with reconfigurationWithSync), in this way, the SHR is configured per UE with sync per handover event).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein a second partial SHR configuration is specific to a UE, and is received in response to sending a second RAN node a request to handover the UE to one of the target cells, as taught by NEC, in the system of Chang, Huawei and Samsung, so the network configures the support of SHR only when the gNB needs the information, see NEC, page 2, section 2.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 41, 43, 50 and 55 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wen et al (US Pub. No.:2024/0137824) – see Fig.2, para. 0033-0040, para. 0065, “In the SHR generation method provided in this embodiment of this application, the SHR generation apparatus may receive from the network-side device trigger information for enabling an SHR (and/or for setting an SHR trigger condition), and configure a target timer based on the target time parameter contained in the trigger information. A timing start point of the target timer is trigger time of a target event corresponding to the target SHR. In this way, the SHR generation apparatus can generate a target SHR in a case that the target timer expires. After receiving from the network-side device the trigger information for enabling an SHR (and/or for setting an SHR trigger condition), the SHR generation apparatus can configure the target timer based on the target time parameter that can be encoded with a few bits, so as to generate the target SHR, instead of configuring the target timer based on a timing value that can be encoded only with many bits. Therefore, the RRC signaling overheads for configuring an SHR generation condition can be reduced”.
Zeng et al (US Pub. No.:2024/0080741) – see para. 0054-0057, “A terminal device detecting an underlying issue in successful handover may also be expressed as that the terminal device detects a potential failure. The terminal device generates the SHR based on the handover from the cell 1 of the network device 1 to the cell 2 of the network device 2, or the SHR corresponds to a handover procedure of the handover from the cell 1 of the network device 1 to the cell 2 of the network device 2. The terminal device stores the SHR, and waits to subsequently send the SHR to a network device connected to the terminal device. Due to uncertainty of a moment at which the SHR is sent, when the terminal device sends the SHR, the network device connected to the terminal device may still be the network device 2”.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAKERAM JANGBAHADUR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469